Preview Draft Pick #18

• Thread starter Thread starter MileHigh

cow%20eye%20dissection%20%281%29.jpg

He's not the only one.

I ****ing love Ellard. I reckon he could be a real Gem.

He is a W.A product, so that is one bonus.
(Pity he played for the Swannies...*shudder*)

Has plenty of attributes to make it in the AFL, he also has a few downsides which may make it hard for him to maintain his position in the Carlton team.

He is a W.A product, so that is one bonus.
(Pity he played for the Swannies...*shudder*)

Yarran and Army?

Has plenty of attributes to make it in the AFL, he also has a few downsides which may make it hard for him to maintain his position in the Carlton team.

I reckon he'll make it.

I think you've just turned off half of the Carlton board by giving him that nickname.....

TG - Sorry mate, you know I still love you.
Half?

I must be losing my touch.

I guess need to log in as one of my Alpha1, celtic_pride, Djibril Cisse or MCB alters to better that.

Guns may kill me, but the likes of Ellard may slowly be removed from the team. I think Scotland and Carrazzo will slowly feel the heat on their position on the team.

If AJ does not slightly life his game, he could be pushed hard as well. He did not progress as he would have expected in 2010. It will be good to have some pressure on the older Carlton members to hold their place.

Agree with your post 100%. Be interesting which players do step up and the other players that don't.

We'll really see that spots in the team are genuinely tough to hang on to when favourites are cut. Player de-listing or omission info that makes you stare at a screen and say "You have got to be shitting me!" Then cry and vomit.

Only then will we know.

Half?

I must be losing my touch.

I guess need to log in as one of my Alpha1, celtic_pride, Djibril Cisse or MCB alters to better that.

Do you base jump too?

Pain fades when young star pulls on boots
It is a close-knit family that was brought closer together when Mr Lamb was killed when Jed was six years old.

It was cold-blooded attack with a wood-splitter that followed a heated dispute with a local.

It means Lamb is preparing to begin his AFL dream, the year his father's killer is due for parole.

Though Lamb, 18, has accepted the tragic circumstances surrounding his father's death football at times has been an escape.

"Playing footy can take your mind off things," Lamb said.

Hawthorn is tipped to select the livewire goal kicker with pick No. 19 - if he lasts past that, it won't be for long.
Pain fades when young star pulls on boots

Inspiring story.

The next Stevie Johnson
Likened to a mix of Geelong trickster Steve Johnson and Eagles sharpshooter Mark LeCras, the 181cm Lamb has been linked to Hawthorn and its No. 19 draft pick.

Asked if there is a particular moment of magic that stands out, everyone, including Lamb, recalls the same goal.

"It was against Dandenong," Lamb said.

"I ran down to the pocket and had two blokes hanging off me. But I scooped up the ball and put it on the outside of my foot, and, yeah, it rolled through.
The next Stevie Johnson

Draft countdown - Carlton: Mark Stevens and Jay Clark
The loss of Brendan Fevola has left a massive hole in attack. Gee, Josh Kennedy (remember him?) would be handy.

191cm Seb Tape is a Matthew Scarlett-like stopper who can lock down on the best of them. Either he or Watson would be a win.

Mitch Hahn
Draft countdown - Carlton: Mark Stevens and Jay Clark

Quality work to mention Hahn and Kennedy who left Carlton before Fevola. :rolleyes: :o

648183-ben-jacobs.jpg

How could we pass on someone who looks that good in navy blue?

Need within 4 picks based on the list below IMO.

Priority needs:

• KPD/F
  • Elite kicking/tackling/marking HBF
  • Lead up HFF
Buckley coming next year to add to our mids so important to address our needs. Options seem to be there to not have to reach TBH.

As far as a KPD/F goes I'd go with Watson (how does he compare with Hurley at the same age?) as a KPD - still hopeful that Austin can pull it all together, fulfil his potential and potentially vie for a spot up forward - with Kreuzer/Hampson likely spending more time up forward I feel we'll do alright.

Buckley will be something to look forward to and will ensure our quality stock of mid's kepp on keeping on.

Rookie draft raw ruck prospect should be looked at. If Hampson is deprived of opportunities he may end up at GC in a couple of years and with injury to Warnock or Kreuzer it could hurt.

If Hampson is deprived of opportunities he may end up at GC in a couple of years.

Don't be surprised if GWS comes calling as their starting ruckman in 2012. Hampson will be 24 and an ideal candidate for the new team. Which would be a shame given the 5 years we'll have put into his development and the AFL's concessions.

This past season he slid down the rankings below Warnock and Jacobs. But a solid season and Sheedy won't find too many brighter prospects ready for the first bounce, even if they do snare the best 17 year olds.

My main questions for the experts with Watson are:
1) Is it true that he could slide straight into AFL football, specifically CHB (which seems a bit of a black hole for us, especially if Waite stays forward), as some have stated? How similar is he to Hurley?
2) If his kicking is as good as people say, could he be the answer to our kick-in woes?
3) Why is McCarthy better for us, given he seems more a running player ala Bower?
4) Will fitness be an issue? And what are the chances he could turn into Tomahawk II?
5) With so much apparent upside, why the hell would no-one take him before 18?

My main questions for the experts with Watson are:
1) Is it true that he could slide straight into AFL football, specifically CHB (which seems a bit of a black hole for us, especially if Waite stays forward), as some have stated? How similar is he to Hurley?
2) If his kicking is as good as people say, could he be the answer to our kick-in woes?
3) Why is McCarthy better for us, given he seems more a running player ala Bower?
4) Will fitness be an issue? And what are the chances he could turn into Tomahawk II?
5) With so much apparent upside, why the hell would no-one take him before 18?

Love to know that myself. Something about GC taking a load of early mids?

No expert on the draft but I get the impression that Watson, while potentially a good fit for us, is third or fourth KPD in line. .. So the expectation is that he will slide to us. .. based on this I assume that if he doesn't then another KPP might or a unexpected quality mid. ..