List Mgmt. Draft Discussion 2016

Big Tom De Koning is putting on an absolute clinic right now at Shepley Oval.

The Stringrays are up 86 to 29 against the Knights, and he's got 6 to half time!

An underage prospect out of Mt Martha/Padua College, there's absolutely nothing of him - he's 198cm 79kg - but he takes massive pack grabs and is bloody athletic. Takes turns in the ruck on occasion too. Something to think about.

Firstly great work from you barrels giving us an insight into the young kids.
My son plays junior footy with mount Martha and a name that is mentioned as one to look out for us Hunter Clarke- is he someone you reckon could make it.

Btw we have named two wins of our oval after recent no 1 draft picks- weitering & Whitfield.- weitering was at Clubhouse tonight.

Big Tom De Koning is putting on an absolute clinic right now at Shepley Oval.

The Stringrays are up 86 to 29 against the Knights, and he's got 6 to half time!

An underage prospect out of Mt Martha/Padua College, there's absolutely nothing of him - he's 198cm 79kg - but he takes massive pack grabs and is bloody athletic. Takes turns in the ruck on occasion too. Something to think about.
De Koning sounds very ethnic to me - best we sign him up to our new multi-cultural academy.;)

It seemed a pretty open set of guide lines for what constitutes an academy selection for Vic clubs. Make it work saints.

Sounds like something we need! Would you spend our first rounder on him?

Any other super skilful players?

Have you picked your boy yet?
1. Depends who else is out there when our pick arrives, but he's very talented.
2. Plenty, but let's wait for the Champs...
3. Josh Begley, Eastern Ranges.
Firstly great work from you barrels giving us an insight into the young kids.
My son plays junior footy with mount Martha and a name that is mentioned as one to look out for us Hunter Clarke- is he someone you reckon could make it.

Btw we have named two wins of our oval after recent no 1 draft picks- weitering & Whitfield.- weitering was at Clubhouse tonight.
Thanks mate, but not heard of Clarke myself yet.

The way Ross, Dunstan, Acres coming on i reckon we r goin alright in the guts.
A ready to play winger with speed and skills plz.

None of them looking like great clearance/contested ball winners. Dunstan closest to it, but i think he'll be limited.

It seems to me the last few years some of the Tassie kids have flown under the radar a bit or aren't rated that highly. Jake Kolodjashnij went pretty late, Templeton didn't even go in the main draft, Mav Weller we got in the rookie draft after the Suns didn't rate him. The only Tassie kid who was really rated highly that I can remember in the last few years was Kade Kolodjashnij and he's turned out to be pretty bloody good.

hopefully the changes to the U18s helps fix this

Few of your boys get a mention Barrels
FWIW I think I'm in the Jy Simpkin bandwagon. He is everything we want a more.. sounds like another Jack Billings!
A bit different IMO.

A bit of an odd comparison perhaps, but a lot of Terry Milera about him, albeit Jy is a lot more talented;

image.jpeg

Same size, same slim build, but both very elusive players and talented ball users with serious pace and offensive focus. Simpkin's never had more than 25 touches in a game, Terry's PB at AFL level was 23.

Terry shows glimpses of real ability with us. Jy is a better version.

From everything I've read Simpkin sounds like a beauty and may be a bargain pick?

The only thing that worries me is if he finds enough of the footy? Never had over 25 touches but he has only played one game as a top ager.

Do people think he'll be more of a midfielder or a forward flank type?

I still want Jonty, we need guys who can kick well. If we can get another top 20 pick somehow I would like Simpkin if he slides.
Jonty's a good young prospect, but not one who'd be high on our priority list IMO.

We need outside class as well as kicking skills; if it's Jonty v Jy, it's a no-brainer for mine.

From everything I've read Simpkin sounds like a beauty and may be a bargain pick?

The only thing that worries me is if he finds enough of the footy? Never had over 25 touches but he has only played one game as a top ager.

Do people think he'll be more of a midfielder or a forward flank type?
Flanker - at least initially - but there's nothing wrong with that.

Wingard and Breust are mostly flankers; they go alright.