List Mgmt. Draft Discussion 2016

Too early to tell.

Either way I don't think Ainsworth is a player we need, as good as he may indeed be.

True. I'm working on the assumption we trade our first for a player so just thinking who will be avail in the Gresham range if we get a later first back. The more wins we get this season the more confident I am we look to bring in a best 22 mid with decent talent.

FWIW, if you're comparing the kids to our current lads, then off the top of my head I'd say;

Brodie - Acres (harder)
Clarke - Ross
Poholke - Weller
Venables - Membrey (but a mid)
McGrath - Savage
Gallucci - Montagna
McCluggage - Steven (taller/better kick)

Unfortunately I haven't seen Scharenberg live yet, so I can't make a decent call.

I'm happy to be argued with, but that's who I see at the moment.

FWIW, if you're comparing the kids to our current lads, then off the top of my head I'd say;

Brodie - Acres (harder)
Clarke - Ross
Poholke - Weller
McGrath - Savage
Gallucci - Montagna

Unfortunately I haven't seen Scharenberg live yet, so I can't make a decent call.

What about Drew mate? Heard his name a bit but I was in & out of watching the game.

Interesting. Didn't you have a fair bit of wood over Brodie earlier this year? I'd love that GC prospect, Bowes.
Watched Bowes on GF day last year and was salivating - then found out he was an academy prospect - he has gone from strength to strength which is annoying. I hate the academies, to think we wouldn't have our captain if he played U18s 15 years later makes me sick.

Whose that Graham mid from SA? Isn't spoken of but is getting great numbers.

Brodie - Acres (harder)
Clarke - Ross
Poholke - Weller
McGrath - Savage
Gallucci - Montagna

Happy to start tanking now to get McCluggage - a taller and better kick but similar player to Steven - lets relocate all our home games for the rest of the year to somewhere interstate, collect a few mill and grab McCluggage!

What about Drew mate? Heard his name a bit but I was in & out of watching the game.
I'd need to re-watch, but Drew's a little bit of an Acres/McKenzie hybrid in that he has Acres' height, ball-winning ability and isn't particularly quick but McKenzie's character in that he doesn't do anything that's particularly special, but the sum of his parts is something pretty damned decent.

I like him.

Happy to start tanking now to get McCluggage - a taller and better kick but similar player to Steven - lets relocate all our home games for the rest of the year to somewhere interstate, collect a few mill and grab McCluggage!
He's not as explosive as Jack, or as unexpectedly tough, but he's a ball magnet, classy and quick, and kicks goals.

Interesting listening to Shifter & Twomey on the broadcast they were discussing what type of player bottom teams need. IIRC it was something like this:

Ess - tall fwd (Cal said hard to go past Brodie tho)
Bris - tall fwd (possibly forced to use it on Bowes)
Freo - tall fwd
GC - ??? Can't remember
GWS - academy player
Rich - ??? Can't remember
StK - pacey & skillful mid

I know next to nothing about the talls in the draft but going off their assessment a few teams may reach leaving a nice mid to land to us.

Interesting listening to Shifter & Twomey on the broadcast they were discussing what type of player bottom teams need. IIRC it was something like this:

Freo - tall fwd
GC - ??? Can't remember
GWS - academy player

I know next to nothing about the talls in the draft but going off their assessment a few teams may reach leaving a nice mid to land to us.

Freo will trade next years first rounder for McCarthy and take SPS with their 1st this year.

As Kilroy says above, it's going to be really tough...

The safest pick for me is Brodie; his kicking is a touch rough, but he's tough and oddly skilful. He reminds me of Acres but with a harder edge.

Scharenberg is rocketing up the order for me as an inside bull with excellent skills, as is Clarke after yesterday's performance.

McGrath was unreal in the last quarter, is quick and very classy. McCluggage was BOG in the first half and is pure silk, and Taranto and Venables both showed real forward ability to go with decent stints in midfield.

SPS is an absolute jet; a cross between Cyril Rioli and Stephen Hill, and I have to credit SPP's ball-winning ability, even if I don't like him.

Berry and Scrimshaw are both excellent footballers too, but I wonder about their roles at AFL level. None of the talls really grab me this year, at least not at our picks.

I've said that this year is a strange draft in that there's a small 'A+' group, but they're mostly Academy types, then it immediately drops to solid 'B/B+' types, but there are heaps of them.

The pointy end isn't really that sharp compared to previous years, but it's just so so deep.

