Draft discusson thread

A little bit but if he is the best player at no.4 we should draft him.

Fair enough but is he the best KP forward at pick 4? Maybe.

Is he the best midfielder? Obviously not.

Comparing Darling to Gaff or Heppell is pretty difficult. Darling has in the past 12 months attracted a fair bit of doubt with his performances and his growth / height (or lack of it).

With the new interchange rules I can see teams going for a flexible ruck / FF (Lynch:o) or a smaller FF who can play multiple positions (Wilson / Le Cras / Brown).

The new interchange rule has IMO killed the stay at home FF who can't play elsewhere. I understand Darling can play FF / CHF and even back but so can Wilson and Brown.

We need fast, skillfull, smart mids ............and badly.

I'd be very pleased if Lycett and Cook fell to WC's picks in the 2nd round. WC can grab the best outside midfielder left at pick 4, the 2 talls mentioned above, then grab the best available to our first pick, outside midfielder, in the 2011 draft.

WC need to stop taking outside midfielders in the late 20's to mid 40's. If it continues, we're going to keep selecting players of no better standard than Rosa and Houlihan. Outside mids are so important in today's game, WC should be looking to draft the cream, not the scraps that are left over.

I've heard that this draft is deep, and some will pop up with a few names that may be worthy, but given the club's lack of quality in this area, they can't afford to settle for a maybe. WC no longer have Judd, Cousins, and the Kerr of old to carry C-grade outside receivers. WC must change it's thinking on drafting.

Just for Information - Colin Wisbey won't be doing his player profiles this year - http://www.voy.com/51976/137120.html

I've done 70 hrs per week, 11 mths a year, since early 2001. I'm no longer interested in devoting that amount of time and heavy financial sacrifice for the sort of money that a 15yo would get for working full-time at Maccas.

This year, I've been focussing more on game plans / strategies (opposition analysis stuff) of all the AFL teams.

I only like to comment on kids if I've studied them rigorously. Hence I won't even be doing any rankings for this year, let alone profiles or recommendations.

I intend to knock on a few doors in the coming months for a full-time gig. Maybe something will come of it, maybe not, but being freelance has whiskers on it. As anyone involved will tell you, footy club staffing is very much a case of who you know rather than what you know.

My feelings are best summed up by a situation that occurred within the last few years. A club got me in to do a presentation and to explain my methodologies, philosphies and policies. They had just appointed a new Recruiting Mgr who had minimal recruiting background. Later that day, the Gen Mgr of Football rang me to thank me and explained that he was keen for the opportunity to have his new Recruiting Manager "learn from someone who is leading edge and really knows his stuff" (his words). I had earlier applied for that RM role and hadn't even been interviewed. It might sound nice to receive compliments but some compliments leave you with a hollow feeling.

WC need to stop taking outside midfielders in the late 20's to mid 40's. If it continues, we're going to keep selecting players of no better standard than Rosa and Houlihan. Outside mids are so important in today's game, WC should be looking to draft the cream, not the scraps that are left over.

I kid you not
Houlihan will be our secret weapon.

He will be a mixture of Kemp and Robbie Flower.

Here is my current thinking if anyone cares!!

#4 Was on the Heppell band wagon for a long time but now thinking Gaff has so much upside, thinking like a better version of Kade Simpson. his work ethis is exactly what we need to break zones and hard tackling teams like the pies.
#26 After watching the vids I really like Tyler Chalwell, especially with the sub rule. He could be a Harry Taylor type at CHB, pitch hit in the ruck or up forward and looks like he could run all day with a nice kick.

#28 Prestia or Green, can't really choose between the two. Both will run all day and kick goals at Subi.

Anyway that's my thoughts

Mez

Here is my current thinking if anyone cares!!

#4 Was on the Heppell band wagon for a long time but now thinking Gaff has so much upside, thinking like a better version of Kade Simpson. his work ethis is exactly what we need to break zones and hard tackling teams like the pies.
#26 After watching the vids I really like Tyler Chalwell, especially with the sub rule. He could be a Harry Taylor type at CHB, pitch hit in the ruck or up forward and looks like he could run all day with a nice kick.

#28 Prestia or Green, can't really choose between the two. Both will run all day and kick goals at Subi.

Anyway that's my thoughts

Mez

Yeah - it's okay. I'd be happy with that too, and apparently the WCE have talked to Chalwell - seems a likely type with a lot of upside. Some would argue that Cook and a couple of others might be there at pick 26, but Chalwell seems to be gaining momentum around the boards. Could be a darkie for one of our picks.

