List Mgmt. Draft Discussion 2016

Never found the Draft worth watching myself... too much dead air filled by morons like David King.

Will be watching the cricket, wandering through here, answering questions on the AFL Draft Central twitter feed and letting the AFL website's automatic reload hub page take care of business.

View attachment 313125

#HappyDraftDay
I thought you were 'fathering' tonight, which is why you couldnt make it to the draft (on my spare ticket)? o_O:eek:

Sounds like a lazy night on the couch IMHO

Soft :cool:

Barrels

Who do you want most with our 1st pick? (assuming Florent & Galluci are already taken)

Do you rate Ridley?
Begley.

Honestly I'm not wedded to anyone in particular. My preference of the oft-mentioned set would be Cox, and my Hail Mary hope would be Ollie Florent.

As for Ridley, I'm definitely a fan, and have to give a massive shoutout to my man Bishop for calling him as a bolter way back during the National Champs when almost no one was paying him any attention.

He's got a lot to like about him; great height at 192cm, huge scope for physical improvement at only 79kg, but athletic, smart and classy. Had a super attitude by all accounts. If he was still there at our pick I'd be very keen on him.
I thought you were 'fathering' tonight, which is why you couldnt make it to the draft (on my spare ticket)? o_O:eek:

Sounds like a lazy night on the couch IMHO

Soft :cool:
Little fella will be in the next room my lad.

No doubt I'll have to soothe him back to sleep if we get Begley...

Begley.

Honestly I'm not wedded to anyone in particular. My preference of the oft-mentioned set would be Cox, and my Hail Mary hope would be Ollie Florent.

As for Ridley, I'm definitely a fan, and have to give a massive shoutout to my man Bishop for calling him as a bolter way back during the National Champs when almost no one was paying him any attention.

He's got a lot to like about him; great height at 192cm, huge scope for physical improvement at only 79kg, but athletic, smart and classy. Had a super attitude by all accounts. If he was still there at our pick I'd be very keen on him.

Ridley ahead of Rotham?

I don't get concrete draft info in terms of we are taking person x or y take it to the bank.

But I have spoken to a friend who has said we are very relaxed.very confident who we want will be there.

He made me feel like the person we want is from Wa. A part of me really believes it may be Bolton just from the way we spoke. personally spp is who I want at who is expected to be there at our pick.

Talk of a Victorian mid or two sliding potentially to our pick aswell. Brodie would have been available to us at pick 10 of we kept it :(

I'm sorry it's vague but I don't really push for names at draft time as I feel uncomfortable if it's wrong or if it affects the club. I just know we are very happy that we will select a player we covet at our first pick.
Thanks for the info stavro! I'm hoping for bolton but will be stoked with either!!!

Bloody exciting!!!

I'm even more happy that we could have another WA player on our list and some new WA based saints supporters

Begley.

Jesus mate, the footy equivalent of Xmas day and the X wont take the baby?

Harsh

I don't get concrete draft info in terms of we are taking person x or y take it to the bank.

But I have spoken to a friend who has said we are very relaxed.very confident who we want will be there.

He made me feel like the person we want is from Wa. A part of me really believes it may be Bolton just from the way we spoke. personally spp is who I want at who is expected to be there at our pick.

Talk of a Victorian mid or two sliding potentially to our pick aswell. Brodie would have been available to us at pick 10 of we kept it :(

I'm sorry it's vague but I don't really push for names at draft time as I feel uncomfortable if it's wrong or if it affects the club. I just know we are very happy that we will select a player we covet at our first pick.
Wouldn't it be great if the afl brought in the "live trading" ala the movie Draft Day where we could get back pick 10 and picked Brodie..

Hawks fans would be livid

After making the call on Battle I went back and found this -

https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/thre...targets-part-2.1142773/page-239#post-46622256

That's pretty close to the deal the Blues did (7 for Whiley, Jacksh and 19) so I could see us making a move like that.

For what its worth, Richo was on SEN at half time and he said that he texted Tony Elshaugh aaking him to find us "the next Cyril Rioli". Was a little bit of a "how good is he?" talking point but Richo talked at length about the ability to create something from nothing, put doubt in the minds of defenders, have the opposition second guessing their setup...

