List Mgmt. Draft Discussion 2016

I did, but others have gone past him for various reasons. His kicking is a bit rough.

Could that be partly due to the fact he's kicking under serious pressure in clearances? Or just in general you reckon his kicking isn't that great? You know who can kick well, Scharenberg! ;)

Depends what the Bains Trust decide we need;

Class & elite disposal = McCluggage
Brute clearance machine = Brodie
Fwd/Mid Matchwinner = Venables

Was impressed with a lot of taller kids

Jack Scrimshaw
Taylin Duman
Oscar Clarvarino
Mitchell McCarthy

Think James Worpel will continue the footy factory at the Geelong Falcons definitely will get drafted.
Agree with Tim Taranto...

But Brodie will be a star. Clearance King, courageous , tough .........want

Hopefully all the top academy kids get bid on early!
At this stage I reckon we need everything to go our way to end up with either Brodie or McLuggage. We'll most likely have pick 7-9. We'd need GC and GWS (pies pick) to have to use their first, Freo will likely take SPS then we need some KPP's to go high in the draft.

Long way to go though I suppose, it will no doubt be totally different to how I see it at the end of the year.

if SPS McCluggage and Brodie are gone by our pick I wouldn't mind scrimshaw if he can be a full tie mid, looked very good today, wasn't wrong about Taranto either it seems, would've liked to see him in the midfield a bit more though

Why is everyone so bullish about the Victorian kids??

Vic Country got belted by WA who in turn got belted by SA

Best wait until the Vic teams play SA and see how the the Vic players match up then
Gonna be hard to overlook solid performances by Powell-Pepper (WA), Graham (SA) and Scharenberg (SA). In the bests in both games so far and likely available around mid first round.

Then there's the 'only part-time mids' like Ainsworth and Berry who were All-Australians last year, and Simpkin who's injured this year.

If we're around pick #9 to #12 (after the Academy selections) we'll have some tough decisions to make.

Barrels if the draft was tomorrow... what would your order be???
As Kilroy says above, it's going to be really tough...

The safest pick for me is Brodie; his kicking is a touch rough, but he's tough and oddly skilful. He reminds me of Acres but with a harder edge.

Scharenberg is rocketing up the order for me as an inside bull with excellent skills, as is Clarke after yesterday's performance.

McGrath was unreal in the last quarter, is quick and very classy. McCluggage was BOG in the first half and is pure silk, and Taranto and Venables both showed real forward ability to go with decent stints in midfield.

SPS is an absolute jet; a cross between Cyril Rioli and Stephen Hill, and I have to credit SPP's ball-winning ability, even if I don't like him.

Berry and Scrimshaw are both excellent footballers too, but I wonder about their roles at AFL level. None of the talls really grab me this year, at least not at our picks.

I've said that this year is a strange draft in that there's a small 'A+' group, but they're mostly Academy types, then it immediately drops to solid 'B/B+' types, but there are heaps of them.

The pointy end isn't really that sharp compared to previous years, but it's just so so deep.

I'm going to say, very tentatively at this stage:

1. Brodie
2. SPS
3. McCluggage
4. Scharenberg
5. Venables
6. Clarke
7. Berry
8. Scrimshaw
9. Powell-Pepper
10. McGrath
11. Taranto

As Kilroy says above, it's going to be really tough...

The safest pick for me is Brodie; his kicking is a touch rough, but he's tough and oddly skilful. He reminds me of Acres but with a harder edge.

Scharenberg is rocketing up the order for me as an inside bull with excellent skills, as is Clarke after yesterday's performance.

McGrath was unreal in the last quarter, is quick and very classy. McCluggage was BOG in the first half and is pure silk, and Taranto and Venables both showed real forward ability to go with decent stints in midfield.

SPS is an absolute jet; a cross between Cyril Rioli and Stephen Hill, and I have to credit SPP's ball-winning ability, even if I don't like him.

Berry and Scrimshaw are both excellent footballers too, but I wonder about their roles at AFL level. None of the talls really grab me this year, at least not at our picks.

I've said that this year is a strange draft in that there's a small 'A+' group, but they're mostly Academy types, then it immediately drops to solid 'B/B+' types, but there are heaps of them.

