List Mgmt. Draft Watch 2015

Terry Wallace talking down the talent in this draft. Saying list managers and recruiters out scouring the NEAFL etc for mature age talent.
That's enough for me to want to load up on this draft. That bloke is as daft as they come

As much as Wallace in a variety of forms is a massive flog he's not terrible with regards to his list management and draft knowledge. Unlike most of the 'journos' out there, he knows football having been involved as a player and coach and also understands how the industry works and would have a pretty strong group of connections to feed him info. As far as blokes analysing the draft go, Wallace is pretty good. As far as the draft goes Brett Anderson from SEN is far and away the best. Been in the industry, has a good network of people to listen to and can identify the talent himself too. EQ is excellent with her network and research hence her phantoms and investigative stories about the draftees are great but her talent ID is okay. Wallace knows enough and Michael Ablett from the AFL also knows his shit, Shifter's okay too. Herald Sun/Landsberger aren't worth listening to at all though.

I disagree with some of his opinions but I won't dismiss them because he does know his shit and does put the effort in to expand his knowledge. NEAFL is definitely a place where some diamonds may lay in the rough as in general, the perception is that being a substandard league, it's not worth looking at. Certainly think there might be a ruckman or a key defender there that hasn't statistically dominated but has some game about him. How many 'failed' mature aged picks have we had out of the NEAFL? Vandenberg and Rampe look the goods - can't remember a bust either.

As much as Wallace in a variety of forms is a massive flog he's not terrible with regards to his list management and draft knowledge. Unlike most of the 'journos' out there, he knows football having been involved as a player and coach and also understands how the industry works and would have a pretty strong group of connections to feed him info. As far as blokes analysing the draft go, Wallace is pretty good. As far as the draft goes Brett Anderson from SEN is far and away the best. Been in the industry, has a good network of people to listen to and can identify the talent himself too. EQ is excellent with her network and research hence her phantoms and investigate stories about the draftees are great but her talent ID is okay. Wallace knows enough and Michael Ablett from the AFL also knows his shit, Shifter's okay too. Herald Sun/Landsberger aren't worth listening to at all though.

I disagree with some of his opinions but I won't dismiss them because he does know his shit and does put the effort in to expand his knowledge. NEAFL is definitely a place where some diamonds may lay in the rough as in general, the perception is that being a substandard league, it's not worth looking at. Certainly think there might be a ruckman or a key defender there that hasn't statistically dominated but has some game about him. How many 'failed' mature aged picks have we had out of the NEAFL? Vandenberg and Rampe look the goods - can't remember a bust either.
Respect your opinion mate. I'll freely admit I know very little about it

Watching the U18 game WA v VIC metro :confused:......so open, players always kicking to free targets & makes it hard to assess talent for the majority of players.

Would prefer to see more one on one contests as it's players that can win their own ball that have the best opportunity at AFL level.

That said the "stars" always shine through

Anyone watching Norwood v Sturt? Young Norwood speedy forward kicking 3 on debut. I've only seen the last qtr but quick with decent skills. Skippos have you heard of Ferriera?

They spoke with him at the end, 18 from Darwin boarding at Rostrevor.

Anyone watching Norwood v Sturt? Young Norwood speedy forward kicking 3 on debut. I've only seen the last qtr but quick with decent skills. Skippos have you heard of Ferriera?

They spoke with him at the end, 18 from Darwin boarding at Rostrevor.

Yep, was tipped off to the name earlier this year by an NT contact. He's from up there but I believe boarded at Rostrevor? Not certain on that front.

Late year birth from last year's crop who just slipped through the system. Essentially the age of a first year afl player. If he keeps this up given his skills and speed he'd be very likely to be selected. If he even performs to 75% of that he'll be looked at. Especially in this crop he's worth a look. He'll certainly be entering my draft board.

That's enough for me to want to load up on this draft. That bloke is as daft as they come

As much of a hack as Terry Wallace can seem at times, Im hearing the same thing from a lot of different areas.

Dont be surprised to see us going into this draft with very few picks. Reckon we will be big at the FA and trade table this year hopefully.

As much of a hack as Terry Wallace can seem at times, Im hearing the same thing from a lot of different areas.

Dont be surprised to see us going into this draft with very few picks. Reckon we will be big at the FA and trade table this year hopefully.
That'd be my preference also. We're in a position where kids aren't necessarily going to be able to greatly assist our 2017 flag push. Need first 22 players

don't reckon there is much for us in free agency this year but think we will be heavy trade players with our early picks to be used on a list of players aish, sharenberg, carlisle, yarran etc

For those in the know .....is Ryan Burton the son of Westies/north Craig Burton?

Craig was extra slim .....Ryan they're saying is 90kgs at 18yo ....not computing ?

Sorry, poor from me. I've seen too many of their Indigenous scholarship players go through not to know how appallingly dodgy Rostrevor are.

More of a comment on their program than on the young fella.
As an ex Pulteney boy .... i can vouch for that

Sorry, poor from me. I've seen too many of their Indigenous scholarship players go through not to know how appallingly dodgy Rostrevor are.

More of a comment on their program than on the young fella.

Yup, also noticed that back in the day when I played against Rostrevor and there were murmurs back then too. Very questionable.

For those in the know .....is Ryan Burton the son of Westies/north Craig Burton?

Craig was extra slim .....Ryan they're saying is 90kgs at 18yo ....not computing

Unfortunately, their program is less about helping Indigenous students than it is about gaining government money and boosting their football team.

The net outcome for the Indigenous students they bring in is pretty ordinary and of little concern to the school.

Craig was extra slim .....Ryan they're saying is 90kgs at 18yo ....not computing
It is Craig's son

Yeah Ryan's a jet. The best pure forward we've produced since Schulz. Only issue is a serious compound fracture in his leg that's kept him out for a year.

A little undersized but just a smart forward with clean hands, a great shot and some mongrel. He's a jet.
Cannot possibly be the son of Craig ......unless Mum is a construction worker?