Draft Watch

• Thread starter Thread starter _RT_

Thanks TF!
wondering how you viewed the performance of brandon ellis?
bottom age who played quite well in the second half of the season.. held his spot when the private boys returned and featured in the bests quite a few times..
few observations: completely agree with prestia, super player who will do damage at afl ranks.. hopefully his height isnt seen as too much of a detriment.
watson played quite well, solid all year and will go quite high. i personally have question marks over his willingness for the contested ball and body-on-the-line stuff, particularly for someone of his frame.
uysal: had a great year, quiet yesterday but only stepped into tac ranks this year and was really impressive.
wallis/liberatore: lucky for the dogs, wallis was incredible
daniher: re TF: im not sure he has what it takes? has his name contributed whatsoever? congratulations to the cannons, 6 in 10 is remarkable

Ellis is a reasonably stocky build - but I don't mind him off the HB. Reads play well, makes good decisions and moves better than his build suggests. Probably hurt by his disposal not having a real hurt-factor to it. It will be interesting if he stays on the HB or progresses into the middle.

Daniher's one I'm not too sure on - he'll take a lot of time and I'm not too certain that he's shown enough for a club to wait all that time for - but he's a massive unit - and he's quite a good tap ruckman.

He's relatively new to the game, so will learn, and I'd take a punt on him in the rookie draft - certainly.

i agree on watson cass1. i think he is racking it up and looking realy good because he is a monster compared to some of these undeveloped forwards. will get worked out in the afl i reckon once hes playing on men his size.

his footskills are brilliant, it must be said.. he has alot going for him. but yes, i think he'll definately need to work on such areas of the game and wont be able to compete initially with the big boys :thumbsu:

Ellis is a reasonably stocky build - but I don't mind him off the HB. Reads play well, makes good decisions and moves better than his build suggests. Probably hurt by his disposal not having a real hurt-factor to it. It will be interesting if he stays on the HB or progresses into the middle.

Daniher's one I'm not too sure on - he'll take a lot of time and I'm not too certain that he's shown enough for a club to wait all that time for - but he's a massive unit - and he's quite a good tap ruckman.

He's relatively new to the game, so will learn, and I'd take a punt on him in the rookie draft - certainly.

thanks mate.. probabaly a chance with the departures of wallis, prestia etc but will be interesting to see..

on daniher, personally think he doesnt have what it takes, but would be happy to be proven wrong.. have a feeling he's like laidley last yr,, persisted with due to the name. premiership player though, counts for something i guess :thumbsu:

Heppell - Was well held today and didn't have the impact of last week - but he's just class. Two or three times delievered into the leading forward and the ball just melted into their hands. He uses it exquisitely by foot.

Will he becoming to Punt Road?

I like the idea of drafting Tom Lynch to allow Griff to become the leading FF and allow JR to roam where he pleases. Think Lynchy could be a really good CHF but if Dyson Heppell is available at 6 I think i'd snap him up. Having Heppell's kicking and flexibility in the same side as Deledio would be awesome.

http://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/sp...-weighs-his-options-before-return-to-falcons/

saw this article on the west coast board

says Jack Darling very likely to end up at the gold coast which could be good news for richmond

wheather GCS will take him at pick 3,5,7 it is unknown but i have a feeling it could be 3 or 5. this means that its more likely Richmond will get there hands on heppell, atley or gorringe who would be the most needed players down at the club.

all depends on what WCE do at 4.

also says clubs looking at kayne pettifer lol:D:D

Lol this article is rubbish. Author says "Jack Darling is set to go to Gold Coast". Surely the author is just assuming given the number of picks they have.

I don't think they will take him before our pick...

praying heppel falls to us, deledio and heppel rotating between midfield and half back.

I reckon he will fall to us if gorringe goes to gold coast at 5 as i think atley will do really well at the combine giving people a reminder.

Apparently Polec is best on ground in the WWT SANFL prelim at half time with around 20 touches and .04. Good to have other players forcing themselves into contention.

Finished with 19 disposals 6 marks 3 tackles 4 I50's 3 behinds

Yeah I checked the official stats after the game on the net. I was listening to the radio cast and they must have got the numbers wrong.

17 touches and 0.3 to half time before being tagged out of the game.

I think the draft camp is a fair waste of time except for the beep test and also the interviews. Pretty much you need to know guys can run all day and also that they have a good head on their soldiers. Agility testing, leaps, speed ect can all be measured in the games they have played.

My prefernces for pick 6 in order are:

1. Heppell - Have not seen that much of him, but I like his footskills and a few people are saying he is a jet so I am kind of getting on the bandwagon. If he can play HBF and also mid then he is that versatile quick, tallish mid/hbf aka Deledio mould. Players that have versatility these days are golden..aka Goddard, Hodge, Deledio...

