Draft Watch

• Thread starter Thread starter _RT_

Re: Tim Northe

Throwing names around without discussion doesn't get us anywhere.

Nor does basing our opinions off 2 minutes of highlights.

TFLUA, your posts about the draft are always warmly recieved, but not everyone has the opportunity to watch all the youngsters. We are entilited to opinons, even if based on the scantest of evidence. So long as the clubs professional recruiters do more homework than pure you-tube voyeurism then no harm done.

Based on this, 90% of posters would be unable to comment on anyone..

Exactly... and fully armed with my you-tube based insight I'm firmly on the Harper bandwagon.:thumbsu::D

Clean skills, x-factor, seemingly lots of upside, would slot in nicely on the half forward line.

Based on this, 90% of posters would be unable to comment on anyone.
Behind my "dream selections"

Our needs:

#4 Priority - Developing 'monster' ruck. We have a mobile ruck in Vicks and Browne and Gus are hard working/ bash and crash rucks, however, we would be well suited to add a 4th ruck to our books who offers something different. A potential 107-108cm, 105-110kg player would be handy and allow our mids first hands on the ball.

I think we should be aiming for someone a little taller for our monster ruck option :D

Re: Draft wishlist

Josh Caddy. Our midfield will be insane :cool:

I'm leaning that way aswell, my only concern is that he looks good because he can throw his weight around, being a bigger bodied 18 yr old. How effectively his game would translate to the bigger bodied afl players is the question.

Didn't affect Dusty too much.

TFLUA, your posts about the draft are always warmly recieved, but not everyone has the opportunity to watch all the youngsters. We are entilited to opinons, even if based on the scantest of evidence. So long as the clubs professional recruiters do more homework than pure you-tube voyeurism then no harm done.

Exactly... and fully armed with my you-tube based insight I'm firmly on the Harper bandwagon.:thumbsu::D

Clean skills, x-factor, seemingly lots of upside, would slot in nicely on the half forward line.

Yeah - that seemed snappy. I apologise.

All i meant is - it's fine to watch 2 minutes of highlights - but don't just do that - use a little bit of initiative and read all the articles available on the player, ask questions in threads such as these - in mock draft threads.

That way you combine what you've seen with other sources.

This draft would have been ridiculous if not ruined by GC. Imagine having pick 18 as well as 2 this year...wow one can only dream.

I think we will be a couple of picks too late to pick up one of the guys I want in the second round. Ben Jacobs would be awesome but will be gone by 29 as will Conca...both will almost last but be taken away a few picks before imo. I am pretty keen on Green at 29 or Michie.

TF what is Green's disposal like as I haven't seen much of him? He would fit in pretty well I would think, from what I have seen. Michie I like because he is that HFF/Midfielder who will add depth.

im interested to see where lamb ends up, i think the kid will be a star.

what is your take on yarran tflua?

Realistic? chances!!

Pick6.Heppel,Polec,Gaff
Pick29.Prestia,Mitchell
Pick46.Michie,Crocker
Pick50.Batley,Lester
Pick63.Cope,??

Our priorities:
First pick - Outside midfielder with a good kick (polec)
Second - Another KPP, to add some depth to our forward line with riewoldt and griffiths, and post able to play either end
Third - A goal kicking midfielder, can sit on a half forward flank
Fourth - Agile versatile defender
Fifth - Ruckman to add to our depth

also tflua, when you get the chance, id like to hear your opinion on josh walker from geelong, havent seen alot but looks a likely type, good size and very good athleticism. kicking looks ok, needs a fair bit of work, but i like the way he loves a contest, doesnt stop running and as a tall foward those second efforts are vital.

are there any KPP in this years draft who are a bit like astbury? can play both ends, not the most athletic, but are smart footballers with good skills? i think that is the type of KPP we should be targeting, we just need someone up foward who is smart enough to lead to the right spots to give jack space, is a competitor and can take a mark.

im warming to polec with pick 6, particularly after hearing how strong his marking is, obviously ive only seen him on two occasions plus the video, and read a fair bit of information, but his marking is rated highly, specially for a midfielder so i see that as an important factor in taking him at 6. ive still got the feeling west coast may take him at 4, the lions heppel at 5 and gaff falls to us.

id be looking at:

pick 6 - the obvious, one of heppel, polec or gaff, in that order.
pick 29 - hff type who can push into the midfield. unless someone slips who is too hard to pass up, like prestia, green or jacobs.
pick 46 - versatile KPP with a footy brain and competitive nature like astbury
pick 50 - third tall who is good overhead, someone like a fyfe, obviously wont be as good but that type of player
pick 63 - ruckmen

im interested to see where lamb ends up, i think the kid will be a star.

what is your take on yarran tflua?

Hayden? 186 cm, decent pace and strong in the air. Needs a decent fitness base. Haven't seen a heap - I'll pester a WA based poster to write up on him for you.

This draft would have been ridiculous if not ruined by GC. Imagine having pick 18 as well as 2 this year...wow one can only dream.

I think we will be a couple of picks too late to pick up one of the guys I want in the second round. Ben Jacobs would be awesome but will be gone by 29 as will Conca...both will almost last but be taken away a few picks before imo. I am pretty keen on Green at 29 or Michie.

TF what is Green's disposal like as I haven't seen much of him? He would fit in pretty well I would think, from what I have seen. Michie I like because he is that HFF/Midfielder who will add depth.

Green's disposal is pretty good - covers 45/50 without too much effort - can float a bit at times, and will never leave an imprint on the breast of a leading forward. His disposal is very tidy - but it's not a defining feature of its game. Certainly not exquisite. Often tends to go the safe/percentages option and his disposal looks untidy as a result.

