Draft Discussions Recovered

• Thread starter Thread starter The Cotch

Re: Draft Discussion

im new to all this and i've just been reading over most peoples choices on the richmond board and am curious as to why no one has any real interest in matt deboer? i watched most the carnival and he looked like a very good type.

Sibosado too...

Cotch, what if Rich slides.... interest vs Hartlett and Ziebell?
Not sure, I'd say Rich would be best available. Find out more tonight I guess.

rich wont fall he is to good a quality to fall to our pick if he does somehow fall we would have picked up proply the best 2 mids in the last 2 draft. but im happy with ziebell or hartlett. or even a tall. would prefer trengove if we went tall as i dont think vickery will be around.

In response to elliots post about Ziebell, its fair to say his draft camp results were quite underwhelming.

Sprints and agility tested poor and beep test was, well, fair to say shocking.

I forgot the name of the test they do, but it's fair to say he dosn't have the lungs to run out a game of AFL.

Im not sure if you can work on those things, lets hope he does, very talented player, but I think that's what MAY make him slide down the rankings.
Yeah if you read the write up in the herald sun sunday he mentions he stuffed his knee in the nationals and couldnt train for the rest of the year so i'd suggest he isnt as bad as his results indicated. The boys said they pulled him out in the end and wouldnt let him do anymore at the draftcamp. he was taped up like a mummy in the finals given this i think he has a lot of upside bering a bottom ager and being unfit.

hasnt been much mention of sidebottom lately. any chance of coming to us at pick 8?

Does anyone know whether the Draft will be televised this Saturday. I know it kicks off at 10am. Have checked the TV Guide and no telecast on 7, 10 or foxtel. Maybe SEN might be the only option????

Got to be honest. Was keen on getting another mid with pick 8 - Hartlett/Ziebell being the preference but after reading the articles on Vickery today in the Sun and on the AFL website and listening to him on SEN the other day i reckon he would be a good guy to have at the club. He's a Tigers supporter as well so will bleed for the club and has already shown he has a massive/smart work ethic.

Could just be me having a soft spot for a tigers supporter...

Got to be honest. Was keen on getting another mid with pick 8 - Hartlett/Ziebell being the preference but after reading the articles on Vickery today in the Sun and on the AFL website and listening to him on SEN the other day i reckon he would be a good guy to have at the club. He's a Tigers supporter as well so will bleed for the club and has already shown he has a massive/smart work ethic.

Could just be me having a soft spot for a tigers supporter...
I totally agree.

im new to all this and i've just been reading over most peoples choices on the richmond board and am curious as to why no one has any real interest in matt deboer? i watched most the carnival and he looked like a very good type.

Mate I think he can find it OK but just his kicking lets him down. Likely to be drafted, maybe third round

Vickery v Putt.... why will Vickery be heaps better? Just interested as Putt's size and key positions (ruck/ KPF) would be what we're recruiting in Tyrone.

Which would be fine, mind you

Ah I can't decide!!!

They probably test fairly similar and Putty is meant to be a pretty good forward but Putt didn't show the grunt that Vickery did in the ruck.

Would be good to have them both firing at some point in the future. I think Putt (from what i have heard from someone at Calder) has a fair amount of upside as a forward and if he can bulk up and get some confidence in his body he may still turn out to be a good ruckman.

The latest Mock Draft from allfooty.info

1 Melbourne - Jack Watts (196cm, 85kg, tall forward)
2 West Coast - Nicholas Naitanui (201cm, 94kg, midfielder/ruckman)
3 Fremantle - Daniel Rich (183cm, 83kg, midfielder)
4 Port Adelaide - Hamish Hartlett (182cm, 74kg, midfielder)
5 Essendon - Stephen Hill (182cm, 72kg, midfielder/small forward)
6 Carlton - Michael Hurley (192cm, 92kg, tall defender/forward)
7 Brisbane - Jack Ziebell (188cm, 84kg, midfielder/medium defender)

8 Richmond - Tyrone Vickery (200cm, 89kg, ruckman/tall forward)
26 Richmond - Nick Heyne (187cm, 79kg, medium forward/midfielder)
58 Richmond - Casey Sibosado (191cm, 85kg, medium forward)
70 Richmond - Tom Hill (199cm, 79kg, tall forward/ruckman)

http://www.allfooty.info/2008/11/2008-afl-draft-ultimate-mock-draft.html

Interesting.

At pick 26, I feel we wouldnt take Heyne, as Suban is available. We are very interested.

Sibosado and Hill look the best available from what is left.

A result of Vickery, Suban, Sibosado and Hill would be very nice. :)

One of my very good mates shared a bedroom with Subes all year at St Pats, have heard nothing but outstanding things.

Well that's great to hear. If he's available, expect us to yell out his name very quickly.