Draft Watch

• Thread starter Thread starter _RT_

Watson is 10 to 25 range for me. So after our first pick and before our 2nd.

Interesting Gorringe's new height is listed as 200cm on the AFL site. If correct he has grown 2cm since the championships and is now genuine ruck height. That might put him up a few pegs in people rankings.

this may be who we should consider

Alex Johnson (Oakleigh Chargers, Vic)
Height: 193cm, Weight: 82kg, DOB: 02/03/92
Alex is a tall defender/forward with an outstanding work rate and competitive edge. He provides excellent defensive pressure when playing forward. He represented Vic Metro at the under-18 championships this year.

i know we have griff etc to help jack, but we need one more, and this kid could be the one.

this may be who we should consider

Alex Johnson (Oakleigh Chargers, Vic)
Height: 193cm, Weight: 82kg, DOB: 02/03/92
Alex is a tall defender/forward with an outstanding work rate and competitive edge. He provides excellent defensive pressure when playing forward. He represented Vic Metro at the under-18 championships this year.

.i know we have griff etc to help jack, but we need one more, and this kid could be the one.

I really like Seb Tape interesting that he has Grown 2 cms and really could be a Gun rebounding CHB he has a great body shape as well and very very athletic, Cameron Delaney is a good to one after MacCarthey and Watson. I like Alex Johnson but i think those 4 i mentioned are ahead then throw a blanket over the rest of them and it depends on exactley what you need, i also rate Angus litherland.

i believe connors will become a very very good player for the tigers, under the previous regime he wasnt developed with disipline & left to his own because they didnt want to stunt his talent BUT he went of the rails.

his 1st year under hardwick & co already a massive improvement that will become even better next year

its no coincidence that collins,edwards,riewoldt,morton even gourdis have all improved alot more than at anytime under wallace & clowns

Connors was a head case long before he was drafted and some may have been consumed by his stats but defensively he was still extremely poor which is the reason he was sent back !!
I'm far from sold on him , no other club would take him !

Just watching the TAC cup grand final. Luke Mitchell has kicked 3 from FF in the first quarter...looks a strong mark! Where will he go?

Well I didn't see the highlights but watched the game and he was very good imo. Also set up a few nice plays, would be pretty happy if we got him at 28....stuff Sherman lol.

Late first, Early 2nd most likely. After being highly rated last year he missed a lot of footy this year through injury (shoulder I think) everyone knows he can tear games apart but never really stepped it up in the finals until today.

If we take a mid with our first I would definitely take a close look at him for our 2nd.

Hell yes. I know you are a huge fan of Tom Lynch but I don't rate him as much. Would be stoked with mid like Atley at 6 and then Mitchell with our second rounder.

If we can trade McGuane/Tambling into a pick 15 or so, then I would love to see us grab Harper/Caddy as well.

Would be an ultimate draft that sets us up for years...

Watching the VFL grand final and Isaac Smith of North Ballarat looks like a player.

21 year old 190cm wingman with x-factor and pace with great run and carry, strong defensively. Looks like he has a lot to work with.

Article on him here

http://www.thecourier.com.au/news/local/sport/general/smith-swaps-redan-lions-den-for-north-ballarat-roosters-coop/1877073.aspx

"He has the attributes to go to the next level. He has height, endurance and pace, and he's been our leading goalkicker this year."

Redan chairman Andrew Madden said there was talk that a few AFL clubs had shown interest in Smith.

"If this is the best way for Isaac to get a spot on an AFL list then all the very best of luck for him," he said.

Hell yes. I know you are a huge fan of Tom Lynch but I don't rate him as much. Would be stoked with mid like Atley at 6 and then Mitchell with our second rounder.

If we can trade McGuane/Tambling into a pick 15 or so, then I would love to see us grab Harper/Caddy as well.

Yeah I was talking to a mate about this today. I do really like Lynch a lot but that being said I don't really want him with our first pick because Lynch and Griffiths could not play in the same team as they both play the same position.

I'd be much happier if we used our first pick on a mid in Polec, Heppell or Atley and got Mitchell with our 2nd round. It maybe wishful thinking that he will still be available though.

That being said which ever way FJ and co decide to go I'll be happy as I've got full faith that they'll make the right decision come draft day.

Would be stoked with mid like Atley at 6 and then Mitchell with our second rounder.

Agree.

Watching the VFL grand final and Isaac Smith of North Ballarat looks like a player.

21 year old 190cm wingman with x-factor and pace with great run and carry, strong defensively. Looks like he has a lot to work with.
Very impressive, exactly what we need.

