Draft Watch

• Thread starter Thread starter _RT_

Tom Lynch played in that game and kicked 3 goals. How did he play. 196cm CHF. alot of people are saying he is climbing to be a top 8 pick
I would be interested in your thoughts

He looked alright actually.. didnt get it heaps but presented quite well for a raw looking fella. nice hands, decent kick and from what i could tell, pretty handy below his knees :thumbsu:
top 8 may be stretching it but ive only seen him play in a couple.. fair bit of potential by the looks of things anyway

TFL Tiger whats your thoughts on Matthew Watson 194cm and 99kg Key Defender and kicked 5 playing for Calder as a Forward.

Will this kid last to our second round pick? would the club be interested in him considering our plethora of backmen.

I watched him play in the last game of the champs and from memory played as a Key Defender and kept Darling to 1-2 goals, also is a superb kick.

yeah was named full-back in the 2010 all-australian team after really strong performances in the nat. champs.. he has sublime kicking skills and pretty solid hands
unrelated, but the nephew of steven alessio..
the 5 goals is a good sign, though they won by 100 points, the variety to his game is obviously a plus. possible 2nd :confused: could slip a bit though?

I have been doing some reading from the Draft board and a name that impressed me quite a bit was Josh Caddy. Seems to have a few of those midfield attributes that we would be interested in. Can collect his own ball but also has the abillity to kick goals from the midfield, something we sort of lack atm (although i think martin and cotchin will beconme better at this)

So any thoughts on Caddy?

TFL Tiger whats your thoughts on Matthew Watson 194cm and 99kg Key Defender and kicked 5 playing for Calder as a Forward.

Will this kid last to our second round pick? would the club be interested in him considering our plethora of backmen.

I watched him play in the last game of the champs and from memory played as a Key Defender and kept Darling to 1-2 goals, also is a superb kick.

Also watched Harper in that same match and was very very impressed with him kicked 4 classy goals and can play high HFF/Mid.

Watson has no chance of being there for our second round pick, in my opinion. I'd be fairly confident he won't get past Carlton's first pick.

If he was there at the second round, you'd leap all over him.

He looked alright actually.. didnt get it heaps but presented quite well for a raw looking fella. nice hands, decent kick and from what i could tell, pretty handy below his knees :thumbsu:
top 8 may be stretching it but ive only seen him play in a couple.. fair bit of potential by the looks of things anyway

Yeah - where the players all sit is interesting at this early stage - and I'm not even going to attempt to narrow it down.

Somewhere between 8-20 for Lynch I reckon - but maybe mid-teens?

if by some strange freak of nature/universe day does slide to pick 6 we would have to have rocks in our heads not to take him.
Well there are some factors that could make it a very slight possibility...Day's the only player that remotely excites me from this batch so far (that might not go to GC that is)... just hope Hardwick hasn't got his blinkers on with this "outside mid need" if it did happen....could potentially be Tambling/Franklin all over again....:o

Yeah - where the players all sit is interesting at this early stage - and I'm not even going to attempt to narrow it down.

Somewhere between 8-20 for Lynch I reckon - but maybe mid-teens?

very much agree with TFLUA in this one !

either watson or lynch will be at tanktown next year, they are deperate for both kpf & kpb and will need to adress this situation in this draft cant possibly afford to go best available again............ very much needs based for the tankers this year me thinks.

no way would hardwick or cameron let day go past us with pick 6
hardwick knows well & truly how effective 2 kpf can be.
though i believe we need to select 2 mids with our first 2 picks this year with the 1st being atley if available if not polec ............. dont want gaff something fiora ish about this kid

day would be prority

also tflua whats your thoughts of the kid hardigan i believe thats a kpd that was overlooked last year that playing well in the vfl this year
do you thing he would be a good selection with our 3rd or prefer 4th selection as i believe we will trade out 1 of thursty,moore,mcguane

Well there are some factors that could make it a very slight possibility...Day's the only player that remotely excites me from this batch so far (that might not go to GC that is)... just hope Hardwick hasn't got his blinkers on with this "outside mid need" if it did happen....could potentially be Tambling/Franklin all over again....:o

From everything that I have read I think the top 3 is pretty set - Swallow, Bennell, Day with the top 6 being rounded out with 3 of Atley, Gorringe, Gaff, Polec.