The pointy end isn't really that sharp compared to previous years, but it's just so so deep.

I'm going to say, very tentatively at this stage:

1. Brodie
2. SPS
3. McCluggage
4. Scharenberg
5. Venables
6. Clarke
7. Berry
8. Scrimshaw
9. Powell-Pepper
10. McGrath
11. Taranto

Do you think Ainsworth could shoot up the draft? Simpkin still a chance to go fairly high?

Ainsworth is too good to slide, but is 'just' a small forward. Simpkin will go late first to early second IMO because of lack of exposed form and question over whether he can transition to a genuine midfield prospect.

I haven't followed the 18s this year so I'm relying on others opinions but last year Ainsworth was a class above even as an underager.

I worry that he is sub 180cm and I'd prefer a pure mid over yet another 'lets transition this kid to the midfield' project but unless he really went backwards I'd be surprised if he didn't go top 10 (at least outside of the academies).

I wonder where our first pick will be, assuming around 7, I worry that our pure mid like McCluggage or Brodie may be gone by then but who knows - something tells me we don't want to keep our first this year anyway.

Ainsworth is too good to slide, but is 'just' a small forward. Simpkin will go late first to early second IMO because of lack of exposed form and question over whether he can transition to a genuine midfield prospect.

I must admit as much as Ainsworth comes across as a flog, I do like his class. What's his range 10-15???

If we could somehow turn a first pick into Steele & Ainsworth I'd be pretty happy. Maybe even our 2016 & 2017 first into Marchbank, Steele & Ainsworth??? Medium-tall back, big bodies inside mid & classy flanker/fwd with X factor.

Scharenberg

Think it is big chance of getting him with Academies in play

My hope is that Ainsworth will shoot up the draft ahead of our pick and push a midfielder down.

I think he'd be great but we are just too desperate for mids.

That's why I wouldn't give up our first for him. But if we could split a first for Ainsworth AND a mid then I'd be okay with it. I just think we need to continue adding class if we wanna complete with GWS, Dogs & Dees down the track.

A good comparison is:

Ainsworth AND Steele
Vs
Brodie

What would you do?

That's where I'm coming from.

That's why I wouldn't give up our first for him. But if we could split a first for Ainsworth AND a mid then I'd be okay with it. I just think we need to continue adding class if we wanna complete with GWS, Dogs & Dees down the track.

A good comparison is:

Ainsworth AND Steele
Vs
Brodie

What would you do?

That's where I'm coming from.
You're simply not going to get that deal...

To get Steele you'd be settling back into whatever late first or early second round pick that GWS would theoretically shift with him, and that's more a Simpkin, Taranto, Hura type pick.

You're simply not going to get that deal...

To get Steele you'd be settling back into whatever late first or early second round pick that GWS would theoretically shift with him, and that's more a Simpkin, Taranto, Hura type pick.

Where's Ainsworth go?

Based on current ladder positions:
Pick 7/2017 1st & Steele for pick 13. Perhaps we exchange some later picks as well. Pick 13 for Ainsworth or will he be gone by then?

I haven't followed the 18s this year so I'm relying on others opinions but last year Ainsworth was a class above even as an underager.

I worry that he is sub 180cm and I'd prefer a pure mid over yet another 'lets transition this kid to the midfield' project but unless he really went backwards I'd be surprised if he didn't go top 10 (at least outside of the academies).

I wonder where our first pick will be, assuming around 7, I worry that our pure mid like McCluggage or Brodie may be gone by then but who knows - something tells me we don't want to keep our first this year anyway.
Brodie and McCluggage are gone? Simple. Venables, Clarke or Scharenberg. Maybe Myles Poholke.

We could even take a punt a bit later on Willem Drew. Was very impressive yesterday and is an October boy, so he's got proportionately more development left in him. Is 188cm 78kg.

Looks the part already...

image.jpeg

Where's Ainsworth go?

Based on current ladder positions:
Pick 7/2017 1st & Steele for pick 13. Perhaps we exchange some later picks as well. Pick 13 for Ainsworth or will he be gone by then?
Too early to tell.

Either way I don't think Ainsworth is a player we need, as good as he may indeed be.