List Mgmt. Draft Discussion 2016

Brodie for mine, nice combo of inside & outside in his game.
Won the MCC President's medal for best Academy player. Won the best on for the U16s against NZ back when too.

Big game player.

Now 189cm.

Want.

Won the MCC President's medal for best Academy player. Won the best on for the U16s against NZ back when too.

Big game player.

Now 189cm.

Want.

And.probably still growing. I'll be keeping a close eye on him over the year.

And you were right about peppers kicking, very iffy and I dont think we can afford to have another one of those types.

Didn't see the game this arvo but MightyDons4 did. Hope he doesn't mind me quoting his report ? ....

Left out the NSW/Queensland Acadmey players, even though they made up most of the best players.

Josh Battle: Plays a lot like Jack Darling. Marking was a bit on and off, however his second efforts were elite. Ended up with a couple of goals, could've had a couple more. Looks like he will be picked quite early on draft night.

Sam Petrovski-Seton: Midfield version of Cyril. Elite of both sides, pressured and disposed of the footy well. Didn't win much inside footy due to the bigger bodies of Werribee.

Ben Ainsworth: Was injured in the TAC cup on the weekend and wasn't his usual self. Also copped a knock in the game too.

Brandon Parfitt: Small yet strong and explosive midfielder. Uncharacteristically disposed of the ball poorly, perhaps some nerves?

Will Brodie: Was well equipped to match it with Werribee's bigger bodies. Effective on the inside and outside. Played a good game.

Kobe Mutch: Reminds me a lot of Jack Macrae. Moves really well at stoppages and was very creative on the outside. One of the better players for the Academy side.

Jarrod Berry: Defensively very good, cutting off many attacking forays by Werribee. Quick decision maker, needs to improve his ball drop if he hopes to become one of the top back flankers in the AFL.

Sam Powell-Pepper: Very powerful and aggressive midfielder. Was one of a few who could match Werribee on the inside. Tackled like a maniac and was solid on the outside. One of the best.

Jye Simpkin: Was dangerous when he got the ball, unfortunately just wasn't able to get enough of it. Was one of few Academy players that were clean with ball in hand.

Jordan Gallucci: Only played the 2nd half. Wasn't overly dominant, but his class was evident. He's an excellent kick.

Hugh McCluggage: Stood out as a one touch player. Clean inside and outside the contest, just has to put some muscle on his frame. Lots to work with here.
No problemo.

Will Brodie's game should excite you guys, I'd assume he would be quite high on the priority list.

Top 5 pick?
Not necessarily, but only because I think some of the club Academy kids will attract very very early bids.

Bowes, Macreadie, Allison, McLuggage, Setterfield... On top of them Waterman might, Powell-Pepper and Petrovski-Seton will, Berry will, and Simpkin, Scharenberg and Scrimshaw will go high (it's a good year for the "S's"). Hura and big Goddard too.

Top 10 absolutely, but maybe not top 5; though he deserves to.

Not necessarily, but only because I think some of the club Academy kids will attract very very early bids.

Bowes, Macreadie, Allison, McLuggage, Setterfield... On top of them Waterman might, Powell-Pepper and Petrovski-Seton will, Berry will, and Simpkin, Scharenberg and Scrimshaw will go high (it's a good year for the "S's").

Top 10 absolutely, but maybe not top 5; though he deserves to.

Its a great year for mids top 10 wise.

I read a lot about the kids and watch some of the televised matches but don't see any live matches.

I think its easier from now on just going with Barrels selection, (sounds like a top quality bourbon :D) after the Gresham call last year, (we'll forget that Richmond youngster the year before :oops::drunk:)

So Will Brodie it is - hoping we can get him at pick 6 or so. He fits a need - a tall mid that can play both inside and out? Yes please...

Thanks Barrels for making it easy for me this year!!!!

I read a lot about the kids and watch some of the televised matches but don't see any live matches.

I think its easier from now on just going with Barrels selection, (sounds like a top quality bourbon :D) after the Gresham call last year, (we'll forget that Richmond youngster the year before :oops::drunk:)

So Will Brodie it is - hoping we can get him at pick 6 or so. He fits a need - a tall mid that can play both inside and out? Yes please...

Thanks Barrels for making it easy for me this year!!!!
Invoice is in the mail.

What's Brodie's speed like?
Ok. Not lightning but gets where he needs to be.

Loosely reminds me of Barlow, but faster and cleaner and kicks more goals.

Ok. Not lightning but gets where he needs to be.

Loosely reminds me of Barlow, but faster and cleaner and kicks more goals.

I think we can pace from other players.

I'd rather a goal kicking mid with clean disposal.....as long as we spread well that will help re the quick ball movement

I think we can pace from other players.

I'd rather a goal kicking mid with clean disposal.....as long as we spread well that will help re the quick ball movement
Pendlebury's not quick, Hayes wasn't, Swan wasn't, Mitchell isn't.

Pace is great, but you take the gun mid ahead of the lightning bloke with less ability.

Brodie's not slow, he's just not particularly quick. He's also a super grab with a huge leap and is a goal kicker. He'd play Round 1 and instantly improve us.

