Draft discusson thread

After watching a bit more of Heppell I am now leaning towards Gaff or Polec. Heppell is good no question but he is taller and looks like he lacks explosive pace or agility. Maybe it deceptive with the clips.

I just think we need a mid who is a speed and endurance machine with good skills and decision making with pick 4. This is Gaff and Polec rather than Heppell.

Saying this Heppell will most likely end up at the Lions and become the next Simon Black.:eek:

I hear what ur saying, but u can kick the ball a hell of a lot faster than you can run it. A nice booming left foot kick from heppell to the chest of a foward makes the whole team look faster. Collingwood has no real line breaking mids this year, but looked fast against some teams with more running speed due to better delivery, and quick ball moment. We badly need more good decision makers with elite skills rather than speed which we already have with some players but look slow due to bad decision making and skills.

Leave our line breaking mid till next year and target L Jetta

People tend to forget as well that we've drafted pretty well already for speed in recent years.

Smith, Swift, Shuey, Naitanui, Sheppard. Neates, Houlihan and Brennan all have plenty of pace if they make it. Hams is quick, and Kerr and Masten, fully fit and firing, would add plenty of nip to the midfield as well.

That makes us at least ok for pace.. what we really lack is class. I also think we should continue to build one of the key strengths in the squad, which is flexibility with rotations.

Heppell is an elite user of the footy and extremely versatile. Fits both criteria :thumbsu: There'll also be plenty of pacey types around with our 2nd and 3rd picks so if it's that much of an issue it can be addressed then.

After watching a bit more of Heppell I am now leaning towards Gaff or Polec. Heppell is good no question but he is taller and looks like he lacks explosive pace or agility. Maybe it deceptive with the clips.

I just think we need a mid who is a speed and endurance machine with good skills and decision making with pick 4. This is Gaff and Polec rather than Heppell.

Saying this Heppell will most likely end up at the Lions and become the next Simon Black.:eek:

Who cares about not running at Usain Bolt speed? Fact is Heppell rarely gets caught and his left foot takes it upfield quicker than a speedster. Likely to hit a target too.

Gaff/Heppell, you can't go wrong with either. Not many noticeable flaws, and any they have they will work on 'til it's fixed.

JKT is shit...and this is coming from a Perth fan!

Atley doesn't have great foot skills, do not want.

Saw him play or try out for the Geelong Falcons ages ago and agree with you. Plays outside, but with no hurt factor whatsoever, big body but has no presence.

Pass

Of those you listed, I'd only rate Sheppard as having great speed on the footy field. Smith hasn't really shown it, Kerr's lost a step, Shuey is ok, Swift plays slower than his timed speed (like Gaff), Masten is quick, not fast. I'm talking about breaking out of traffic speed, Aaron Davey/Peter Matera style. Sheppard has the speed without the explosiveness. I don't think you can ever have enough of it.

Yeah I hear what your saying, a matera like player would be nice. Bennel=perfect. Polec=no. Yes bennel will be gone so there's no point going half assed at it. Polec has pace and agility but not as much as you really want if that's ur speciality. Heppell's speciality is his spotting up and he does it better than anyone. As I said before I would prefer to target L jetta next year for polecs type of role, (if there's not a stand out in next years draft.)
You can build you team round blokes like heppell and hurn.

Who cares about not running at Usain Bolt speed? Fact is Heppell rarely gets caught and his left foot takes it upfield quicker than a speedster. Likely to hit a target too.

Gaff/Heppell, you can't go wrong with either. Not many noticeable flaws, and any they have they will work on 'til it's fixed.

Rarely gets caught playing U18's is a big step down from AFL.

I know I'm being a tad greedy I suppose but with pick 4 I want everything Heppell has but with more pace and agility.;)

Must admitt Heppell looks big enough to play almost straight away whereas Gaff looks a tad skinny on the shoulders.

I can't decide between Polec & Heppell. Gaff has some nice qualities but he isn't as damaging as the other two...too vanilla.

I think you're selling Gaff short. He is the next-gen Simon Black.

Line breaking and explosive are two different things. Positioning is also important.

People tend to forget as well that we've drafted pretty well already for speed in recent years.

Smith, Swift, Shuey, Naitanui, Sheppard. Neates, Houlihan and Brennan all have plenty of pace if they make it. Hams is quick, and Kerr and Masten, fully fit and firing, would add plenty of nip to the midfield as well.

That makes us at least ok for pace.. what we really lack is class. I also think we should continue to build one of the key strengths in the squad, which is flexibility with rotations.

Heppell is an elite user of the footy and extremely versatile. Fits both criteria :thumbsu: There'll also be plenty of pacey types around with our 2nd and 3rd picks so if it's that much of an issue it can be addressed then.

What you're advocating here is that WC shouldn't change from their usual draft plan. Draft a HBF or IM with their 1st pick, and leave leave the speedy types till our 2nd or 3rd pick. If this were to happen, again, WC will not be getting a top quality Wingman as required, but rather, the usual Rosa and Houlihan quality we get by using picks in the late 20's to mid 40's. Why advocate the repeating of the same ol when those two are average vanilla players.

WC don't need anymore HBF's or IM's, they've drafted plenty already. WC have to start adding quality to other areas. The Wing is a good start considering the lack of quality that's there at present.

If WC want an elite user of the ball, they should make a play for Rich next year when he's out of contract.
In saying that, the kicking skills of Gaff and Polec aren't a weakness just because it isn't elite. There's a lot more to consider than just kicking skills. Only a certain number can be HBF's or IM's, whilst playing.

