Draft Watch

• Thread starter Thread starter _RT_

Just a question reagarding the PSD. Are there any decent uncontracted players left? If not, then it may be best if Houli goes into that draft rather than the ND.

We could grab a prospect like Dowler with that pick. Would personally prefer Houli with the PSD and to use 46 on a kid.

Thought I would try and get a bit more discussion going with regards our first 4-5 picks and who people think we might take. I know its still early but given there isn't much else to talk about until the delistings are known, what else are we going to do.

Here are my early predictions for our first 5 picks, yes I've used the compo pick as I believe that we should use it now, while we have a pretty good idea as to who will be around that pick.

6. Andrew Gaff - every thinks that he'll be gone, but I reckon he'll be there and we'll jump at the chance to add a bloke who can run all day and can rack up disposals. Given all the talk about how we're trying to get guys with good endurance to play through the middle Gaff fits the bill to a tee, not only that but he does have some rather handy breakaway speed as well. To me we can't lose if Gaff falls to 6.

Compo Pick. Ben Jacobs - Now I know that plenty here are on the bank the compo pick bandwagon, me I'm on the spend them while you've got it. Jacobs to me is an ideal pick up. Can play anywhere from the backline to the F50 and knows how to find the pill to boot.

29. Viv Michie - Another midfield type who can push forward, has good disposal and can kick goals. At 185cm he fits the type of midfielder I'd like to see us target.

46. Luke Mitchell - I reckon there is a chance we could pick this kid up here. Yes he had a great TAC GF, but due to his injury concerns during the year he could slide into the mid 40's.

50. Anton Hamp - Took a shine to this kid early on when I thought he would be a handy midsized forward, has since grown 4cm and now comes in at 193cm so adds to our KPP stocks.

No way Mitchell will slide to 46 after his grand final.

For me:

6 - Assuming Heppell is gone.

(1) Tom Lynch - Big unit, who is a terrific mover and athlete for his size. Has a good motor, chases and tackle, and will roam up and down the field gathering touches. Pretty raw - and didn't dominate this year - but there's a lot of potential, and he's got the ability to tear games apart.
(2)Jared Polec - evasive, possesses an effortless step and uses the ball really well. He's found quite a bit of it at SANFL level - those who think he can't find enough of it would be starting to reconsider.

Issues about his mentality (nothing concrete), and a reliance on his dominant left the main worries.

Compo
(1) Ben Newton - Classy midfielder who has great disposal, and isn't afraid to run and carry. He's a lefty like Polec, and has good contested marking, and is clean in traffic. Has no troubles burrowing under packs and retrieving the ball. He's very inside/out. Issues: gets caught a bit - a tendency to try and get onto his left.
(2) Josh Green - Nuggety midfielder who breaks the lines, and evades opposition with ease. Arches the back and streaks away. He's comfortable in traffic, and his disposal is neat. Lacks a bit of penetration, isn't the most piercing, but it hits targets and won't be a big issue. Clean round goals, doesn't miss. Midfielder who can play inside/out and then chime in with goals is exactly what we want.
(3) Luke Mitchell

29:
(1)Patrick Karnezis - Lead up forward in the ROK mold - but taller. He's got great mobility, gets lots of his marks leading to the right spots and out-thinking/moving his opponent. Not the strongest overhead/defensive pressure needs a little work, but he makes superb decisions and his disposal is pretty good. Dangerous around goals. I really like him.
(2) Luke Mitchell - Big gorilla full-forward who outbodies his opponents, and is strong on the lead. There's a few kinks to iron out - but he's a really nice size, and he contests well in the air. Kicking at goal is a bit hit and miss. A little bi inconsistent, but great when he's up and about.
(3) Dion Prestia

Will write up 46 and 50 later on.

99% certain compo pick in 2012.

biggest concern is if our 2nd round pick will be there due to brisbane (i think). 1st and 3rd pretty confident.

wonder if this changes there mind as to using compo pick this year? compo pick trumps 2nd rounder brisbane got off gc.

