List Mgmt. Draft Discussion 2016

I have really enjoyed watching Adelaide and GWS playing that super quick and skilful slingshot off half back.

Having watched McGrath in the VM v VC, I reckon he will be awesome in that game style. He looks like a genuine footballer and not just an athlete.

At this stage we should have a pick of a few good options with our first: McGrath, Venables, Taranto, Scrimshaw.

Will Brodie only sounds better and better.
Ready made, will play round 1 next year, inside mid which we lack.
Jealous of who gets him, also McCluggage who could be an insanely good player

McGrath should win or come in top 3 for rising star. Plays at half back which means more chance of accumulating disposals. Plus he's a tackle evading line breaker as well a quality intercept mark.

Taking the name out of it - and please, for the sake of the experiment, don't mention it, even if you work out who it is; I want to do a few of these - I want to do a little vox pop-type arrangement;

By way of background, this player is a Victorian 187cm utility. His season averages per game so far are;

- 16.9 possessions at 63% effectiveness
~ (kicks: 12.2 at 57%)
~ (handballs: 4.7 at 81%)
- 3.8 handball receives
- 4.4 marks
~ (contested marks: 0.9)
- 3.5 tackles
- 0.6 frees for
- 0.8 frees against
- 0.2 hitouts
- 2.3 goals
- 1.3 behinds

The first in the series, the question is: you're picking him in the draft...

Where do you pick him?
Probably one of your boys. Under-rated due to injury and moving up into the second round.
And part 2; another utility, another Victorian, but 188cm;

- 26 possessions at 75% effectiveness
~ (kicks: 13.75 at 62%)
~ (handballs: 12.25 at 90%)
- 8 handball receives
- 7 marks
~ (contested marks: 0.75)
- 5 tackles
- 1.5 frees for
- 1.75 frees against
- 1 hitout
- 1.5 goals
- 1.5 behinds

Again, you're picking him; where does he go?
Maybe an over-ager with more experience. Under-rated but would hit the ground running. Late second round.

Will Brodie is ready built inside midfielder will be hard to beat.

Don't deny that at all. He'll probably sit in top 3 with McCluggage and Bowes (in the draft). I am just saying that McGrath has strong chances to feature early with his skills and athletics background.

Probably one of your boys. Under-rated due to injury and moving up into the second round.
Maybe an over-ager with more experience. Under-rated but would hit the ground running. Late second round.
I know exactly who he is on about

scrimshaw is a ripper kid.

jesus i feel old calling them kids :(

This thread is starting to feel redundant now based on MG's comment over on the Draft & Trade thread albeit only his opinion (which is usually a good guage).

Even still, give me Taranto every day of the week.
Given the quality of players we'd be looking at to trade down there's a fair chance we'd luck out on getting one let alone two. If we got one it would be more likely we'd be holding out for a late first or early second in return.

Need to draft at least two if we upgraded a rookie too.

Play on.

This thread is starting to feel redundant now based on MG's comment over on the Draft & Trade thread albeit only his opinion (which is usually a good guage).

Even still, give me Taranto every day of the week.

Think we might try and do a deal like last year. We still need top end talent via the trade imo.

Kade Answerth featured in the draft possibilities 'Around The State Leagues' article currently up on the AFL site.

While still scratchy, his disposal has improved, and you can't ever question his endeavour or ball-winning ability. As an example, he pulled in a mighty 14 tackles to go with 18 possessions (66%), 8 handball receives, 4 marks and a hitout a couple of weeks ago against the Blues' Magoos. He averages 6.6 tackles per game!

182cm 83kg; I'd be very surprised if he's not in the mix for a rookie spot.

Given the quality of players we'd be looking at to trade down there's a fair chance we'd luck out on getting one let alone two. If we got one it would be more likely we'd be holding out for a late first or early second in return.

Need to draft at least two if we upgraded a rookie too.

Play on.
I think it needs to shift, from the high end quality that everybody is expecting, and move to the ones that will be around at the third round where we'll enter into the draft. Who are the diamonds in the rough, the unexpected nuggets: the Sinclairs, Templetons, etc of this draft.

Oh you mean the guys who will still be on our list after 3 years and we still won't know if they have a chance of being an effective afl player. ( shades of Raph Clarke , when he retired we still weren't sure ).

I kind of prefer to draft a Billings or a Gresh and trade late picks for a Membrey, Bruce, Roberton or Weller.

Begley

Will Brodie only sounds better and better.
Ready made, will play round 1 next year, inside mid which we lack.
Jealous of who gets him, also McCluggage who could be an insanely good player
IMO there's no insanely talented players in this draft. It's a very even top 20, pick 8 will probably be similar to pick 18. We aren't getting anywhere near pick 1 or 2, so on that basis I would definitely trade the pick.

If he'll still be around at the 3rd round what's his negatives?
- lack of exposed form as a mid.
- pace and tank are somewhat unknown.
- too small as a 'strength' KPF.
- but not a 'Gunston' 3rd tall.
- kicking efficiency could be better.

He's come from MILES back though, he wasn't even on Eastern's final list until he forced his way on by dominating EFL Div 3... Then he kicked 6.2 on debut (against an admittedly poor Tassie side) and a legend was born.

He moved into the middle during the Champs due to Clarke being off with Vic Metro and has impressed with his movement for a big lump of a lad (87kg), neat skills and work rate, mostly starting at half forward and playing as the 'extra' mid.

He's too strong for kids his height (187cm), but too agile for most his weight (87kg). He's the same size as Dustin Martin, but not as quick. Does play a similar hybrid role though, and that should be his ambition.

He's a rough diamond IMO.