• Thread starter Thread starter _RT_

If Lycett is at 29 we'd be mad not to.

I prefer Phillips to Cope myself.

TFLUA what are your thoughts on Daniel farmer from the stingrays? I like the look of the kid from what I have seen. Wouldn't mind using our 3rd pick on him.

Not sure if this has been mentioned or not because i cant be bothered going back over 62 pages but whats the general thoughts on Josh Walker from Geelong Falcons?

At 195/85 he has the height to be a good prospect and from the video footage ive seen of him he moves well and reads the game well!
Strong contested mark and could be a handy type!

Any knocks on him and what range would he be looking at going?

And he's come up with the goods.

cheers mate, and thanks to swannies if he reads this.

thought yarran was a bit taller, but obviously i got my information wrong.

i still think he has a heap of talent, and if he works hard, he will be a very good player.

Not sure if this has been mentioned or not because i cant be bothered going back over 62 pages but whats the general thoughts on Josh Walker from Geelong Falcons?

At 195/85 he has the height to be a good prospect and from the video footage ive seen of him he moves well and reads the game well!

yeah i mentioned him one or two pages back, i like the look of him, moves well and has that competitive streak that too many KPP's lack.

the big question is his kicking, which is average at best.

i see him as third round at best.

I'm 99% sure We will end up with Polec with pick 6
You can't be 99% sure about anything at this stage. You could be 99% sure that if the draft was tomorrow, we'd be taking Polec with pick 6. But even then...

Checked out a few videos of a few players yesterday and must say from what I saw the most who impressed me was Gaff and then Polec.Gorringe is a gun to he's tap work is awsome and Harper look's classy.I was keen on Lynch at 6 ,but watching the highlights I reckon Mitchell is just as good if not better and Walker looks good to just his kicking needs to improve.I would be tempeted to use that compensation pick.

Have a look at Lucas Cook as well.. I like him more than Mitchell, looks a bit quicker and more agile and would rather him at our second rounder.

Also, what are the opinions on taking one of Myles Sewell or Matt little with our final pick 63 in the draft?

- Sewell will turn 23 at the start of next season. 185cm and 77kg. So is young enough that he fits our group. Once recorded as running around 16km in a game, so he has a large tank. He is a tough inside mid who can dish it out to outside runners. Negatives are that he is a bit one paced similar to his brother and that we have an abundance of inside mids with Grigg, Martin, Tuck, Jackson etc... Wouldn't mind putting him on the list for a cheap pick, as he could have an immediate impact ala Barlow / Anthony, however, I think we'll skip him.

- Little will turn 25 by the start of next season, which is a tad old for our core group but would be a great supporting target up forward. The lack of scoring options last year hurt us and with doubts over Griffiths and Collins gone, a third tall leading forward might be valuable. At 188cm and 85 kg, he is not tall enough to play key position. He kicked 84 goals in the VFL this year and I would be very happy to put him in the forward pocket next to Jack at the expense of pick 63.. Dimma would make it clear that he is to drag his opponent away from Jack, to ensure he is not double teamed.. Could be a 2-3 goal a game forward, whilst our youngsters develop.

I would be keen to take either but structurally I think that Little offers us more. Also, we don't really have anyone who plays this role (except Taylor), so he wouldn't be stopping a youngster from developing. At 63, I don't think believe better quality will be available.
A draft of:
1st Pref. Alternatives
Heppell /Polec
Cook /Mitchell
Hallahan /Conca
Michie /Farmer
Little /Coup
would be pretty impressive!! Especially adding Houli, Grigg and Miller (?)..
Thoughts?

Caddy, Harper, Pitt, Polec, Harper.

What do people think about Atley?

If Heppell and Gaff aren't there, then I reckon one of these five are ours.
I really am not qualified to comment given I have not seen these guys play.
I trust the recruiting dept.

Hallahan will definitely not last that long.

Agreed. But lots of mocks have him going between 25 and 35.. Based on that, it would not be a surprise to see him fall a bit further. Troy Taylor last year was rated very highly, although attitude/history was an issue.

In my wishlist I didn't have us taking a KPP, but he was one I considered around 50 or 63.

Have a look at Lucas Cook as well.. I like him more than Mitchell, looks a bit quicker and more agile and would rather him at our second rounder.

Also, what are the opinions on taking one of Myles Sewell or Matt little with our final pick 63 in the draft?

