Draft not far away

As far as Mitch Farmer goes he has simply exploded in the midifled in recent weeks and has been the player who has controlled the middle for the Cannons in the last two games. I think he will go a fair bit higher than people think.

I really hope we get him. Id rather him than Daniher for our 3rd pick. Even our 2nd if his stock rises.

i'd almost prefer us to elevate a rookie or pick up a mature player than use our 5th pick. i can't see there being too much talent after pick 50.

According to TOA (west Australian poster) we have been in regular contact with Morton as have Richmond FWIW.

What could we offer the Eagles? I wouldn't mind doing a trade like Bradley/Johns for Morton but im not sure whether they'd be interested in any of our players, and if this is the case, what draft picks would we have to give up?

Haha sorry shoudl've made that clear- not Mitch, its Cale Morton. As in we're looking at drafting him at pick 6.

Good news.

190cm wingman.

I would really like him but i just cant see him slipping Richmond imo will go for Trent Cotchin but then i reckon Melbourne will take him.

1. Kreuzer
2. Cotchin
3. Ebert
4. Morton
5. Henderson
6. Masten

Im not that keen on us taking him in the draft to be honest. He's a great talent and is probably one of the best in the draft, but im hoping we draft for needs and go an inside player in Masten or an all rounder Palmer/Ebert ect. But if all of those players were gone (which i doubt they would be) i guess i wouldn't mind seeing us taking Morton. I just hope we get one of Masten or Ebert, and hopefully we will be seeing Masten and Prismall/M.Morton wearing the red and black next year!

Good news.

190cm wingman.

I would really like him but i just cant see him slipping Richmond imo will go for Trent Cotchin but then i reckon Melbourne will take him.

1. Kreuzer
2. Cotchin
3. Ebert
4. Morton
5. Henderson
6. Masten
That's exactly how i think things will go, but the only one im not sure on is Ebert as i havn't really seen him play before. Has anyone got any footage of the young fella?

i no people dont think we need another of these kind of players but if masten and ebert were gone before essendons pick would ciril rioli be a good chance because ive a heard hes a pretty good talent

Yeh he does look to be a pretty exciting talent, but we've got pick 6, Which means we have the opportunity of picking up whoever is left out of Kruezer, Cotchin, Ebert, Masten, Palmer, Morton or even Henderson, and i myself would rather pick up one of those players before we pick up Rioli.

Cyril Rioli without a doubt. He was only playd in the forward line during the championships because of an injury, yet he still kicked 7 goals. He is a natural midfielder.

If not then maybe Selwood. Though, I hope we don't end up with the shit one.

Okay (deep breath).

1. KP defenders just don't get drafted anymore. Most defenders enter the system as forwards and are converted to defenders. For instance, it wouldn't surprise me in the least to see either Neagle or Gumbleton play in defense for the majority of their career.

2. With the way footy is now, you only require one key defender - that being usually the full back. The reason being is that most half forwards are roaming, running types like Pavlich, Lucas, Riewoldt etc who very rarely take contested marks. There might be the odd exception to the rule like but generally most teams operate with one key forward and one or two mobile tallish forwards. The days of Chris Mew and Kevin Walsh are over.

3. Drafting a KP defender is a waste. I argued this last year with Lachlen Hansen who isn't exactly setting the world alight at the Kangaroos (I believe he was playing in the Tassie two's at one stage) and I will argue it again.

4. Our squad is waaayyyy too top heavy at the moment. NO MORE TALLS. People complain that our team lacks pace yet they think drafting a KP defender is the answer. I'm confused.

5. Do we want another Kepler Bradley situation if we take a KP defender early in the draft.

We keep Hille - drafting a ruckman is generally very chancy and you won't see the fruition of it for about another 5 years. We don't draft any more talls - we've got that many, teams will be knocking on our door soon trying to take some off us. And finally we go for runnners and runners and runners. It also helps if they can play footy a bit.

Disagree with points 2, 4 and 5.
Pavlich, Riewoldt and Lucas all play CHF and they do take plenty of contested marks. These days defenders need to have good closing speed to spoil these types of players.

Our squad ain't too top heavy. We actually have a plethora of outside midfielder type players. Lucas and Lloyd arn't going to be around in 4-5 years time, KP players should be still very much in the radar. What we do need however is a quality inside midfielder to support Jobe.

Kep was drafted for all the wrong reasons, seen as a replacement for Fletch when he actually played as a wingman @ the u/18 champs. He had a pretty handy game against the Eagles playing a similar role.

Draft not far away