Draft Watch

• Thread starter Thread starter _RT_

Just a quick note on Green.

Unsure about how keen we are on him, due to a slight lack of interest at the draft camp from our representatives. One of very few clubs to directly engage with him. However, if he falls to our second pick or if God is smiling on us our third pick, and we think he is the next best, the lack of contact becomes irrelevant. Doubt he will though.

If you know that we showed little interest in Green can you tell us who we did show interest in?

Must say watched the highlights of Polec and he looks awsome would play round 1 and looks similar to Hill from Freo.If we get Harper at 6 I wont be happy he isnit a top 10 pick and Polec,Atley,Heppel and Gaff ahead of him.Still love Tom Lynch tho at 6.

I am thinking Lynch is it. I just have that feeling . He must be better than Mitchell due to his endurance. I just think the guy could have those champo intangibles, mix with Marto, Cotch and JR and look out.

I like Steinberg for pick 2(4th tall). I really rate this guy from the vision and has the characteristics that suggest bigger thing/plays smaller agile forward. Apparently, I read he wasn't slow so these two would make a big difference for me.

I wouldn't rule out a clever medium forward in Karnezis or Young at our 2nd pick. I think 29 is a bit of a reach for Wilson and surely Mitchell will be gone by then but if not I'd jump at the chance.

I'd jump at Karnezis with our second round unless there was another unexpected slider.

Obviously it's hard to predict who will be there but Karnezis a) fits our needs extremely well, adding some much needed goalkicking ability as well as some real forward nous and creativity (not to mention a good size), and b) would probably be best available at our pick anyway.

Think he'll be gone by our pick anyway, though.

I'd jump at Karnezis with our second round unless there was another unexpected slider.

Obviously it's hard to predict who will be there but Karnezis a) fits our needs extremely well, adding some much needed goalkicking ability as well as some real forward nous and creativity (not to mention a good size), and b) would probably be best available at our pick anyway.

Think he'll be gone by our pick anyway, though.

I agree Spluff he's a chance to get to our pick I think because teams will be reluctant to use a first rounder on a half forward. It's those comp and priority picks that are the killer I think.

I'd really like to walk away from the draft with him one of Young, Farmer to help complete our forward like.

I'm a massive Karnezis man - I'd be taking a serious look at him with 29.

Folester - have PM'ed Swannies (great WA poster) to give you a Yarran wrap.

He's a pretty good bloke - so I imagine he'll only be too eager to cobble a few words together.

TFLUA-TIGER, you truly are hopping between Victoria and Tasmania.

Do we think there is any chance we will target a ruckman for the draft? Or would this only occur if Gorringe were to drop well below what is expected?

I am thinking Lynch is it. I just have that feeling . He must be better than Mitchell due to his endurance. I just think the guy could have those champo intangibles, mix with Marto, Cotch and JR and look out.

I like Steinberg for pick 2(4th tall). I really rate this guy from the vision and has the characteristics that suggest bigger thing/plays smaller agile forward. Apparently, I read he wasn't slow so these two would make a big difference for me.

Ran into big Tommy Lynch the other day in Blairgowrie...an imposing figure for a young fella.

Been doing a bit more reading and here is my latest wishlist for the National draft:

6. Jayden Pitt - 188cm 72kg forward/midfielder from Geelong Falcons.
Really like this kid as the perfect addition to our midfield rotation. Has great kicking skills off both sides, can take a solid grab and has the ability to run and carry. I realise he is a bit skinny at the moment, but given the way he plays I don't think its going to hurt him too much.

29. Ben Jacobs - 186cm 82kg defender/midfielder from Sandringham.
Another very good ball user. Can slot into the backline and free up either Lids or Connors to move into the midfield. In time could move into the midfield himself as he has shown that he can find the pill rather easily.

46 Sam Crocker - 180cm 73kg forward/midfielder from Oakleigh.
Once again I've gone for a kid who has an elite kick. While he is a bit skinny he can win his own footy and when he gets it can break the lines.

