List Mgmt. Draft Watch 2015

Don't know .....has anyone seen Burton play? .....it amazes me that after a severe broken leg and not playing for 18 months, that he's considered still for the first round ???
Exactly, as a club you'd want to see some match play simulation that tells you he's going to be ok . Big risk otherwise

Harley Balic seems to be sliding abit,outside mid so might be worth a crack,I also like the sound of milera,wouldn't be to fussed if we used pick 13 on him...
Balic is an interesting player , he's a half fwd that swings into midfield but reckon he can end up a full time mid with stints fwd. He's a bigger mid, but not v quick ....seems to have a lot of time with the ball and is from basketball background so some similarities to Pendlebury

As a vic metro player he probably has ambitions to play in melb which is a concern

Depends on what we plan to do with Charlie. If we (hopefully) push him onto the wing there's room for another one.
Reckon AhChee has more scope to be a mid than charlie but always good if they both have the ability to push into midfield to give us sped and versatility

Hopefully birdman gets charlie super fit

Balic is an interesting player , he's a half fwd that swings into midfield but reckon he can end up a full time mid with stints fwd. He's a bigger mid, but not v quick ....seems to have a lot of time with the ball and is from basketball background so some similarities to Pendlebury

As a vic metro player he probably has ambitions to play in melb which is a concern
IMO a bit vanilla .....doesn't happen to have weapons ...won't surprise if he slides come draft day

A bit like Kerridge

Reckon AhChee has more scope to be a mid than charlie but always good if they both have the ability to push into midfield to give us sped and versatility

Hopefully birdman gets charlie super fit
It's probably stating the obvious but we need to nail this draft if we end up with 2 picks in the first round. So based on that I'd target midfielders rather than talls like McKay .

Don't know .....has anyone seen Burton play? .....it amazes me that after a severe broken leg and not playing for 18 months, that he's considered still for the first round ???
Like Lever, was seen as top 3 talent before the break. 5 goals in an U18 game against WA as a bottom ager and playing for North at 17. A couple of brief videos on youtube, has the look of a star.

Could be an amazing pick up but yeah, 18 months is a long time.

Like Lever, was seen as top 3 talent before the break. 5 goals in an U18 game against WA as a bottom ager and playing for North at 17. A couple of brief videos on youtube, has the look of a star.

Could be an amazing pick up but yeah, 18 months is a long time.
Has he played any footy this year?

If we get 2 first round picks one should be used for Darcy Tucker, he is what we need, high character young man, aggressive, top end speed, line breaker, elite left foot and dual sided, already quite well developed body wise, will play from year 1, originally a Horsham lad that's been living away from home for 3 years to further his AFL dream so no homesickness or flight risk, immediately takes Brodie Smith's place off half back, and straight away takes over from Brodie with the kicking in duties as he's already been doing it for the Ballarat Rebels with great success the last 2 years, and thus allowing Brodie to finally play midfield where we need him. Eventually Darcy will play midfield if required, absolutely no doubt.

Bicks we never recruit pure outsiders with our first pick .....they're too high a risk at AFL level

The recruiting teams (Stewart & Ogilvie) first rule is they have to have a real competitive edge to their game and win their own ball

I've watched Tucker .....he's good, but i highly doubt he'll be our first round pick ....just an opinion like many others

It's probably stating the obvious but we need to nail this draft if we end up with 2 picks in the first round. So based on that I'd target midfielders rather than talls like McKay .
Not many pure mids around our picks( presuming we will have 9 and 13)
Even Milera is a half fwd/wing utility

I'd still go mckay at 9 if he was still there because I think he has the most scope to become someone special and one of milera/AhChee/ tucker at 13

Not many pure mids around our picks( presuming we will have 9 and 13)
Even Milera is a half fwd/wing utility

I'd still go mckay at 9 if he was still there because I think he has the most scope to become someone special and one of milera/AhChee/ tucker at 13

Really like McKay as a future KF .....Curnow at 9, McKay hopefully at 13

"Would be good to stay in Melbourne"

Pass

not sure about that, look at what he said before that, seems ok with moving, maybe that might be for the cameras but that's why we have player interviews. I'd say the majority of players would prefer to stay in their home state. Sloane didn't want to leave, I bet Douglas didn't either.

