Recruiting Draft Watch 2020

• Thread starter Thread starter eDPS

Which do you prefer, if you have to choose?

• Nik Cox

Votes: 53 77.9%
  • Zach Reid

Votes: 15 22.1%

Last edited by a moderator:
The best are not always talked about as number one.
Anyway you speak like McDonald has no upside.
I can not make a call as I have only seen the kid play via video on my computer. In my experience you need to see someone play live 5 or 6 times before you can be making a informed call.
I know a bloke who watches a lot of WA footy and he says he is the best junior forward since Buddy.
Yeah because the best sometimes have chinks in their armor at 18 whether it’s application, dedication, off field issues etc or sub par performances in their 18s year or sometimes they are too raw and recruiters are worried about them being a bust and #1 is usually a safer pick. Mcdonald doesn’t have any of that he’s a great kid with a wise head on his shoulders, he’s smart and you can see that with the way he plays his footy and he’s had an outstanding draft year you shouldn’t be worried about him being a bust either. So taking all that in to consideration he should be a clear no.1 pick and he’s not atm which is strange because he doesn’t have any red flags. And furthermore half the pool hasn’t played this season yet he made team of the year in the wafl. Best junior forward since buddy out of WA yeah probably there hasn’t been too many.

Of Cal Twomey's top 25 from his November phantom form guide, 8 are already associated to clubs. That is astronomical and a pretty worthwhile reason to move up &/or out of the middle parts of the first round,
Only will be JUH and Campbell before our selections and Lachie Jones as an option for us to bid on. I see our picks as being in a position where we could get a couple of really good players and possibly trade back with 1 of them also. Think it is really dependant on what our strategy is about how many selctions we plan to take.

you have to back yourself in when evaluating key forward talent.
two first round draft picks means less in a star barren draft and your picks are unlikely to nab a really good tall without even greater risk. I am not sure you would have taken a punt on Matthew Lloyd.
if 6,7 and 8 would get you Ben king Bailey smith and one more good player fine and dandy
but we are talking about tanner bruhn who is really unproven, Archie Perkins who has star potential but played limited nab football and Nik cox who again potential high absolutely unproven even at nab level. In comparison as an 18 year old logan made wafl team of the year. Seriously you either don’t watch a lot of junior football or you are negative by nature.
‘I would take mcdonald and say bruhn over 3 players every single day of the week as would a large majority of recruiters- seriously.

whatever mate. Trade 2 of the picks for Dunkley then. A proven A grader.

your waffling and it’s boring.

you r right though, I don’t spend much time watching the WAFL so don’t realy have an opinion on the next buddy... or Scott gumbelton.

Imagine the goldfish faces if we gave up 2 top tens for 2 to get this kid then Adelaide take him with pick 1... but. But. But. But we wanted him and gave up a kings ransoms for him...

whatever mate. Trade 2 of the picks for Dunkley then. A proven A grader.

your waffling and it’s boring.

you r right though, I don’t spend much time watching the WAFL so don’t realy have an opinion on the next buddy... or Scott gumbelton.
sorry to bore you pal.
talking about footy on a footy website.
closer to the point you don’t like my opinion which is fair enough.
maybe a New Years resolution for you is to watch a bit more junior footy superstar and then you can have a more reasoned conversation rather than playing the man. narrow viewing of footy and life creates a narrow mind.
by the way - Scott gumbleton could really play -can’t do much about horror injury run
have a nice day

The best are not always talked about as number one.
Anyway you speak like McDonald has no upside.
I can not make a call as I have only seen the kid play via video on my computer. In my experience you need to see someone play live 5 or 6 times before you can be making a informed call.
I know a bloke who watches a lot of WA footy and he says he is the best junior forward since Buddy.
My friends who watch a lot of wafl say he is the best 18 year old to play in the wafl since Chris Judd.
‘this time of the year you are talking with fellas who get their opinions from cal twomey and David king🥴

My friends who watch a lot of wafl say he is the best 18 year old to play in the wafl since Chris Judd.
‘this time of the year you are talking with fellas who get their opinions from cal twomey and David king🥴
If you are referring to me. I don’t get any of my opinions on underage prospects from twomey.

Mcdonald isn’t overally quick like JUL or buddy on the lead to burn off defenders and he doesn’t possess elite agility to be a massive threat on the ground. If recruiters were that excited by his season and potential upside once he reaches afl level, he’d be being talked about as the consensus no.1 pick - take out JUL.
McDonald may not have the freak athleticism like Buddy but neither does Josh Kennedy of the Eagles and he has been a gun forward for a very long time - close to if not the best classical FF for the past decade. Would you give up 2 top 10’s for a young Kennedy - I think many would. Kennedy has great endurance, good hands and is a dead eye but I remember reading at the time in his draft profiles his pace was a question mark. McDonald has elite endurance for a big guy and is a nice kick - I haven’t seen enough to make an informed decision on his hands.

He doesn’t have elite elite endurance, Harry Jones and JUL have better tanks than his, even nik Cox would blow him off the park endurance wise. His kicking his definitely his strong suit and is why he was up there in the wafl goal kicking. He took every chance he had a rarely missed and is a lovely long kick of the ball, give joe d the same amount of shots he probably misses twice as many and the stats don’t look near as good. Also Kennedy might not look quick but he has great speed on those short 10-15 meter leads.