Griffiths wont be playing CHF for pro-longed periods IMO.

He doesn't have sufficient mobility from what I have seen.

I think he can be played deep forward and at half forward but not necessarily CHF.

If we get Lynch JR can be the legitimate 3rd tall in the forward line which is about right

I disagree I think he does have the mobility. But in saying that he could always play deep and jack could play FF. Jack is really good up the ground.

I'm with you amcre Jack is a lovely kick inside 50.

Griffiths wont be playing CHF for pro-longed periods IMO.

He doesn't have sufficient mobility from what I have seen.

I think he can be played deep forward and at half forward but not necessarily CHF.

If we get Lynch JR can be the legitimate 3rd tall in the forward line which is about right

i disagree as well, Griffiths does have the Mobilty, but i agree with what you say with the other comments, Griffiths IMO would be better at FF with his pace, marking and kicking, Lynch CHF strong marking with the athletic ability to roam all over the park with his huge tank and take Pack marks when we need it and kick goals from outside 50 and i think Jack as a third tall roaming the forward 50 and just out, he set up play and assists are outstanding and at time more damamging than kicking goals him self. DH always said he prefers 3 talls for our game plan.

What I posted on the d&t board.

interesting game that final - Calder were superior for almost all of it - but struggled to put Gippy away early. They really put them to the sword in the 3rd quarter - then stepped off a bit once the game was won.

I'll go the scrawling i've put in my record:

CALDER

Prestia - Yes he's short. His build doesn't look conducive to being a hard running, line breaking midfielder. But that's exactly what he is. Incredibly quick midfielder who simply racks up the ball at stoppages, and finds his way through traffic so easily. His kicking, particularly long is really quite good. He maybe has a tendency to give them a little bit too much air if he's going short. The first term was the Prestia and Mitchell show - and he played a major role in giving the Cannons the ascendency. I'd liken him to a Montagna with a bit more zip - he makes good decisions, is tough and hard at it - his height isn't enough to deter me, and it won't deter clubs either.

He's very under-rated on here - he'll sky-rocket a bit after performing on the big stage.

Liberatore - Libba didn't have a huge game today - but he worked tirelessly shovelling out the clearances and giving the outside runners first use. He's got really quite clean disposal by both hand and foot - by foot has more penetration than Wallis, but Wallis is so spectacular when the target is 35 m or less away.

Schroder - I haven't been able to get a gauge on him all year. He's dumpy looking at 183 cm and 81 kg and isn't overly quick. He does however make nice decisions with the ball, and despite lacking a yard of pace, always make it to the contests. He took a really nice pack mark in the second half. Does the basics right - and i'd be surprised if he didn't end up at an AFL club - but I think it'll be late.

Wallis - was simply superb today. He just finds space. He's a fantastic decision maker, and uses the ball exquisitely by hand. He's just about the best in this group when hitting targets 35 m and under away, but lacks a little bit of penetration.

He's not exceptionally fast - but he just finds the ball, and he makes great decisions with it. He always seem to have time and thinks his way through situations, always taking the best option. Was BOG by a mile.

Sheridan - He's one to keep an eye on for next year. 185 cm midfielder with nice pace and tidy disposal - expect him to take a step up next year as a second year player.

Talia - Him and Watson both had turns at taking Marusic. Talia's nice and strong in the air, but like Watson, sometimes gets exposed on the lead. He's solid and you know what you get with him. Does he have enough upside to go highish next year?

Guthrie - Had a real quiet one today - playing both in the middle and off a HFF. Disposal is tidy but there's no real penetration. I'm going to look like a bully, but I haven't quite ever understood the Guthrie hype - and despite being very good all final series bar today - i've still got doubts.

To me the best comparison with an AFL player - is a quicker, line breaking version of Scott Selwood.

Hunter - Blanketed Lamb all day and kept him honest. Not much of a shot to be drafted - but he played his role with aplomb.

Williams - Another underager. Pace to burn. Always flying past the inside midfielders, but sometimes spent it before he got it or made an average decision. Disposal is only just average. There's a lot to like - but he does have a few deficiencies.

Watson - Was dominant in the second half - after Marusic kicked two in the first term. Great overhead and a thumping kick. His disposal is equally as impressive short. He gets a bit exposed on the lead - and with such a physical advantage over most TAC boys, he's one who you'd wonder how much improvement is left.

Greenfell - Played FF today - he's played at both ends this year. He's an absolute stick - but showed some real signs - but it just evaded him everytime and it didn't all come together. There's a lot of upside - and i really like the lad.