Thought I would try and get a bit more discussion going with regards our first 4-5 picks and who people think we might take. I know its still early but given there isn't much else to talk about until the delistings are known, what else are we going to do.

Here are my early predictions for our first 5 picks, yes I've used the compo pick as I believe that we should use it now, while we have a pretty good idea as to who will be around that pick.

6. Josh Caddy - Ok, I'm basing this on Tigs inside word more than anything else, as personally I'd prefer Gaff, either way I don't think we'd lose too much.

Compo Pick. Ben Jacobs - Now I know that plenty here are on the bank the compo pick bandwagon, me I'm on the spend them while you've got it. Jacobs to me is an ideal pick up. Can play anywhere from the backline to the F50 and knows how to find the pill to boot.

29. Viv Michie - Another midfield type who can push forward, has good disposal and can kick goals. At 185cm he fits the type of midfielder I'd like to see us target.

46. Luke Mitchell - I reckon there is a chance we could pick this kid up here. Yes he had a great TAC GF, but due to his injury concerns during the year he could slide into the mid 40's.

50. Anton Hamp - Took a shine to this kid early on when I thought he would be a handy midsized forward, has since grown 4cm and now comes in at 193cm so adds to our KPP stocks.

thinking that caddy might be more solid than the player they are looking at. pitt/harper maybe. that could be the shock for everyone. west coast will take gaff anyway so thats out of our hands i think

biggest concern is if our 2nd round pick will be there due to brisbane (i think). 1st and 3rd pretty confident.

wonder if this changes there mind as to using compo pick this year? compo pick trumps 2nd rounder brisbane got off gc.

Very smart move on the compo. I seen somewhere only the compo for Rischaof Brisbane is ahead of us so we used get a good selection in 2012-2014 depending on whatever happens

I'd take the Compo in 2012 too - I was just speculating.

I think regardless of whether we're set, I'll continue to speculate about who we'll take and discuss who I like - I've watched a bit of juniors and have my favourites. Draft talk is fascinating.

No way Mitchell will slide to 46 after his grand final.
No harm in wishing and a praying. :D

If he was gone before 46, I wouldn't mind moving Hamp up and taking someone like Daniel Farmer at 50.

Can people tell me what they see in Caddy? From what i have seen, he doesn't look very impressive, each of our own i supose. Anyway from what I have seen, who i would like at pick 6 would look like this.

Heppel - Really like what i have seen and heard of Dyson, would work with Deledio and could rotate with him off half back and midfield.
Polec - I think Polec could play off a left wing in the future, with a massive kick, could give Jack some more one on one chances.
Harper - I saw some vision on Kieren last night and was very impressed, Could even go into the midfield imo really smart around goals. Would prefer him to play as a HFF but could switch into the midfield when Trent needs a break. Really nice kick and i saw really impressed with his defensive presure and can hold a tackle.
I am also hoping that either Mitch Hallahan or Seb Tape slides to our second pick.

Polec is basically all highlights. He's a joy to watch. He just makes it look so effortless as he runs down the wing, sells some candy to a would-be tackler, runs i50 and drills a goal.

Caddy I don't think is what we need. The one area of our list that we are 100% set for is inside midfielders. He can play forward as well, but if we were looking for a goalkicker there is obviously better options at that pick. His kicking isn't great either, especially from contests where he tends to prefer the old Shane Tuck kick-n-pray. Great handballing skills though, if he took the Jobe Watson route he could still be super damaging. Reminds me of Cotchin without the outside ability.

Obviously Heppell and Gaff should be snapped up if either are at our pick but unforunately that looks unlikely.

Polec is basically all highlights. He's a joy to watch. He just makes it look so effortless as he runs down the wing, sells some candy to a would-be tackler, runs i50 and drills a goal.