Personally I'm hoping for Gaff. The introduction of the interchange cap will make him very effective due to his massive endurance/workrate. He will complement the inside qualities of Cotch, Dusty and Axle really well and is in effect a good replacement for the hardrunning Cousins. If he's gone wouldn't complain a bit if we ended up with Atley or Polec though.

Gorringe is really intersting. Think he will go at 5 as if the GC want him they will know that WC wont take him as they are in desperate need of skilled mids. If he's there at 6 though we could have a potential Mitch Clark on our hands... is the risk worth it? Who knows.

I think Gaff is a surer bet, certainly - but Polec isn't incredibly risky as such - he's got insane hurt factor when he puts the ball on his boot, and evasive skills Shane Edwards would be proud of.

He needs to get his hands on it more and build a big tank - but all the raw ingredients are there.

You've got to keep in mind that us humble Mock Drafters aren't presented with the same data or chances to get to know the kids that the AFL clubs are - but Polec is my kid of the draft.

Will I take him in the real thing when I take on our list needs? I'm not sure.

I'm with you on this one TFLUA. Reminds me a little of the Rich v Hill debates a few years back. Polec has that potential IMO. He's beginning to be my prefered preference unless someone like Pitt sets the TAC finals on fire in the next few weeks.

I think we'd be silly not to try and get one of GC's 2nd or 3rd round picks for one/any of Tuck/Jackson/Polo/White/Thursfield. Those mentioned players would be valuable for GC's list and if hypothetically we're playing in a grand final in 4 years, I'd tip that none would be in our team. I guess it all depends on other targets they're chasing via trade.

Our list is better than a lot of people give it credit for. We should be drafting best available for the majority of our picks. I'd like us to have 6-7 picks and hopefully use at least 1 on a mature age player.

also tflua whats your thoughts of the kid hardigan i believe thats a kpd that was overlooked last year that playing well in the vfl this year
do you thing he would be a good selection with our 3rd or prefer 4th selection as i believe we will trade out 1 of thursty,moore,mcguane[/quote]

hope not :cool:
too slow, very unagile

Just throwing this out there for discussion.

Would it be worth throwing McGuane and pick 6 at GC for picks 11 and 13 or 15.

That way we get 2 first rounders and I think it is pretty even. We could draft say Caddy and Parker or Harper???

Just throwing this out there for discussion.

Would it be worth throwing McGuane and pick 6 at GC for picks 11 and 13 or 15.

That way we get 2 first rounders and I think it is pretty even. We could draft say Caddy and Parker or Harper???

Wouldn't it be better to offer 2nd Rounder + Luke for one of there first rounders?

Well that is obviously the first option but not sure if it will work. I personally don't think McGuane is good enough to carry a 15 pick upgrade into the first round.

Maybe I was too generou maybe pick 6 and McGuane for 11 and 13 or 9 and 13.

Would be very tempting for GC to have 5 of the top 6 picks in the draft, from a marketing point of view as well as a football point of view.

Just thought I would throw it out there....this kind of thing worked for us before. We wanted Riewoldt and downgraded pick 8 for pick 13 and got both Polak (unfortunatley that didn't work) and Riewoldt (luckyily..apparently Francis Jackson was not happy we were risking it).

Probably depends whether or not FJ is keen on a number of players in the top 15 and thinks it is even or if he has his heart set on Gaff or Atley.

Pick 6 and McGuane for Toy and pick 11/13/15 would be more desirable.

On the Riewoldt/Polak thing, we also gave up pick 42 in that strong draft as part of the deal, with which we could have taken Bachar Houli, Kyle Reimers, Brad Dick, Brennan Stack, Colin Garland, David Mackay, Will Schofield, Robbie Gray, Lindsay Thomas, Gary Moss or Simon Hogan - all taken between pick 42 and our next pick at 58. So I'd say it was a risky piece of smart-arsery that cost us a possible best-22 player and risked us losing our first-round preference, just to get a bloke who wasn't getting a game at his original club.

Pick 6 and McGuane for Toy and pick 11/13/15 would be more desirable.