50. Jake Batchelor - 187cm 82kg defender/midfielder from Dandenong.
Has good size, great hands and reads the play well. Can do the job in a 1-1 role but can also get free to set up rebound from defence. Won Dandenongs B&F this year playing across HB.

63. Jonathan Giles - 200cm 100kg ruckman from Sturt.
The best ruckman in the SANFL. Averaged 30 hitouts a game this year, as well as a goal a game. Initially drafted by Port in 05, he has gone back and developed his game. At 22 he would be perfect for our young ruck division and midfield.

Rookie Elevation pick: David Gourdis seems odds on to be elevated to the senior list. Shown enough in his 3 games to warrant it. Adds another KPP to the list as well.

Summary:
Might surprise some that I haven't gone for any KPPs but I don't think we're that desperate for them at this stage. We've got Jack Griffiths Post & Vickery who can all play KPF. Down back there is Astbury Gourdis McGuane & Thursfield who can play KPD. We also have Westhoff in development and look to be getting Miller in as well who will both be on the rookie list. Thats 10 KPPs on the list and I get the feeling that we might add Lawton in the rookie draft as well.

Instead I went for the option of building some depth in our midsized players with our first 4 picks. All 4 are good users of the pill and provide some real run and carry. Our last pick I went for some ruck depth because face it we lose 1-2 of Graham Vickery or Browne and we're in deep shit.

Summary:
Might surprise some that I haven't gone for any KPPs but I don't think we're that desperate for them at this stage. We've got Jack Griffiths Post & Vickery who can all play KPF. Down back there is Astbury Gourdis McGuane & Thursfield who can play KPD. We also have Westhoff in development and look to be getting Miller in as well who will both be on the rookie list. Thats 10 KPPs on the list and I get the feeling that we might add Lawton in the rookie draft as well.

And you can add Grimes to that list :thumbsu:

Been doing a bit more reading and here is my latest wishlist for the National draft:

Really like this kid as the perfect addition to our midfield rotation. Has great kicking skills off both sides, can take a solid grab and has the ability to run and carry. I realise he is a bit skinny at the moment, but given the way he plays I don't think its going to hurt him too much.

Another very good ball user. Can slot into the backline and free up either Lids or Connors to move into the midfield. In time could move into the midfield himself as he has shown that he can find the pill rather easily.

Once again I've gone for a kid who has an elite kick. While he is a bit skinny he can win his own footy and when he gets it can break the lines.

Has good size, great hands and reads the play well. Can do the job in a 1-1 role but can also get free to set up rebound from defence. Won Dandenongs B&F this year playing across HB.

The best ruckman in the SANFL. Averaged 30 hitouts a game this year, as well as a goal a game. Initially drafted by Port in 05, he has gone back and developed his game. At 22 he would be perfect for our young ruck division and midfield.

Rookie Elevation pick: David Gourdis seems odds on to be elevated to the senior list. Shown enough in his 3 games to warrant it. Adds another KPP to the list as well.

Summary:

Instead I went for the option of building some depth in our midsized players with our first 4 picks. All 4 are good users of the pill and provide some real run and carry. Our last pick I went for some ruck depth because face it we lose 1-2 of Graham Vickery or Browne and we're in deep shit.

I thin our KPP are iffy and that is the problem. ATM I have the line through McGuane and Thursfield. If they improve it may change but, at their age, improvement would be minimal I assume. Gourdis is iffy for me but I would keep him as young and atheletic ability and can develop. I like Grimes(backline), Post(swingman from the bacline/bench, Astbury CHB and potential swingman,

This where I would pick up Lynch and Steinberg for half forward.Hopefully, Griff can stand up and play FF beating off the injuries. JR do the Carey role deeper from the forward pocket.

I would eventually have Vickery with Griff, Lynch and Post rotating through the Ruck thus no need for a secondary ruckman !!!

