Draft Game: Predict our picks

7 Black - next 3-4 years draft will be gutted of KP forwards
22 Bartlett - top class mid but with injury cloud ala Swift:D
23 Colyer or Weedon - fast small who can play forward

We won't need Jetta as we will trade and get Yarran in the 2010 trade period.:D

In 3 years Hansen and Lynch will most likely be gone and Black will be 21-22.

also it seems that jetta isn't the 7th best player in the draft, but that we are keen on him and don't believe he will be available at 22/23 - this (to me) isn't in line with our usual draft strategy of best available....

Theres never any universal agreement as to who is best available and is determined only by the club with the pick in question, purely subjective. You could make cases for 5 or so kids as "best available" for pick 7.

anyway...

7. Jetta (I hope we take him, certainly more a risky pick but offers to much to our list to pass up. If we do pass on him, Black is my next choice but I wouldnt be disapointed with any of the players being mentioned for our first pick.)

22. Bartlett (I dont know heaps about him and am only going of footage from the net and a couple of articles, but he looked very impressive and a chance to slip to our pick. We took a punt on Swift last year so could see us doing it again this year, especially with a shallow draft.)

23. Gerrick Weedon (Theres about 15 kids that could take up both our second rounders, but Emma Quayle says were looking at taking him so thats why I've put him here. Some people have said we wouldnt take Jetta and someone like Weedon in the same draft, but apart from a couple of similiar traits they are two very different players.)

Theres never any universal agreement as to who is best available and is determined only by the club with the pick in question, purely subjective. You could make cases for 5 or so kids as "best available" for pick 7.

anyway...

7. Jetta (I hope we take him, certainly more a risky pick but offers to much to our list to pass up. If we do pass on him, Black is my next choice but I wouldnt be disapointed with any of the players being mentioned for our first pick.)

22. Bartlett (I dont know heaps about him and am only going of footage from the net and a couple of articles, but he looked very impressive and a chance to slip to our pick. We took a punt on Swift last year so could see us doing it again this year, especially with a shallow draft.)

23. Gerrick Weedon (Theres about 15 kids that could take up both our second rounders, but Emma Quayle says were looking at taking him so thats why I've put him here. Some people have said we wouldnt take Jetta and someone like Weedon in the same draft, but apart from a couple of similiar traits they are two very different players.)

I've been saying that for weeks

7 Black - next 3-4 years draft will be gutted of KP forwards
22 Bartlett - top class mid but with injury cloud ala Swift:D
23 Colyer or Weedon - fast small who can play forward

We won't need Jetta as we will trade and get Yarran in the 2010 trade period.:D

In 3 years Hansen and Lynch will most likely be gone and Black will be 21-22.

I like the cut of your jib. That's how I see it panning out

Oh wow Im sure you know hero, because you will pick all 3 Im sure.

ha nah just saying if you think we can get dustin martin you probably havent done your homework mate. if youre right ill be your biggest fan

it's pretty much universally accepted that richmond is taking dustin martin at pick three isn't it??

I've been saying that for weeks

Indeed. Hope it's BS though.

Black - Gun and an Eagles fan.
Barlett - From the Geelong Falcons, always was a development prospect so we shall take our time.
Christensen - Super talented, just needs to work on his fitness.

I can across Nisbett in Subi last 2 weeks ago, I've worked there for 15 years and after that amount of time people start to recognise you - Ben Cousins used to go out of his way to come over and have a chat. For all his short comings I found him to be a great and affable bloke - anyway. I know Trev's not a Woody but I asked him if i could have a minute of his time. I asked him about potential draftees and started to throw names at him. Now of course it could be all smoke and mirrors but judging by his reaction I'd say this is how he'd rate them.

I didn't bother asking about Scully, Trengove and Martin

So rating by reaction/comments

If Cunnington some how drops I'd say he's 1st choice - I"m happy he's my personal favorite.

2nd choice: Moribito and Black both got a very good reaction.

3rd choice: Jetta

He didn't seem to have much time for Lucas but then again it could be smoke and mirrors

The interesting one is Sheppard, I didn't bring him up but Nissy did. He had a very high opinion of him.

He then received a phone call so I politely pissed off. I didn't get to ask about Bartell, Colyer, Weedon ect for picks 22/23

It all probably means sweet FA but interesting never the less

Geez it's pretty hard to go past Black...

WC have never really had a great forward line but we would be on the verge of this if we took him.

How does this sound? :

Black
Bartlett
Colyer

given trengrove, scully and martin are locks

We'll get a crack at either cunnington, rohan, butcher or morabito

i hope we take one of those at 7

at 20+ i really haven't read enough

Cunnington is a lock with pick 5 at North and you would think Freo will take Morabito, Butcher or Rohan.

Sydney i think will take Rohan if Freo dont, but its expected that Freo will take Morabito.

What im saying is, i think 1 of the 4 uv'e named we may get a crack at will be Butcher, hence we would pick out of Butcher or Jetta, if we took Butcher, Port would be guttered.

Geez it's pretty hard to go past Black...

WC have never really had a great forward line but we would be on the verge of this if we took him.

How does this sound? :

Black
Bartlett
Colyer

Sounds very nice.

I would be happy with any of the following players to tell the truth.

Jetta, Black, or Sheppard
Bastinac, Bartlett, Colyer
Christensen, or Weedon

I think I was the first on the Black train, back then I thought he would be a rookie pick up for us.

Same with Weedon unfortunately both are now looking top 30 picks, we just cant hide them away like we use to.:thumbsd:

Weedon is a terrific over head mark very similar to Rowan Jones in that respect, he is also very quick but does goes missing for large patches of the game.

Big fan of Bastinac if he drops to us would love him.

Colyer is a terrier and is just so quick, he will make a impact at AFL level,
watching him chase down people at subi will be a joy too watch.

Christensen is very classy his skin folds are a real worry though, is a better mid than foward, although he can do both roles.

Sheppard is just a no fuss quick classy defender, a 10 year player for whoever gets him.

It pretty much means we have no need for Notte...ditch him you reckon?

The reality is - if we have 2 young draftees like notte and butcher/black - it is unlikely that both are going to become a-graders.

Develop them both - and see what becomes of it.

To me - from the journo's who have a bit of cred - it seems the top 5 mids are pretty much set - so if we want to bloster our mids the difference from 7 to 22 won't be that large - so lets get a good tall!

That is of course unless Freo do slide on Morabito -that could really open up the draft! Would mean we'd probably get a crack at either him or Rohan!

[/QUOTE]

Scott Clayton from GC list Management in analysing the top of the draft reckons that Scully and Trengove are not far ahead of Martin and Cunnington .In fact he rates them in the same bracket .Hope that Freo are rating the same !

The reality is - if we have 2 young draftees like notte and butcher/black - it is unlikely that both are going to become a-graders.

Develop them both - and see what becomes of it.

To me - from the journo's who have a bit of cred - it seems the top 5 mids are pretty much set - so if we want to bloster our mids the difference from 7 to 22 won't be that large - so lets get a good tall!

Good call. Exactly how I see it