List Mgmt. Draft Discussion 2016

If he was 25 maybe, but he's into the back end of his career and GC aren't pushing for a flag.

I'd argue they are much more desperate for midfielders than running outside players like Hanley also.

I reckon he probably plays until 35 or so as most high rated players do these days. He is what they need being a mature player and he is pretty underrated in Melbourne. One of Brissies best 2 or 3 players. racks up contested possession, big accumulator when he plays wing and racks up inside 50s.

Pretty sure I've had this conversation with you. How many 35 year olds do you think were playing footy this year?

The answer was 2, Brent Harvey and Corey Enright. They are both gone now and next year it will only be Boyd and Murphy. Only a handful of guys over the age of 33 were playing. On average there was only one player on each list over the age of 32.

And then you have to factor in form, just having a look at the list of guys that are 31 and over, out of the 30 or so guys playing I think you could probably pick a handful that are still at the top of their game.

For every Boomer Harvey there are 4 or 5 Jimmy Bartels who just watch the game go past them when they get to 31 or 32.

He has been a good player, and I don't think I underrate him at all, but he was far from outstanding this year and had an average year in 2015. It'd s big risk to think he's going to an elite player for another 7 years.

what type of player is he barrels?
Bio is on AFL Draft Central... ;)

He's a forward who is moving into a majority mid role. Powerful kid.

Bio is on AFL Draft Central... ;)

He's a forward who is moving into a majority mid role. Powerful kid.

i dunno where that is and cant be arsed finding it

he sounds like an exciting prospect. where you see him playing in 4 years. is he an inside mid/outside mid? is he a tall mid?

Pretty sure I've had this conversation with you. How many 35 year olds do you think were playing footy this year?

The answer was 2, Brent Harvey and Corey Enright. They are both gone now and next year it will only be Boyd and Murphy. Only a handful of guys over the age of 33 were playing. On average there was only one player on each list over the age of 32.

And then you have to factor in form, just having a look at the list of guys that are 31 and over, out of the 30 or so guys playing I think you could probably pick a handful that are still at the top of their game.

For every Boomer Harvey there are 4 or 5 Jimmy Bartels who just watch the game go past them when they get to 31 or 32.

He has been a good player, and I don't think I underrate him at all, but he was far from outstanding this year and had an average year in 2015. It'd s big risk to think he's going to an elite player for another 7 years.

Don't know about still being elite but just has to be valuable. Rooey and Joey are probably career best this year at 32. Dempster and Fisher slowing down but still possibilities to play again. He's from overseas so didn't start the bash and crash too early. I see him like Heath Shaw or Stevie J for GWS a mature head who will make them better and even if its for 3 years worth getting. They want mature players and no one will go there. He's an A grader who is happy to play there they just need to get it done.

So we have two older guys that are still playing good footy while a dozen others have retired.

I'm not arguing he wont be a handy pick up, but I highly doubt he will be a two time All Australian like Shaw and Johnson was a free pick up.

Giving away pick 10 for him would be strange, I don't even think Brisbane would be expecting that. The only way I see it happening is if Brisbane are giving either 16 or 19 back for him.

A few WA kids I'd like to target with our first second round pick. I don't think Bolton will fall that far but if he does we'd have to take him. SPP will be there abouts and then Rotham who would be a perfect third tall.

i'd kill for bolton, exactly what we need. agree on SPP.

i feel like the club is aiming higher though. i think they have a couple of really late smokies at the back end of the draft in mind and an absolutely elite talent at the top end of the draft, they feel will slide to us if we get back into the first round

If GWS end up with pick 5, who does everyone envision they take???

given SPS carrying on about wanting to go to a melbourne club, i reckon he's been told he's a high chance of going to GC/GWS. so i agree with birdman, GWS will be all over him

Hopefully if GWS have pick 5 Setterfield will have been bid on by then.

If not, will they have enough points to pick up all their academy talent if they've used their first two picks on non-academy picks? Will they also have enough list spots, given they have to drop from 44 to 40 next season?

Barrels brodie vs steele if you had to pick 1 who would you take and why?

With talk about us trying to get into the top 6 i don't see the point in getting brodie now that we have steele.

So we have two older guys that are still playing good footy while a dozen others have retired.

I'm not arguing he wont be a handy pick up, but I highly doubt he will be a two time All Australian like Shaw and Johnson was a free pick up.

Giving away pick 10 for him would be strange, I don't even think Brisbane would be expecting that. The only way I see it happening is if Brisbane are giving either 16 or 19 back for him.

He's one of their best three players though. Rocky no one wants because he's a bit of a dick but besides Zorko Hanley is their best. Beams probably not going to be as good any more. Brisbane would want heaps for him like we would for Steven, Rooey or even Joey. I don't think it's a bargain but he's just what GC need and they have a heap of picks and can't lure talent. They will pay him heaps and they will be very keen to get the deal done.