List Mgmt. Draft Discussion 2016

Did scott clayton just let the cat out of the bag with pick 4? "Its only human nature you second guess yourself then you can come back to where you were at the start of the year no UH UH!"

2 mins in. I reckon he didnt mean to give that up.

Lock in SPS and Brodie i reckon
He's a sucker for punishment. Gold Coast really gonna go for SPS?

I'm now looking forward to SPS wanting to go home end of 2018

I'm not saying he doesn't possess some nice qualities but his decision making is poor at best.
In my opinion, to win big games and finals you need good decision makers and to not carry too many poor users. I think we already have more than our quota with Acres, Geary, Gilbert, Dempster, Wright all turning the footy over more than we'd like.
I realise his decision making/kicking isn't as good as you'd ideally want it to be, but when I watch him play the exact thing I think is "man I want this guy playing in finals for us", because he is so big and strong and cracks in so hard and comes out the other side with it and then gains his team serious meterage, and that's exactly what you want in heavily contested finals.

He's also meant to be that Lenny Hayes, put-your-team-on-your-back-and-try to carry/will them over the line type and they're like gold in finals I reckon.

He's also a powerful kick of the footy up to 55-60m and with Paddy McClunk and Josh Bruce forward, it would be far from the worst thing in the world to have someone win a really hard ball, run 20m with it and then kick it 55m high and long to those two, with Lonie and Gresham types at their feet.

I think we already have more than our quota with Acres, Geary, Gilbert, Dempster, Wright all turning the footy over more than we'd like.
Yeah at the moment we certainly do and apparently Brown is a fully certified "ball butcher" as well, but in as little as 12 months time (or the start of 2018), as many as 4 of those 6 might not be in our best 22 anymore, so I see it being a lot less of an issue from that point on and would love to add a linebreaking enforcer to the mix.

Essentially, if we're going to be putting a line through those with poor footskills and/or decision making, we could be saying no to the next Nat Fyfe, Paddy Dangerfield, Josh Kennedy, Jack Steven, Matt Priddis or Blake Acres, so I just hope that if SPP is still available and we rate him highest on our board that we grab him.

He's a sucker for punishment. Gold Coast really gonna go for SPS?

I'm now looking forward to SPS wanting to go home end of 2018
'I'd love to probably be drafted to a Melbourne club'- on his video on AFL.com.au
I see him going to Carlton IMO.

I realise his decision making/kicking isn't as good as you'd ideally want it to be, but when I watch him play the exact thing I think is "man I want this guy playing in finals for us", because he is so big and strong and cracks in so hard and comes out the other side with it and then gains his team serious meterage, and that's exactly what you want in heavily contested finals.

He's also meant to be that Lenny Hayes, put your team on your back and try to carry/will them over the line type and they're like gold in finals I reckon.

He's also a powerful kick of the footy up to 55-60m and with Paddy McClunk and Josh Bruce forward, it would be far from the worst thing in the world to have someone win a really hard ball, run 20m with it and then kick it 55m, high and long to those two, with Lonie and Gresham types at their feet.

Yeah at the moment we certainly do and apparently Brown is a fully certified "ball butcher" as well, but in as little as 12 months time (or the start of 2018), as many as 4 of those 6 might not be in our best 22 anymore, so I see it being a lot less of an issue from that point on.

Essentially, if we're going to be putting a line through those with poor footskills and/or decision making, we could be saying no to the next Nat Fyfe, Paddy Dangerfield, Josh Kennedy, or Matt Priddis, so I just hope that if SPP is still available and we rate him highest on our board that we grab him.

Yeah good post mate, can't disagree with any of that.
I'm just sick of us turning the footy over so I'm maybe being a touch harsh on the kid!

Do we pull the trigger at 23? :cool:

36 I don't have an issue with..
BA says it's a bit early, and while I'd love to, I'm inclined to agree.

I think his value is around 30-40, but on potential you may see higher.

Yeah good post mate, can't disagree with any of that.
I'm just sick of us turning the footy over so I'm maybe being a touch harsh on the kid!
Haha, no worries I can see why you are harsh on him as his kicking in those two highlights packages from last year (that were presumably your first impression of him) was terrible, but it definitely seems to have improved a lot since then and I also thought we didn't turn the ball over as much in the 2nd half of the year and that our kicking will continue to improve once the Gilbo's are replaced by White's, so hopefully we'll be a lot better in that regard pretty soon!

What's everyone's thoughts on josh Williams at 36? 189 cm winger with lots of run and carry and speed to burn can kick goals on the run and looks to have an elite pass on him. What's his knock? Does anyone know

BA says it's a bit early, and while I'd love to, I'm inclined to agree.

I think his value is around 30-40, but on potential you may see higher.

we need a barrels top 25 wishlist for our club!!!

I can give a realistic one... The order is only vaguely indicative of a 'Top 25' though...

1. Florent
2. Berry
3. Venables
4. Witherden
5. Marshall
5. Gallucci
7. Battle
8. Powell-Pepper
9. C.Cox
10. Bolton
11. Rotham
12. Ridley
13. Begley
14. Lu.Ryan
15. Fisher
16. Lipinski
17. Maibaum
18. Guelfi
19. B.Cox
20. Himmelberg
21. Walker
22. Morrish
23. McCarthy
23. Scharenberg
24. Atley
25. Lyons

And Zachary Sproule, though he's Academy tied to GWS, and Ollie Hanrahan out of St Kevin's.

EDIT: forgot Willem Drew and Dylan Clarke as well.

I think they only played him across the backline in the Judd vs O'Loughlin game, would have liked to see him have a run on the ball. Reckon he might just be the smokey in the field.
also for vic metro they played him across half back

Barrels what about a best 22 of players likely to be around for pick 23 and 36?
HAHAHAHAHAHA... I'll give it a shot...

FB: Rotham - Maibaum - Lu.Ryan
HB: Witherden - B.Cox - Berry
RK: Marshall - Powell-Pepper -
CR: Florent - Drew - Gallucci
HF: Venables - Battle - C.Cox
FF: Begley - Kerr - Bolton
IC: Ridley Fisher Clarke Morrish (Hanrahan)

Carlton lost the picks that would have landed them Goddard and Wells pretty much on the eve of the draft, so don't be surprised if GWS cop similar treatment.

Not sure whether it would benefit us more if they cop draft sanctions in this year's draft or next year's draft, so it may even be better for us if they cop a whack next year instead. Might make them really keen for one or more of our first rounders.

Hope it is next year the lose picks. Better for us
Could be. I think the only difference it will make if they lose them this year is that they'll be able to get one or more of Mutch, Sproule and McReadie, who they won't get if they do lose them and unless we want one of them really badly, that will likely make very little difference to us.

I can give a realistic one... The order is only vaguely indicative of a 'Top 25' though...

1. Florent
2. Berry
3. Venables
4. Witherden
5. Marshall
5. Gallucci
7. Battle
8. Powell-Pepper
9. C.Cox
10. Bolton
11. Rotham
12. Ridley
13. Begley
14. Lu.Ryan
15. Fisher
16. Lipinski
17. Maibaum
18. Guelfi
19. B.Cox
20. Himmelberg
21. Walker
22. Morrish
23. McCarthy
23. Scharenberg
24. Atley
25. Lyons

And Zachary Sproule, though he's Academy tied to GWS, and Ollie Hanrahan out of St Kevin's.

EDIT: forgot Willem Drew as well.

legend!!!

Someone on the D&T board said Florent has been invited to the draft, which suggests he might be going to go well before our pick, if true.

So has Rors. Wonder if he will go in the first round

Maybe to hawthorn at 88 so he can play alongside JOM!