Preview Draft Pick #18

• Thread starter Thread starter MileHigh

Thats who he has to play against to make a difference...not NT

Right now you are talking about an 18 year old taking on Franklin and the other elite forwards in the comp, so of course that's going to sound like a big ask. He has qualities like closing speed and reading the play well which are good attributes to have as a defender. Along with Jamo, Bower and Watson we would be able to match a wide variety of forwardlines with differing strengths and weaknesses in each player.

He will need assistance as a lot of defenses and defenders need to be successful as a unit. Watson is a good player and a good prospect but has his weaknesses but I don't think that they will hold him back at AFL level as much as you think they will.

Now if a McCarthy fell to us... unlikely... youd like to think we were all over him like a rash... make it or not is never a certainty... but you could see what his 'tricks' are.. and the myraid of things he brings to the club that drafts him.

Now just to go with someone cos he is tall ....but lacks so much for the modern game......hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm...

id rather have a punt on someone with a later pick... alot of the gun defenders in the AFL are late picks u know??... and make sure we choose someone outstanding with your pick 18.. and organise our defensive work to improve all over the park to make things easier for the defenders inside our back 50.

The game can only be saved in defence.. never won.....

Right now you are talking about an 18 year old taking on Franklin and the other elite forwards in the comp, so of course that's going to sound like a big ask. He has qualities like closing speed and reading the play well which are good attributes to have as a defender. Along with Jamo, Bower and Watson we would be able to match a wide variety of forwardlines with differing strengths and weaknesses in each player.

He will need assistance as a lot of defenses and defenders need to be successful as a unit. Watson is a good player and a good prospect but has his weaknesses but I don't think that they will hold him back at AFL level as much as you think they will.

no im telling you the types of footballers the underage competition is churning out....

To be any use to us.. he will need to shut down elite footballers.. yes no???

and Sin City... yes best n fairest in 2006.. and laying on the couch in 2007...munching on his Krusty Creme donuts....

The question is......... really..... Does Watson have what it takes to make a significant difference for his team in the AFL being who he is and what he has .....???

Not sure you can have a discussion with someone that just asks questions constantly and provides nothing of his own thoughts.

Can I argue with your statements?????

The big question is it worth arguing with someone with no points???

I wonder if you have an idea on Watson????

Maybe I should place a few more ??? just to see if it makes sense????? How do you feel about me????? Is it working yet?????

Watson - While he is not currently a wonderful one on one defender, he has many other "tricks".

• Can read the play and fill spaces
  • Has decent speed for his current height and size
  • Has an AFL sized frame and has potential to tone up and improve his agility and speed.
  • Has decent levels of endurance
  • Has an amazing kick that can break open zones.
  • Has the ability to rack up multitude of possessions, which is something that is hard to teach players, the ability to find space.
I agree that he does struggle a little against those quick lead up forwards, but we have Bower or Jammo for those such players. At worst we can use Watson as the third tall like Maxwell/Harry O and he will provide great drive from defence. Watson is quick enough once moving, he just struggles a little with his turning circle.

Anyway, I am sure I will just get a reply with a heap of ?????? so what is the real point in bothering to have a decent conversation...

DO you think I should both????

I guess the modern day forum posting is all about asking questions, is this where the net should go?????

What is the obsession with multiple ????? Does it make your point more valid??? or your ???? button is a little dodgy??????

no im telling you the types of footballers the underage competition is churning out....

To be any use to us.. he will need to shut down elite footballers.. yes no???

Your comparing Watson with already developed and established forwards not what they were when they were first drafted. I don't really understand what you're getting at. He has performed well at under 18 level and shown what he can do and although generally bigger than a lot of other players so are Darling and Day who are both highly rated. Watson's speed is being questioned so much that it is being created into a large problem when it isn't as big of an issue as portrayed on BF.

Elite defenders usually go later in the first round than midfielders, forwards and even rucks.

Now if a McCarthy fell to us... unlikely... youd like to think we were all over him like a rash... make it or not is never a certainty... but you could see what his 'tricks' are.. and the myraid of things he brings to the club that drafts him.

Please explain what this myriad of things that McCarthy brings to a club?

