Draft discusson thread

Sorry mate, but I can spot a headless chook when I see one (yep, redundant statement, but I'm too tired to care) and Browny as a KPF was it. He had no bl00dy idea, looked completely awkward with playing with his back to goal (whenever he truned around to pass usually fluffed the kick), mis-timed and misjudged leads, ran to the wrong spots, just plain uncomfortable. I see him as an AA calibre CHB, and we shouldn't be messing with that. Not sure what game he got 30 possies and 5 goals, never heard about it myself, but I doubt a lot of it was done with his back to goal.
You clearly didn't read my post and you're confusing the terms "KPF" and "FF".
He has played very well before as a CHF, his debut for instance.
As a FF i agree with you (hence why I said "whilst I don't think he will be the answer at FF") but as a CHF he is more than capable, and should be utilised as a cover/swingman when necessary or appropriate.

Why would we blame one person for a spoon.
Broadbridge.... Woodhouse has done ok i reckon. As someone pointed out re Judd and Cuz are why we are shit. We only had to draft for need for 05 and 06, probably with the mind set of having those two.

Have to agree on Brown.. seemed to be totally lost at FF. As soon as he returned to CHB his impact improved 500%. It's a shame because he's got a beautiful set shot kicking action.

The other shame is that we'll never really see how good he could become as a full-time CHF. The Judd trade which brought Kennedy over, combined with his knee reco, has effectively sealed his fate as a CHB.

The good thing is Kennedy is capable at FF, so Brown can still switch to CHF at times. Wilson is also capable in the backline, and if we were to draft Darling for FF, he could be burst player in the centre.

This would all give us plenty of flexibility and IMO a key tactical edge over other teams :thumbsu:

(Semi-recent)
Naitanui, Sampi, Judd, Kerr were all great picks. Cousins (father son) had to pick him. None of these were number 1 draft picks, other teams passed on them and we could have easily, as well. Credit is due here. That handed us a premiership. I think the recruiting has been good considering the drafts since then.

LOL - that's a bit of a myth.

I have talked to a few players that were recruited over the last few years and were interviewed by multiple AFL clubs and they said they weren't asked any probing personal questions whatsoever - mainly just some general casual 'get to know you' and football related questions.

I would say their junior or state league clubs (particularly TAC Cup clubs) would give the players some sort of preparation and advice for interviews and the players would ask AFL listed players they played with in previous years about what to expect from the interviews.

Im sure they do, but it was sudgested that they all interview as calm cucumbers. Im 100% positive that most of them would be crapping themselves in those interviews... at least the first half a dozen.

Well he certainly rates himself ! Does anyone else have a similar opinion of him ?

Now that the Spring carnival is over the focus returns to footy.

Just been going through the list looking at rookie promotions, delistings etc and have come to the conclusion that we will go against popular opinion and take the best ruckman at pick 4 ....Gorringe.

Fact 1.
We delisted Will Sullivan (was our only back-up ruck if you discount Lynchy)

Fact 2.
Coxy is nearing the twighlight zone with 2/3 years of rucking left... at best. Coxy will play closer to goal and can develop his game to suit after that.

Fact 3.
We have thrown many picks at drafting mids and it is time to watch the fruit ripen, let the cream come to the top so to speak.
Shuey, Masten, Ebert, Swift, Sheppard, Scooter, Stevens and McGinnity are in that bracket. Kerr, LeCras, A Selwood, Priddis and even Butler can run through the middle so we no longer NEED to bolster the onballers but hope they become elite.

Fact 4.
Naitanui gets injured or stolen then we are ****ed in the ruck for the future.

Conclusion
Gorringe has pick me written all over him. He has great tap work, is agile, kicks goals, strong overhead, quick thinker with fast hands and can leap high.
200 cms and may yet grow a touch taller Gorringe is going to be an elite AFL big man and good big men are generally hard to find.
Getting Coxy through the rookie list was very lucky so we would need a lighning bolt to strike twice should we go down that path again, Sullivan did not work out as hoped yet he had good physical traits.

You may laugh but i think this shock selection is highly likely.

Tom Lynch will be a better option. He can play FF 80% of the time and then swap with Naitinui for the rest.

Agreed. I would be unhappy if we took either Gorringe or Darling over Lynch.

Just been going through the list looking at rookie promotions, delistings etc and have come to the conclusion that we will go against popular opinion and take the best ruckman at pick 4 ....Gorringe.

Fact 1.

Fact 2.
Coxy is nearing the twighlight zone with 2/3 years of rucking left... at best. Coxy will play closer to goal and can develop his game to suit after that.

Fact 3.
We have thrown many picks at drafting mids and it is time to watch the fruit ripen, let the cream come to the top so to speak.
Shuey, Masten, Ebert, Swift, Sheppard, Scooter, Stevens and McGinnity are in that bracket. Kerr, LeCras, A Selwood, Priddis and even Butler can run through the middle so we no longer NEED to bolster the onballers but hope they become elite.

Fact 4.

Conclusion
Gorringe has pick me written all over him. He has great tap work, is agile, kicks goals, strong overhead, quick thinker with fast hands and can leap high.
200 cms and may yet grow a touch taller Gorringe is going to be an elite AFL big man and good big men are generally hard to find.
Getting Coxy through the rookie list was very lucky so we would need a lighning bolt to strike twice should we go down that path again, Sullivan did not work out as hoped yet he had good physical traits.

Fair enough we have a need to start looking at ruck depth, but there are ways and means to do this.

Mitch Clark is out of contract next year and the Lions are on the way down IMO, have just started their rebuild at exactly the wrong time.

Luenburger will become available right on time with free agency in 2012.

