List Mgmt. Draft Discussion 2016

I read a comporaison to K Kolo from the Suns, any similarities?

Also how do Rotham and Ridley compare?

I don't think he's as good as KK was, Kade looked like a star in the making. Rotham looks like he could play a bit of a a looser role and not as a one on one defender from what I saw of him so not dissimilar to Sam Gilbert but not as rangy or mobile.

I read a comporaison to K Kolo from the Suns, any similarities?

Also how do Rotham and Ridley compare?
Ridley is probably the more productive player at this stage. The thing that stands out with Ridley is the way in which he moves. He takes very long strides and almost looks as though he bounces across the ground. Compared to rotham who would seem as though he has all the capabilities but hasn't actually shown it yet

Richo is keen to set up like this ....

View attachment 309349

Haha I have seen this done in real life in a last game of the year where the entire team bar starting midfielders started on the HBF and ran thru towards goals. The other team kicked something like 5 goals in a row to peg it back to 20 odd goal margin before they gave up trying

Because of a change at work this year I haven't had anywhere near the opportunity to watch the draft prospects.
To the experts on here can you tell me where Josh Rotham ends up positionally as a player? Could he play the third tall defender role? Does he last to our first selection?
Reminds me a lot of a young Sam Gilbert in the way he plays.
You'd think he'd hold some interest to us if he is still on the board at 23.
Haven't seen a heap of him, but watched him in one or two champs games last year and another one or two this year I think and to me he is just an inch or two taller version of Brandon White. Very quick (2.90sec 20m sprint), very skinny, doesn't seem to win a heap of the ball, but I think he uses it well and he seems to do most things well, but doesn't seem to dominate games (hence being a real chance to last to our pick or beyond, when he could go top 10 if he got more of the ball- given his nice height, speed and ball use). There were pretty high hopes for him going into this year, but I think the general feeling is that he didn't really quite live up to them, hence now being much more likely to go 2nd round than 1st.

I'm far from convinced he'll ever end up strong enough for that 3rd-tall role and as such think he'd probably be competing with Roberton and White for a HBF in the coming years and I'm not sure he's enough of an upgrade on either (if at all) for it to be worth us using our first pick on him, when we already have those two and you'd think there are other positions we have more of a need to fill.

There's talk that we want a "tall HBFer" though, so if we are you'd think it would be out of him or Ridley, if we want to use 23 on one of them.

Haven't seen a heap of him, but watched him in one or two champs games last year and another one or two this year I think and to me he is just an inch or two taller version of Brandon White. Very quick (2.90sec 20m sprint), very skinny, doesn't seem to win a heap of the ball, but I think he uses it well and he seems to do most things well, but doesn't seem to dominate games (hence being a real chance to last to our pick or beyond, when he could go top 10 if he got more of the ball- given his nice height, speed and ball use). There were pretty high hopes for him going into this year, but I think the general feeling is that he didn't really quite live up to them, hence now being much more likely to go 2nd round than 1st.

I'm far from convinced he'll ever end up strong enough for that 3rd-tall role and as such think he'd probably be competing with Roberton and White for a HBF in the coming years and I'm not sure he's enough of an upgrade on either (if at all) for it to be worth us using our first pick on him, when we already have those two and you'd think there are other positions we have more of a need to fill.

There's talk that we want a "tall HBFer" though, so if we are you'd think it would be out of him or Ridley, if we want to use 23 on one of them.
Junker, Duman, Ridley all fit that description

it seems every year we pick up another HBFer

I'll create a new category called "Tall HBF" and say that Rotham is in it, and I can only remember another 3 in the last decade. 4 if i count Fergason.
Should i count Walsh as well?

IF we somehow end up with Gulluci, Drew and Macarthy we should all be doing cartwheels. Everyone and thing Ive looked at (for our interests) indicates THIS would be the most ideal.

Tall HBFs: Roberton, White, Webster and 2 Irish blokes. Dont see why we would go after more of the same. As mentioned we have abundance of HBFs. Macarthy could be anything very exciting. Hed most likely be KDP.

We need speed/midfielders. Gulluci and Drew are this and while not as likely to be stars like a top 10 the potential they have is just as great as any top 10.
Again very exciting.

IMO I dont think Gulluci will be there at 23. Question is do we pull the trigger on Drew at 23 and Macarthy at 36 if this is the case?

Macarthy will surely attract huge attention at 35-50 youd think. Then again drafts have surprised every year. Who knows I guess.