Shifter could not even fit him into his top 30 players? Makes you wonder how one talent scout could not even find room in his top 30 players for a guy with a myriad of "tricks".

Sheehan's top 30

Explain to me in some simple terms why McCarthy is better than Watson?

Not sure you can have a discussion with someone that just asks questions constantly and provides nothing of his own thoughts.

Can I argue with your statements?????

The big question is it worth arguing with someone with no points???

I wonder if you have an idea on Watson????

Maybe I should place a few more ??? just to see if it makes sense????? How do you feel about me????? Is it working yet?????

Watson - While he is not currently a wonderful one on one defender, he has many other "tricks".

• Can read the play and fill spaces
  • Has decent speed for his current height and size
  • Has an AFL sized frame and has potential to tone up and improve his agility and speed.
  • Has decent levels of endurance
  • Has an amazing kick that can break open zones.
  • Has the ability to rack up multitude of possessions, which is something that is hard to teach players, the ability to find space.
I agree that he does struggle a little against those quick lead up forwards, but we have Bower or Jammo for those such players. At worst we can use Watson as the third tall like Maxwell/Harry O and he will provide great drive from defence. Watson is quick enough once moving, he just struggles a little with his turning circle.

Anyway, I am sure I will just get a reply with a heap of ?????? so what is the real point in bothering to have a decent conversation...

DO you think I should both????

I guess the modern day forum posting is all about asking questions, is this where the net should go?????

What is the obsession with multiple ????? Does it make your point more valid??? or your ???? button is a little dodgy??????

Youre saying he is fast and not fast in the same argument right??????????????????????

interesting argument......
we are all as different as our very own dna ... yes???????

so why do u wanna stadadise everybody????????????

now back on the topic... if a KPP had all those tricks............he can do all those things...... even though you say hes fast and not fast in the same argument............ right?????????????????

.. he should be top 5 .... ok???????

lets just see shall we???????????

Please explain what this myriad of things that McCarthy brings to a club?

Shifter could not even fit him into his top 30 players? Makes you wonder how one talent scout could not even find room in his top 30 players for a guy with a myriad of "tricks".

Sheehan's top 30

Explain to me in some simple terms why McCarthy is better than Watson?

Youre using Shifter as a cornerstone to your argument???

McCarthy is a runner.. a contested mark.. a beautiful athlete.. someone who will contrinue to develop his body..... someone who will be able to play his own game and you wont have to shield him from being run off...

But your Shifter argument is a winner.. so i take it back!!!....

I hang off each word Shifter delivers about the draft........

You win.....

Watson is slow = BF myth

From Emma Quayles Age blog today (answering a question about Josh Green):

Hi Macca... yes Green is quick. Did a 2.92 20m sprint at the draft combine and is pretty hard at it.

Watsons results from the Draft Combine:

his 2.98 second sprint time suggested he's not as sluggish as some have thought

Now how much of a difference is 0.06 of a second from a ~99kg KPD who will surely trim down to an ideal weight and a "super quick"?

The major problem with Watson currently is his endurance, and that is FAR EASIER to work on and improve than speed.

Watson is slow = BF myth

Hi Macca... yes Green is quick. Did a 2.92 20m sprint at the draft combine and is pretty hard at it.

Now how much of a difference is 0.06 of a second from a ~99kg KPD who will surely trim down to an ideal weight and a "super quick"?

The major problem with Watson currently is his endurance, and that is FAR EASIER to work on and improve than speed.

People think that cos they watch him... like Livo he returned a ripper DC time.....

Ok just a question.... were hoping he slims down.... and he becomes fast...
with our first round pick...

Or we are hoping Massie gets taller......

why not get the guy who is just naturally going to evolve as he gets older...???

an 18 year old who has to slim down ........

from 100 kilos to ninety.....

Cos its not 100 kilos of muscle lets face it...

he will need to be stripped right down and then have core strength work added....

Casboult...!!!

but Casboult is rookie...

There are body types you wanna be searching for .. for this modern game.

So why exactly does Watson get excluded from development as he gets older? He has some things to work on but so does McCarthy, who I might add is more likely a 3rd tall ATM considering the way he plays.

Not everyone can put on weight.