2. Smith - Think this kid will be an absolute jet of a player. Is quick and super strong, would compliment Cotchin and Martin beautifully imo.

3. Atley - Purely just to add more class to our midfield.

4. Caddy - I think he could potentially be the best mid of this draft. He isn't super flashy but is very much Jimmy Bartel type who will get it a heap, take grabs, do the hard stuff and kick goals.

5. Lynch - Again i have not seen too much of Lynch so hence why I have him at 5. Not sure if we need another tall but we probably do. If he did become a gun CHF and we passed you would be shattered considering pairing him with Riewoldt would be golden. TBH I like the kid who dominated for Calder in the GF Mitchell and hope to get him in the 20 range so I would be happy to pass here.

6. Polec - Gun outside mid, enough said.

Would be shattered if we took at ruck at pick 6. Mids have a greater influence unless you are Aaron Sandilands and hence why I think they are a waste of a top ten pick. E.g. Am stoked we have Cotchin instead of Kruezer and Kruezer is the best young ruck around. Gun mids or KPF win over anytime for me...

Fair point you make about ruckman amcre. I have jumped off the Gorringe bandwagon as I think there are too many question marks over him despite his athletic prowess.

My order atm is:

Heppell: kid is all class and versatile and is a super kick on both sides which we sorely need. Body ready for senior footy.

Lynch: I think Griff might be more of a leading full forward as he isn't known for endurance and with Lynch at CHF JR can do what he likes where he likes and not be double/triple teamed. Lynch's speed and agility seems impressive which is a massive bonus for such a tall kid but he will take some time to fill out.

Atley: I think he is going to be a really solid player. Won't win games off his own boot but is quick, agile, hard, clean and can kick. Could play half back, midfield, wing. Also has a body ready for senior footy.

after that I'd consider Polec but I'm not convinced good sides need outside players. The Cats don't really have any outside mids and the Saints outside mids, Peake, Dal Santo and even Montagna weren't great in the heat of the GF. Couple that with reports from people that claim to know him that he is a tool is enough to steer me clear of him as we are finally building a good culture down at the RFC

Smith just doesn't do it for me as his kicking lets him down. His vision just reminds me of Shane Tuck with pace. The kid is a specialist at hacking it forward and I think with Jacko, Cotch, Martin and Tuck in the side we have the specialist inside mid covered.

I think pick 6 is too high for Caddy but he is impressive. I am also doubtful about your strategy of picking up Luke Mitchell in the 20's considering we haven't got a pick in the 20's and we're not guaranteed to get one.

just had a look at heppell on youtube against sa

there are alot of comments that liken him to either delidio or goddard but i cant see it looks very much like a daisy thomas type to me !

just had a look at heppell on youtube against sa

there are alot of comments that liken him to either delidio or goddard but i cant see it looks very much like a daisy thomas type to me !
Maybe just the hair style haha.

Either Jared Polec is a massive unit or he is trying to slide to Port or the Crows.

Jared Polec...

In his own words
What type of player are you?
I am a long left footed wingman who is efficient going inside 50 and kicking at goals. My work rate around the ground is good and my defensiveness is one in a million.

Which AFL player do you feel you resemble, and why?
The way I play is more a Stephen Hill-type player with the run and carry and an explosive left foot.

What are your strengths as a footballer?
My strengths are my run and carry, my work rate and competitiveness around the ground. My cleanness is great and my kicking is very efficient.

What parts of your game would you like to improve?
The parts in my game I want to improve are my tackling and set shots at goal.

Which AFL team do you support and how did you come to barrack for them?
I barrack for the Power and the way I showed that was by being a member and having their merchandise.

Who has been the biggest influence on your career so far, and why?
My parents got me into football at a very young age. They have supported me from day one.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/102361/default.aspx

Either Jared Polec is a massive unit or he is trying to slide to Port or the Crows.

Jared Polec...

In his own words
What type of player are you?
I am a long left footed wingman who is efficient going inside 50 and kicking at goals. My work rate around the ground is good and my defensiveness is one in a million.

Which AFL player do you feel you resemble, and why?
The way I play is more a Stephen Hill-type player with the run and carry and an explosive left foot.

What are your strengths as a footballer?
My strengths are my run and carry, my work rate and competitiveness around the ground. My cleanness is great and my kicking is very efficient.

What parts of your game would you like to improve?
The parts in my game I want to improve are my tackling and set shots at goal.

Which AFL team do you support and how did you come to barrack for them?
I barrack for the Power and the way I showed that was by being a member and having their merchandise.

Who has been the biggest influence on your career so far, and why?
My parents got me into football at a very young age. They have supported me from day one.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/102361/default.aspx
What a w***er really dont want him now.