Imagine the goldfish faces if we gave up 2 top tens for 2 to get this kid then Adelaide take him with pick 1... but. But. But. But we wanted him and gave up a kings ransoms for him...
This trade will never occur until after Adelaides pick. I'd they take Thilthorpe or Hollands etc then it becomes an option but only then.

sorry to bore you pal.
talking about footy on a footy website.
closer to the point you don’t like my opinion which is fair enough.
maybe a New Years resolution for you is to watch a bit more junior footy superstar and then you can have a more reasoned conversation rather than playing the man. narrow viewing of footy and life creates a narrow mind.
by the way - Scott gumbleton could really play -can’t do much about horror injury run
have a nice day
Yeah I reckon given a decent run with injury, Gumby could have been anything. The poor kid just couldn't ever get a good run at it.

He doesn’t have elite elite endurance, Harry Jones and JUL have better tanks than his. His kicking his definitely his strong suit and is why he was up there in the wafl goal kicking. He took every chance he had a rarely missed and is a lovely long kick of the ball, give joe d the same amount of shots he probably misses twice as many and the stats don’t look near as good.

Good kicking is good football. Kicking isn’t easily fixed for guys who are average or shanks. In the end we were going nowhere with Joe for a variety of reasons - one of which he wasn’t reliable in front of goal. I thought Hawthorn became better without Franklin because they were left with Cyril, Rough, Breust, Burgoyne and Gunston up forward who murdered opposition with accuracy. Buddy had so many shocking days at the Hawks in front of goal.

Logan finished third in the WA combine 2km run

“Very impressive at National Combine in WA recording 6 minutes 33 seconds for the 2km in the endurance and 3.03 seconds for 20 metres in the speed confirming his athleticism.”

Lloyd was another one I didn’t think had the freak athleticism of someone like a Dunstall but such strong hands and a beautiful kick. He often had guys on his hammer but was the definition of having a vice like grip.

Good kicking is good football. Kicking isn’t easily fixed for guys who are average or shanks. In the end we were going nowhere with Joe for a variety of reasons - one of which he wasn’t reliable in front of goal. I thought Hawthorn became better without Franklin because they were left with Cyril, Rough, Breust, Burgoyne and Gunston up forward who murdered opposition with accuracy. Buddy had so many shocking days at the Hawks in front of goal.

Logan finished third in the WA combine 2km run

“Very impressive at National Combine in WA recording 6 minutes 33 seconds for the 2km in the endurance and 3.03 seconds for 20 metres in the speed confirming his athleticism.”

Lloyd was another one I didn’t think had the freak athleticism of someone like a Dunstall but such strong hands and a beautiful kick. He often had guys on his hammer but was the definition of having a vice like grip.
That headline is just media sensationalism. 6:33 isn’t anything special for the 2ker especially for someone who just hasn’t come out of lockdown - Cox did 6:03 for the 2km now that is elite endurance and 3.03 for the 20m sprint isn’t elite speed either ( Eyre recorded 2.89 for the 20m) wouldn’t have been in the top 30-40 kids that tested. Go and look through the history of results and see where those performances stack up. It’s not like he did some ridiculous testing.

Yeah I reckon given a decent run with injury, Gumby could have been anything. The poor kid just couldn't ever get a good run at it.

Gumby would have been a more graceful Aaron Naughton. Glided around like he was on a magic carpet and had serious body control in the air to go with a good set of hands.

How much does Perkin's value change if he never makes the transition to being a full-time inside mid? How confident would you be that he will develop into one?

Reminds me of Petracca, and based on this year, I am very keen to have one of him.
In saying that, I thought Laverde was going to be something similar.

That headline is just media sensationalism. 6:33 isn’t anything special for the 2ker especially for someone who just hasn’t come out of lockdown - Cox did 6:03 for the 2km now that is elite endurance and 3.03 for the 20m sprint isn’t elite speed either ( Eyre recorded 2.89 for the 20m) wouldn’t have been in the top 30-40 kids that tested. Go and look through the history of results and see where those performances stack up. It’s not like he did some ridiculous testing.
I wasn’t saying he has ridiculous testing. However his 2km time trial is along the same level as the average afl midfielder (6min 30) - that is good for a young KPP tall. He finished third out of the WA talent pool. I guess the question from an endurance perspective is how much scope for improvement does he have given he was already on a specialised program pretty much from the Eagles?

When you have elite endurance you're naturally going to find yourself in good positions to take a lot of chest marks anyway. No issue there.

I wasn’t saying he has ridiculous testing. However his 2km time trial is along the same level as the average afl midfielder (6min 30) - that is good for a young KPP tall. He finished third out of the WA talent pool. I guess the question from an endurance perspective is how much scope for improvement does he have given he was already on a specialised program pretty much from the Eagles?
It wasn’t like a load of WA people tested. All I’m saying is 6:33 is not an eye opening time that would’ve got recruiters excited. 6:30-6:50 is what a majority of the combine kids run for 2ks.

If we traded 6 and 7 up to 2 (with change i would hope), do we try split 8 and get 2 later 1sts (14 and 16 from pies)

Mcdonald, o'driscoll plus another top talent?
I think the only way we trade with the pies is if it includes next year's 1st from them as part of the deal.