I was all over Cook early on, but the failed Notte experiment has made me go off him.

Similar types - smart, agile, great skills. But both lack an appetite for the contest and/or gut-running, which seem be prerequisites for AFL key forwards these days.

Yeah - it's okay. I'd be happy with that too, and apparently the WCE have talked to Chalwell - seems a likely type with a lot of upside. Some would argue that Cook and a couple of others might be there at pick 26, but Chalwell seems to be gaining momentum around the boards. Could be a darkie for one of our picks.

I can't believe he's 193cm, moves smoothly like a silky mid. Doubt we'd take him at 26/28 he'll last to our PSD or rookie picks.

Chalwell has a lot going for him-made colts team of the year, named best for EF colts in the GF. Got a 14.5 beep test and 88cm running leap (equal best for National combine) at WA combine. 193cm and very strong overhead. Should have played state 18s but had to carry EFs ruck when the selectors wanted him to play CHB. A great kid to boot.
Would make a great CHB or CHF

Some vision
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CkIkb1NYNnw

Chalwell has a lot going for him-made colts team of the year, named best for EF colts in the GF. Got a 14.5 beep test and 88cm running leap (equal best for National combine) at WA combine. 193cm and very strong overhead. Should have played state 18s but had to carry EFs ruck when the selectors wanted him to play CHB. A great kid to boot.
Would make a great CHB or CHF

Never heard of him before but looking at the video he moves very well, has good decision making skills and very tidy by foot for a big man.

Wookie list a possibility?

I don't know why so many posters and phantom drafts have Gaff going so high. He comes off as a high accumulator with a small kick and good endurance and leadership qualities. These types of players don't go high in the draft. Even Daniel Rich slid to pick 7 who has far more to offer than Gaff.

I wouldn't be surprised if quite a few clubs passed on Gaff. I think Polec will be picked up. He has a greater scope for improvement and WC doesn't shy away from players with potential; Naitanui, Sheppard.

Gary Moss delisted by Hawhorn today, worth a punt by us?

Geez I find that very surprising. I remember last year he kicked 4 goals against us at tassie, got a rising star nom for it. If he's available to us a rookie we'd be crazy not to pick him.

It looks to be between 3 players for our first rounder; Gaff, Heppell and Polec. We can go the safe option in Gaff, a ball-winning machine with elite endurance and a tidy left foot. The riskier option in Polec, a line-breaking, goal-kicking wingman with a raking left foot thats proven himself against men. Or Heppell, a midfielder or HBF with a fantastic left foot kick and great marking ability, has lots of potential. The more I look over their videos the harder im finding making a decision. I really like the look of all of them, and will be stoked to welcome any of them to the club next year.

As for Pick 26 and 28, It's looking increasingly likely we'll go 1 tall and 1 small. Seeing as though Brisbane are keen on fast, damaging players. I think we should take one with pick 26, so that we can get the one we want. It's looking like we'll be choosing out of Andreoli, Cripps, Newton, Crocker, and if available, Prestia and Green. I'd personally be very happy with any, have a feeling we're leaning towards Cripps, particurly after he's proven himself against men, and also being a WA, which also gives Andreoli and Newton an advantage over the other candidates.

For pick 28, I'd expect us to go tall, with the main options being Mitchell and Cook if we're going for a KPF, and Litherland or Chalwell (really like the look of him) if were going for a KPD.

Really looking forward to this draft, so much depth and heaps of talent still around at our PP and second rounder. And it should be very interesting to see who we choose with pick 4, very hard to split Gaff, Polec and Heppell.

Tim Milera from the Port Adelaide Magpies also looks really good. Is only 170cm, so is a genuine small forward, very similar to Eddie Betts. Maybe a smokey for our 2nd rounder, and if he lasts to our first rookie pick I'd be stoked if we picked him up:thumbsu:

Just read the article about Hawthorn and their delistings. With the recruitment of Hale I guess they no longer felt the need to persist with Wayde Skipper and Simon Taylor. They've both been delisted and now join Luke Adams, Michael Rix and others as rookie prospects. IMO we'd be crazy not to grab one come the rookie draft.

Geez I find that very surprising. I remember last year he kicked 4 goals against us at tassie, got a rising star nom for it. If he's available to us a rookie we'd be crazy not to pick him.

Playing well against us is not necessarily a good indication of a players talent. Think Walker of Carlton and Dalziell then of Brisbane. Hopefully Moss will be a quality WAFL player next year.

Still like the idea of Heppell at 4.

IMO Lynch is enough as a backup. No need to waste a rookie spot on one of those guys.