IF we somehow end up with Gulluci, Drew and Macarthy we should all be doing cartwheels. Everyone and thing Ive looked at (for our interests) indicates THIS would be the most ideal.

Tall HBFs: Roberton, White, Webster and 2 Irish blokes. Dont see why we would go after more of the same. As mentioned we have abundance of HBFs. Macarthy could be anything very exciting. Hed most likely be KDP.

We need speed/midfielders. Gulluci and Drew are this and while not as likely to be stars like a top 10 the potential they have is just as great as any top 10.
Again very exciting.

IMO I dont think Gulluci will be there at 23. Question is do we pull the trigger on Drew at 23 and Macarthy at 36 if this is the case?

Macarthy will surely attract huge attention at 35-50 youd think. Then again drafts have surprised every year. Who knows I guess.

If Webster and White are "talls" , then Steve Johnson was a key forward.

6"2 for running half backs is tall no?
Were not talking KPDs were talking hbfs right?
Yes steve johnson was a half forward. Not a mini pocketer.

Rotham and Ridley are what 188-192cm? Hardly key talls (195cm-200cm) so theyd be in that half back category which I believe we have many especially given we are also drafting 2 irish blokes that are both 190cm+ and Macarthy.

Given all that dont you think wed be better to target fast midfielders with picks 23,36?

No doubt there will be a slider and we'll likely take best available.

For mine we need outside run to help break the lines which is why Cedric Cox is appealing to me but it depends if he has his head screwed on right which I'm sure the club will check as part of their due diligence...Florent, Galluci, Powell-Pepper, Clarke all seem pretty good - even Witherden...

There is a lot of evenness from 8 - 30 by all accounts so we will need a bit of luck when choosing pick 23 especially. Hope they turn out to be a Luke Parker rather than a Christian Howard!!!!

The other thing I like about Cedric Cox is that he is good mates with Petrovski-Seton, who has openly said he wants to play footy in VIC.

I'd love to get Cox on board this year and ask him to nag his mate about requesting a trade to the Saints in 12-24 months.

Todd Marshall seems to be the slider in everyone's talks at the moment. Surely he doesn't get to us but If he did I'd grab him in a heartbeat to develop into a forward ruck
+1.

Otherwise SPP/Cox ftw

I love the way he goes about it and will be pumped if we pick him. Think you might be underselling Armo a bit there though.

Also, if we get him, think of how hard to tackle we could be if we had him, Blacres, Mav, Gresh, Steele (who seems great at throwing blokes off his back), Steven and D-mac in our side! :)

Think I need to seriously read through this thread and others, because I know absolutely nothing about any of this years recruits..

First time I've taken no interest in a while, probably the wrong year also with us entering a bit later than usual years!

Mmmmm I keep reading his problem is he doesn't slow down and compose himself but apparently that was Nathan Wright's problem as well but he has not improved one iota. Apart from maybe one or two exceptions we're putting a pretty skilled team together, not worth the risk of ruining that for mine.

His highlights are unreal! Looks so hard to tackle and his kicking looks good from what I can see from this years highlights package. A lot different from last years highlight reel, check it out on the afl draft machine on the afl website. Also love the way Marshall leaps at the ball and is clean with it. Apparently he could fall to our pick too witch would be like a dream

Mmmmm I keep reading his problem is he doesn't slow down and compose himself but apparently that was Nathan Wright's problem as well but he has not improved one iota. Apart from maybe one or two exceptions we're putting a pretty skilled team together, not worth the risk of ruining that for mine.
It's also the same issue that Jack Steven has had and he's still managed to win 3 B&F's by the age of 26!

Now that the kicking of the likes of Mav and Seb has improved so much and Gilbo is nearing the end, I reckon we can actually afford to add someone like SPP, who brings so much x-factor and some attributes to the table that we don't necessarily have a lot of.

It's looking like at 23 we pretty much have 2 sorts of choices: Those that get a lot of the ball, or who make a big impact when they do, but who aren't good or consistent by foot (eg. SPP, Clarke, Scharenberg and Gallucci), or those who are good by foot, but who either play in positions that we already have well covered- like HBF- or who don't necessarily get a lot of the ball (eg. Rotham, Witherden, C Cox).

I guess that's the difference between picking at say 10 and picking at 23. Not too many if any left that don't have holes in their game.

For that reason, I'd be pretty happy to go best available, as long as they're not a "tall" (unless we just think they're way too good to pass on).