Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Josh Caddy - outside chance

• Other - please name

Graham is 3 years older & just looks way too lumbering to me & doesn't reall offer mobility or danger up foward.

looks Tarzan/Plays jane scenario.

Funny how you bag Graham for mobility, but you want him replaced by Browne who Graham would run rings around. I think our ruck division is weak but I think Graham is ok. We really need Vickery to come on but if not Graham has been developing at a steady rate and played some pretty good games last year. Browne will not make it imo he is the worst runner I have seen (ruck wise) in a while.

In his first few seasons yes, but last year he really made strides. It's a confidence thing with Gus I think. He has a really good ability to cover the ground now, which is only going to get better. He can also find the footy reasonably well and is certainly desperate, as highlighted by his 17 tackles against Port. He can also clunk them in the air too, and not a bad set shot from 40+. I seriously think he can become a top 10 ruckman in the league.

Have some knowledge of Gus. Last year was the first time he got serious. The lad does like a sip, and his mates adore it. He didn't have huge expectations for his career when he came in, and let's face it he's a bit of a unit and getting a good wage and playing some footy and picking up chicks sounds a pretty reasonable lifestyle for a 22 year old.

Last year, though, he swore off the grog and the benefits flowed, or at least began to be seen. Penny has dropped that he could be decent, so although this is as someone said above a very important year for him, he's being ridden hard by Hardwick et al and if he can get around the ground a little more then he surely has the physique to make a difference in the ruck. Decent kick for goal too, which every ruckman will need to be.

I actually rate Vickery, FWIW. Stop comparing every player above 190cm to Buddy or, even, Kreuzer.

Funny how you bag Graham for mobility, but you want him replaced by Browne who Graham would run rings around. I think our ruck division is weak but I think Graham is ok. We really need Vickery to come on but if not Graham has been developing at a steady rate and played some pretty good games last year. Browne will not make it imo he is the worst runner I have seen (ruck wise) in a while.

Early days for any ruckman (hence my preference to pick a good one - Vickery - from time to time but otherwise rookie and develop or trade in someone like a Maric when we start to contend) but yeah it's hard to see him turning into a racehorse isn't it. Underwhelmed.

Have some knowledge of Gus. Last year was the first time he got serious. The lad does like a sip, and his mates adore it. He didn't have huge expectations for his career when he came in, and let's face it he's a bit of a unit and getting a good wage and playing some footy and picking up chicks sounds a pretty reasonable lifestyle for a 22 year old.

Last year, though, he swore off the grog and the benefits flowed, or at least began to be seen. Penny has dropped that he could be decent, so although this is as someone said above a very important year for him, he's being ridden hard by Hardwick et al and if he can get around the ground a little more then he surely has the physique to make a difference in the ruck. Decent kick for goal too, which every ruckman will need to be.

I actually rate Vickery, FWIW. Stop comparing every player above 190cm to Buddy or, even, Kreuzer.
This makes perfect sense given what we have seen on the field.

Doesn't relate to this year's draft but if Richmond can't develop Gourdis to become that big, athletic KPD then I would want them to trade for one next year.
McGuane is fine for the second KPD spot.
I see Astbury as a hard leading CHF - he just doesn't have enough pace to be a really good CHB but he reads the game well, is a good size and has a nice kick. Post I see as playing a little deeper in the forward line going for his marks with Jack playing the deepest near goals.
In case Richmond can't develop a another KPD I would like them to target:
Ben Reid - IMO he will very soon become the best FB in the AFL. Has pace to burn, really good size and he reads the game really well. I would sell the farm to get him but Collingwood won't trade him. He would be my number 1 target out of any player in the AFL.
Another guy I like is Carlisle from Port Adelaide. He is fast, big and strong and is a very reliable defender. What would the Tigers need to give up to get him?

The big man thing this year is interesting. Our KPs and rucks, outside of JR, are developing so we really don't know where we sit.
I'm not greatly bothered by the rucks. Gus is an AFL B grade ruck to me, which is what most teams run around with. There are few A grade rucks. TV has real talent but is too skinny to do the job. He needs time to develop, then could be good. But there are lots of talented guys that don't make it. Browne has to learn how to run, but has talent. Each will be one year more developed in 2011. If we pick a ruck they will be our 4th developing ruck. The problem with that is that if one of the other guys becomes good, and another is OK (plus Post can do a job there as well) then we have a wasted slot. Unlike other positions an extra ruckman on the list is a wasted position. If you have 3 good AFL rucks then the 3rd is useless, you can't play them in the AFL and you lose draft value by not playing them. Because we only have developing rucks we have to wait until we know whether we have keepers. (Gus should be AFL full bottle next year, if not then look at him for a trade)
I'd only draft for a ruck witha rookie pick. I'd prefer to wait until we know we have solid rucks or one is dropped.