Also I read somewhere one compared Mitchell to Griff so can't have two of same type in on side usually if Griff stands up

grabbed this from PRE.
Inside Footy top 12

1, 2 ,3 - GC - Swallow, Bennell and Day

4 - WCE - Gaff

5 - BRIS - Polec

6 - RICH - Heppell

7 - GC - Atley

8 - ESS - Gorringe

9 - GC - Lynch

10- GC - Caddy

11 - GC - Smedts

12 - MEL - Darling

I'm a massive Karnezis man - I'd be taking a serious look at him with 29.

Folester - have PM'ed Swannies (great WA poster) to give you a Yarran wrap.

He's a pretty good bloke - so I imagine he'll only be too eager to cobble a few words together.

And he's come up with the goods.

swannies said:
Don't know a lot about Hayden Yarran but I became 'sold' watching him in the WAFL U23 All Stars match.

Had a heavily strapped knee, but he has a good turn of speed and a very good lead and mark. Vertical leap was good and reads the play very well. Kicking is very good. Seems to have longish arms so plays taller than the 175-180cm height that he stands.
Style like, do you remember Steven Koops? I've been racking my brain who he reminds me of and that's who it is.

Would expect him to go 50+ - rookie.

Hopefully that helps you a bit.

Gee guys how good would it of been if we had another pick in the mid teens.
really starting to warm to kieran harper but feel could be a fair reach at 6 for him but if we had 12-14. heppell & harper in the same draft would of been nice.

TFLUA-TIGER, you truly are hopping between Victoria and Tasmania.

Do we think there is any chance we will target a ruckman for the draft? Or would this only occur if Gorringe were to drop well below what is expected?

Haha yeah mate - Over footy season I'm predominately in Victoria - but I see a bit of Tassie footy - know some some of the boys.

Planning to get an intricate DVD system going where I'm able to see games from every corner of the country - we'll see how it goes.

I think if Lycett dropped to 29 we'd jump all over him - I don't think we'll go Gorringe at 6.

Hickey could be in the frame at 29, and others I'd look at later would be Phillips and Cope, etc.

Haha yeah mate - Over footy season I'm predominately in Victoria - but I see a bit of Tassie footy - know some some of the boys.

Planning to get an intricate DVD system going where I'm able to see games from every corner of the country - we'll see how it goes.

I think if Lycett dropped to 29 we'd jump all over him - I don't think we'll go Gorringe at 6.

Hickey could be in the frame at 29, and others I'd look at later would be Phillips and Cope, etc.

I would rather go for someone like cope or giles from sa with pick 63 depending who our recruiters rate higher & use 29 either a top midfielder that slides or cook or mitchell.

Ideally Giles with 63 & Rookie cope.

If Lycett is at 29 we'd be mad not to.

I prefer Phillips to Cope myself.

I'm fairly sure hickey has been picked up by goldcoast as one of there zone selections.

Also what are your thoughts on Tim Northe as from his video clip he looked a bit like green who you seem to rate highly.

That would be ideal and i could live with getting pitt if it meant the other players mentioned. I also dont mind pitt i just dont think his worth pick 6.

I'm fairly sure hickey has been picked up by goldcoast as one of there zone selections.

Also what are your thoughts on Tim Northe as from his video clip he looked a bit like green who you seem to rate highly.

I posted my thoughts on Northe earlier somewhere.

I'd say he's not at all like Green - except maybe for the build. But that's where similarities end.

He's reliant on his left peg - doesn't have the pace of Green, and certainly isn't anywhere near as dangerous around goals.

Post 863 is where I rambled on about Northe.

That would be ideal and i could live with getting pitt if it meant the other players mentioned. I also dont mind pitt i just dont think his worth pick 6.
I am warming to pitt.
Leon Cameron type who will deliver the ball exquisitely.
I would not be unhappy if we used pick 6 on him.