On the Riewoldt/Polak thing, we also gave up pick 42 in that strong draft as part of the deal, with which we could have taken Bachar Houli, Kyle Reimers, Brad Dick, Brennan Stack, Colin Garland, David Mackay, Will Schofield, Robbie Gray, Lindsay Thomas, Gary Moss or Simon Hogan - all taken between pick 42 and our next pick at 58. So I'd say it was a risky piece of smart-arsery that cost us a possible best-22 player and risked us losing our first-round preference, just to get a bloke who wasn't getting a game at his original club.

As would Gary Ablett for pick 30 but that deal is just not going to happen. Essentially you are giving pick 6 for a top 3 kid and then giving up McGuane for pick 11/13/15. Raping GC in that deal, hence it would never happen.

An article from Paul Daffey on the AFL website talking about which way he thinks GC will go come draft day and also tell us what he thinks our club wants and who we will be looking at.

What your club wants

Richmond (pick 6)
Needs: For all their poor performances on the field in the past two years, the Tigers have been kicking goals in their list management. There are no particular holes. They’ll simply go for the best players available.

Possibilities: Maybe they could consider a back-up ruckman for their first pick such as South Australian Daniel Gorringe at No.6. Hard-running, gutsy midfielder Shaun Atley, from the Murray Bushrangers, would be a decent choice at No.6. Maybe even Kieran Harper of the Eastern Ranges could go that high on the strength of one cracking game at the under-18 championships.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/101642/default.aspx

Interesting he also has Darling the most likely option for WCE but he follows by saying they will not let Day slip past if GC don't grab him.

IMO we should pick either Gaff or Caddy with pick #6 (assuming Day is gone, which is expected).

I am a bit "meh" on Atley, even thouh he is highly rated. Darling i have my doubts about his eventual position, and Gorringe, well i guess i am from the "dont use a top pick on a ruckman" school of thought.

Between Gaff and Caddy. i am really torn.

Gaff seems like a run all day accumulator, with very neat (read: above average, but just shy of elite) kicking skills. What i really like about Gaff is he is one of those blokes who really knows how to find the footy, and also will generally make the right decision when he gets it. His skills and pace are good enough, without being outstanding, but his gut running is something else. In a lot of ways, he reminds me of Cuz. He also probably complements our existing young midfield crop pretty well.

Caddy appeals to me because he is so good winning the tough inside ball and then releases team mates or breaks away himself. Guys like that are just so important in building a good team and its also a skill that is basically impossible to tag. The one other thing that really attracts me to selecting Caddy, is that he is great mark for his size and can go forward and kick goals. Mid-fielders who kick goals are worth their weight in gold in the modern game. I reckon that his stocks will slide after draft camp, because i doubt his testing will be as good as others. That said, JR didnt set the world on fire at draft camp and look how he turned out. There is something to be said for old fashioned ball winning and goal scoring ability. It wont show up on any speed or agility test, but it does where it counts, on game day. Caddy reminds me a bit of a Jimmy Bartel in that he wins the tough ball inside and yet is really good mark for his size. One relative negative (vs Gaff) is that he is not as good a complement to our existing group, in that he is another inside mid. That said, combined with Dustin, Cotch, Foley we would absolute dominate winning the contested pill.

I think Atley will be gone so it is down to four guys and I don't know where I would like to go:

1. Gaff - Accumulator, professional and decent skills. Downside is he isn't that quick and apparently the depth on his kicking is not amazing.

2. SMith - Imo could be the perfect fit. He is big quick and has decent skills but not amazing, plus he is a leader. The thing that sticks out for me is he is impossible to tackle as he has strong hips and has huge speed to burst out of packs. Seems to be alot like Judd in that regard. Not really talked about at pick 6 for some reason and I am not sure why. Safe bet though and probably the one I am keen on at the moment.

3. Polec - Seems to be the one with the biggest upside. Is touted as an 80m player because he runs 20 and kicks 60. He is pretty tall but apparently has a big ego. Probably more of a risk of Fioraing us up.

4. Caddy - He sounds like a Ben Cunnington/Bartel clone. Hard at it and takes a good grab plus can play forward and kick goals. Keen on him...

