Fyfe2Shenton
- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- St Kilda
I don't see any potential stars in this crop (except maybe Brodie and SPS), but plenty of 200 gamers.Probably because its a pretty average draft year

According to Landsburger in today's paper, Geelong (who have the pick after us at 24) interviewed Florent yesterday, so if that's true, it's a fair sign that he's a serious chance to get through to the 20's.
Tested extremely well at the combine, posting a 15.1 beep, a really good agility score and a 3.02sec 20m sprint.
What Brett Anderson had to say about him:
16. Oliver FLORENT
Ht: 182.0cm | Wt: 74.4kg | Outside Midfielder | Sandringham Dragons
Until the All-Star game, Florent threatened to tear games apart at all levels – nationals, TAC Cup, AGS school footy – but never really did. In the All-Star game, it all came together. He can play both inside and out, he breaks tackles, and has good footy smarts. At times he can appear to be a lazy kick, as he lets go of the ball loosely in his ball drop, but its not something that can’t be cleaned up easily. His father passed away in September after a long cancer battle, so his performances for the past few years have come under personal duress, which makes his development all the more impressive.
Strengths: smarts, breaking tackles, agility, resilience.
Needs to improve: contested ball, kicking (ball drop).
Injuries: None.
Combine test results: Repeat Sprint – 26.06. 20m Sprint – 3.02. Agility – 8.26.Beep Test – 15.1. 3km TT – 10:45.
Draft range: 11-23.
What they say: “There’s a lot of upside physically when he gets into a full-time program. If you have a look at some of early games his effectiveness and ability to hit the scoreboard and be involved in scoring chains was outstanding. That is where he is even more exciting.” – Sandringham Dragons talent manager Ryan O’Connor.
Emma Quayle's write-up:
Oliver Florent (Sandringham Dragons/Beaumaris/Mentone GS)
Born: 22.7.1998
Height: 183cm
Weight: 74kg
AFL bio: Very competitive smooth-moving medium midfielder with line-breaking speed. A talented junior tennis player, he's now focusing on AFL. Impressed for Vic Metro, averaging 12 disposals in the NAB AFL under-18 championships.
"Ollie lost his father this year and I can't heap enough praise on him and his family for how they've handled the year. I wish they could have given out two best on ground medals on grand final day because he must have come very, very close. He has some elite attributes and I think he's a very exciting prospect moving full-time into an AFL environment and having some time to recover and move past the stresses of this year. He's very athletic and wonderfully agile. I think he'll have a good pace-endurance mix and will only get stronger. We probably didn't help him with his possession count at times because we wanted to use his run in the forward line and on the outside, but I thought he showed in the grand final that he can be a very good inside mid. Give him a couple of years and the gym and he'll only improve."
Ryan O'Connor, Sandringham talent manager
I don't see any potential stars in this crop (except maybe Brodie and SPS), but plenty of 200 gamers.
Probably because its a pretty average draft year
Really want drew at 36. Looks like a pure footballer. 188cm could be a better version of Seb rossthere seems a bit of a general consensus that there are a very even bunch between about pick 8 and 30 this draft and I can see some going early and later than expected so we could definitely get something good with our first 2 picks, we might just get a few surprises though.
If we get Florent it will be freaking extraordinary I reckon! Get him at 23 and I'll just about consider Hawthorn's 2017 first and pick 36 to be "freebies".As this discussion goes on and we get ever closer to the draft it's becoming more and more apparent, to me at any rate, that due to the depth of this draft, trading out our #10 in this year's draft will prove to be a master stroke.
I think it's a pretty good draft year to be honest.Probably because its a pretty average draft year
You really have to see Florent live to appreciate him,
I've seen him play about 5-7 times this season
Whilst he wont really stand out athleticlly bar his enudrance he is incredibly smart, creative plays on instinct and has a certain x factor that makes you think e could break a game open.
he just seems to play the game at a different level to others.
I find that he never ever loses one on ones even if he does he will always find a way to lay the tackle s intercept cause a tunrover or something.
he seems like a cross between gresh and harley balic
Very very difficult to tackle and always making osmething happan.
whilst he struggled for consistancy early on and throughout the chance
he showed mements of brilliance and also later on that he could put it all together
He will be a star
I didn't realise that 23 was originally the Chris Mayne compensation. turns out he did us a solid after allhttp://www.afl.com.au/news/2016-11-20/indicative-2016-afl-draft-order
61 already got bumped to 60. Woo!
Yes. God bless Collingwood paying that spud $500k for 3.
I didn't realise that 23 was originally the Chris Mayne compensation. turns out he did us a solid after all
I always thought he was a handsome young man
Just had a geeze at wce board seems like they are crying out for spp. They want him desperately they think he's exactly what they need. If they reach for him at 12 surely sliders are coming our way. Will spew up if we end up with c.cox tho
He's got wright traits but I'd say he's more dusty Martin with a will to win. But I agree with you on all fronts, but his kicking isn't actually that bad (has improved out of sight) it's more his decision making, put him on a forward flank like dusty plays and his 15 disposals a game will be much more impactful then wright. Spp is a gun and will be rapt to have him at pick 23, obviously there is players I'd rather have a head of him but for a pick 23 I'd be over the moon if we got him.Will be rapt if anybody takes him before our pick, just to make sure.
Surely we need to improve the skill level of our team, not make it worse.
He's so much Nathan Wright...hard, quick, brave...with awful skills and decision making.
Surely if we are picking mids we prioritize skill. We need more class through middle desperately.
I have a feeling we will pick someone at 23 that may surprise a few supporters.
good old Collingwood forever if 23 turns out to be a gunYes. God bless Collingwood paying that spud $500k for 3

He's got wright traits but I'd say he's more dusty Martin with a will to win. But I agree with you on all fronts, but his kicking isn't actually that bad (has improved out of sight) it's more his decision making, put him on a forward flank like dusty plays and his 15 disposals a game will be much more impactful then wright. Spp is a gun and will be rapt to have him at pick 23, obviously there is players I'd rather have a head of him but for a pick 23 I'd be over the moon if we got him.
Not so sureProbably because its a pretty average draft year
Bloody oath mate.. Gilbert and geary make me tear my hair out. mind you my view on geary slowed changed throughout the year. Think our disposal is slowly cleaning up tho.I'm probably being a touch harsh on him, it's just that I'm so sick of some of our players turning the footy over and then being burnt on the turnover. It's a real issue for us at the moment.
Will be rapt if anybody takes him before our pick, just to make sure.
Surely we need to improve the skill level of our team, not make it worse.
He's so much Nathan Wright...hard, quick, brave...with awful skills and decision making.
Surely if we are picking mids we prioritize skill. We need more class through middle desperately.
I have a feeling we will pick someone at 23 that may surprise a few supporters.
Really want drew at 36. Looks like a pure footballer. 188cm could be a better version of Seb ross