List Mgmt. Draft Discussion 2016

So let's look at who's ahead of us, what their fans think they need and what the AFL site thinks they need:

Adelaide Cows - pick 13

Brisbane - picks 3, 16, 21, 22

Carltank - pick 5

Essendope - picks 1, 20

Purple Peril - pick 7

Gold Coast Runaways - picks 4, 6, 8, 10 (these'll shape the draft and ultimately our picks)

Greater Western Plastics - picks 2, 15

Norf - pick 11

Port - 14, 17

Sydney - picks 9, 19

Wet Toast - pick 12

Footscray Premiers - pick 18

tl;dr Teams before us and likely needs: mids (Adelaide, Brisbane, Carlton, Gold Coast, North Melbourne, Port Adelaide, Sydney, West Coast), West Australians (Fremantle), no idea (Essendon, GWS), key forward (Western Bulldogs)
Awesome post. Hopefully Bulldogs don't take SPP.

Great post! I think the main one is Florent, who apparently wants to stay in Victoria, which is totally understandable in his position.

I think he is the player that best suits out needs but remains unlikely at our pick.

He would have to get through North, Doggies and Bombers.

It is hard to see him getting past North as he suits a need for them too, as they lose Boomer and Wells, but they might feel they cover that slightly with Hvorat and Ahern (long term). We would have to hope they pick up a slider like Brodie or go with Venables off potential and the family connection.

Think Doggies have a lot of his type with the outside run. If Marshal or Battle are there, they might be considered priority.

Similar with Bombers, if the pick up McCluggage, they already have Merrett, Parish and Fantasia, so might not be a priority. Think they still pick him if best available but if Battle is there might suit needs better.

Hopefully Florent or another slider gets through to 23.
I just can't get excited about Florent.
and i'm calling it now, if he turns out soft like Fiona, you lot will all be calling him Florence.

If Rothams there at Pick 23 - gone!!!!!

A faster Sam Gilbert with heaps better skills. What I love about him is his desire to run and link up.

192cm+ half back/midfielder who can create the 70 - 80 metres plays that Paddy will just love.

If Rothams there at Pick 23 - gone!!!!!

A faster Sam Gilbert with heaps better skills. What I love about him is his desire to run and link up.

192cm+ half back/midfielder who can create the 70 - 80 metres plays that Paddy will just love.
To be fair it's hard to have worse skills than Gilbert

Hoping for a draft like this;
23- Battle or Marshall
36- Brennan Cox or jack maibaum
61- Ben Ronke (knightmare has converted me).

May go against best available but we a key position at either end short. Give our mids another year to prove themselves.

Also considered a gullucci and witherden at 23.

23- Battle or Marshall

May go against best available but we a key position at either end short. Give our mids another year to prove themselves.

Also considered a gullucci and witherden at 23.
Not sure where short a key forward.
Would be surprised if we went one of the key forwards, hearing trout on the pod more after a tall mid

Worth keeping in mind that next year's draft is meant to be stronger for talls. Unless one that drops that we really rate (possible Kerr, Marshall or Battle) I reckon we'll go mid at 23

23- Battle or Marshall

Completely disagree. We've got plenty of talls but need heaps more mids.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/afl-draft-2016-champion-data-ranks-the-top-30-players-based-on-their-statistical-performances/news-story/febca6c18551c62dbbd7950dfc02ece6

29. Todd Marshall (198cm, 87kg key forward) Murray Bushrangers

Poor production since start of championships. Last 12 games averaged just eight disposals and 1.7 goals.

SAM SAYS: Glowing potential will see him drafted higher. Dogs would love him at No. 18 to learn from premiership stars Travis Cloke and Tom Boyd. Shouldn’t get past St Kilda’s pick 23

27. Sam Powell-Pepper (186cm, 83kg midfielder) East Perth

In 51 Champion Data games he never won 30 disposals. But averaged more than 300m gained from just 13 touches for Western Australia.

SAM SAYS: Bull at stoppages and can kicks goals. Supreme runner who looks a second-round selection.

Completely disagree. We've got plenty of talls but need heaps more mids.
So what happens when roo retires which could be in 12 months and we don't have a tall forward in the reserves developing. And we are very thin in key backs, brown only a stop gap, Dempster might only play on for 12 months, Hugh still unproven. Our midfield looks deeper now (after trade period) than our kp stocks. And it's a lot easier and cheaper to address midfield deficiencies through free agency.

This draft is stuffed full of mids to choose from.
For forwards it depends whether they make it or not. They would need to be exactly what we need, not the nearest thing to it.