Caddy I don't think is what we need. The one area of our list that we are 100% set for is inside midfielders. He can play forward as well, but if we were looking for a goalkicker there is obviously better options at that pick. His kicking isn't flash either, especially from contests where he tends to prefer the old Shane Tuck kick-n-pray. Great handballing skills though, if he took the Jobe Watson route he could still be super damaging.

Obviously Heppell and Gaff should be snapped up if either are at our pick but unforunately that looks unlikely.

The joy to watch stuff is a bit over the top particularly after looking at those sprayed kicks for goal. Cotch is a joy to watch and a class above this guy. As for selling Candy, someone with half a brain will call his bluff and shoulder him through the ribcage and that will be the end of that!!!

The think what surprised me was "one in a million comment" Either, someone got in his ear, he is a dickead, or he is one out of the box which, from what I have seen, is unlikely but it is too early to tell. I think if someone picks him up he may play off a half back line or forward line due to his marking and speed!

What didn't impress you about Caddy? If you're basing your opinion solely off highlights, Polec is certainly near the bottom of the totem pole.
Nothing impressed me, He doesnt seem to have good skills and although he goes in hard for the ball i didnt really see anything to suggest he does alot with it and damages the opposition. Thats were i think Harper would be a good player and would replace Andy Collins in a heart beat and does alot of defencive work aswell as getting a bit of the ball and useing it well. Harper's highlights would have to be the best imo.

those that done rate caddy, have you actually seen him play?

his performance in the final game of the championships was very impressive.

his kicking is the only worry, but i think its the result of being rushed rather then poor skills, as his finishing skills are actually very good.

I read we're banking the pick, should use it this year IMO. Given what I'm hearing we would get another good prospect in the late 20's and get a couple of years development into him now, especially since they are aiming for finals in 2012 onwards. Even if they bank it it's at best pick 19 most likely only early 20's given other clubs will bank their picks. Doesn't make sense to me.

Was hoping we got another pick or 2 in the top 30 or 40 at the trade table somehow to give us an advantage of some other teams. This draft sounds like a ripper.

those that done rate caddy, have you actually seen him play?

his performance in the final game of the championships was very impressive.

his kicking is the only worry, but i think its the result of being rushed rather then poor skills, as his finishing skills are actually very good.

I have - and I like him - but not for a top ten pick.

He ticks most of the boxes - in fact - all but one.

He's tough, aware, clean, a good decision maker and a good contested mark; but his kicking just doesn't cut the mustard.

You're right that's it not it's not a technical problem - but his technique becomes sloppy and his disposal misses targets when he's rushed. The time he has to execute his skills becomes shorter in the AFL - and I'm not sure how much improvement he has there.

Somone made a Watson comparison, and they're right - developing like Jobe is his most likely method to become a gun.

To me the box he doesn't tick is the biggest box of all.

People will talk about him going forward - but he's a midfielder - sure he's good overhead and can kick a goal - but he'll not play as a forward at AFL. It's a bonus - you won't elevate him to top 10 because he has a second string.

I don't understand how he's much better than Wallis?

im not a huge junior watcher & this year have only seen the youtube stuff of the candidates.

but from what i have watched ( which is very little i might add)
i would be going if available

1.Day
2.Heppel
3.Atley
4.Gorringe

dont like what i have seen of lynch from what i have watched.

Assuming Heppell is gone

Pick 6.

1. Polec - Fast and goal kicking wingman and is unlike any other player we have on our list. X-Factor and an explosive left foot.

2. Lynch - Athletic CHF who is agile and a very good grab. Hard worker and can run all day, Kicks goals as well as creating them and move like a midfielder in traffic.

Let's just say this pick comes into play.
Compo Pick/Pick 29

1.Green - Criminally underrated on BF. Is a leader with neat disposal, break away pace and good finishing skills. Has heaps of courage and no trouble finding the ball and punishing the opposition.

2. Tape - Utility backman who is just as comfortable shutting down a key forward as he is running the ball out of defense. At 190 he can play tall or small and love to run and carry the ball out of defense. Captained SA in the championships this year.