Mitchell - Too strong and smart for his opponents today. Uses his body really well, and he's not slow on the lead either. His goal kicking was really good in the first half - before missing a few late. 5 goals will see him shooting up - he finally put it all together.

Daniher - He's a big lump of a lad - looked a bit lumbering today - but I thought he had the better of the ruck duel with Staley. Disposal isn't the best and looked a little bit slow by both hand and foot - but he's got a lot of development left in him. He'll be a very scary prospect when he fills out.

Uysal - He didn't do much today - and if you weren't looking for him you might have barely noticed him out there. I was looking for him - and he's a livewire. As outside as they come but he does things no one else does, both as a midfielder and a forward. Expect the unexpected with Ozgur - but he did take a very nice mark and spear a pass or two into a leading forward. Recruiters worries that he won't get enough of the ball to have an impact won't be resolved here.

Meli - Really good today - Essendon will be very happy with how he performed - I thought he was the best small forward on the ground - and when Jed Lamb's at the other end that's a big compliment. Strong, athletic player who's truly two-footed, and was a constant presence leading up through half forward. He gets a bit of separation and he makes them pay because he has a big leap and strong hands.

The goal he drilled after the HT/3QT? siren on his left was phenomenal.

GIPPSLAND

Bugg - Underager who takes on players well - but just lacks a little bit of zip. He's an academy graduate - but i'd be unsure he'd make it. He was the wearer of the helmet.

Heppell - Was well held today and didn't have the impact of last week - but he's just class. Two or three times delievered into the leading forward and the ball just melted into their hands. He uses it exquisitely by foot.

Northe - Thumping left foot that's really good when he was time - but in this game he didn't get it too often. Tidy inside player but with just not quite enough strings to his bow.

McDonald - I liked his performance today - but how many 186 cm lead up forwards get drafted? Doesn't do enough when the ball hits the deck - but he's strong overhead and uses the ball pretty well - he made some routine errors today however.

Lamb - Was blanketed by Hunter today - but still got on the end of it a couple of times, and kicked a goal. In a word: enigmatic. Backs himself, oozes x-factor and he's a real danger on the lead, in the air and when the ball hits the deck. Concern over goal kicking after 1.5 last week, but was better - kicking 1.1

Pendlebury - If he gets drafted there's something I'm just not seeing. He's better than average above head and uses it well when he has time and space, but he doesn't find it often. I'd question fitness and desire.

Ross - He's a running half-back who reads the play really well and chops off countless attacks. Really good overhead. A lot of dash off the flank, but despite his pace, his kicking and decision making let him down today. I like the lad. There's a bit to like.

Marusic - Nice size. Reasonably quick - and stretched the Calder defence early with 2 1st quarter goals. The dribbling goal was a beauty - after that he was pretty well held - and I'm still a little concerned he's just a mark and kick forward.

Todd - He's one I like. He's good hands and pace, and provides a lot of dash. Disposal is only okay, and let him down a bit today - but he took a ripper mark and when Gippy looked good - he had a part in the play.

And on Isaac Smith - knew he wouldn't last too long as only my smokey. Ball use is still a bit of an issue - but he's got A LOT to like.

Thanks a lot for the write up TFLUA, your insight into most things draft related is first class, and much appreciated :thumbsu:

Thanks TF!
wondering how you viewed the performance of brandon ellis?
bottom age who played quite well in the second half of the season.. held his spot when the private boys returned and featured in the bests quite a few times..
few observations: completely agree with prestia, super player who will do damage at afl ranks.. hopefully his height isnt seen as too much of a detriment.
watson played quite well, solid all year and will go quite high. i personally have question marks over his willingness for the contested ball and body-on-the-line stuff, particularly for someone of his frame.
uysal: had a great year, quiet yesterday but only stepped into tac ranks this year and was really impressive.
wallis/liberatore: lucky for the dogs, wallis was incredible
daniher: re TF: im not sure he has what it takes? has his name contributed whatsoever? congratulations to the cannons, 6 in 10 is remarkable

i agree on watson cass1. i think he is racking it up and looking realy good because he is a monster compared to some of these undeveloped forwards. will get worked out in the afl i reckon once hes playing on men his size.

With West Coast already having a poor stock of talls plus with the delisting of Wilkes and Notte combined with the requested trades from Mckinley and Spangher, It looks as though WC are in desperate need for a quality tall!:thumbsu:

Darling, Gorringe or Lynch with pick 4?