Draft Picks - finalised

Audemars Piguet

Picks 2,18,20,36,42,47,68

If we use Grub29's top 75 as an indication of player rankings we could presume the following players to be available.

pick 2
Gibbs(unlikely), Hansen, Gumbleton, Thorpe, Sellar, Lburger, Selwood

pick 18 &
pick 20
Reid, Hislop, Armatige, Schmidt, Urquhart, Grigg, Moss, Benjamin, MacKenzie, Hurley, Allen, Brown's

pick 36&
pick 42&
Pick 47
Tippet, Harbrow, Djerriuka, Boak, Dzufer, Eddy, Weeks, Collier, Adams, Sheringham

pick 68
Vasilevski, Bird, Anderson, Dawes, Davey

Now, who would you take? I reckon we are going to do very well here.

Ok these are just my thoughts,

Pick 2, we will obviously pick up Gibbs if available, if not i think we might take Hansen because he can fill in the hole at CHB in years to come.

Pick 18, Armitage, thats if he slips to 18 (highly Unlikely)

Pick 20, Hislop, he's a Tassie boy & did very well in the U18 Carnival

Pick 36, Djerrkura, Will add much needed pace around the ground

Pick 42, Tippet, looks a real find if we can secure him. He has a lot of potential (so ive heard) havn't actually seen him play.

Pick 47, Probably Boak because in my opinion he's the best next option

Pick 68, well... Davey, but that's only because i don't know the other dudes :p

Wouldn't have a clue about who we should pick up, but its looking good with 6 picks inside the top 50.

If 3 of those players turn out to be quality, hopefully with 1 superstar things will be looking alright.

I agree,
It's going to be an exciting draft for the Dons!
And i desperatly hope Carlton pass up on Gibbs!

Posted this in the drafts and trading thread but it kind of got overrun with tradeweek :P

Just been looking into the draft a bit more...

If.. for some reason, Carlton take Leunburger or Hansen with #1, we will no doubt take Gibbs.

That leaves pick 18/20 to help with our deficiancies down back.

Any chance that we could pick up both of the Brown brothers.

At 193 and 194cm, they're tall enough.
Nathan was the u/18 AA fullback, although from what i read could play any of the key positions.

His brother, Mitchell is more of a forward, and with Lloyd and Lucas aging it's always nice to have someone developing.

Now, i've never seen either play, and pretty much only came up with this idea for the novelty of picking up brothers.

I've tried searching the Drafts and Trade board but havn't been able to find out much about them.

The AFL Insider mock draft had them going at 17 and 19 respectively to Carlton.

Just curious as to whether anyone's seen them play and could give a bit of info, or if it's a possibility??

We all know Sheeds after all.

My feeling is NBrown will go higher than 18. I have him top ten. He is quick, strong fb/chb who hates getting beaten. MBrown is more of a strong forward, not quite the player of his brother but still Very promising. He would likely go in this area. If we got Gibbs and looking for a tall or two I would suggest Andrejs Everitt- tall, athletic back who is quick and pretty clean below knees.
Needs to build AFL body. If we draft Gumby/ Hansen we would hope for mids such as collard, grigg, proud etc.

DaSawx said:
I would laugh sooooooooo hard if we ended up with Gibbs and Thornton

Would also crap my pants if Armitage was available at 18, highly unlikely though

Stop it, you are getting me all excited......

foj1 said:
My feeling is NBrown will go higher than 18. I have him top ten. He is quick, strong fb/chb who hates getting beaten. MBrown is more of a strong forward, not quite the player of his brother but still Very promising. He would likely go in this area. If we got Gibbs and looking for a tall or two I would suggest Andrejs Everitt- tall, athletic back who is quick and pretty clean below knees.
Needs to build AFL body. If we draft Gumby/ Hansen we would hope for mids such as collard, grigg, proud etc.

Then again there was a similar line of thought on Austin Lucy last year. (Ok maybe not top 10, but late first round/early second).

Probably a chance to slip, but with Lee and Lucy do we really want another backman to try and develop?

I say yes.... If by some chance he's there... Get him.
Any idea how he's going for weight/strength?

EssendonPride said:
Posted this in the drafts and trading thread but it kind of got overrun with tradeweek :P

Just been looking into the draft a bit more...

If.. for some reason, Carlton take Leunburger or Hansen with #1, we will no doubt take Gibbs.

That leaves pick 18/20 to help with our deficiancies down back.

Any chance that we could pick up both of the Brown brothers.

At 193 and 194cm, they're tall enough.
Nathan was the u/18 AA fullback, although from what i read could play any of the key positions.

His brother, Mitchell is more of a forward, and with Lloyd and Lucas aging it's always nice to have someone developing.

Now, i've never seen either play, and pretty much only came up with this idea for the novelty of picking up brothers.

I've tried searching the Drafts and Trade board but havn't been able to find out much about them.

The AFL Insider mock draft had them going at 17 and 19 respectively to Carlton.

Just curious as to whether anyone's seen them play and could give a bit of info, or if it's a possibility??

We all know Sheeds after all.

Great kids and natural sportsman, who are already nearly elite in their preparation and commitment. They were gifted basketballers for most of theit teenage years (State Level) but gave it away for footy. Also rowed for a summer and despite being only 16 quickly became the two best rowers at the club.

Football wise they are both pretty versatile from full back to full forward, although like u said Nath is more of a backman, Mitch is more of a forward, both could also play ruck at the junior level, and have been known to have the odd run on the ball as a ruck-rover as well. They have strong hands, are good athletes and back their own ability.

Their upside will come from the fact they didn't play a heap of footy from 12-16 due to their basketballing, so I'm sure they have a lot of improvement in them in reading the play ect. Although Physically they have been regulars at the gym for a number of years now, and are already big, fit boys. So they may not gain the phsyical improvement your average draftee does after a big pre-season.

Personally i wouldn't want to take both, not with picks 18 and 20 anyway. Nath is probably the better of the two and could be a good choice at 18/20 but if we really wanted Mitch we could probably get him at 36 or 42 ( i think they are the right picks)