Draft discusson thread

I've now moved from Polec to Gaff. When we rebound we have lacked options upfield. Gaff seems ideally suited to alleviating this problem.

Im still stoked no matter who we choose out of the three. I have been put off Heppell after he played so much HBF and we have so many HBF options, that said I know he's dominated midfield etc.

Win/win/win.

Will only be disappointed if he don't get at least two talls in through ND, PSD and RD.

You obviously didnt see Heppell's prelim final

You did?? I can't find any footage of this anywhere.

but also consistency (which Polec lacks).

BS. Polec was pretty consistent at the carnival, and has had a couple of SANFL BOG's this season.

as he lacks the speed, agility and skills

Excuse me!?! All the footage show these as highlights, so I think you're BS is just wasting my time. As far as the speed issue, all we have is Pav's subjective opinion without any backup.

Where are you pulling this crap from?
He might not have these attributes to the extent that Hill does, few players do, but he still has them in spades. You watch him a lot do you?
Should we wait around until a player has the same attributes of the same level as Hill before we draft them?
How about ignoring opposition players that have no bearing on us and drafting players based on merits and needs?
You're just manipulating and ignoring facts to suit your own argument.

Yeah your right, I didn't make myself very clear. Didn't mean he has no speed or agility, was just saying that he is no stephen hill and those people expecting to get a Stephen hill will be disappointed. Will no doubt be good as proven by playing against men already, just doesn't look as fast as people are saying.

No didnt see the game personally but a friend of mine did. Said he just ouses star quality.

The consistency factor I was referring with Polec is you will rarely see him get over 20 possessions. And yes I know he plays that type of role and does do a lot with them, but what I think is that we need a player who consistantly gathers nearly 30 possessions a game like gaff, and like heppell playing midfeild.

Why is everyone raving on about Hill.

Scooter beat him twice, in the same season hey hey !!

Brodie Smith is the closest to Hill.
A right footed version

Except while Hill can test extremely fast, Smith tests extremely slow.

Why is everyone raving on about Hill.

Scooter beat him twice, in the same season hey hey !!

Brodie Smith is the closest to Hill.
A right footed version
???
Brodie Smith is a big bodied inside player who bursts through packs and tackles, Hill is a wingman who skirts around packs and evades tackles. The only similarities they have is pace and agility.
Someone like Andreoli is the most similar to Hill.

Disagree, you will learn a lot about a player- drive, motivation, intelligence, leadership etc in those interviews.

Disagree for drive, motivation, leadership - majority of players are well drilled in interviews these days to talk the talk and some are naturally skilled at it - it's not really that hard to do for most and it could lead to 'heart over head' decisions by recruiters if the player is very skilled in articulation, has a pleasant demeanor, well groomed etc. and he puts too much focus on it.

Yes for intelligence, but only in terms of knowledge of their own game, opponents games and general football strategy/tactics/gameplans etc. Those would be the only type of questions I would be genuinely interested in the response.

Interviewing the coaches would probably reveal more about a players drive, motivation, leadership etc. although again there is the chance that they might not be fair dinkum with you.

I doubt many 17yr olds are skilled in the art of talking the talk in front of a panel of hardened AFL veterans (some champions) asking probing personal questions.

Brennan's AFL.com.au profile:

What parts of your game would you like to improve?
Making sure all my possessions are to the benefit of my teammates

I doubt many 17yr olds are skilled in the art of talking the talk in front of a panel of hardened AFL veterans (some champions) asking probing personal questions.

LOL - that's a bit of a myth.

I have talked to a few players that were recruited over the last few years and were interviewed by multiple AFL clubs and they said they weren't asked any probing personal questions whatsoever - mainly just some general casual 'get to know you' and football related questions.

I would say their junior or state league clubs (particularly TAC Cup clubs) would give the players some sort of preparation and advice for interviews and the players would ask AFL listed players they played with in previous years about what to expect from the interviews.

Basically a fancy way of saying he wants to improve his disposal efficiency. Problem?

It's just the same could be said for 70% of our list ffs, it's great to hear we're drafting more of them.

Having said that though, I have nothing against Brennan and he'll be certainly more useful than alot of players on our list.

LOL - that's a bit of a myth.

I have talked to a few players that were recruited over the last few years and were interviewed by multiple AFL clubs and they said they weren't asked any probing personal questions whatsoever - mainly just some general casual 'get to know you' and football related questions.