I'm going to say, very tentatively at this stage:

1. Brodie
2. SPS
3. McCluggage
4. Scharenberg
5. Venables
6. Clarke
7. Berry
8. Scrimshaw
9. Powell-Pepper
10. McGrath
11. Taranto
I know how much that would have pained you putting someone in from a better state

No love for strnadica. Hes top 5 IMO

Freo - tall fwd
GC - ??? Can't remember
GWS - academy player

Brisbane won't be forced to do squat seeing as Bowes is a GC Academy prospect...

But on that breakdown;
Ess - Strnadica, Marshall or Battle, or Brodie.
Bris - Allison perhaps, or SPS?
Freo - Strnadica, Marshall or Battle*.
GCS - Bowes.
GWS - Setterfield/Mutch/Perryman.
Rich - ?
StK - best midfielder left.

The Tigers are the real issue there... But may well take SPS or McCluggage, leaving Brodie , Scharenberg etc for us.

EDIT: crasha301 makes an excellent call, and SPS is a monty if Freo trade for McCarthy.

I know how much that would have pained you putting someone in from a better state

No love for strnadica. Hes top 5 IMO
Not for for us he's not, and it's on that basis I ranked them.

Brisbane won't be forced to do squat seeing as Bowes is a GC Academy prospect...

But on that breakdown;
Ess - Strnadica, Marshall or Battle, or Brodie.
Bris - Allison perhaps, or SPS.
Freo - Strnadica, Marshall or Battle
GCS - Bowes
GWS - Setterfield/Mutch
Rich - ?
StK - best midfielder left.

The Tigers are the real issue there... But may well take SPS, leaving Brodie, McCluggage, Scharenberg etc for us.

Another thing worth considering (as was mentioned above) Freo getting McCarthy surely wouldn't pass on local kid SPS.

Richmond rarely pick talls with first rounders, recently anyway. I reckon they'll keep consistent & pick a mid but they do have holes throughout their list.

If all goes as you predicted we'll have access to one of the better mids from the draft. A guy like Angus Brayshaw is what we need IMO. Wins the contested footy, leg speed ok & good skills.

Another thing worth considering (as was mentioned above) Freo getting McCarthy surely wouldn't pass on local kid SPS.

Richmond rarely pick talls with first rounders, recently anyway. I reckon they'll keep consistent & pick a mid but they do have holes throughout their list.

If all goes as you predicted we'll have access to one of the better mids from the draft. A guy like Angus Brayshaw is what we need IMO. Wins the contested footy, leg speed ok & good skills.
That's Brodie, Venables, Scharenberg or Clarke, depending on who's left.

Graham is Answerth IMO. Super hard and racks up the pill, but might not have the tricks to make hay at the next level.

We still dont have the ruck fwd situation sorted. You cant overlook talent that good IMO

I dont think he will make it to our pick. Ess or brisb will pounce
I'd overlook him.

Hard call, but we need classy and clearance mids much more than anything else IMO. I'd take SPP ahead of him, and you know how I feel about him.

I'd overlook him.

Hard call, but we need classy and clearance mids much more than anything else IMO. I'd take SPP ahead of him, and you know how I feel about him.
I'd take best available if we dont land one this year I'd trade out big time for one next year and the year after. Look at a money ball type to tie us over this year, similar to what we did with membrey and bruce. You just never know if they'll come good and then you re-adjust pleasantly from there

Mids mids mids... And that's ME saying that!

Freo - tall fwd
GC - ??? Can't remember
GWS - academy player

Brisbane may indeed go a tall first then get Allison with their second pick. Gold Coast may even try to get Bowes with their second and third picks.

Will be interesting to see if anyone outbids GWS on Macreadie (a key defender), Setterfield (wing), Mutch (mid) or Sproule (a tall forward with endurance).

Highly doubt Ainsworth would even be in the mix at our pick
More of a back ended first rounder at best, unless the Suns take him, they seem to love small players recently
Brodie is the pure standout but probably won't be available.
Plenty of concerns over SPS but he would be exciting, just would avoid that small

Brisbane may indeed go a tall first then get Allison with their second pick. Gold Coast may even try to get Bowes with their second and third picks.

Will be interesting to see if anyone outbids GWS on Macreadie (a key defender), Setterfield (wing), Mutch (mid) or Sproule (a tall forward with endurance).

Gold Coast also have Melb's first pick, currently pick 9, surely they use that at least on Bowes. You're right though, they could use their first, currently pick 3 on a tall.

Geez GWS will get a haul. Just about guaranteed of half a dozen flags with all the concessions & their academy. The AFL would be loving it.