- Sewell will turn 23 at the start of next season. 185cm and 77kg. So is young enough that he fits our group. Once recorded as running around 16km in a game, so he has a large tank. He is a tough inside mid who can dish it out to outside runners. Negatives are that he is a bit one paced similar to his brother and that we have an abundance of inside mids with Grigg, Martin, Tuck, Jackson etc... Wouldn't mind putting him on the list for a cheap pick, as he could have an immediate impact ala Barlow / Anthony, however, I think we'll skip him.

- Little will turn 25 by the start of next season, which is a tad old for our core group but would be a great supporting target up forward. The lack of scoring options last year hurt us and with doubts over Griffiths and Collins gone, a third tall leading forward might be valuable. At 188cm and 85 kg, he is not tall enough to play key position. He kicked 84 goals in the VFL this year and I would be very happy to put him in the forward pocket next to Jack at the expense of pick 63.. Dimma would make it clear that he is to drag his opponent away from Jack, to ensure he is not double teamed.. Could be a 2-3 goal a game forward, whilst our youngsters develop.

I would be keen to take either but structurally I think that Little offers us more. Also, we don't really have anyone who plays this role (except Taylor), so he wouldn't be stopping a youngster from developing. At 63, I don't think believe better quality will be available.
A draft of:
1st Pref. Alternatives
Heppell /Polec
Cook /Mitchell
Hallahan /Conca
Michie /Farmer
Little /Coup
would be pretty impressive!! Especially adding Houli, Grigg and Miller (?)..
Thoughts?

Aberry here are my thoughts...

Sewell: we have an abundance of inside mids as you have pointed out also why would you say there is little chance of getting players at 63 who may be worth the punt? We picked up Nason and Webberley last year at 67 and 71 I think. Both players who have footskills. At this stage Nason looks more likely as having the longer career but Webberley at the least is good depth as when he gets a game he does the job.

Cook and probably even Mitchell will be gone by our second round pick and most likely our compensation pick if we were to use it. Save the compo to help us land a big fish or improve our position in 2012 and beyond.

Matt Little is a mark and lead player who can finish in front of goal and that is it. Mitch Morton couldn't get a bight marking and leading in our forward line as opposition sides flood back these days. The days of seeing the Matthew Lloyd type plays where a side kicks to a leading forward more often than not are gone. Deep forwards need to opperate in tight places. Forget Little. Better in a side like the dogs who can move the ball quickly and hit a target. Even then I don't think so.

Reece Conca and Mitch Hallahan will be gone by our third pick. Reece would be handy. Mitch is an inside hard nut which we have plenty of.

In terms of my wish list for each pick, not that I really have much idea especially after 29:

1.Pick 6: Heppell, Gaff, Polec, Atley - I really want Heppell however we will get one of these 4 and all of them are worthy at 6.

2. Pick 29: Mitchell, Karnezis, Young, Tape, Cripps - Would be great to land Mitchell and another key forward to come through but I doubt he will be there. Still draft day throws up it's surprises. I love the way Cripps plays but we are probably well stocked for his type. Karnezis is a medium forward/wing and Young is a forward/mid whose competiveness is outstanding and is a great size. Could be an upgrade on Matt White. I love Tape's mixture of leadership, closing speed and skill. Could be a really good addition to our backline. I'd like to see him develop into a Sam Gilbert type but that's probably wishful thinking.

3.Pick 46: If any of the above are available jump otherwise, Newton, Alex Browne, Anton Hamp, Alex Fasolo, Daniel Farmer

Not sure Hamp will still be around but if we miss out on Mitchell and he is I would strongly consider. Browne and Newton are midfield types with good kicks and good size, and Fasolo is more of a wing/forward who can kick goals. I also like Daniel Farmer's skill set and would consider him at 46.

At 50 and 63 I think FJ might surprise us but at some stage I think we should take a ruck to develop and I wouldn't mind Max Otten to develop and replace K Moore. I also wouldn't mind taking Leif Cope and developing him for a few years. Just think he has so much improvement in him as he came to footy late.

Predominantly I've targetted midfield types. I definately think we need one more ruckman but in terms of talls we have a few coming through and if you have a look at our Coburg side we are in desperate need for mids coming through. I was very tempted by Lynch and Gorringe at 6 but I think with the sub rule we need to go with Vickery as a third tall back up ruckman and then use Astbury up forward when needed. If our other developing talls stand up then Astbury is a wildcard for us and can go anywhere.

