Recruiting Draft Watch 2020

• Thread starter Thread starter eDPS

Which do you prefer, if you have to choose?

• Nik Cox

Votes: 53 77.9%
  • Zach Reid

Votes: 15 22.1%

Last edited by a moderator:
Any news on who you might take with your first three picks.... or at least who’s in the frame?
At this stage I'd say the most likely scenario is we take Perkins and Cox and trade back in the draft with our last pick and take someone like O'Driscoll.

If we keep pick 8 then O'Driscoll is still in play along with Reid, Bruhn or Henry or maybe a bid on McInnes or Jones.

All very up in the air though and a little bit dependant on what others are doing. It also might be a bit of a toss up between Cox and Reid.

Maybe so but he has a lot of people inside the game he can talk to who are very good judges.
Biggest help for me when I was looking at a lot of players was to have the views of various people. Did not always agree but it gave perspective.
Lots of people seem to Bag Cal but I know for a fact he does watch a decent amount of junior footy. Maybe not as much as some do but he does see games. Unlike a lot he gets a truck load of inside info from recruiters about players which obviously contain different views on certain players.
I remember back when the HS first went looking for their draft expert as I got an email from them to be interviewed. At the time I was doing some stuff for the VFL record and a few other bits but I had no real journalistic experience and have limited ability in putting stories together and interviewing draft hopefuls .
hypothetically, if a scouting role came up at an AFL club, would Cal be qualified or are the AFL club scouts a level above?

What happens if we happen to take 4 players and then match a Cody Brand bid whilst someone proceeds to bud on Josh Eyre?
Ie, list spots do not match the draftees taken ?

We've got six list spots to fill, so we can take four draftees and our NGA boys. Taking six at the draft would mean missing out on DFAs however.

hypothetically, if a scouting role came up at an AFL club, would Cal be qualified or are the AFL club scouts a level above?
Emma Quayle got a job so I would say he could

Emma quayle works more on the interviewing/ background work side rather than talent id/ scouting games etc.
No reason why Cal couldn't either he does work for the road to draft podcasts as well

He knows enough to get into the system but I doubt he ever would as it would be a rather large hair cut pay wise to become the 3rd or 4th recruiter in the system compared to the media stuff he does.

After a lot of reading and discussion I have my opinion on what we should do. The way this draft has panned out we have been a bit unlucky that the ideal midfielder for us, that 188cm type has most likely landed outside our pick zone. Would be great if Hollands could get to us but from most of the talk and questions I have asked it is only a remote chance.

I think the obvious right now is one of Reid or Cox. I think we only take one or the other given we will be taking Brand and Eyre and from what I hear both should receive bids in the 30-50 range. I have a slight leaning to Cox as he has played a little forward along with his very good defensive record.
Skills are good , is a strong mark and has a good tank. Would not be unhappy with Reid as he also has very good skills and a great engine and can play ruck if needed along with his defense.

To the midfield conundrum. I am working around Hollands not being available and Phillips also not being available. Would certainly take either or even both if that miracle happened.
But back to the real world and I am going Archie Perkins and Nathan O'Driscoll. Both bigger type midfield options. O'Driscoll is certainly a bit of a reach at 8 but I think we need to take a punt on needs. The other obvious option is Tanner Bruhn who is a smart midfielder and a very good player. He would be a worthy pick but given we traded to get Caldwell IMO we should go with the other two. What I like about Perkins is his marking ability to go along with the little bit of X factor. Has more exposure as a forward but has shown some good signs with his run and carry and as previously said is a strong mark which is something we lack around the ground. From all reports he has done a power of work this year on his running and endurance .Has shown some inside midfield form

So IMO I would be going
Cox
Perkins
O'Driscoll
Brand
Eyre
3 x KP and two midfield.
Would not be unhappy if it was Reid and not Cox.

Now the qualifier here is obviously I have seen none of these guys live this year and very little of their live stuff last year so there are no absolutes on my view.

Emma quayle works more on the interviewing/ background work side rather than talent id/ scouting games etc.
Nah that’s not correct, I see her at heaps of games doing notes

So IMO I would be going
Cox
Perkins
O'Driscoll
Brand
Eyre
3 x KP and two midfield.
Would not be unhappy if it was Reid and not Cox.

Given Rutten's comments this week about becoming a blue collar defensive side, reaching for O'Driscoll seems like a genuine possibility based on the attributes he has.

I would be happier with that outcome then taking two 200cm bean poles in the top 10 like people are suggesting.

Cox's kicking looks a reall feature in the highlight videos. Would love that out on a wing or even up forward. Had some nice forwad line highlights as well. I like Shifters assessment that he has a Marc Blicavs look to him. Would be really happy if he turned out like Blicavs.

Would be happy with Cox.

What happens if we happen to take 4 players and then match a Cody Brand bid whilst someone proceeds to bud on Josh Eyre?
Ie, list spots do not match the draftees taken ?

We have 6 open spots mate

Am I the only one that’s a bit concerned when draft prospects are labelled as “versatile”? Basically just means they aren’t that great in any particular position, which feels a bit like calling a shabby old house a “renovators delight”...
I'm big on players being able to play multiple positions or multiple roles within a position. Look at the best players of the past 10 years, Fyfe, Danger, Dusty and Ablett, and all of them have significant impact forward as well as in the midfield.

Am I the only one that’s a bit concerned when draft prospects are labelled as “versatile”? Basically just means they aren’t that great in any particular position, which feels a bit like calling a shabby old house a “renovators delight”...
In juniors it’s not an issue at all in fact I prefer a player that’s versatile because that’s what would be expected of you at the next level. If you can only play one position it usually means you don’t have the athleticism needed to be ‘versatile’ aswell.

There’s a difference between someone who is a “mid/forward” or a “swingman” that plays multiple positions well, and a “versatile tall that could play x y z a b or c” though.

Aaron Francis was a versatile tall. We thought he’d be a big mid or a desperately needed forward. Turns out, not that versatile.

Rumours going the rounds Thilthorpe is sliding due to telling clubs he only wants to play ruck

If he does get out of the 5 id be offering him to Adelaide for 9 and second, a swap of future firsts

Lose 6 and future 1st
Gain 9 and future 1st plus second