Rumour Draft Rumours 2025

Carlton aren’t going to just bend over, for picks 9 & 11, because it’s a poor draft.

We have enough picks/points to get Dean, Ison and another player, which is our objective.

If you want picks 9 & 11 as usual you’d have to pay overs.

Suggest the Eagles wont need to pay overs for 9 or 11.

Others without top 5 picks sure. But clubs that can bid on Dean early hold leverage.

God you're obsessed with Adelaide. The Ah Chee loss for no return has really broken you huh.
Mate there were two proposed trades being discussed. Adelaide trading up with Carlton or Carlton trading up with Essendon.

I didn't mention anything else, so I'd suggest that's your paranoia kicking in and your reading waaaay to much in to what I posted. If I was obsessed with Ah Chee, I'd still be over sh!t talking in that thread.

I suspect who ever bids on Addinsal gets to keep him.

You think they wont match? I know if uwland and Patterson get bid on by wce and rich or mel it will stretch their points but I figure they will want to keep addinsall and go into small deficit-i figured coulson would be who they pass on. I do rate addinsall and I think he would suit Geelong he would be the academy player i bid on (i can understand the Williams theory as wce are obviously pushed for list spots and want Canfield but I rate addinsall far above williams).

I don't believe they need more inside mids from this draft. And Archie Hill next year, looks a better prospect.

Have it

1. Duursma (WCE)
2. CDT (WCE)
3. X.Taylor (Rich)
4. Robey/Sharp (Rich)
5. Cumming (Ess)
6. Robey/Sharp (Ess)
7. Farrow (Melb)
8. Grlj/O.Taylor (Melb)
9. Schubert (If Adelaide)
10. Grlj/O.Taylor (Hawks/whoever)
11. Phillipou (if Adelaide)
12. J.Lindsay (GWS) - could trade out
13. L.Pickett (WCE) - Could consider Greeves
14. Greeves (WBD)
15. Dovaston (whoever trades there)
16. M.Marsh (Geel) failed on Curnow/Jezza replacement
17. (Freo)
18. H.Barker (Ess) Allows Ess to put Setters back on the list for an LTI

Is how i have it at the moment

Based on small speculation/rumour snippets released, team list/needs

It is pie in the sky stuff a bit though

Mate there were two proposed trades being discussed. Adelaide trading up with Carlton or Carlton trading up with Essendon.

I didn't mention anything else, so I'd suggest that's your paranoia kicking in and your reading waaaay to much in to what I posted. If I was obsessed with Ah Chee, I'd still be over sh!t talking in that thread.
Brisbane aren't involved. Why so obsessed with Adelaide?
We both know why.

As they should do? End up on top that is? If Crows want to get back to the top end and grab a slider at 9 they have to pay for it
absolutely.
It almost always costs you more to get back in.
The impending bids changes this a little bit.

Have it

1. Duursma (WCE)
2. CDT (WCE)
3. X.Taylor (Rich)
4. Robey/Sharp (Rich)
5. Cumming (Ess)
6. Robey/Sharp (Ess)
7. Farrow (Melb)
8. Grlj/O.Taylor (Melb)
14. Greeves (WBD)

We've been linked to Lindsay in a few players.
I'd be surprised if we pick him, he don't think he is Caruso 's type. No ITK info, just gut feel.

Have it

1. Duursma (WCE)
2. CDT (WCE)
3. X.Taylor (Rich)
4. Robey/Sharp (Rich)
5. Cumming (Ess)
6. Robey/Sharp (Ess)
7. Farrow (Melb)
8. Grlj/O.Taylor (Melb)
14. Greeves (WBD)

Agree on the top 8.
I cant see Carlton trading 9 and not to adelaide (depends on a Dean bid though).
Hawthorn i think could take greeves (although i wouldnt) and if i am the dogs I would take dovaston.
13 too early for pickett

Have it

1. Duursma (WCE)
2. CDT (WCE)
3. X.Taylor (Rich)
4. Robey/Sharp (Rich)
5. Cumming (Ess)
6. Robey/Sharp (Ess)
7. Farrow (Melb)
8. Grlj/O.Taylor (Melb)
14. Greeves (WBD)

Greeves is genuinely one of the last guys I’d be picking in the draft. Absolute passenger defensively

Have it

1. Duursma (WCE)
2. CDT (WCE)
3. X.Taylor (Rich)
4. Robey/Sharp (Rich)
5. Cumming (Ess)
6. Robey/Sharp (Ess)
7. Farrow (Melb)
8. Grlj/O.Taylor (Melb)
14. Greeves (WBD)

He doesn't like us....