For KPs we have enough, but only one proven top quality. I'm very happy to let the coaching staff decide on our needs there. We need a tall guy to work with Jack, at the minium. Another A grade KPF and we have one of the dominant forward lines in the AFL potentially. KPBs - Hmm, Astbury has talent, then maybe some guys who might be OK. But the young guys need to be allowed to have a shot at being the real deal. I reckon McGuane and Thursfield seem to be at their level now - OK B grade KPBs. Only keep if you can't do any better. So, i'd draft an A grade type, but otherwise let it slide to third round +.

We're in the position where we might be good to talls, but could be in problems. We need mids. So just going on that logic I woudl pick mids early, then go by best value for money later.

Beg To Differ !

Graham has been in the system 5 years compared to Browne 2 years
& years on i would be very confident that browne will be a better ruckman than graham,You also mentioned browne's running Gus is no athlete & browne has better tap work from day 1 & with 2 more years of development will ahead of graham.

As i said in another post,I see this year as make or break for graham & if he doesnt improve his around the ground work others will pass him & graham will become either a vfl ruckman or trade/delisted.

Just looking at the highlights on the afl site (yes im limited), im starting to like caddy now. Just like how goes about it in the packs. Seems a step ahead of the others too. We probably dont really need his type, but i think he will be a star.

Not sold on polec, just something about him. (saw him a few times in the sanfl)

Heppell im a bit the same, just not sure. Not knocking him though.

Gaff would be a solid pick but doesnt excit me.

Lynch is too risky in my eyes for such an important selection.

Darling will still be the standout, if he works hard.

Once again im only going by clips on the afl site, so take it for what it is, although i saw darling play last year.

Cheers

Beg To Differ !

Graham has been in the system 5 years compared to Browne 2 years
& years on i would be very confident that browne will be a better ruckman than graham,You also mentioned browne's running Gus is no athlete & browne has better tap work from day 1 & with 2 more years of development will ahead of graham.

As i said in another post,I see this year as make or break for graham & if he doesnt improve his around the ground work others will pass him & graham will become either a vfl ruckman or trade/delisted.

I am not going into bat for Graham although it may look like it. I am just saying you cannot bag that guy for his running and then put Browne up as a better option who cannot run for shit! His tapwork is good but he will get domianted around the ground in the coming years by Nic Nat, Kruezer and even Mumford.

Polec played in the SANFL finals in a very competative side. It would have been hard work to keep his spot and he played on after the tragic loss of his best mate in a car accident. He shows great character, kicks goals from 60 on the run, and has x factor!!

In saying that........with Houli and Grigg on board our mid is looking stronger. So maybe a KPF at 6 is worthwhile. So man great thoughts on here, all valid.

Seb Tape article on AFL.com

ASK ANY recruiter to describe South Australian state under-18 skipper Seb Tape and the words cool, calm and collected will be on the tips of their tongues.

Tape was a rock in defence for SA at the NAB AFL Under 18 Championships in June and showed composure beyond his years to be named best on ground on debut for Glenelg in the club's SANFL semi-final loss to Woodville-West Torrens.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/105088/default.aspx

Emma Quayle on Twitter says Reece Conca a big chance to go to the Tigers at pick 6.
Now given the rumours that we were targetting someone who would shock, I reckon a number of people here would fall off their couch next Thursday night if his name was read out at 6.

The big man thing this year is interesting. Our KPs and rucks, outside of JR, are developing so we really don't know where we sit.
I'm not greatly bothered by the rucks. Gus is an AFL B grade ruck to me, which is what most teams run around with. There are few A grade rucks. TV has real talent but is too skinny to do the job. He needs time to develop, then could be good. But there are lots of talented guys that don't make it. Browne has to learn how to run, but has talent. Each will be one year more developed in 2011. If we pick a ruck they will be our 4th developing ruck. The problem with that is that if one of the other guys becomes good, and another is OK (plus Post can do a job there as well) then we have a wasted slot. Unlike other positions an extra ruckman on the list is a wasted position. If you have 3 good AFL rucks then the 3rd is useless, you can't play them in the AFL and you lose draft value by not playing them. Because we only have developing rucks we have to wait until we know whether we have keepers. (Gus should be AFL full bottle next year, if not then look at him for a trade)
I'd only draft for a ruck witha rookie pick. I'd prefer to wait until we know we have solid rucks or one is dropped.

We certainly are in an interesting position Dr T, especially with the change of rules.

As far as I'm concerned, the only barrier to Graham becoming a good enough first ruckman will be his body letting him down.