Yes Hugh is unproven Coughlan too. So is everyone available in the draft.
Marshall is the best of them, due to the "glimpses of talent" he has shown in the Championships. (ie he might be good ).
So far I've not seen a reputable phantom where he's still available at our pick.
Battle is a 192 cm key forward. 1cm taller than Blake Acres. He's rated as a 3rd tall at AFL level , is that what we need?
Kerr has question marks on his agility and pace.

If Marshall slides it may be because everyone else has decided he probably isn't going to make it. Should we therefore grab him? Maybe.

This draft is stuffed full of mids to choose from.
For forwards it depends whether they make it or not. They would need to be exactly what we need, not the nearest thing to it.

Yes Hugh is unproven Coughlan too. So is everyone available in the draft.
Marshall is the best of them, due to the "glimpses of talent" he has shown in the Championships. (ie he might be good ).
So far I've not seen a reputable phantom where he's still available at our pick.
Battle is a 192 cm key forward. 1cm taller than Blake Acres. He's rated as a 3rd tall at AFL level , is that what we need?
Kerr has question marks on his agility and pace.

If Marshall slides it may be because everyone else has decided he probably isn't going to make it. Should we therefore grab him? Maybe.
I believe battle is 194 these days, and having a back up third tall forward is better than having no tall forward (acres is our only other option outside our starting forward line. Yes Carlisle and Hugh can go forward but we are thinner in depth defensively so not really the answer for a team thinking it's good enough for finals. Every mid in the draft is unproven also and at 23 are a 50% chance of recruiting a midfielder better than what we already have. I don't care if we don't take a tall forward, only thought about it recently and it is logical for building a premiership list, not just top 22 players on a list.

You don't need a surplus of quality KPFs to win a flag. We have Bruce, McCartin, Membrey. All of them young, all of them marking forwards. If two of them are injured and we need a pinch hitter then we have four ruckmen, none are great forwards but they can be a big body if needed. Goddard can go forward, so can Carlisle, maybe Coughlan if he makes it. And you can get a backup tall forward for very little. Look at the list who changed hands for shitty picks this year: Aaron Black, James Stewart, Travis Cloke, Nathan Vardy, Shane Kersten, Jarrod Witts. Not to mention delisted players like Andrejs Everitt, Luke Lowden, Chris Dawes, John Butcher, Drew Petrie.

Down back it's Carlisle, Goddard, Brown could play a few years, Dempster one or two, presumably Coughlan is a chance. Robbo and Gilbo can pinch hit. Sure, probably one short once Brown and Dempster go. But a third tall defender doesn't have to be a superstar, he can be Joel Hamling or Matt Spangher or Jeremy Laidler or someone of that ilk. All of those guys were delisted before playing in grand finals. I have no doubt we'd be able to find one if we need in the future; this year it would be Mitch Brown or Xavier Richards or Cam O'Shea or Joel Tippett or Litherland or Schade or Ricky Henderson.

No need to spend big on talls when you already have some good ones. Spend big on mids because that's where the game is won.

The way i see it the following players are a "possibility" to be available at our first pick. I figure that two or three of them will be available at most.
Battle, Powell-Pepper, Bolton, Galluci , Hayward, Witherden, Rotham , Florent ( very slight chance ), Alison.

The following will probably be available but probably won't last until our next pick.
Clarke, Scharenburg, Ryan, McReadie, Brennan Cox, Kerr, Ridley, Cedric Cox.

The following are a chance to be available at our 2nd pick.
Drew, Mutch, Fisher, Graham

What strategy will the club take at the draft ?
Pick 23 Best Available talent .
Pick 36 Midfielder
Pick 61 Best of the Rest .
Do we target our list weakness.
Do we target postions in preparation for retirements.
Interested to see peoples views .

If GWS lose Pick 15 and 37 as suggested, they probably would have to use pick 2 on one of their academy boys. Then if a team selected another of their academy boys GWS would use most of their remaining picks to retain him. Then the remaining GWS boys would probably be on the open market. Which would mean Zach Sproule, 197 KPF and Harrison MacReadie, 196 KPD would be available around our first pick.

Asked BA about Marshall lasting to 23 & also where C.Cox will get drafted potentially..

@BrettAndersonIF hey mate what do you think about Marshall lasting to Saints first pick? Also C.Cox any chance at 23/36? Cheers mate

Slight chance. If there, I think they take him. Cox a possibly at 23, might be gone by 36.