I'd also really like another small forward but perhaps the rookie draft is the place to look at this. We landed Hicks last year in the rookie and he's looking decent. Wouldn't mind Hayden Yarran but if we landed Cripps or Fasolo they could probably fill that role.

Seeing as others have put up their preferred/alternate picks I thought I'd throw mine up:

6. Jayden Pitt/Brodie Smith/Josh Caddy/Tom Lynch

29. Ben Jacobs/Luke Mitchell/Mitch Hallahan/Brad Harvey

46 Sam Crocker/Anton Hamp/Issac Smith/Blayne Wilson

50. Jake Batchelor/Jacob Gilbee/Daniel Farmer/Max Otten

63. Jonathan Giles/Hayden Yarran/Luke Dahlhaus/Andrew Phillips

I have a question, apologies if it has already been answered.

But I'm trying to work out the proper draft order for my phantom, and I've come up with Richmond having 6 draft picks (plus 1 rookie upgrade). Firstly is this accurate? Because it seems you're working on using 5 picks judging by the previous post. Having 6 picks would mean either using pick 80 or using your compensation pick. Which would be more likely?

Edit: And I just remembered about Houli. Is the thinking that you will save a pick for the PSD and take him there?

I have a question, apologies if it has already been answered.

But I'm trying to work out the proper draft order for my phantom, and I've come up with Richmond having 6 draft picks (plus 1 rookie upgrade). Firstly is this accurate? Because it seems you're working on using 5 picks judging by the previous post. Having 6 picks would mean either using pick 80 or using your compensation pick. Which would be more likely?

Edit: And I just remembered about Houli. Is the thinking that you will save a pick for the PSD and take him there?
We had 8 vacancies on the main list IIRC. We've upgraded Gourdis and have added Grigg, that leaves us 6 picks for the ND. We'll be saving our last pick for the PSD to get Houli, this leaves us with 6, 29, 46, 50 & 63.

Hope this helps.

We had 8 vacancies on the main list IIRC. We've upgraded Gourdis and have added Grigg, that leaves us 6 picks for the ND. We'll be saving our last pick for the PSD to get Houli, this leaves us with 6, 29, 46, 50 & 63.

Hope this helps.

You've missed a pick there, RT. We've got 7 list spots spare all up, leaving us with 6 picks in the ND and 1 in the PSD for Houli, with 4 left over for the rookie draft.

Seeing as others have put up their preferred/alternate picks I thought I'd throw mine up:

6. Jayden Pitt/Brodie Smith/Josh Caddy/Tom Lynch

29. Ben Jacobs/Luke Mitchell/Mitch Hallahan/Brad Harvey

46 Sam Crocker/Anton Hamp/Issac Smith/Blayne Wilson

50. Jake Batchelor/Jacob Gilbee/Daniel Farmer/Max Otten

63. Jonathan Giles/Hayden Yarran/Luke Dahlhaus/Andrew Phillips

Gilbee at 50 - interesting.

Any reason you've got him so high up? Where do you think he plays at AFL level? Does his lack of pace render him unable to play the role at AFL level that he did so well at U/18 level?

TFLUA what are your thoughts on Daniel farmer from the stingrays? I like the look of the kid from what I have seen. Wouldn't mind using our 3rd pick on him.

Best guide for all your questions now is Snoop Dog's & Foj1's phantom drafts - which are always great - and the BigFooty phantom that starts this week IIRC.

Foj1:

Pick 48 GC Daniel Farmer Vic Metro
Strongly built utility who has some strengths that play to the modern game. Farmer is quick, with a long, fast quick kick which is capable of breaking lines. Farmer’s best position is probably on a flank either in defence breaking zones with his disposal or as a lead up forward who can kick goals.

Snoop:

Selection # 44 (COLLINGWOOD)
Daniel Farmer – Sandringham / 187cm / 80kg

Profile : Another who hasn’t been talked about terribly much who could feature quite high up the order come draft day. Has had a terrific year for the Dragons where he played a variety of roles through the middle and up fwd. I think it is probably a wing / HF where he will settle so his team can exploit his pace and goal kicking capability. He is an exceptional user of the footy, has a very penetrating boot, is a good contested mark and seems to have very good core strength meaning he should win more one on ones than he loses. It is all this combined with his pace that I think will have him potentially going quite highly. Might get howled down for this but not dissimilar to one recent Rising Star winner at about the same stage. Super impressive at DC for speed and agility from memory which tends to be a reasonable test for players that get picked and go onto good things.
Why Collingwood: Pies were very keen to hold onto a couple of picks at this point so as per usual they appear to have already marked their target. Pies have lost a heap of midfield capability and Farmer is the best left.
Similar to: Dan Hanneberry
Draft Range: 30 - 50

I really like Farmer myself - like Snoop think he can rise into the 30's.

