List Mgmt. Draft Discussion 2016

Why don't we trade all our players and picks and upgrade everything and have the top 44 picks in the draft so we start again?
You love your absurd trade hypotheticals dont you mate...... :p

Apologies for that one, I was bored last night watching the footy & went a bit OTT

Why don't we trade all our players and picks and upgrade everything and have the top 44 picks in the draft so we start again?
You are a genius Joop. Clear out all the dead wood and start again and by the time we are ready to compete for the flag GWS will have won 4 of them and will be on the slide. I like the way you think!

Looking forward to seeing who really steps it up in the post-champs period, like say Bontempelli and McCrae did in their draft years. Hopefully one or two really elevate their games and push into the top 6, to help push one or two down to our first (if we keep it).

Im hoping that it is a kpp, need some mids pushed back to our pick.

Would be better if someone like Bontempelli ate lots of Pizza, and then slid to our third round pick, before working his guts out after we drafted him.

Tim Taranto is rising fast.

View attachment 264078

Local boy (St Kevins/Parkdale/Sandy), listed at 186cm 82kg but I'm told more like 188cm 86kg. Versatile, athletic, basketball background. Genuine marking threat and a clean user of the ball.

Had a very good Champs, and if some of the more noted kids are gone looms as a genuine bolter.
Where do you think Florent will go? Slip to third round?

What/who does he play like?

Where do you think Florent will go? Slip to third round?

What/who does he play like?

Possibly late first is my mail. He's a 183cm smooth midfielder with lovely skills, so there's plenty of comparisons I guess...
Josh Kelly...

I like the idea of getting mates/ team mates in the same draft. So if we can't get Brodie/ Simpkin maybe we go for McGrath/ Florent?

Getting to any games this weekend?

Josh Kelly...

I like the idea of getting mates/ team mates in the same draft. So if we can't get Brodie/ Simpkin maybe we go for McGrath/ Florent?

Getting to any games this weekend?
Sandy vs Gippsland.

Want to go watch Scrimshaw, Florent, Taranto and Ainsworth.

Believe that if you want. But Matt Finnis told me himself that we were taking White with that pick, on draft night here in Adelaide, during the break before the third round - before Brisbane took Matho, and we took White. He also proved it by showing me the draft list, a pic of the inner sanctum's list that Trout had let him take on his phone. This was proven by me, by me posting about it before Matho was even picked on draft night.

But hey.

Believe that if you want. But Matt Finnis told me himself that we were taking White with that pick, on draft night here in Adelaide, during the break before the third round - before Brisbane took Matho, and we took White. He also proved it by showing me the draft list, a pic of the inner sanctum's list that Trout had let him take on his phone. This was proven by me, by me posting about it before Matho was even picked on draft night.

But hey.

Absolutely bang on - I remember this clearly and remember talking about it here....very interesting conversation too!!!!!

Comparing Bishop, Knightmare, Chris25 and DraftMe's latest phantom drafts you end up with ....

1. Brodie
2. Bowes
3. McCluggage
4. Petrevski-Seton
5. McGrath
6. Perryman
7. Macreadie
8. Venables
9. Marshall
10. Setterfield

Up to 4 Academy players before us leaving Scrimshaw, Ainsworth, Rotham, Taranto, Scharenberg, Berry and Simpkin in the mix.

Just sayin'.

Comparing Bishop, Knightmare, Chris25 and DraftMe's latest phantom drafts you end up with ....

1. Brodie
2. Bowes
3. McCluggage
4. Petrevski-Seton
5. McGrath
6. Perryman
7. Macreadie
8. Venables
9. Marshall
10. Setterfield

Up to 4 Academy players before us leaving Scrimshaw, Ainsworth, Rotham, Taranto, Scharenberg, Berry and Simpkin in the mix.

Just sayin'.
No. Bloody. Ainsworth! :mad:

Just trying to be a little impartial. I'm no fan either since hearing about his Barry-Hall-on-Brent-Staker-type roundhouse punch on a guy tagging him through the midfield. Shattered his jaw in 2 places apparently.

Why aren't we talking more about Alex Witherden? At the Under 17s vs the Allies game at the MCG last year he was their best player from memory. Recovering from injury, like Simpkin, but has midfield potential too.