Agree on the top 8.
I cant see Carlton trading 9 and not to adelaide (depends on a Dean bid though).
Hawthorn i think could take greeves (although i wouldnt) and if i am the dogs I would take dovaston.
13 too early for pickett
Dogs need to start investing in mids, i did consider Pickett there but Weightman and West are decent

the concerns are the age of Bont, Libba, treloar and then sanders maybe on the move for me, thats why i went midfield. Not heaps there though

13 in reality is atleast 17, i dont think thats too early, i think clubs are looking to get up for him, he wont last much longer, so if you want him, youll need to grab him there. Wont surprise if crows at 11 if they get it

this is where they may be plenty of trades. Top teams will love to get pickett could easily kick 6 goals in a final series next year
absolutely.
It almost always costs you more to get back in.
The impending bids changes this a little bit.

We've been linked to Lindsay in a few players.
I'd be surprised if we pick him, he don't think he is Caruso 's type. No ITK info, just gut feel.
I dont like Lindsay really, wont surprise me if he drops put of live 20 imo, i wanted a mid, but Greeves too much like the slowish Oliver/Green clan, probably want a quality smaller type. So i went HBF to look after guys like Whitfield, Jelly at the end of there reign. Also country boy helps a smidge
Greeves is genuinely one of the last guys I’d be picking in the draft. Absolute passenger defensively
Im not a huge fan either, not many genuine mids there for eagles or dogs though. I suspect Pou doesnt get past dogs

But some clubs will think they can tidy that up, one of the easier skills to improve as its fair bit of mindset compared to kicking and speed (which he aint have)

But hes a better kick, a better fwd and bigger than sharp, i think we can all agree on that

Im not a huge fan either, not many genuine mids there for eagles or dogs though. I suspect Pou doesnt get past dogs

But some clubs will think they can tidy that up, one of the easier skills to improve as its fair bit of mindset compared to kicking and speed (which he aint have)

But hes a better kick, a better fwd and bigger than sharp, i think we can all agree on that
I think we’re more likely to (as we always do) go for a HBF with mid potential, especially given McCarthy has shown how much impact we’ll get out of a genuine HBF as opposed to the Ginbey, Hough types who aren’t as silky. Farrow is my least favourite of the lot but the highest rated, would personally love Oskar Taylor. I think there’s still an appetite for 13 to be moved up the board, but I hate the thought we package assets to guarantee Farrow of all players.

Will be plenty trying to move around

But Farrow and O.Taylor are gone, they arent an option here

Eagles have no good small fwds do they?

And imo still think there could be a lure of Kozzie to WA at some point even though hes contracted. Very very small part though to any decision if any at all

Will be plenty trying to move around

But Farrow and O.Taylor are gone, they arent an option here

Eagles have no good small fwds do they?

And imo still think there could be a lure of Kozzie to WA at some point even though hes contracted. Very very small part though to any decision if any at all
I think the people pretending like Eagles, Melbourne or Freo drafting Latrelle would have anything to do with Kozzy is a bit wild. Clubs aren’t that short-sighted, emotional, whatever you want to call it they aren’t that. If any of the 3 take LSP it’ll be because they think he’s the best player available at said pick.

That being said if you’re talking specifically about your mock scenario, there’s no way the eagles would let Dovaston go past them. He’s by FAR the best small forward in the class, and I personally have him being the first player off the board that’s outside of the top bracket / not named Duursma, Duff-Tytler, Robey, XT, Sharp, Grlj or Cumming.

Have it

1. Duursma (WCE)
2. CDT (WCE)
3. X.Taylor (Rich)
4. Robey/Sharp (Rich)
5. Cumming (Ess)
6. Robey/Sharp (Ess)
7. Farrow (Melb)
8. Grlj/O.Taylor (Melb)
14. Greeves (WBD)
16. M.Marsh (Geel) failed on Curnow/Jezza replacement
17. (Freo)
18. H.Barker (Ess) Allows Ess to put Setters back on the list for an LTI

Greeves is quite literally the last player the Dogs would want from this list. No pace, no defensive game

I think the people pretending like Eagles, Melbourne or Freo drafting Latrelle would have anything to do with Kozzy is a bit wild. Clubs aren’t that short-sighted, emotional, whatever you want to call it they aren’t that. If any of the 3 take LSP it’ll be because they think he’s the best player available at said pick.

