List Mgmt. Draft Watch 2015

There's a difference between doing that and bagging every person on the board who dares to suggest the club might have gone about getting Doedee a different way.

And as you can see that post was not directed at you.

I think if it was a simple as "Doedee or bust" for our second selection, we would have traded down (as we did with Lever).

We probably had four or five players in the mix for that selection and Doedee was the highest ranked one still available at our pick.

I think if it was a simple as "Doedee or bust" for our second selection, we would have traded down (as we did with Lever).

We probably had four or five players in the mix for that selection and Doedee was the highest ranked one still available at our pick.

We bid on Himmelberg, that's a fact that we rated him higher than Doedee and thought we were a chance to get him with that pick. If we downgraded we would have had even less chance of getting him. I'm glad though, I've had my fill of forwards who can't kick a set shot playing for the crows.

why did we rate him so low then?
talent?

Maybe we thought Doedee offered more - that he will be more mobile while still being good above his head. Maybe we felt Burton didn't have a position - too small to be a KPF and never likely to be mobile enough to be a mid.

I have no idea. But we'd all just be speculating.

Medical report on his knee...

Where has that been reported? What evidence is there that the medical report was the main thing that impacted our decision?

Noble actually said the opposite on draft day, didn't he?

I think more they went all in trying to Get Milera and McKay or maybe Curnow, or possibly hoping Franics would slide and then they could get Milera or McKay or Curnow, but they ended up with having to take the best of the rest, and the best of the rest is pretty much in a mix from 15-35 with little difference, thus vindicating those who said this was a shallow draft.

So the issue is not so much that he is a dud 17 pick but that perhaps this year's draft pick 17 is not what would be good enough to go pick 17 in more recent years.

Maybe we thought Doedee offered more - that he will be more mobile while still being good above his head. Maybe we felt Burton didn't have a position - too small to be a KPF and never likely to be mobile enough to be a mid.

Speculating yes, but also speculating with some basis re the horrific injury.

Love the first caller: " reckon Collingwood could have got another Dayne Beams in [crocker] at 63. Reckon he's slipped through. I don't know much about him..."

Where has that been reported? What evidence is there that the medical report was the main thing that impacted our decision?

Didn't he say that they finalised their list on Friday, after receiving a medical report. Of course, that assumes the medical report was for Burton and that the report pushed him down the order of merit.

And you should know better than to believe anything a recruitment agent says on draft day!

Oh FFS no I don't and nowhere have I said as much. But yeah, go ahead, make up sh*t if that's what you need to do.
Mate hang-on - you were comparing Doedee to other draftees TO someone who failed Yr 12 and someone who became a surgeon, wheren't ya:

Meaningless to an extent.... Personally I'd prefer my surgeon to not be someone who failed Year 12!

Yeah, ok I think you're getting a bit silly in your attempts to somehow take down a pretty off-hand analogy. It helps when you infer things that I didn't infer at all.

The point is if you fail Year 12 you don't get to even get into medicine at uni, let alone become a surgeon. But if by some chance you did it would be through studying at the Hollywood Upstairs Medical School like Dr Nick Riveira rather than by the person being some great bolter from nowhere who was useless at school but suddenly brilliant when studying medicine.

Look, I agree with you that we seem to have wasted some draft currency ... and as I appear to have totally missed your point - happy to leave the analogy stuff as an:

50492046.jpg

Mate hang-on - you were comparing Doedee to other draftees TO someone who failed Yr 12 and someone who became a surgeon, wheren't ya:

Look, I agree with you that we seem to have wasted some draft currency ... and as I appear to have totally missed your point - happy to leave the analogy stuff as an:

50492046.jpg
sigh, I was not comparing Doedee to someone who had failed year 12. I was talking purely about year 12 results not being completely irrelevant, just as the draft is not irrelevant in gauging the worth of a player. The conversation thread was a general one about the importance of the draft and development.

But you clearly need to believe my comment was a go at Doedee, so please yourself.

sigh, I was not comparing Doedee to someone who had failed year 12. I was talking purely about year 12 results not being completely irrelevant, just as the draft is not irrelevant in gauging the worth of a player. The conversation thread was a general one about the importance of the draft and development.

But you clearly need to believe my comment was a go at Doedee, so please yourself.
Nope - I am happy to say I misread you. Like I said in my last post.

I have seen plenty of your posts since the early explosion regarding the pick, that have been clear that you are not knocking the player.

On MMM before the draft without naming players said their preference list was set last Friday after they received some medical information. Given that Burton was doing medical tests at the same time and that we didn't take him, it's safe to assume the medical tests moved burton down the list from where we had him placed previously.

Nope - I am happy to say I misread you. Like I said in my last post.

I have seen plenty of your posts since the early explosion regarding the pick, that have been clear that you are not knocking the player.
My explosion is re our strategy. I still think we stuffed it. Or more we gambled on getting one of McKay, Curnow, Himmelwhatsiname and in the end didn't. I think we gambled and won last year with Lever, this year we didn't probably get what we really wanted - though of course you'll never here the club say it (nor should they).

Will be interesting to see how many of the 15-35 picks become 100 game players. And whether it is less then other years, and thus vindicating people saying it was a thin draft.

similar height and player to gunston.
cant see it being anything other than his leg issue.

I have calmed down from my meltdown from last night and now have rational thoughts.

We could have gone a safe pick and on paper it would have looked like we nailed it however, we must feel that Doedee has a massive upside. He may play in the midfield in the future and he even moves a bit like Pendlebury.

Here is a review I found of the 2005 draft when Collingwood surprised a few. I think we may have pulled a Pendlebury. So too early to judge our players.

Surprised most in going with Dale Thomas and Scott Pendlebury with their first two picks. Both players from Gippsland are a little more left of field than the normal choices so high, but they both have tremendous upside and could prove to be a real surprise packet in a few years time. For the while though, they will face criticism as they try to live up to their more thoroughbred draft class. Thought the team could have used help with their spine considering the early picks.

I really wish I could find the thread from the 2006 draft on Big Footy where posters discussed their winners and losers and everyone said Essendon smashed it when they picked up the heavily fancied players in Gumbleton, Jetta, Hislop, Davey, Houli and Reimers. Hindsight shows that they were losers and in a massive way. Most of the time people making calls this early only really end up looking stupid.

I remember us being the winners of the draft when we grabbed Davis, McKernan, Sloane, Lee and Young.

Sloane was the only one of our picks that people were unsure about!