I'll tell you what Darcy Tucker has over both AhChee and Milera, a far better defensive side to his game from what I've seen of them, runs both ways, very composed in traffic and can really stick a tackle with elite closing speed, I don't know where AhChee and Milera are on the hardness/aggression scale but Darcy is a 9+.

I might add playing in a team with Jacob Hopper in it with his see ball, get ball attitude there's not a lot of room for other players to get a lot of "inside" ball....also with the Ballarat Rebels coach David Loader it seems to me to be more about winning than anything else IMO whereas some other TAC coaches seem more focussed on showcasing the wares of their players across a wide range of roles with a view to them getting drafted down the track...Geelong Falcons being an example of that.

Gary Buckenara has released his top 10 in his opinion for this years National Draft according to posters on the Draft Board, that'll do me :), rates my boy Darcy Tucker big time..:thumbsu:
Certainly ticks the Hawks skillset box.

Interesting he has Keiran Collins way higher than most, his thinking being quality talls are harder to find and at a premium for that reason, has Weideman way higher too.

Gary Buckenara who has been one of the main recruiters at Hawthorn from 2004-2015 has this as his top 10

1. Jacob Weitering
2. Josh Schache
3. Kieran Collins
4. Aaron Francis
5. Darcy Parrish
6. Jacob Hopper
7. Darcy Tucker
8. Sam Weideman
9. Charlie Curnow
10. Rhys Mathieson

Gary Buckenara has released his top 10 in his opinion for this years National Draft according to posters on the Draft Board, that'll do me :), rates my boy Darcy Tucker big time..:thumbsu:

Interesting he has Keiran Collins way higher than most, his thinking being quality talls are harder and at a premium for that reason, has Weideman way higher too.

Gary Buckenara who has been one of the main recruiters at Hawthorn from 2004-2015 has this as his top 10

1. Jacob Weitering
2. Josh Schache
3. Kieran Collins
4. Aaron Francis
5. Darcy Parrish
6. Jacob Hopper
7. Darcy Tucker
8. Sam Weideman
9. Charlie Curnow
10. Rhys Mathieson
Jeez mate, your man crush is getting a bit out of hand.

No Callum Mills in that list of Bucky's.

Reckon mills would be fighting weitering for 1st pick if not injured all year , will be very bit as good as heeney and will win more ball

Buckenara probably doesn't rate him as high as others because he has "questionable" disposal...that's a big red flag at the Hawks
Don't forget the last star Hawthorn drafted was Cyril in 2007. That's a very long time ago.

They've won these flags on the back of a bunch of early picks they had when they were woeful, some brilliant trading and free agency.

Interesting he has Keiran Collins way higher than most, his thinking being quality talls are harder to find and at a premium for that reason, has Weideman way higher too.

1. Jacob Weitering
2. Josh Schache
3. Kieran Collins
4. Aaron Francis
5. Darcy Parrish
6. Jacob Hopper
7. Darcy Tucker
8. Sam Weideman
9. Charlie Curnow
10. Rhys Mathieson
Interesting that you and Skippos appear to be the only ones I've heard who don't rate Weiderman that higher. Everyone else I hear seem to have him 5-8.

Don't know how she's come up with draft order

It's exactly as it should be.

The asterisk's imply matched bids, which then removes the teams pick in their position (ie Sydney match, goes to Pick 3, but Pick 14 removed).

Same with GWS/Brisbane.

It's exactly as it should be.

The asterisk's imply matched bids, which then removes the teams pick in their position (ie Sydney match, goes to Pick 3, but Pick 14 removed).

Same with GWS/Brisbane.
What are they matching? How does Sydney get pick 3?

Don't forget the last star Hawthorn drafted was Cyril in 2007. That's a very long time ago.

They've won these flags on the back of a bunch of early picks they had when they were woeful, some brilliant trading and free agency.

Issac Smiths pretty good