I would say their junior or state league clubs (particularly TAC Cup clubs) would give the players some sort of preparation and advice for interviews and the players would ask AFL listed players they played with in previous years about what to expect from the interviews.

It wouldn't be that hard to see through the bullshit, especially seeing that the recruiters ask family, teachers etc the same stuff.

Someone like Jasper-Pittard interviewed very well and got drafted perhaps earlier than he would have. Ash Smith iirc was not at all good and dropped to 36.

I still maintain the recruiters view the interviews (not just at DC) as very important to making their final selections.

Looking at the history of Woodhouse and co, whoever they pick i'll be stoked. So many times we have got the gem. Oviously some shockers... I would be so depressed if I was a Richmond/Freo supporter - so many wasted years. Fingers crossed that Polec is rated highest - I think Heppel is though.

Seems to be 3 camps - Gaff, Polec and Darling.

Looking forward to two thirds of the members of the board letting the WC recruiters know they have no idea.

Edit - sorry 4 camps - add in Heppell

There'll be three quarters of the board up in arms now
I have recently taken a liking to Brodie Smith.

Seems to be further down the pecking order but his disposal is first class, he reads the play well and I've noticed he has good peripheral vision finding targets up the ground. He has a long accurate kick and has good up-side IMO.

Heppell has similar traits and is arguably better overhead but Smith looks a faster player to me, more in the mold of where the game is heading.

Smith can develop into another midfield option and we really need players with great disposal at the top of our list

Height: 189cm
Weight: 78kg
DOB: 14/01/92
Club: Woodville-West Torrens (SA)

Kevin Sheehan says: Medium defender/midfielder with a terrific speed-endurance combination. Powerful player who bursts from stoppages and wins plenty of the footy. Starred in the under-18 championships with All-Australian honours, and averaged 22 disposals, five clearances and six inside 50s.

Stats (aggregate for 2010 U18 Championships)
Games 4, Kicks 60, Handballs 29, Disposals 89, Marks 13, Goals 2, H/O 1

In his own words
What type of player are you?
Versatile midfielder that can play a number of roles in different positions. Good endurance and speed.

Which AFL player do you most resemble and why?
Bryce Gibbs. We play similar positions and he has a good work rate and solid skills. Has the ability to win lots of the footy.

What are your strengths as a footballer?
Work rate, competitive, clean hands, run and carry.

Check out the development from 2009 to 2010. Massive upside IMHO.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I7G9KeEjyg8 2010 league

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rEHcDecaOUs&feature=related 2009 u 18

After last year, its completely wishful thinking to regard brown as a forward. He was pathetic, like a cow trying he a gazelle. Leave him down back, that experiment failed and does not bear repeating. He couldn't even kick goals at wafl.4 kpf including hansen.

Kicked 5 with 30+ touches at CHF in a game in the WAFL?
Whilst I don't think he will be the answer at FF, to be fair to the lad he was played in a forward line that also included Kennedy, Lynch, Mckinley and Lecras all playing as leading, marking targets, and had what? 5 games to prove himself in a position he has never played (he was a CHF, not a FF as a junior) after having played down back for a year?

He had good form at the start of his career at the eagles at CHF where his strengths in endurance and athleticism can be utilised. That said I do prefer him as a backman, where these attributes are also utilised, as well as his tendency to run and carry.
I do think you are selling him a bit short though and making an unfair generalisation.

If in the future we choose to go down the path of not having a genuine 2nd ruckman in the team, it would be handy to throw Kennedy in as the backup and swing Brown to CHF.

Looking at the history of Woodhouse and co, whoever they pick i'll be stoked. So many times we have got the gem. Oviously some shockers... I would be so depressed if I was a Richmond/Freo supporter - so many wasted years. Fingers crossed that Polec is rated highest - I think Heppel is though.

Are you taking the pi$$? Woodhouse handed us a wooden spoon

Sorry mate, but I can spot a headless chook when I see one (yep, redundant statement, but I'm too tired to care) and Browny as a KPF was it. He had no bl00dy idea, looked completely awkward with playing with his back to goal (whenever he truned around to pass usually fluffed the kick), mis-timed and misjudged leads, ran to the wrong spots, just plain uncomfortable. I see him as an AA calibre CHB, and we shouldn't be messing with that. Not sure what game he got 30 possies and 5 goals, never heard about it myself, but I doubt a lot of it was done with his back to goal.