There are body types you wanna be searching for .. for this modern game.

I see you've been drinking the "modern athlete" Kool-Aid.

I would rather a footballer such as Watson than an athletic freak such as (and with all due respect) Shaun Hampson any day of the week.

Lets face facts; a proven footballer who may have developed a bit early versus an athlete who has "the body type you wanna be searching for" both have their pros and cons. However when you weigh in Watsons footy brain and his left cannon, for me at least, there is no argument.

That being said, I would be more than happy with McCarthy, if Watson is gone, though I'm not keen on Lynch (athlete/hype) or Darling (the next Fev).

Watson is slow = BF myth

I'd take 20m times with a grain of salt. Over such a short distance, reaction time could impact the time quite a bit.

More accurate to gauge a player's speed on the footy park for mine. Some players can offset speed with better reaction time and positioning and vice versa.

by the way... many AFL footballers have degenerative knees..

Yes they do. Seeing as you couldn't answer whether or not you know what degenerative means I take it you have no idea that there are different stages while something is degenerating. May even be able to find a positive post about something by you if you look back long enough.

I see you've been drinking the "modern athlete" Kool-Aid.

I would rather a footballer such as Watson than an athletic freak such as (and with all due respect) Shaun Hampson any day of the week.

Lets face facts; a proven footballer who may have developed a bit early versus an athlete who has "the body type you wanna be searching for" both have their pros and cons. However when you weigh in Watsons footy brain and his left cannon, for me at least, there is no argument.

That being said, I would be more than happy with McCarthy, if Watson is gone, though I'm not keen on Lynch (athlete/hype) or Darling (the next Fev).

Oh yes.. i know..... but you simply cant play the game today if youre not athletic unless youre a freak....

Those guys each yar come up even freakier than the last with what they are capable of doing on the field

Thats why no matter how good they were.....

Not too many guys look like Rod Ashman on the field anymore... or even John Nicholls..

Nicholls was no taller than Teague.. and yet he is an all time great ruckman.

Ashie reckons he would never make it today.. wouldnt even be drafted..

True .. he said that .. not me...!!

two all time greats...of this club and wouldnt get a game.

By the way.. u know why skills are not as good as wed like???

cos the game is super fast....

Barassi said.. when you watch it from the top of the MCG.. it looks ok..

then go one level down and its faster....

on the boundary its faster still...

but if you happen to be one of those elite athletes fortunate enough to be on the ground.... its just whizzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzing through there....

The modern game....

dont underestimate it....!!!

Yes they do. Seeing as you couldn't answer whether or not you know what degenerative means I take it you have no idea that there are different stages while something is degenerating. May even be able to find a positive post about something by you if you look back long enough.

huh?????

stick to the topic... i am....:D

Do you actually know what degenerative means?

Sin City... and remember about degenerative knees....

"He’s a 300-game player, which is exceptional in any era and he’s just one of the all-time greats, not just at our footy club but of the AFL. As a footy club we’ve been very lucky to have not just Andrew, but three other 300-game players.”

McLeod has already been approached about a role with the AFL’s indigenous foundation and will soon assume the job as coach of son Connor’s touch footy team.

The five-time All-Australian walks away from the game having achieved almost everything there is to achieve and, even though he faces the prospect of needing a knee replacement, said he would do it all again.

“Hopefully, I don’t need a knee replacement. They reckon the replacements they can give you aren’t that bad these days, but I’ve been able to deal with it for a long time now, so if I have to put up with a bit of arthritis it’s no big deal,” he said.

"

Exhibit A McLeod.

34 years old...
played till he couldnt play anymore...

Exhibit B Lance Whitnall........
27 and played 3 or 4 years too long for us...

Still playing i hear????

FMD you struggle don't you. Do you anything about how severe either players injury was or the duration of it?

By the way, everything you've said about Watson has been thrown back in your face, as usual. Quit talking about things you know nothing about.

I'd take 20m times with a grain of salt. Over such a short distance, reaction time could impact the time quite a bit

Reaction speed impacting on their times over 20m would be a large factor in why it is tested in the first place (I assume).

It simulates leads, and I'm sure it is a result which gets closely considered.