Pendlebury's not quick, Hayes wasn't, Swan wasn't, Mitchell isn't.

Pace is great, but you take the gun mid ahead of the lightning bloke with less ability.

Brodie's not slow, he's just not particularly quick. He's also a super grab with a huge leap and is a goal kicker. He'd play Round 1 and instantly improve us.

He could play mid and go fwd and play the 3rd tall beautifully.

NAB AFL ACADEMY 3.1 7.2 8.6 10.10 (70)
WERRIBEE VFL 4.3 6.7 12.8 18.12 (120)

GOALS
NAB AFL Academy: Battle 2, Bowes 2, Sproule 2, Brodie, McCluggage, Petrevski-Seton, Waterman
Werribee VFL: Barrack 3, Daw 2, Durdin 2, Wagner 2, Clarke, Mountford, Fordham, McFarlane, Wilson, Gribble, Maishman, Munro, Butt

BEST
NAB AFL Academy: Brodie, Petrevski-Seton, Berry, Bowes, McCluggage, Powell-Pepper
Werribee VFL: Mountford, Clarke, Fordham, McFarlane, Butt, Wilson

forgot to do round 2 of the colts over here in the west. claremont had the bye so no SPS or waterman :-(

Perth beat West Perth comfortably in a low scoring match (15 to 43), some standouts:
LEVIEN, John 28D 21K 7H 3M 4T 1B
NELSON, Scott 35D 16K 19H 3M 9T 1G 1B
West Perth BEST: S.Nelson, J.Horgan, L.Baker, J.Rotham
Perth BEST: N.Taylor, B.Johnson, J.Levien, T.Simpson, K.Morisey

South Freo narrowly beat Swan Districts (47 to 59), unfortunately DZELEBDZIC, M (196cm 97KG KPF) was down on last weeks 4 goal effort and was goaless (2 behinds, 4 marks):
STEWART, Taryce (very slight at 170cm 70kg) 19D 11K 8H 2M 2T 3G 1B
BROWN, Dylan (185cm 82kg) 27D 19K 8H 2M 7T 1G 1B, he had a 26D 3 Goal game the week before. he could be one to watch
Swan Districts BEST: T.Stewart, R.Armstrong, S.Hodder
South Freo BEST: D.Brown, S.Bolton, K.Russell, Z.De san miguel, A.Forrest-yarran

East Freo smashed Peel (~55 points), STRNADICA, Luke was disappointing with only 8D 4M 1G, 0 hit outs.
BURTON, Matthew (no not spider) 27D 11K 16H 1M 8T
HURA, Noah 22D 15K 7H 5M 1T
HOLMES, Corey 23D 19K 4H 5M 3T 1G
MILWARD, Brett 7D 6K 1H 4M 1T 2G 2B
Peel BEST: A.Naughton, B.Penny, M.Humble, C.Wilson, J.Capurso
East Freo BEST: D.Blurton, M.Burton, K.Baskerville, C.Holmes, L.Bailey

East Perth destroyed subiaco (115 to 40):
POWELL-PEPPER, S 25D 12K 13H 3M
FOLEY, Fraser (196cm 81kg KPF) 6D 5K 1H 3M 2G 1B
Subiaco BEST: J.Harris, M.Lawrence, C.Bramley, B.Miller
East Perth BEST: S.Powell-pepper, B.Starcevich, E.Christofis, S.Wright

As far as the seniors go:
Mason Shaw (KPF) had a 1 goal 2 mark game
Spencer White (yes him) had a 2 goal game
Clinton Jones dominated with 45 disposals
Tanner Smith was switched fwd at the start of round 1 and whilst he had a poor one against subi has bounced back with 4 goals to give his side a narrow win
Ed Langdon dominated with 32 disposals and 10 marks
Hannath had 56 hit outs but by all reports he's struggling
Brett Peake came out of retirement and kick 5 goals. looks like the servo king is back
Josh Simpson (ex docker who walked away from the game) had 2 goals 15 disposals
Greg Clarke played well in defence and is starting to build on his game
Declan Jackson (190cm 97kg KPD) did very well in defence again
Halligan backed up his 6 goal game last week with 2 goals
Tom Lamb had 23 disposal and 1 goal off the wing. he's put on some very good size

I'm hoping we end up with pick 5ish and can get Jonty Scharenberg; he's skillful, knows where the goals are and never seems rushed. A good marking, solid inside and out mid who looks about 6 foot 2 which would help our midfield. Obviously a lot to play out this year but I feel like he would be a great addition to the dynamic of our midfield.

http://www.afl.com.au/video/2016-04-06/draft-prospects-shine-on-big-stage

EDIT: Will Brodie's running style, inside work and height reminds me of Fyfe, whether he develops anywhere near to that comparison is anyone's guess. Bowes reminds me of Cotchin, ****ing Gold Coast, lucky bastards... Petrevski-Seton looks very classy. Sounds like the top 10 is going to have some really good mids.

From thomey:
AFL Academy boys have lost to Geelong's VFL side by 15 points. Will Brodie the standout again with 22 disposals, 3 clearances.

Looks like he's off to GWS at pick 1. (Pies pick they owe GWS this year :p)