List Mgmt. Draft Discussion 2016

1ehupz.jpg

I'm probably being a touch harsh on him, it's just that I'm so sick of some of our players turning the footy over and then being burnt on the turnover. It's a real issue for us at the moment.
Do you realise that the highlights packages you saw of him the other week were probably the ones from last year? By the reports I've seen from those that have seen a fair bit of him this year in actual games, it's improved considerably since then (as it needed to).

He's got a hell of a lot more to his game than Wrighty. Seems like he could go as high as pick 12, whereas I reckon if Nath was in this draft (at the end of the junior career he had) he might not even go in the top 40 (as a low possession winning "HBF'er", with a terrible kick- as he was then).

PP also brings genuine leadership qualities to the table, having captained multiple teams in recent years and he'd likely be a genuine midfield rotation, unlike Nath. With his 90kg frame and elite endurance, he could also genuinely add to our team as early as season 1, unlike a few of the other, much skinnier options.

I also expect that our overall disposal quality will improve considerably once the likes of Billings, Lonie, Gresh, Sincs, D-Mac and White start playing more and/or getting more of the ball.

Do you realise that the highlights packages you saw of him the other week were probably the ones from last year? By the reports I've seen from those that have seen a fair bit of him this year in actual games, it's improved considerably since then (as it needed to).

He's got a hell of a lot more to his game than Wrighty. Seems like he could go as high as pick 12, whereas I reckon if Nath was in this draft (at the end of the junior career he had) he might not even go in the top 40 (as a low possession winning "HBF'er", with a terrible kick- as he was then).

PP also brings genuine leadership qualities to the table, having captained multiple teams in recent years and he'd likely be a genuine midfield rotation, unlike Nath. With his 90kg frame and elite endurance, he could also genuinely add to our team as early as season 1, unlike a few of the other, much skinnier options.

I also expect that our overall disposal quality will improve considerably once the likes of Billings, Lonie, Gresh, Sincs, D-Mac and White start playing more and/or getting more of the ball.
Well said mate spot on

couldnt agree more. i love MGs posts but i cant agree with him on SPP. Wright is nothing like SPP

Someone with a pick between our second and third signed a delisted free agent. Could've been Essendon with Green or Gold Coast with Barlow.

I'm not saying he doesn't possess some nice qualities but his decision making is poor at best.
In my opinion, to win big games and finals you need good decision makers and to not carry too many poor users. I think we already have more than our quota with Acres, Geary, Gilbert, Dempster, Wright all turning the footy over more than we'd like.

I'm not saying he doesn't possess some nice qualities but his decision making is poor at best.
In my opinion, to win big games and finals you need good decision makers and to not carry too many poor users. I think we already have more than our quota with Acres, Geary, Gilbert, Dempster, Wright all turning the footy over more than we'd like.

So who are the players you are liking then who are a chance of being available at 23? Bolton, Florent, Battle, Marshall, Rotham, Witherden???

Like this

After rewatching a bit of the GF, I'm coming around to the idea that midfielder chaos balls into the forward line populated with talls and manic mid sized players is not the end of the world.

There's a very big difference between defenders who are crap kicks turning over the ball in the back 50 and midfielders getting the ball into the forward line as quickly as possible and leaving the manic pressure to lock it in to increase scoring chances.

Pure precision is a beautiful thing but space is so scarce sometimes that just the act of getting the ball into the f50 is the best result you can expect.

So who are the players you are liking then who are a chance of being available at 23? Bolton, Florent, Battle, Marshall, Rotham, Witherden???

That's the thing, we really have no idea who may be there at our first pick, this top 30 odd is really a wild guess. All I know is that we are confident that at least one kid we rate very highly will still be there when we pick.

Who are you hoping for mate?

Best case is Florent IMO

What time does the draft actually start?

Who are you hoping for mate?

Best case is Florent IMO

Florent, but even though interstate clubs know he's wanting to stay in Vic for family reasons I can't see how Ess/NM/Dogs don't select him before us.
I have a feeling we'll end up with a non mid like Battle or Rotham unless a good mid like Florent slides to us.

Anyone watch the replay of Judd vs O'Loughlin under 18's All Stars?
Powell-Pepper set shot from 60mt. out, definite goal (blind umpire), looks like his kicking is better than expected.

I reckon you hit the nail on the head there with the decision making. Wright has a deficiency in his disposal as does Geary, I reckon Gears is a better player despite being similar with kicking but it's the better decision making that makes him a better player. SPP has good decision making and makes good things happen. Fyfe is a very ordinary kick but plays assertive footy.

Want SPP but worried about go home factor.
Agree dream result would be florent or venables.
But reality is I think its between Battle CCox or SPP. Any of those 3 would be fantastic. All highly skilled.
Ameet and co are awesome I have complete faith theyll pick correctly with great analysis. Exciting to see which one of the three has ticked all our boxes.

Fellow Saints boarders... let us pray... :praying:

Our Trout in heaven, hallowed be thy name. Thy draft come, thy will be done, in Sydney as it is at Moorabbin.

Give us our Begley, our yearly gun, and forgive us our melts, as we forgive those who melt against us.

Lead us not into a project player, but deliver us from 9th. For thine is the skill, the power & the glory, now and in 2017.

Amen.

:innocent: