Draft discusson thread

Re: Josh Caddy for me!!

I've been watching old video of Judd, man Polec looks and moves a lot like him.

Brodie Smith is much more like Judd.
I'd go for him if I were the recruiters

although Polec would be good as well

Why are players so obssessed with putting on muscle? It just slows them down. Judd and Kerr were superstars when they were fast. Judd is a freak but it's not the same. Even players like Lynch were more agile in earlier years. The aboriginal players have such a hard time putting on muscle but this is why they stay agile and fast throughout their entire careers - Jeff farmer.

Yeah, at a certain point you lose agility in the race for strength, and it's more to do with weight training instead of strength training. Calasthenics and other such exercises need to be emphasized a bit more after the age of 23 I believe.

Size and muscles are way over rated.

The way Polec moves and his kicking reminds me of Jarrod-Kayler Thomson.

... not really familiar with JKT except for him being this years version of Bea Muston in DT i.e. sucked everyone in with a couple of big scores then returned to spudness).. care to elaborate?

Just the way he moves, his kicking technique and his style of play is very similar....imo.

Is more talented obviously though.

Picking Gorringe is a strong possibility. If he gets called out it means Naita has signed in the loophole and off to Sydney. Gorringe is an omen, a very bad omen.

Everyone hope for a mid or fwd.

Re: Josh Caddy for me!!

If WC do pick up Gorringe, how does he compare to previous ruckmen taken? Vickery was a huge let down, Kreuzer and Naitanui were great pickups.

You can't call a ruckman a huge let down after his 2nd season.

Where was Cox at the same age? Sandilands?...You see my point.

Fair enough, I was just comparing him the highs of Kreuzer and Naitanui. He'll turn out fine

Picking Gorringe is a strong possibility. If he gets called out it means Naita has signed in the loophole and off to Sydney. Gorringe is an omen, a very bad omen.

What are you on Pat? I'm beginning to wonder if you're not GM's alter ego? You make equally outlandish statements except in the gung ho direction. Do you have any information about Gorringe or is it just stirring? If we pick Gorringe I'll freak - waste of a plum selection.

What are you on Pat? I'm beginning to wonder if you're not GM's alter ego? You make equally outlandish statements except in the 'pro' direction. Do you have any information about Gorringe or is it just stirring? If we pick Gorringe I'll freak - waste of a plum selection.

Whilst I'd rather a mid with pick 4, I don't know how you could say he would be a waste, what if he is like NN or Kreuzer?

[/B]
Whilst I'd rather a mid with pick 4, I don't know how you could say he would be a waste, what if he is like NN or Kreuzer?
I'm assuming Naitanui is not going anywhere. If he leaves, the club is in diaboloical trouble and destined for a long stint in the cellar. I don't dispute Gorringe's ability or class but as previous posters in this thread have pointed out, 2nd rucks (Seaby is a classic example) just don't have a big role in team structure, perhaps even more so now with the new (stupid) rules. Don't need another class ruckman if we have NN, but we need all the talent in the midfield that we can get - this is where the game is won and lost. That's the point I was attempting to make.

What are you on Pat? I'm beginning to wonder if you're not GM's alter ego? You make equally outlandish statements except in the 'pro' direction. Do you have any information about Gorringe or is it just stirring? If we pick Gorringe I'll freak - waste of a plum selection.

There's heaps of articles about Nic being a target, another full page urging him to stay in the paper today. If we lost him then the ruck situation is serious. It's not stirring at all. The club doesn't seem to be reacting to it at all though so it mustn't be a threat.

We need another ruckman on our list - but using pick 4 would be a waste.

The two best ruckman of the past 10 years were both rookies.

Jolly, Mumford were traded for unders.

Jamar was a rookie.

Unless you have an absolute standout like Kreuzer and NN - you're just as likely to snag a ruckman in the rookie draft - as you are in the 1st round.

It's the hardest position to pick from juniors - because you just don't know how well blokes are going to fill out.

There's heaps of articles about Nic being a target, another full page urging him to stay in the paper today. If we lost him then the ruck situation is serious. It's not stirring at all. The club doesn't seem to be reacting to it at all though so it mustn't be a threat.

I reckon Bacchus is correct, Naita is not going anywhere. That's why we're not reacting to it. He begged Worsfold to draft him, he's not going to turn around and leave.

Our midfield isn't good enough to be neglected in this draft.

Yes, we have a lot of mids we've taken with pretty early picks but I'm concerned a few of them will flop completely or turn into nothing more than very average. I'd like to take another mid with an early pick to lower that risk a little.

I'm comfortable with our ruckmen and tall defenders. I'd like a key forward though.

I reckon Bacchus is correct, Naita is not going anywhere. That's why we're not reacting to it. He begged Worsfold to draft him, he's not going to turn around and leave.

And if he wants money all we have to do is tell him the truth:

"Mate, keep working on your game. If you end up the player we expect you will, you wont be short of cash".

Not really.

It could mean we have intention of turning Naits into a part time forward, Gorringe is a known goal kicker and we intend to continue with two quality rucks who can play alternative roles, something Gorringe is capable of.

Won't happen because our young midfielders simply haven't shown us enough to date.

And if he wants money all we have to do is tell him the truth:

"Mate, keep working on your game. If you end up the player we expect you will, you wont be short of cash".
Agreed

We've never lost a player because of cash. Judd's total package would've been comparable, if not better in Perth with the property deals etc that the club tips them in to.