Least we know why the egirls picked Barrass - not every day you can select a 'pretty do'

If you are seeing this notice, posts and uploads you make now may be lost when we cut over to the upgraded system. This should only last a few hours.
Post feedback, issues, errors and omissions here. Read the OP first, please.
Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
Pretty much. Someone suggested they took him because Sydney were rumoured to be into him, imagine the luxury of being able to use a top 20 pick for nothing other than spite!
Fremantle branded the 'loser' of the draft, according to this article:
http://www.sportsfan.com.au/afl-draft-winners-and-losers/tabid/91/newsid/116686/default.aspx
Sportsfan is a shitter version of The Roar (which is really saying something.)
But it's telling how the people who are actually paid to scout and recruit players are aware Apeness is playing as a forward, while the bigfooty specialists and internet heroes are labelling him a ruckman.
I get that feeling too. You know you've been given waaaay too many concessions when you can afford to use top 20 picks like pawns in a game of chess.
Look back a few years and we had Forster and Neale. Two young blokes from the middle of nowhere come to us. This year two good friends from Tasmania in Grey and Pearce. Tassie to Perth is a long way (Freo would know!) and it's good to see player welfare play a role in recruiting players. On the proviso they are both good enough, if having at least one guy you know helps a young fella settle in to a new club I think it's a great move. Welcome aboard Apeness, Pearce and Grey.
Pretty much. Someone suggested they took him because Sydney were rumoured to be into him, imagine the luxury of being able to use a top 20 pick for nothing other than spite!
Happy with our draft even if the players turn out to be duds.
We have a massive hole in our list that needed attention ASAP.
They finally risked blowing our first 2 picks on talls.
Apeness sounds like the type that can play key forward and ruck.
Pearce sounds like a tallish utility type player, that would play as a 3rd tall down back or up forward.
Our midfield is strong enough that we can afford to take a gamble and risk the picks on talls.
I didn't think our recruiters had the balls to gamble with our picks and would take the safe mid/flanker type.
Happy to be proven wrong.
Hope they turn out to be very good players.
Agree in part. Reality is it is unlikely that any players were have drafted in the last 3 years (barring injuries) will be part of our premiership challenge this and next year. They are future prospects.
Also reckon that Pearce at 198cm and 90kg will be groomed to be a future key forward or backman (not a third tall).
Sutcliffe and Sheridan played in a Grand Final. Whilst they would have been omitted for a fit Clancee and Ibbo, they still played quite a few games with those guys in the side. Neale also played in the GF. Those guys will be pushing for best 22 regardless of injuries from here on in. I'd like to think Crozier isn't too far off either. I reckon Simpson just needs one more year.
They would have been emergencies though. It's pretty unlikely a team ever has its best 22 on the park. Reality is you need a strong 25/26 players vying for a spot in the 22 to be a contender. They all fit that bill. Does anyone honestly think that they're not going to play 10-12+ games next year? It's possible they'll play finals and (fingers crossed) the GF again. To say they're unlikely to feature in a premiership tilt is probably a bit of an exaggeration. They're valuable contributing members of the squad, who will play their fair share of games next year. Sutcliffe especially so, with his big tank, and the limitations on interchanges beginning.You hit the nail on the head. Ibbo and Pearce in would have probably pushed them both out. Neale maybe the only exception. A healthy and injury free team with the addition of Gumby and Sylvia will make it near on impossible to break into the side.
They would have been emergencies though. It's pretty unlikely a team ever has its best 22 on the park. Reality is you need a strong 25/26 players vying for a spot in the 22 to be a contender. They all fit that bill. Does anyone honestly think that they're not going to play 10-12+ games next year? It's possible they'll play finals and (fingers crossed) the GF again. To say they're unlikely to feature in a premiership tilt is probably a bit of an exaggeration. They're valuable contributing members of the squad, who will play their fair share of games next year. Sutcliffe especially so, with his big tank, and the limitations on interchanges beginning.
They might get a game, just not with Freo.Howson and Schloithe will definitely struggle to get a game next year
OK, lets test your theory. My view of our best 22 next year is below. I've listed the fringe players that will be pushing to get into the side in 2014 (in order of how I rank them based on 2013 form):
B: Johnson, McPharlin, Ibbotson, Dawson, Duffield, Spur. Fringe - Mzungu, C.Pearce, Silvagni, Smith
M: Mundy, Barlow, Fyfe, Crowley, Hill, D Pearce. Fringe - Neale, Morabito, Sutcliffe, Sheridan
R: Sandilands, Clarke/Griffin. Fringe - Clarke/Griffin, Hannath, Moller
F: Pav, Gumby, Mayne, Ballas, Walters, Sylvia. Fringe - Suban, De Boer, Bradley, Crozier, Taberner, Mengeola
Other players - Apeness, Simpson, A.Pearce, Howson, Grey, Schloithe and Duffy.
That is massive depth. I'd be surprised to see many of the fringe players (barring major injury runs) getting more than a couple of game next years aside from the bench (Mzungu, Suban, Neale and DeBoer/C.Pearce). I don't see any of our newer drafted players getting a game next year barring major injury or a game against a very weak side.
Howson and Schloithe will definitely struggle to get a game next year
Not to be a smart arse, but you've just listed the best 22 and fringe players as part of an argument why Neale, Sutcliffe and Sheridan are unlikely to play more than a couple of games next year. Is the idea that they won't crack the 22 your own, or did you get that from footywire too?Funny, I grabbed that off Footywire. It has the new draftees listed and has taken off players like Chricton. Strangely left Howson and Schloithe on the list. Bizarre.
Not to be a smart arse, but you've just listed the best 22 and fringe players as part of an argument why Neale, Sutcliffe and Sheridan are unlikely to play more than a couple of games next year. Is the idea that they won't crack the 22 your own, or did you get that from footywire too?
Just not a best 22 and fringe players?Not to overreact, but you did come across as a smart arse.
Re your question, fortunately I've been around these parts a little longer than 1 month so am able to form my own opinions.![]()
Just not a best 22 and fringe players?
I'm not getting into a back and forth. I didn't disrespect you until you brought up the fact I've been on BF for a month. What that has to do with anything, I don't know. I didn't just start watching footy or supporting Freo last month, so you don't really have much of a point, mate. You're the one copying and pasting stuff from other forums to use as a basis for your own arguments. You should expect a bit of flak for that. I won't be responding to any more posts on this subject.Pretty cocky for a rookie aren't you? Nice that you have an opinion. Not nice that you disrespect the opinions of others.
I'm not getting into a back and forth. I didn't disrespect you until you brought up the fact I've been on BF for a month. What that has to do with anything, I don't know. I didn't just start watching footy or supporting Freo last month, so you don't really have much of a point, mate. You're the one copying and pasting stuff from other forums to use as a basis for your own arguments. You should expect a bit of flak for that. I won't be responding to any more posts on this subject.