Draft Watch

• Thread starter Thread starter _RT_

This is exciting news if true. We would be totally justified taking Harper at six and I wouldn't be disappointed in the least. It's hard to find anyone else in the draft with more upside than this kid. As I've stated before he had plenty of runs on the board prior to this year with great skills, pace and a fantastic leap. Consistency has been his biggest issue but if they have been able to isolate that issue to his injury alone and the doctors give the all clear I'm all for it.

Wow, fantastic info here matty, really appreciated. Top stuff!

Which school is it? Must have a damn decent team there :D

Real happy to hear about Harper's attitude and focus. Would love to grab a skillful kid like him at 6, but you always worry that they're brain is as flashy as their game. Sounds like he's a good kid :thumbsu:

Guys what's the chance that we take Tom Lynch at 6 highly rated and huge upside and alot of people have linked him to us different type of player to Riewolt and Griffths the only thing that worrys me is that he's only played footy for 1 yr.With Grigg and Houli onboard we can afford to go KP at 6 and the at 30 go midfielder which there will be great options still and that wouldnt suprise me.

Wow, fantastic info here matty, really appreciated. Top stuff!

Which school is it? Must have a damn decent team there :D

Yarra Valley GS.

Guys what's the chance that we take Tom Lynch at 6 highly rated and huge upside and alot of people have linked him to us different type of player to Riewolt and Griffths the only thing that worrys me is that he's only played footy for 1 yr.With Grigg and Houli onboard we can afford to go KP at 6 and the at 30 go midfielder which there will be great options still and that wouldnt suprise me.

Lynch would be right in the mix I think DB with him and Gorringe being the best KPP in the draft after Day.

He's a fantastic reader of the play and the way he runs across the ground for such a tall player is very impressive. Great overhead and he can take some very good pack marks and doesn't shy away from the contest for some one who is still slight in body. His goal kicking ability is a standout as well with a very good set shot technique, He can dribble them in from the pocket or kick them from outside 50 into the wind.

But probably the part of his game that sets him aside from other KPP in this draft is his ability up the ground in traffic and to be able to deliver the ball inside 50 and create scoring opportunities for his team mates. He can baulk, sidestep, spin around midfielders and has clean hands to find a team mate. In Dandynong's last game of the finals he was being triple teamed by the Calder Cannons defense but he still found away to be influential on the game finishing with 3-4 assists and 1 goal.

Showing such rapid improvement for someone so "new" to this level of AFL is very encouraging, I'd imagine for pick 6 in the Tigers thoughts it would be who we think the best available mid is and Lynch in our calculations.

Yarra Valley GS.

Lynch would be right in the mix I think DB with him and Gorringe being the best KPP in the draft after Day.

He's a fantastic reader of the play and the way he runs across the ground for such a tall player is very impressive. Great overhead and he can take some very good pack marks and doesn't shy away from the contest for some one who is still slight in body. His goal kicking ability is a standout as well with a very good set shot technique, He can dribble them in from the pocket or kick them from outside 50 into the wind.

But probably the part of his game that sets him aside from other KPP in this draft is his ability up the ground in traffic and to be able to deliver the ball inside 50 and create scoring opportunities for his team mates. He can baulk, sidestep, spin around midfielders and has clean hands to find a team mate. In Dandynong's last game of the finals he was being triple teamed by the Calder Cannons defense but he still found away to be influential on the game finishing with 3-4 assists and 1 goal.

Showing such rapid improvement for someone so "new" to this level of AFL is very encouraging, I'd imagine for pick 6 in the Tigers thoughts it would be who we think the best available mid is and Lynch in our calculations.

That sounds impressive the write up on him bigtime!!!!!!!.The way I see it is that we got 2 midfielders in Grigg and Houli to add to the running and the rotations, so for me it would be Lynch at 6 and then at 30 midfielder.Would love Lynch he will take time to develop ,but huge upside.

Harper or Pitt with the first pick due to their superior kicking abilities would be a win...not sure who is a better player...Harper doesn't find the ball as much but probably has more x-factor.

WIth our second rounder I am confident there are going to be some gems around. For me I would be happy with one of:

Luke Mitchell (if we go big)
Green
Michie
Jacobs

If we pull one of these guys I would be stoked. Green is a gun and imo will play straight away, Michie is a class player to add to the middle, Jacobs has some serious footskills and can find the pill and Michell is 198cm athlete who can mark well. If we picked up Green or Michie and say Harper/Pitt/Atley or Polec with our first two picks our midfield should be set.

Cotchin, Martin, Foley, Deledio, Morton, Harper, Michie....lovin it!

Both Harper and Michie can play forward or in the midfield so could be an ideal drafting period for us as we need to replace guys like Matt White if we want to seriously go anywhere.

For our next pick I would be keen to get Groenawegan the Tassie ruckman and Max Otten. I think we need a ruckman and also think Max Otten is solid defender with good footskills.

high risk, high reward. very inconsistent, has all the skills however struggled to even get amongst the best players this year at eastern ranges with many players questioning why he was rated so highly

Sounds like some serious interest..... surely we wouldn't dine with every possibility at pick 29.

Sounds like Harper at 6 is a real possibility.

Cool with that:thumbsu: In fact, would be very excited.

Harper fits the exact description of the player that we are taking according to tigs2010 who knows one of our recruiters, wont give a name, just a playing description which is very similar to Harper...