Still needs work, but it's come a way already.
also tflua, when you get the chance, id like to hear your opinion on josh walker from geelong, havent seen alot but looks a likely type, good size and very good athleticism. kicking looks ok, needs a fair bit of work, but i like the way he loves a contest, doesnt stop running and as a tall foward those second efforts are vital.

are there any KPP in this years draft who are a bit like astbury? can play both ends, not the most athletic, but are smart footballers with good skills? i think that is the type of KPP we should be targeting, we just need someone up foward who is smart enough to lead to the right spots to give jack space, is a competitor and can take a mark.

im warming to polec with pick 6, particularly after hearing how strong his marking is, obviously ive only seen him on two occasions plus the video, and read a fair bit of information, but his marking is rated highly, specially for a midfielder so i see that as an important factor in taking him at 6. ive still got the feeling west coast may take him at 4, the lions heppel at 5 and gaff falls to us.

id be looking at:

pick 6 - the obvious, one of heppel, polec or gaff, in that order.
pick 29 - hff type who can push into the midfield. unless someone slips who is too hard to pass up, like prestia, green or jacobs.
pick 46 - versatile KPP with a footy brain and competitive nature like astbury
pick 50 - third tall who is good overhead, someone like a fyfe, obviously wont be as good but that type of player
pick 63 - ruckmen

You've summed up Walker pretty well - nice size height wise and works his arse off. Endurance is really good. Kicking is the main thing that lets him down.

Greenfell or Tom Gordon are the most like Astbury for mine - but neither are good fits.

Greenfell can play both ends but will probably get shepherded into a ruck role - lacks a bit of pace but he finds space nicely and just needs to fill out and keep working and it'll stick together. I'm not as big a fan as others.

Gordon's only 190 cm but can play as a leading/third tall at either end. Moves well, can cover the leading CHF and is good on the ground.

Great to meet you today TFLUA-tiger ................... suprised how young you were for the amount of knowledge you have about the kids. Well Done mate :thumbsu:

Which one were you mate?

You too, mate - always good to meet Tigerheads.

Cheers :thumbsu:

The guy in the suit sitting next to RFC_OFFICIAL ................ I think i asked way too many questions lol

Haha i figured as much - just making sure.

That's what we were there for mate - to ask as many questions as possible - give them a gauge on what we think.

I'll move this to VM anyway - and leave this thread for draft talk ;)

Hayden? 186 cm, decent pace and strong in the air. Needs a decent fitness base. Haven't seen a heap - I'll pester a WA based poster to write up on him for you.

Green's disposal is pretty good - covers 45/50 without too much effort - can float a bit at times, and will never leave an imprint on the breast of a leading forward. His disposal is very tidy - but it's not a defining feature of its game. Certainly not exquisite. Often tends to go the safe/percentages option and his disposal looks untidy as a result.

Still needs work, but it's come a way already.

You've summed up Walker pretty well - nice size height wise and works his arse off. Endurance is really good. Kicking is the main thing that lets him down.

Greenfell or Tom Gordon are the most like Astbury for mine - but neither are good fits.

Greenfell can play both ends but will probably get shepherded into a ruck role - lacks a bit of pace but he finds space nicely and just needs to fill out and keep working and it'll stick together. I'm not as big a fan as others.

Gordon's only 190 cm but can play as a leading/third tall at either end. Moves well, can cover the leading CHF and is good on the ground.

are you sure gordon's only 190cm?? his profile in afl.com states 194.

I am trying to figure out who I want the Tigs to take with our second pick.

I really want Ben Jacobs but I don't think he will fall to that pick. However I think there are a number of other really good options available to us at 29 and in preference they would be for me:

1. Luke Parker - I cannot see him lasting but stranger things have happened. Good all round mid who was highly touted at the start of the year but his seems to have grown out of favour on Big Footy. Would compliement Deledio, Cotchin, Foley, Martin, Morton, Polec very well.

2. Luke Mitchell - Big CHF who is fairly mobile. He shot up heaps in the last few months and is now 198cm. He was injured a fair bit of the year and I think we can get him cheap. Kicked 5 in the TAC GF. Not sure if he will be available. Would be set for KPF stocks if we take him. Jack is a star and we only need one of Mitchell or Griff to come good and we are set. If they both did then we have 2 monsters roaming our forward line as well as 195cm third tall who already has a medal. Throw in Taylor and a couple of smalls and it is potent in a perfect world.

3. Blayne Wilson - I am a big wrap for this guy. He is big, strong, quick but most importantly he is a really good kick. In my opinion he would be a long term replacement for Newman and could start playing senior footy straight away on the HBF.

4. Reece Conca - Similar to Parker he is an all rounder and one who would compliment our side very well.

5. Viv Michie - Very clean and can play midfield as well as go forward and kick goals. always seems to have plenty of time. Would be happy with him at 29 but even happier if he lasted into the 40's...I can't see it but you never know.

What is the general consensus on pick 29 fellow Tigers?

Just a quick note on Green.

Unsure about how keen we are on him, due to a slight lack of interest at the draft camp from our representatives. One of very few clubs to directly engage with him. However, if he falls to our second pick or if God is smiling on us our third pick, and we think he is the next best, the lack of contact becomes irrelevant. Doubt he will though.

I wouldn't rule out a clever medium forward in Karnezis or Young at our 2nd pick. I think 29 is a bit of a reach for Wilson and surely Mitchell will be gone by then but if not I'd jump at the chance.