I don't think many have forgotten the speed WC have drafted, I certainly haven't. Having said that, it doesn't mean WC have drafted the speed to fit all of their positional needs. The wing position has Houlihan, but that's not enough considering he's a liability due to his shit house kicking. Smith is not a Wingman. And Sheppard only fills 1 of 2 needs for a wing. Of those you've mentioned only Sheppard will play as a legitimate Wingman.
As well as Rosa played this year, I put him in the Priddis category in that as WC move ahead in the coming years, he has to take a back seat and play a lesser role as part of the rotation as WC hopefully bring in more talented players to take his position. He's not quality enough to help move this team forward significantly.

If WC select Heppell, it doesn't help the team in terms of the balance of quality. WC have tons of good IM, but only Sheppard as a future quality Wingman. Why further add to that imbalance by selecting another HBF cum IM. It would be illogical.

Interview here with Dyson Heppell in case you havent seen it: http://bigpondvideo.com/AFL/307262/draftee-in-profile-dyson-heppell/

And just spoke to Luke Mitchell (he knows im from Perth etc had no problem with it etc:rolleyes:), seemed like a great bloke, and I was very surprised to hear he wc haven't spoken to him. So if my theory of us taking 1 tall with our one of our two picks in the 20's then it looks like its down to Lucas Cook, Tyler Chalwell and Patrick Karnezis, assuming no one like Darling slides. Have a feeling we'll draft Chalwell with 28, similar to us taking Weedon last year, no one had heard of him until a month or so before draft.

4: Heppell/Gaff/Polec
26: Andreoli/Cripps/Newton/Green
28: Chalwell/Cook
:cool:

I think you're selling Gaff short. He is the next-gen Simon Black.

Black is always in the middle of packs and has an incredible handball..Gaff can't handball on his preferred to a player 5m away with penetration..

WOWIE Brad Fisher just delisted from carltoon as well as a few others but Fisher would be awesome as a Tall utility off the HFF or as a tall Wingman/Link man from defence.

What do you reckon???

WOWIE Brad Fisher just delisted from carltoon as well as a few others but Fisher would be awesome as a Tall utility off the HFF or as a tall Wingman/Link man from defence.

What do you reckon???

Makes Brad Ebert's kicking look like Dean Kemp

Interview here with Dyson Heppell in case you havent seen it: http://bigpondvideo.com/AFL/307262/draftee-in-profile-dyson-heppell/

And just spoke to Luke Mitchell (he knows im from Perth etc had no problem with it etc:rolleyes:), seemed like a great bloke, and I was very surprised to hear he wc haven't spoken to him. So if my theory of us taking 1 tall with our one of our two picks in the 20's then it looks like its down to Lucas Cook, Tyler Chalwell and Patrick Karnezis, assuming no one like Darling slides. Have a feeling we'll draft Chalwell with 28, similar to us taking Weedon last year, no one had heard of him until a month or so before draft.

4: Heppell/Gaff/Polec
26: Andreoli/Cripps/Newton/Green
28: Chalwell/Cook

:cool:
Its a'lot more likely to be Sam Menagola than Chalwell, Chalwell should be a good rookie option for the wa clubs though.

Tesserect - Must select best available at pick 4. Even if Heppel does end up at half back, it releases players into other positions. Hurn onto half forward, sheppard to the wing. Half Back became the most important position on the ground this year. Teams were deliberatly losing the clearance so they could rebound off half back and score.

4 - Jack Darling (completes the spine)
26 - Warrick Andreoli (takes the wing Shep isn't on!)
28 - Josh Green (quick, Tassie, ranga...what isn't to love)

:thumbsu:

Why take a similar player to Wilson in Darling? With the substitution rule coming in, wouldn't it be more efficient to select a FF who could part time Ruck. WC may as well select Tom Lynch to play that role, thus allowing only 1 main Ruckman to play, while an extra midfielder can get a game. It'd certainly help the team to run out a game.

If Andreoli were an exceptional prospect, he wouldn't be rated in what a fair few deem to be in the pick 25-40 range in a compromised draft. He may be a good player, but not the quality to match that of our IM's. The quality of a deserving pick 4 compared to a player rated 20-30 places lower is significant in most cases. Why settle for OM's at later picks as per usual if that's the case. WC currently have average players as Wingmen, because they were only willing to spend average picks for that type. WC will continue to receive what they're willing to pay. WC must change their drafting of not spending their 1st pick on an Outside Midfielder.
We just have to look at Freo in this regard. They've got two outstanding prospects in Hill and Morabito who're going to dominate for many years to come because they've invested their 2 high 1st round picks on Wingmen. Why should WC settle for average in this department, especially when most other needs are covered.

Tesserect - Must select best available at pick 4. Even if Heppel does end up at half back, it releases players into other positions. Hurn onto half forward, sheppard to the wing. Half Back became the most important position on the ground this year. Teams were deliberatly losing the clearance so they could rebound off half back and score.

I'm not a member of the 'always take best available' crew. WC can't have 16 IM's running around at the same time. Balance is required otherwise the team will have players playing in unfamiliar roles because we're trying to fit in all the players who've been drafted as "best available". As has been demonstrated with Masten playing an unfamiliar role this season past, it's inefficient.
WC should take best available of the type that's needed. Best available should be utilized only when we have a more balanced list or in the instance of a standout prospect. That's not the case at present.

For all those saying we need a Stephen hill type,I agree. But the truth is apart from bennell there are now real hill types left in the draft. Yes Polec plays that role, but he's no hill. And we don't need a other Chad Fletcher in gaff (yes agree a bit better than Fletcher, but similar). Heppell on the other hand just oozes class. :thumbsu: I compare him to a Luke hodge off the back line who can push through the midfield.

Heppell off the half back line frees up Sheppard, Smith, Stevenson(hopefully we retain him!) to move up the field as well so for mine he's the better choice then Gaff.