If he's there at our third round you'd have to be very inclined to take him.

Gilbee at 50 - interesting.

Any reason you've got him so high up? Where do you think he plays at AFL level? Does his lack of pace render him unable to play the role at AFL level that he did so well at U/18 level?
I'm not a draft watcher, I'm more a forum reader. As such my opinions are based on what I read, when I like the sound of a kid I'll then check out their clips, which means my picks aren't as conventional as yours or for that fact anyone elses might be.

Okay - so based on what you've read - why did you choose Gilbee?

From the Draft machine on the AFL site:
Lightning quick, with a laser-precise kick and a hand-pass to match. Provides heavy pressure as a defensive forward, averaging four tackles a game and kicking seven goals for Tasmania in the 2010 NAB AFL U18 Championships.

Then there is the 15.1 beep test at the combine(top 4 overall) as well as finishing top 10 in agility and finally there is the assessment from the Tassie high performance manager where he said they see Gilbee as a late draft pick. Now granted pick 50 isn't exactly late and he will most likely go later than that but if that description above is accurate then I'd be prepared to take him with 50 if we felt he wasn't going to last until 63. Also in the small amount of vision I've seen he does look like he can read the play pretty well, saw him take a few marks where he seemed to be in the right position. For mine being able to get yourself into position to get the ball is just as important if not more than being able to sprint 20 in under 3 secs.

Finally, its just my opinion, which in the big scheme of things means sweet FA when it comes to who we will pick. These are just the players that I like.

Best guide for all your questions now is Snoop Dog's & Foj1's phantom drafts - which are always great - and the BigFooty phantom that starts this week IIRC.

Foj1:

Pick 48 GC Daniel Farmer Vic Metro
Strongly built utility who has some strengths that play to the modern game. Farmer is quick, with a long, fast quick kick which is capable of breaking lines. Farmer’s best position is probably on a flank either in defence breaking zones with his disposal or as a lead up forward who can kick goals.

Snoop:

Selection # 44 (COLLINGWOOD)
Daniel Farmer – Sandringham / 187cm / 80kg

Profile : Another who hasn’t been talked about terribly much who could feature quite high up the order come draft day. Has had a terrific year for the Dragons where he played a variety of roles through the middle and up fwd. I think it is probably a wing / HF where he will settle so his team can exploit his pace and goal kicking capability. He is an exceptional user of the footy, has a very penetrating boot, is a good contested mark and seems to have very good core strength meaning he should win more one on ones than he loses. It is all this combined with his pace that I think will have him potentially going quite highly. Might get howled down for this but not dissimilar to one recent Rising Star winner at about the same stage. Super impressive at DC for speed and agility from memory which tends to be a reasonable test for players that get picked and go onto good things.
Why Collingwood: Pies were very keen to hold onto a couple of picks at this point so as per usual they appear to have already marked their target. Pies have lost a heap of midfield capability and Farmer is the best left.
Similar to: Dan Hanneberry
Draft Range: 30 - 50

I really like Farmer myself - like Snoop think he can rise into the 30's.

If he's there at our third round you'd have to be very inclined to take him.
Thanks for that TFLUA. Farmer seems like a good pick up for our 3rd selection.

Another one who doesnt get much mention is Jacob Gilbee from Tassie. He is very quick and can find the goals. By all reports is very good by hand and foot. What are your thoughts on him?

Edit: Just saw RT73 comments on him. I agree with him on what he says about Gilbee. His DC was very good.

i cant speak for the rest of you, but i would be pretty dissapointed if we passed up one of heppel, polec or gaff for lynch.

not because i think we are set for talls, far from it. i think we have one key position set, and all the others are far from being taken.

but i think at this stage of our development we would be crazy to go past the best available.

i dont rate lynch as good as the three i mentioned above, in fact id prefer gorringe and caddy over him aswell.