Just trying to be a little impartial. I'm no fan either since hearing about his Barry-Hall-on-Brent-Staker-type roundhouse punch on a guy tagging him through the midfield. Shattered his jaw in 2 places apparently.

Why aren't we talking more about Alex Witherden? At the Under 17s vs the Allies game at the MCG last year he was their best player from memory. Recovering from injury, like Simpkin, but has midfield potential too.
He's a half back flanker. Point blank. I don't reckon he's a potential midfielder at all.

Can play though.

He's a half back flanker. Point blank. I don't reckon he's a potential midfielder at all.

Can play though.

I'm liking Taranto more and more.....also Scrimshaw is a very interesting prospect - wonder where he ends up though? Will he be able to do a Bontempelli and play midfield?

FWIW we'll end up with pick 8 IMO so based on that do we seriously look at Venables even though we're crying out for mids? I do like McGrath despite the height - like his run

How do these compare to top 15 from previous years? It feels like its very even with not that many stars at the top end - is that how others see it?

I'm liking Taranto more and more.....also Scrimshaw is a very interesting prospect - wonder where he ends up though? Will he be able to do a Bontempelli and play midfield?

FWIW we'll end up with pick 8 IMO so based on that do we seriously look at Venables even though we're crying out for mids? I do like McGrath despite the height - like his run

How do these compare to top 15 from previous years? It feels like its very even with not that many stars at the top end - is that how others see it?

I think it's more of a lucky dip. Not to many stand out now but once in the system 3 or 4 will stand out as stars and everyone will go why didn't we pick him.

Venables is the man whos good at everything, has good height, kicks goals, tackles, good mix of contested and uncontested disposals, speed and is a fair good kick. Develop him correctly and he could be a danger/martin type imo.

At the moment, round about our pick area we'd have;

Mids:
Scharenberg
Guelfi
Florent
Clarke
Poholke

Fwd/Mids:
Venables
Taranto

Def/Mids:
McGrath
Scrimshaw
While it may be academic, fair to say that Trout would have to factor Bowes, Perryman and Setterfield into his calculations and quite possibly Mutch and Scheer too. Bowes, Perryman and Mutch were selected in the All Australian team this year.

A bid on Perryman (184cm 75kg) or Setterfield (190cm 80kg) is quite conceivable for our first pick, even if it's just to do our part in making GWS accountable in the end. We'd get a potential gun and very capable midfielder if successful so it wouldn't be ill-targeted.

So managed to get down to the dragons Gippsland game today

So some notes

Lyons-is tough in and under very contested. However lacks polish and I think kicking lets him
Down. Not super penetrating and a little floaty

Florent-has a bit of evasiveness. Strong body not super fast. Kicking not amazing but good enough. I think he bobs up at good times and mostly makes good decisions.

Scrimshaw-one of the top few players on the ground especially in the first half. Super strong overhead reads the game very well. Super agile and also evasive. Rebounds well kicking was a little up and down but generally quite good. Would really like to him in the guts. Has real potential

Taranto-my favourite player for the day and my hope for our first pick. Is just a class above. Has time and composure and cruises through traffic. Outstanding vision and very damaging with his disposal due to him always moving the ball forward. Kicks goals and gets into very dangerous spots

Ainsworth-very disappointing seemed to be playing in the back line. Was in effectual lost one and ones and had little impact on the game.

So managed to get down to the dragons Gippsland game today

So some notes

Lyons-is tough in and under very contested. However lacks polish and I think kicking lets him
Down. Not super penetrating and a little floaty

Florent-has a bit of evasiveness. Strong body not super fast. Kicking not amazing but good enough. I think he bobs up at good times and mostly makes good decisions.

Scrimshaw-one of the top few players on the ground especially in the first half. Super strong overhead reads the game very well. Super agile and also evasive. Rebounds well kicking was a little up and down but generally quite good. Would really like to him in the guts. Has real potential

Taranto-my favourite player for the day and my hope for our first pick. Is just a class above. Has time and composure and cruises through traffic. Outstanding vision and very damaging with his disposal due to him always moving the ball forward. Kicks goals and gets into very dangerous spots

Ainsworth-very disappointing seemed to be playing in the back line. Was in effectual lost one and ones and had little impact on the game.

Ainsworth is a genuine small fwd and thats it, i don't see how he goes in the top 7