SPS? Ainsworth? Anyone have another option?

Might go with the Battle/Bolton each way bet ;)

Have to say after watching some highlight videos today, I'm not so into SPP. Obviously he's hard as, but he does butcher it a lot. Don't think that's what we need right now - we have quite a few hard nuts in the side. We need pace and class. Compared to last year, when before the draft after watching the Gresh vids I was thinking WANT!

For that reason I'm really hoping we take a punt on CCox if he's available.

Personally, I think the player we pick will be out of left-field - usually we are quite unpredictable.

DRAFT DAY BITCHES!!!

Have to say I was pretty disappointed with Emma Quayle's effort last night, only going in detail up to 20, when so many clubs have their first after that point and we don't get to hear why she's picking them for us and who else is meant to be in the mix. 8 of her top 20 went to GWS or Gold Coast and between them they have about 10 supporters, so at least they got their money's worth!

My gut feel at this point is that we'll probably be getting Bolton. Doubt everyone in the media would be on the money about who we're picking at 23.

Have to say after watching some highlight videos today, I'm not so into SPP. Obviously he's hard as, but he does butcher it a lot.
Don't forget that two of his videos on Youtube are from 18 months ago, so they're not really relevant to who he is today from a kicking perspective (it's meant to be significantly improved) and will probably be less so to who he'll be with another preseason working on it at an AFL club.

I reckon we've done a terrific job of improving the kicking of Hickey in particular (his field kicking- and goal kicking for that matter- were atrocious early days, but now he's pretty safe) and to a lesser extent Weller and Seb, so I'd be keen to see what Gilbee would be able to to with him (or Bolton).

Did like what I saw of C Cox more in that vid that 12chill put up last night though than his other vids that are up. Looked pretty exciting and elusive until the feed cut out.

Draft day

An original composition by keg on legs.

Draft day's here, the big event
The end result of 12 months spent
Trawling through tapes, and other such stuff
Hoping to find that gem in the rough.

Tonight's gonna be a roller coast ride
Hoping our favourite boy slides
Whatever the result, one thing's a must:
Remember four words - IN TROUT WE TRUST

He won't be stupid, he'll use all his nous
To pick a kid we think is grouse
He won't stuff up like some before
Leaving us wondering what we just saw

He won't pick a kid like Richard T
And pass in a kid like the one called buddy
Or overlook Nic Nat to take jack watts
Bloody hell what stupid twats

Cox or Rotham, Pepper and salt
Whoever it is, his pick we won't fault.
No matter who, it'll all work out
And above all, remember- trust in trout!

Yep, I have too much time on my hands. :)

Never found the Draft worth watching myself... too much dead air filled by morons like David King.

Will be watching the cricket, wandering through here, answering questions on the AFL Draft Central twitter feed and letting the AFL website's automatic reload hub page take care of business.

View attachment 313125

#HappyDraftDay
That's where the "press red" button comes in handy for buffoons like King :)

DRAFT DAY BITCHES!!!

Have to say I was pretty disappointed with Emma Quayle's effort last night, only going in detail up to 20, when so many clubs have their first after that point and we don't get to hear why she's picking them for us and who else is meant to be in the mix. 8 of her top 20 went to GWS or Gold Coast and between them they have about 10 supporters, so at least they got their money's worth!

My gut feel at this point is that we'll probably be getting Bolton. Doubt everyone in the media would be on the money about who we're picking at 23.
Still don't think we get Bolton if go home factor is there and isn't a strong character

Keep on hearing about a very strong go-home factor, so if we do get him I hope it's not true!

i asked dale miller (the west aus) and a couple of other journalists about this, none seem to think its a factor

btw dale did a very good piece on bolton and has met with him personally

i asked dale miller (the west aus) and a couple of other journalists about this, none seem to think its a factor

btw dale did a very good piece on bolton and has met with him personally
Good news. Maybe it's just West Coast spreading BS in the hopes that he'll get through to their 2nd.