He should have blown up well before the last quarter all through his first real season doing more than a support role, but he not only fought right to the end of nearly all games, several times he clearly dominated his opponent in the last quarter and either swung games our way out of the middle or kept us right in them. On fitness, form and experience, he had no right to be still in the contest, let alone pulling off an outstanding hit-out to advantage ratio, but his heart and competitive spirit are clearly capable of taking him to performance peaks well above what his fitness, skill and experience should reasonably allow.

He's our best bet that we're not still kicking ourselves down the track for not securing Mumford at the bargain price he went for.

Vickery should be really advantaged by the rule change as he's going to be more potent forward than most 1st or 2nd rucks clubs have on their books. I love his handball in tight and his vision as a ruckman/onballer is terrific, but I'm not sold that he has the physical attributes and aggression to be a no.1 ruck.

Browne is worth persevering with, obviously athleticism may find him out, but as a pure ruckman and backup to Graham he has shown enough improvement.

I agree that we shouldn't spend more than a rookie pick at most on a ruck this draft (either a raw giant or an athlete), but I won't be surprised if it takes Graham longer than just the coming season to prove his doubters wrong - he's coming from a long way back in many areas and it's unreasonable to expect 22 great consistent games from a kid who's still a season away from playing 50 games (though I have no doubt many will expect that from him this year ;)).

For KPs we have enough, but only one proven top quality. I'm very happy to let the coaching staff decide on our needs there. We need a tall guy to work with Jack, at the minium. Another A grade KPF and we have one of the dominant forward lines in the AFL potentially. KPBs - Hmm, Astbury has talent, then maybe some guys who might be OK. But the young guys need to be allowed to have a shot at being the real deal. I reckon McGuane and Thursfield seem to be at their level now - OK B grade KPBs. Only keep if you can't do any better. So, i'd draft an A grade type, but otherwise let it slide to third round +.

We're in the position where we might be good to talls, but could be in problems. We need mids. So just going on that logic I woudl pick mids early, then go by best value for money later.

I fully endorse our recent philosophy with talls of recruiting players capable of being mobile KPF's - these types are the KPF's AND KPB's of the future. Adding at least one more in the Astbury/Post/Gourdis mould would be sound list management, and we can even afford the luxury of picking a late developer after our good recent drafts.

Outside 2-3 picks for a rookie ruck and another mobile KP or two, skilled, hard running ball carriers are the player type which we can't have too many of. If the right kind of small forward (a goal shark but also capable of being very good defensively) came along we'd have to take him as this is really the area we're most deficient in. I really can't believe Hawthorn delisted Moss, he'd walk into our side as a small forward, he's twice the player Houli is and I hope we at least offer him a rookie spot providing his body is sound.

Emma Quayle on Twitter says Reece Conca a big chance to go to the Tigers at pick 6.

More an inside player. Not a very penetrating kick and only neat disposal (acc to the BF Phantom). I cannot see it in any way shape or form.

She also just said she had gone off the idea of Lynch to Richmond 2 hours after thinking it was likely

I really can't believe Hawthorn delisted Moss, he'd walk into our side as a small forward, he's twice the player Houli is and I hope we at least offer him a rookie spot providing his body is sound.

I agree, Moss would be a great rookie pick up. I was surprised to see him get delisted.

having watched some polec highlights i'm concerned that like may left footers, he is very one-sided. there are absolutely no doubts of his kicking ability on his preferred left foot, however was it just me, or did anyone else notice that he always goes onto his left, even if it means straightening up to get onto his left when caught on his opposite side.

Definately is very left sided but can get reasonable distance on his right but not very natural. Did you watch the AFL vision or did you youtube his SANFL finals vision where he had 19 posessions in the first half? Very impressive that game until the second half where he disapeared. That's my main concern with him - that he could be one of those players who can tear up a side unmanned but when the pressure's on put up the white flag.

On a side note there is an impressive article on the age website about Atley.

Polec suffered a groin injury in the 2nd half of that SANFL final which along with being heavily tagged after being identified by the opposition coach to be pushed out of the game.

Edit - He was also tagged by a highly regarded SAFL play Puopolo who is likely to be a mature age draftee. my mail is he'll go to the Bulldogs

Definately is very left sided but can get reasonable distance on his right but not very natural. Did you watch the AFL vision or did you youtube his SANFL finals vision where he had 19 posessions in the first half? Very impressive that game until the second half where he disapeared. That's my main concern with him - that he could be one of those players who can tear up a side unmanned but when the pressure's on put up the white flag.

On a side note there is an impressive article on the age website about Atley.

I wouldnt really worry too much about that at the moment because he is a kid who just turned 18 playing against men in the sanfl (which is a very strong league)

You must keep in mind that it was the sanfl final & they are playing a top 2 team which would consist of men some with afl experience & are mostly 5-6 years older with more pre seasons & hardened bodies against a kid.

Polec & heppell will both be gun players in the afl , but as the draft comes closer the more i am leaning towards polec over heppell uless day was available.