That sounds impressive the write up on him bigtime!!!!!!!.The way I see it is that we got 2 midfielders in Grigg and Houli to add to the running and the rotations, so for me it would be Lynch at 6 and then at 30 midfielder.Would love Lynch he will take time to develop ,but huge upside.

Yeah I agree I'm a big fan, I'm a bit bias towards him though but he really does remind me of jarrad grant/ Nick Riewoldt the way he plays.

Guys, any chance of drafting Charles Riewoldt in any of the drafts? Surely you can see a Riewoldt combo up forward. Jack would be making a contest at the ball and BOOM Charles will crumb up the ball and GOAL!

I think charlie is only considered a rookie prospect & i personally dont think we will take him unless its a rookie pick. not very quick & very skinny by reports.

[youtube]XMMrj16d2BA[/youtube]

sorry guys, please dont crucify me for the following comments. that highlight package reminds me so much of justin sherman six years ago.
pick six this year is pretty crucial to the tiges going forward, i really do hope harper doesnt end up as another sherman.

Yeah I agree I'm a big fan, I'm a bit bias towards him though but he really does remind me of jarrad grant/ Nick Riewoldt the way he plays.

I would take him at 6 it doesnt look like other people share the same view??.As i said we got Grigg and Houli so take a midfielder at 30.Why do people want Harper at 6 he is not even rated in the top 10.

The only thing that puts me off about lynch is that I struggle to see how both he and Griffiths can fit in the same team. If they were both in team with Riewoldt it would be a very unique set up but I'm not sure how effective it would be.

I think the fascination with Harper is that when he is playing at his best he is very much a top 10 prospect, so his best game and his worst game are very far apart at this point. With his injuries this year, both hip surgery during the pre season and also appendix removal during the season which sidelined him for 6 weeks you'd have to wonder what he may have produced if he had been allowed the proper preparation and fitness needed. Certainly worth investigating that's for sure as he posses all the qualities we would be looking for in our first pick: Fantastic dual sided skills, goal kicking ability, x-factor/explosivness and an amazing leap to go with his overhead ability.

He was also already well regarded after having a very good 2009 season.

Pick 6. Harper
Pick 29. Luke Mitchell, Tom Lynch or Ben Jacobs
Pick 46.Isaac Smith
Pick 50. Tom SchniderPick 63.Charlie Riewoldt
Pick 80. A Ruckmen?
If the draft eventuated like this for Richmond would this be a successful draft?

The only thing that puts me off about lynch is that I struggle to see how both he and Griffiths can fit in the same team. If they were both in team with Riewoldt it would be a very unique set up but I'm not sure how effective it would be.

I think the fascination with Harper is that when he is playing at his best he is very much a top 10 prospect, so his best game and his worst game are very far apart at this point. With his injuries this year, both hip surgery during the pre season and also appendix removal during the season which sidelined him for 6 weeks you'd have to wonder what he may have produced if he had been allowed the proper preparation and fitness needed. Certainly worth investigating that's for sure as he posses all the qualities we would be looking for in our first pick: Fantastic dual sided skills, goal kicking ability, x-factor/explosivness and an amazing leap to go with his overhead ability.

Also loves to tackle and put on a sheppard.

Pretty easy I would have thought. I am not sure Griffiths can cover the ground agility wise like Lynch. So Lynch is more you HF and Griff you leading FF type. JR is your third tall kicking 100 goals between deep roaming and half forward at times.

JR is better as a third tall like Richo was always a wingman since the allies match whe he started out!!!. Our biggest problems are in the backline and midfield. Our small forwards have to improve as well.

Pretty easy I would have thought. I am not sure Griffiths can cover the ground agility wise like Lynch. So Lynch is more you HF and Griff you leading FF type. JR is your third tall kicking 100 goals between deep roaming and half forward at times.

JR is better as a third tall like Richo was always a wingman since the allies match whe he started out!!!. Our biggest problems are in the backline and midfield. Our small forwards have to improve as well.

The reason I am leaning to Lynch here is, if he is 199cm, comes from a basketball background, and has a reasonable leap he should be able to pinch hit the Ruck. So I see Lynch in a potentially more varied role. From what I have read and the website vision, nothing more, I am no guru, he is a punt but at 6 they all are punts and with references of his late start, quick progress, off GC radar last year, and work rate as well as disposal, I basically think he is worth the risk. He is a bit stringy at the moment, but if he fills out, he could be anything and you have to back you gut feel and belief in at some point as you can't win playing safe in anything including the selection table.

I think he is worth the punt because he may offer more than Gorringe, and we have some great midfielders on our list we will have plenty of opportunities to get some more midfielders in the next few years. It is far harder to extract tall and forward talent though!!

The reason I am leaning to Lynch here is, if he is 199cm, comes from a basketball background, and has a reasonable leap he should be able to pinch hit the Ruck. So I see Lynch in a potentially more varied role. From what I have read and the website vision, nothing more, I am no guru, he is a punt but at 6 they all are punts and with references of his late start, quick progress, off GC radar last year, and work rate as well as disposal, I basically think he is worth the risk. He is a bit stringy at the moment, but if he fills out, he could be anything and you have to back you gut feel and belief in at some point as you can't win playing safe in anything including the selection table.

I think he is worth the punt because he may offer more than Gorringe, and we have some great midfielders on our list we will have plenty of opportunities to get some more midfielders in the next few years. It is far harder to extract tall and forward talent though!!
people stop crapping on about lynch had his pants pulled down by watson always go 4 mids first pick talls round 3 or 4 wake up:thumbsd::rolleyes:

You build your teams spine first as that's the hardest and your rock that's my view.