To be honest I think I really want Smith to land at the Tigers because he seems a safe bet and has all the attributes of an all round midfielder. He would compliment Foley, Cotchin, Martin and Deledio beautifully.

I really want one of GC's picks in the top 15 somehow so that we can get both Caddy and Smith. I think Caddy will be gone by 12-13, but may slide after draft camp.

For those of you looking at the kids, remember 1 thing. Hardwick has said repeatedly that if a player can't kick at a preferrably elite level(very good minimum) then they won't be getting picked up.

IMO we should pick either Gaff or Caddy with pick #6 (assuming Day is gone, which is expected).

I am a bit "meh" on Atley, even thouh he is highly rated. Darling i have my doubts about his eventual position, and Gorringe, well i guess i am from the "dont use a top pick on a ruckman" school of thought.

Between Gaff and Caddy. i am really torn.

Gaff seems like a run all day accumulator, with very neat (read: above average, but just shy of elite) kicking skills. What i really like about Gaff is he is one of those blokes who really knows how to find the footy, and also will generally make the right decision when he gets it. His skills and pace are good enough, without being outstanding, but his gut running is something else. In a lot of ways, he reminds me of Cuz. He also probably complements our existing young midfield crop pretty well.

Caddy appeals to me because he is so good winning the tough inside ball and then releases team mates or breaks away himself. Guys like that are just so important in building a good team and its also a skill that is basically impossible to tag. The one other thing that really attracts me to selecting Caddy, is that he is great mark for his size and can go forward and kick goals. Mid-fielders who kick goals are worth their weight in gold in the modern game. I reckon that his stocks will slide after draft camp, because i doubt his testing will be as good as others. That said, JR didnt set the world on fire at draft camp and look how he turned out. There is something to be said for old fashioned ball winning and goal scoring ability. It wont show up on any speed or agility test, but it does where it counts, on game day. Caddy reminds me a bit of a Jimmy Bartel in that he wins the tough ball inside and yet is really good mark for his size. One relative negative (vs Gaff) is that he is not as good a complement to our existing group, in that he is another inside mid. That said, combined with Dustin, Cotch, Foley we would absolute dominate winning the contested pill.

Caddy > Gaff

Eays why is it obviously Gaff or Caddy? Why are you "meh'' on Atley? Just curious as I'm not sure on him either. He has clearly been talked up as a top 6 candidate and many WC fans are keen to nab him at 4...so what turns you off?

For me I think it's because I suspect he will most likely end up being a good solid half back flanker. Not sure he has true midfield ability.

I was on the Caddy bandwagon earlier but can't help but think that with the interchange cap coming in, meaning less players around the ball and greater need for players with running endurance, Gaff's effectiveness is only going to be magnfied.

That article is interesting reading.

If this is right Gorringe may slip. Likeewise Lycett may go late.

I am not an expert, and I do not no the realitive values of each rather who I like from the vision on the web.

It may mean Gorringe at 6 might not be a bad option.

I cannot see Essendon, WC , Bris chasing ruckman due to their lists and general ruck selection methodologies so if we get pick 13 Lycett might not be a bad pick . It is interesting the writer thinks GC already has some very good ruck stocks. Given the names being thrown about plenty of handy midfielders and other options suitable for us would be around this mark so IMO we should be chasing picks 9 and 13 or something similar if we can

Im guessing that Gaff is much like Scully... Hard worker, Solid kick with-out being elite. A midfielder that can play inside and out, that is also very smart with decision making.
Polec is much life a Chris Judd, who can break lines and is also very quick and his kicking is very good. Strong through the core and can break through tackles.

Would i be right with that?

Im guessing that Gaff is much like Scully... Hard worker, Solid kick with-out being elite. A midfielder that can play inside and out, that is also very smart with decision making.
Polec is much life a Chris Judd, who can break lines and is also very quick and his kicking is very good. Strong through the core and can break through tackles.

Would i be right with that?

you are describing Brodie Smith, Polec is a fast outside mid winger that has an elite kick that can pin point a foot pass from 50 to 60 meters away, very smart footballer, played Sanfl seniors from 16 years of age.

i hope we do not get Gaff