That being said if you’re talking specifically about your mock scenario, there’s no way the eagles would let Dovaston go past them. He’s by FAR the best small forward in the class, and I personally have him being the first player off the board that’s outside of the top bracket / not named Duursma, Duff-Tytler, Robey, XT, Sharp, Grlj or Cumming.

As i said very small basically none, well clubs would say 1% but he also has family in SA, WA then kozzie in Melb. Eagles as much need a small fwd, i agree it would be between Pickett and Dovaston, theyre almost interchangeable here

I think eagles are trying to fast track as quick as possible and the more ready made Pickett would be of interest especially after L.Ryan departing

They have some serious enticing to be done end of 2027/28 with Warner and Harley

They were my thoughts in leaning pickett
over Dovaston though
Greeves is quite literally the last player the Dogs would want from this list. No pace, no defensive game
He is certainly becoming the BF whipping boy

Who else available would you be wanting to take. Just take either Pickett or Dovaston in this case?

Midfields becoming a concern. Could be Treloar, Sanders and Libbas last year at the club. Already pretty thin

Riley Garcia would want to come from no where

As i said very small basically none, well clubs would say 1% but he also has family in SA, WA then kozzie in Melb. Eagles as much need a small fwd, i agree it would be between Pickett and Dovaston, theyre almost interchangeable here

I think eagles are trying to fast track as quick as possible and the more ready made Pickett would be of interest especially after L.Ryan departing

They have some serious enticing to be done end of 2027/28 with Warner and Harley

over Dovaston though

Who else available would you be wanting to take. Just take either Pickett or Dovaston in this case?

Midfields becoming a concern. Could be Treloar, Sanders and Libbas last year at the club. Already pretty thin

Riley Garcia would want to come from no where
There is no way on earth we pick Pickett over Dovaston if available. Dovaston is the best small forward in the draft by the length of the Flemington straight.

Kicks goals, fast, tank, high footy IQ, can play deep or high HF, runs through the midfield, has mongrel. Would be easily the best pick at 13 if available.

over Dovaston though
Each to their own mate but I don’t think they’re interchangeable at all. Can’t say I’m entirely across why S-Pickett hasn’t had attention until this year, but I’ve got Dovaston significantly higher ranked than Latrelle and I’d think I’m high on him.
I think it’s more that upon further looking at his film, and now being over the hype and calmed down, his flaws in his game as a modern mid have just become clearer and clearer. If this was 10 years ago he’d be going top 5.

Each to their own mate but I don’t think they’re interchangeable at all. Can’t say I’m entirely across why S-Pickett hasn’t had attention until this year, but I’ve got Dovaston significantly higher ranked than Latrelle and I’d think I’m high on him.

I think it’s more that upon further looking at his film, and now being over the hype and calmed down, his flaws in his game as a modern mid have just become clearer and clearer. If this was 10 years ago he’d be going top 5.
Interchangeable in the fact that Dovaston as a small fwd replaces Pickett small fwd at your pick and Pickett go 15

Picketts footy iq, speed, goal sense, size, some think he can go through the midfield later on is about as good as it gets aswell

I do agree Dovaston reads great on paper

Interchangeable in the fact that Dovaston as a small fwd replaces Pickett small fwd at your pick and Pickett go 15

Picketts footy iq, speed, goal sense, size, some think he can go through the midfield later on is about as good as it gets aswell

I do agree Dovaston reads great on paper
Ah gotcha. Thought you meant interchangeable in terms of talent or in a power ranking. Think Dovaston is pretty well almost clear in every way

Brisbane aren't involved. Why so obsessed with Adelaide?
We both know why.
It's a discussion forum. I like talking footy. I've called lots of other trade proposals stupid before, couldn't care less about the teams involved. Don't get triggered by the team I support. Jog on.

Like the picks you have for Dees and finally some proper idea of what our list needs. I will throw up if I hear “DeEz NeEd a KeY forward” one more time. We got 6 on our list, any key forward we take won’t even get a run in the VFL due to the pecking order behind Mihocek, Petty, Van Rooyen, Jefferson, Kentfield and Johnson.

Farrow is perfect as if enabled Rivers to go into the midfield and once Viney / Steele retire he can then move in after a few years. Grlj also good pick as I like the speed he brings and will mix it up in our midfield. Other pick I would be happy with is Doverstan. Losing Spargo and Pickett in midfield now our small forward stocks are thin.