Recruiting Draft Watch 2020

• Thread starter Thread starter eDPS

Which do you prefer, if you have to choose?

• Nik Cox

Votes: 53 77.9%
  • Zach Reid

Votes: 15 22.1%

Last edited by a moderator:
Lets get one thing straight. I am not in the trade up camp.

However you are saying there are alarms. You are questioning why he is not number 1. You are questioning why other clubs "may" be interested in someone else.
These are your words

" Mcdonald isn’t a generational player "

" McDonald’s performances in the wafl are getting blown out of proportion I feel, he started the season really well with 3 good games and played okay for the rest of the season. The question is, if his performances in the wafl were so dominating, why isn’t he a clear no.1 pick already not just being talked about as a top 4 - and that’s without the Victorian kids playing at all. You’d have to think if Victorian kids played 3-4 kids would really push their names to the top of the order after really coming on in their top age years "

So you do have some alarms.
Personally I do not think it matters that the Vic kids have not played. Who knows they could have dropped back a little as well.
The fact is there have been very few KP players go into a draft with a full season of senior footy even if he did even out over the season.
It is also easy to work out why he is not a clear number 1. There is another KP prospect that showed great potential and a couple of midfielders that look very good as well.

I am stating a different view that comes from people with lengthy experience. It is not wrong or right but it is a counter to your argument. I would also listen to foj a bit more. Like all of us he is not always right but he has been around under 18 footy on the inside in Melbourne for more years than most and has a long record here.

It comes down to how the club interoperates its order.
Adelaide may value Thilthorpe not because he is better than McDonald but he is a dual position kid from SA.
Right now I doubt who North will go for given it is 3 weeks out and the coach has only just been appointed .
You are using the word alarms not me, im just hesitant for essendon to trade up for him. I dont think he is a generational player - thats my opinion, from someone who watched him under 16s, in the champs last year and this year in the wafl. Thats not saying i dont think he'll be a good player at afl level - he will, he has the talent to make it at afl level, but generational in my opinion, no he's not. Do you trade up to get a good afl player, you probably shouldnt. Would i trade up to get someone like max king (if he didnt do his knee) absolutely, he has generational player written all over him. Or would i trade up to get JUH, you'd try although the crows wouldnt entertain it and rightly so. Also if finished 2nd last and held pick 2, id be more than happy for them to draft mcdonald, i just dont believe we should pay overs trading up to get it him.

Alarms / concerns / questions. All the same. And I have never said anything about trading up for him. All I did was pose a different view on what people say about his ability.
How long since you have seen him play 4 or 5 live games ?

Shaw (F/S)
Cooney
Mundy
Fisher
Stanton
Adcock
Rischitelli

Then you can argue the merits of McLean, Walker, Chaplin and Butler for the rest of the top 10

Where's Farren Ray?

After those guys

Alarms / concerns / questions. All the same. And I have never said anything about trading up for him. All I did was pose a different view on what people say about his ability.
How long since you have seen him play 4 or 5 live games ?
Yeah I know you haven’t, but trading up/ ‘generational player’ argument go hand in hand. Well obviously I haven’t seen him play live this year 😂 Obviously seeing them play live is better, but it’s not like you don’t get anything out of vision. Do you think he’s a generational player? Why are you against trading up?

So, they basically mention virtually every player we might pick up at 6 to 8 or by moving up or by someone slipping slightly (i think excluding Perkins who we might most likely get ironically). Not much effort gone into that one.
I’m not sure what else you would want us to mention? I mean we have 3 picks in that range so off course there is a fairly big selection of players it could be.

you could tell us exactly who we're going draft and how many flags we win with them.....

The strength in our position is we get 3 picks in a row after we watch how the top 5 unfolds in a year when there is no consensus number 1. That and teams like Collingwood and GWS should be coming to us on the night trying to get into the top 10.

eDPS
in all seriousness;

I'd have KPF behind a KPD.
Wright is still young. Jones is there with Eyre coming in. Stewart and Stringer still in their peak.

Zerk is our only sub 30yo key defender. should really address that with Brand plus another option.

eDPS
in all seriousness;

I'd have KPF behind a KPD.
Wright is still young. Jones is there with Eyre coming in. Stewart and Stringer still in their peak.

Zerk is our only sub 30yo key defender. should really address that with Brand plus another option.
I think we still need more key forwards imo especially one who is a good contested mark

Evening folks.

I'm putting together a mock and along with my own bloody club, I've found yours a considerable stumbling block.

Am I right in suggesting that your needs are maybe a large mid (perkins?), some flank speed and maybe a versatile tall/or KPD?

What about a developing ruck/fwd?

Id love your insight here. You guys are doing my head in (no offence of course)

Evening folks.

I'm putting together a mock and along with my own bloody club, I've found yours a considerable stumbling block.

Am I right in suggesting that your needs are maybe a large mid (perkins?), some flank speed and maybe a versatile tall/or KPD?

What about a developing ruck/fwd?

Id love your insight here. You guys are doing my head in (no offence of course)
most on here are pretty keen on Perkins and one (or maybe both) of cox and reid

I had Henry as a possibility as well?

Would you guys take thilthorpe if he slides? I suspect he might if we don't take him at 1. Doesn't seem a huge need. Durability issues and apparently wants to be a ruck moreso than a fwd but with three picks, you guys are doing my head in.

I would think we would take him if he did slide. Also, don't draft any mids shorter than Mason Cox.

Bit of respect mate

Foj1 is one of our better posters and someone who has worked in clubland.

Kind words mate.
much appreciated.
every bomber fan wants the best for their club.
I reckon north will keep pick 2 anyway
i reckon Collingwood will be movers in this draft.
‘they will either try and get one of our picks or perhaps target gold coasts pick 5 for 2021 first rounder and pick 16
i believe they are keen on Nik cox

I'd say we would take him if he slides. Henry is a maybe but I'd lean towards no.

From what I've seen as stated earlier we'd take Perkins then one of Cox or Reid or both. Other than that have Bruhn and O'Driscoll as the other main ones most on her seem to want us to take.

I'd say we would take him if he slides. Henry is a maybe but I'd lean towards no.

From what I've seen as stated earlier we'd take Perkins then one of Cox or Reid or both. Other than that have Bruhn and O'Driscoll as the other main ones most on her seem to want us to take.
Gotcha.

So far I've got thilthorpe sliding, available 6-8. Expecting a Collingwood move there on pick 8 but no idea if you'd take 14 and 16. Expecting if it happens they'd take him, and all of us sudden you've got two mid teens picks.

Gotcha.

So far I've got thilthorpe sliding, available 6-8. Expecting a Collingwood move there on pick 8 but no idea if you'd take 14 and 16. Expecting if it happens they'd take him, and all of us sudden you've got two mid teens picks.
If Thilthorpe slides I'd expect Dodoro to break the land speed record in calling his name

Firstly, thanks all for your input. You're far less sandy in the pants region than the saints board.

Secondly... I'll go back and figure this out if I can. If anyone is interested, I can come back and post when I'm done.

I reckon north will keep pick 2 anyway
Noble could be a big fan of a certain player after his time with lions and taking some recent WA and Country prospects. Hollands or McDonald would have to be very likely in his sights.