3. Harper - Was very expressive last year prior to his hip injury and has struggled to build his fitness base ever since. Can play anywhere on the ground but this year he has been very Jeckle and Hyde and it's hard to gauge whether injury is the cause. I would understand if we took him at 6 because his upside is enormous.

4.Mitchell - Big bodied CHF who is very hard to stop on the lead with sticky hands and is a reliable shot on goal. He finished his season brilliantly after fully recovering from shoulder surgery witch hampered the majority of the 2010 season.

5. Parker - A running machine inside midfielder who can also go forward and kick goals with terrific ability overhead. Has a big body with great courage and work ethic combined above average disposal by hand and foot. Leaves it all on the field. Pace is the only downside. Think Bastinac.

Others = Lycett, Jacobs, Karnezis, Fasolo, Newton, Michie and Conca.

Pick 46.

1. Aaron Young - Athletic Hff/Mid who is very strong over head and is tough and courageous both inside and out. A goalkicker who is still perfecting his kicking but his Combine results suggests he is working very hard on that.

2. Farmer - Strong bodied half forward who is fast and has a strong defensive game. Very good skills by foot to go with goal awareness and I could see him developing into a midfielder one building a fitness base...Richmond supporter too.

3. Batley - HBF/Mid who is is a good at working his way through traffic and is reliable by foot, very competitive and has outstanding pace. Also tested very well at the combine.

Pick 50.

1. Jonathon Giles - Have to admit I have never seen him play but he apparently is the best ruckman not playing AFL. Ex Port Adelaide listed player who is dominating in the SANFL at 22 years of age. Is at the perfect stage of his development to come into our side and improve an area we are lacking in.

2. Hickey - Agile team orientated ruckman who can also contribute around the ground, Lays tackles and isn't a bad kick for a bloke his size. He was a stand out for me in a very average QLD champioship side.

3. Isaac Smith - Tall fast goal kicking wingman. a real excitement machine from what I saw of the VFL final. Loves to run and carry and has a very good tank. Tested well at the Vic state screening but just need to learn how to read the play better and find it more.

4. Isaiah Stevens - Another one I've never seen play. Indigenous tall forward for with a terrific leap and plenty of upside. He is very similar to Jurrah only much younger. Needs to find it more but improving fitness in an AFL environment should help.

Others - Reid, Crocker, O'shea, Batchelor, Otten and Gillbee

The more I read around the traps, the more I think that Atley ticks all the boxes that Dimma and co keep talking about.
Good skills, good decision making. Add to that he's been described as very quick off the mark.

The more I read around the traps, the more I think that Atley ticks all the boxes that Dimma and co keep talking about.
Good skills, good decision making. Add to that he's been described as very quick off the mark.
Except his kicking is questionable.

I personally think we will still get Heppell.

Just to remind a few people that Luke Parker last year beat both Scully and Bastinac in the Stringrays B&F. Alot of people down at the club this year thought he was a chance to go top 5, I think he has an injury last in the year.

thinking that caddy might be more solid than the player they are looking at. pitt/harper maybe. that could be the shock for everyone. west coast will take gaff anyway so thats out of our hands i think
Why do you say we won't be taking Heppel even if available tisg2010? I like the look of Harper a lot... Pitt is a bit of a rake though. He's about 2 or 3 cm shorter than me and around the same weight, and I'm considered a rake in normal society, let alone compared to AFL players. I'm sick of drafting rakes. Pitt will get snapped in half. If Caddy can't kick, forget about it.

I think, and hope, we'll go the same way as last year and pick up players from all over, not just the u18s. None of the phantom drafts for Richmond were anywhere near the mark last year because people were just basing it on the players they knew, which are usually u18s players with the same few mature ages thrown in. I hope the same thing happens this time around too.

Ize - I got Martin, Griffiths and Webberley last year.

Thought we'd take one of Houghton or Astbury at 35.

Some phantoms can be around the mark.