Cox has at least 2 if not 3 years left in him IMO.

Yes we should be chasing a rookie listed backup, possibly a mature ruck around 23-5yrs old.

The substitute rule may well mean teams carry onlt one recognised ruck in a game.

Lynch is 28 and no one else wants him, could be a cheap backup for another 3 years.

What kind of club would invest 2 top 5 picks in ruckmen over a 3 year period?

What would happen if they both reached their potential? Split ruck time 50-50? That works like shit and using 2 top 5 picks on guys who are only going to spend half the time if their preferred position is terrible.

I'll be very puzzled if we take a ruckman at pick 4.

Fair enough we have a need to start looking at ruck depth, but there are ways and means to do this.

Mitch Clark is out of contract next year and the Lions are on the way down IMO, have just started their rebuild at exactly the wrong time.

Luenburger will become available right on time with free agency in 2012.

Cox has at least 2 if not 3 years left in him IMO.

Yes we should be chasing a rookie listed backup, possibly a mature ruck around 23-5yrs old.

The substitute rule may well mean teams carry onlt one recognised ruck in a game.

Lynch is 28 and no one else wants him, could be a cheap backup for another 3 years.
Clarke or Lewy would fill the hole well but us getting either of them is high risk so we cannot afford to cross our fingers and hope.

Gorringe has plenty to offer IMO.

Would love Clarke to come to us next year because he can play FF full time if required and that is a hole for us unless Wilson takes the bull by the horns and claims FF.

I would still take Gorringe in case that scenario does not unfold. There are quite a few good mids that should be available at 26 or 29 (if North are the only team to take their compensation pick) and we also need another good tall KP prospect.

Fasolo, Andreoli, Cripps, Newton should be available with Tape and Mitchell a chance for talls.

Clarke or Lewy would fill the hole well but us getting either of them is high risk so we cannot afford to cross our fingers and hope.

Gorringe has plenty to offer IMO.

Not that we should be after a ruckman the calibre of Clark or Leuenburger but how are they more risky than Gorringe?

Do you mean it's because they aren't guaranteed to come leave for WA?

Fact 1.

Fact 2.

Fact 3.

Fact 4.

Conclusion

I sure did

Jimmy pretty much sums it up above. Absolute waste of a golden top 5 pick.

Yeah, with the addition and emergence of NicNat, I'd say Cox has a minimum of 3 years left in him. This will probably be his last year as #1 ruck, allowing him to play less time extend his career. Even then, there'll be plenty of opprtunities to pick up backup ruckmen - no need to pick use a top 5 pick for a player who will be a backup (seriously, cannot believe I had to state that so obviously - who spends a top 5 pick on a bench player??). Why not propose Lynch, a better forward prospect who has the height to pinch hit in the ruck?

What kind of club would invest 2 top 5 picks in ruckmen over a 3 year period?

What would happen if they both reached their potential? Split ruck time 50-50? That works like shit and using 2 top 5 picks on guys who are only going to spend half the time if their preferred position is terrible.

I'll be very puzzled if we take a ruckman at pick 4.
Agree completely

You would be crazy if both players were only ruck types.

Naita has very good goal sense and he can shuffle between the two positions so if you could find another ruckman that can leap high and kick goals then the theory not only has merit but it could pose huge problems for oposition match-ups.

I sure did

Jimmy pretty much sums it up above. Absolute waste of a golden top 5 pick.
Forum is for throwing around idea's

You cannot overlook our ruck situation now that Sullivan has been delisted.

He was the first rookie elevated this year so his delisting suggests that the powers that be have a replacement in mind.

I put it out there that Gorringe at 4 is not that unlikely albeit laughable.

No doubt we are going to get one to the club for next year or the whole Sullivan elevation was just a rediculous blunder. We either need a backup as the elevation suggested or the list managers are off with the fairy's. :p

Forum is for throwing around idea's

You cannot overlook our ruck situation now that Sullivan has been delisted.

He was the first rookie elevated this year so his delisting suggests that the powers that be have a replacement in mind.

I put it out there that Gorringe at 4 is not that unlikely albeit laughable.

No doubt we are going to get one to the club for next year or the whole Sullivan elevation was just a rediculous blunder. We either need a backup as the elevation suggested or the list managers are off with the fairy's. :p

Lynch was mean't to be our FF this year but he was shit. He is probably regarded as the backup if Cox/Nait go down now. Plans have changed as Lynch couldn't play his role and Sullivan was useless.

You can just draft in a Wade Skipper type like Hawthorn did this year but history shows that he had little to no impact and has been delisted after one year.
Ex-rucks hardly ever work out unless you pay some type of premium for them like Collingwood did with Jolly.

Big men take time and ruckmen...........well look at Sullivan, playing league footy for a couple of years and expected to become a handy backup.
3 years on the list but now he is gone.

Seaby looked serviceable but was traded to Sydney where he played a couple of good games but I doubt we will be regretting the trade.

Very good ruckmen do not grow on trees, so we need to get a working project.....and all young ruckmen are working projects, with most ruckmen hitting their straps in the low to mid 20's age group.

Naitanui is an exception to the rule, he is a freak athlete yet even Naita needs more time. 2 years and Naita is looking very promising but there is no guarentee he will reach full potential in 2011 even though most expect him to take the next step.

Conclusion

3 years of football is the earliest time frame you can expect a ruckman to develop.
3 years time Coxy is close to retirement and Lynchy will be too slow by then to be a backup.

Choices are we take steps to cover this now or we cross our fingers with another Seaby/Sullivan type project.

What if that fails and Naita gets an injury. We are ****ed big time.