Drafting Suggestions

we need genuine midfielders, here is proof :

collins : looks good at this stage but like so many others cant see him putting enough weight on and become that hard running ball carrier.

conners : far too lazy to play midfield and one too dimensional. also one too many party tricks for my liking

cotchin : so long as stays on the park he will be a gun. that's if hangs around.

deledio : hope he makes it as a genuine midfielder, but at the moment i think he can play his best footy on half back, and leave him there rather than throwing him around week to week.

edwards : size, skill and decision making are poor.

foley : only one who can be regarded as a genuine midfielder with some consistency.

jackson : great endeavour, but when compared to others of his role (tagging) such as Mcveigh (swans), sewell ( hawks) and matthew boyd(dogs) he is nowhere near as good and all have been in the system just as long. In saying that he would be in my first 22 each week with the current list.

tambling : never has and never will be a midfielder, lacks endurance and urgency. i believe should be played as a lead up option on the half forward

thompson : find it funny that we can give up pick 35 for someone, and the coach not have a spot in the team for them.

tuck : not far behind foley, gives all his got each week which is all you can ask. wont be apart of our future, would love to see him play a mobile CHF role.

white : not blessed with skill, but digs in each week.

so from this list :

quality midfielders : cotchin, deledio, and foley

potential : collins tambling jackson

making up numbers : edwards, conners, thompson white

like the better clubs you need at least 5-8 really good midfielders.so the call for anymore KP is a joke.

cats - ablett, corey, bartel, ling, chapman, johnson, selwood

hawks - bateman, hodge, lewis, mitchell, rioli, sewell

saints - ball, dal santo, goddard, hayes, montagna, gram

dogs - boyd, cooney, cross, griffen, higgins.

Moore, Newman, Tambling, Connors with another developing midfielder should do us ok for HBF.

Thats were your wrong mate, Newman is the only genuine HBF there who is actually half decent. Moore isnt HBF more of a small defender, i do agree with connors at HBF but dont know if he can make it, and tambling is a forward nothing else.

All of the best teams have running HBF, yet we dont :rolleyes:
Gilbee
Shaw (reece)
Enright
Gilbert
Goddard

Richmond needs good disposers of the ball coming of HB,
Currently it looks like this in best 22 IMO

HB: Raines Mcguane Newman

Then youv got Mcmahon and Rance on the bench, its just not enough fire power coming of the HB line. The priority shoiuld definatly be Key forward and Mid with first to picks, Then after that either Draft 2 HBF or trade for a HBF with SKILL.

Targets include(Not sure if there out of contract):
Gilbert
Clarke (Marty)
Krakour
Mackie etc....

Thoughts?????

Thats were your wrong mate, Newman is the only genuine HBF there who is actually half decent. Moore isnt HBF more of a small defender, i do agree with connors at HBF but dont know if he can make it, and tambling is a forward nothing else.

All of the best teams have running HBF, yet we dont :rolleyes:
Gilbee
Shaw (reece)
Enright
Gilbert
Goddard

Richmond needs good disposers of the ball coming of HB,
Currently it looks like this in best 22 IMO

HB: Raines Mcguane Newman

Then youv got Mcmahon and Rance on the bench, its just not enough fire power coming of the HB line. The priority shoiuld definatly be Key forward and Mid with first to picks, Then after that either Draft 2 HBF or trade for a HBF with SKILL.

Targets include(Not sure if there out of contract):
Gilbert
Clarke (Marty)
Krakour
Mackie etc....

Thoughts?????
Moore should be played at HBF that can go tall if needed. In the same mold as a James Clement and Darren Milburn. Tambling is definitely not a forward, his best games were played on the HBF. Connors should be given a shot at HBF, he has the skills and poise to do well. HBF is where we should be playing young mids to develop their game.

I wouldn't look to draft flankers, because they tend to be too outside and if they fail you are left with an outside dud. Everyone knows an inside dud beats an outside dud every day of the week. Ideally we should be playing midfielders as flankers like Geelong do. Enright would be playing midfield at Richmond. So drafting 2 HBF is a rubbish idea.

Ziebell wasn't that great today.

1 average game in 10, he will be a superstar. Rich however will be better and is probably already much better than players who have been on our list for many years such as Polo, White, JON, Connors and Tambling.

Ziebell wasn't that great today.
one of his not so flash games, but just the way he goes about it, you can see he is going to be something special.
1 average game in 10, he will be a superstar. Rich however will be better and is probably already much better than players who have been on our list for many years such as Polo, White, JON, Connors and Tambling.
i think ziebell will eventually become a better player then rich, however i would be happy with either of them.

What we need to start doing is drafting players with the skills needed to survive at AFL level. The last few drafts we have been drafting athletes (eg. Oakley-Nicholls, Danny Meyer, Matt White) and previous to that we had been drafting too many pure ball winners (eg. Shane Tuck, Mark Coughlan, Daniel Jackson, Nathan Foley). At the moment we are relying on these ball winners to kick the ball because, Deledio and Cotchin aside, we have no reliant kicks through the midfield. I hope that with the introduction of a new coach he will begin to focus on this area because without the skils we will never make the 8.

JON yes you are correct. meyer had great foot skills, white was a rookie pick. shane tuck was taken in the 70's, coughlan was winning the ball as good as anyone, jackson wasnt taken early, nathan foley was a rookie pick.

im more concerned about the early picks, first two rounds. its with these picks that we need to pick up really quality players with good skills. past the third round your not going to get players with the best foot skills.

The last two drafts concern me far more than any previous drafts.

With a bit of forward thinking we could have had Ward(McTurnover), Ziebell(Vickery), McCulloch(Thompson) & Sibadaso(Hislop)(Apparently the reason for the Polak subterfuge and Fremantle kicking up a a stink)...with last year's PSD & Rookie Draft left as is.... we would've boosted our ruck stocks to pretty much the same level we have now , added another potential gun KPF (who could also be a dud , but at pick 58 instead of the Hislop trade who cares) and still got Cousins, minus the drama beforehand...

Mainly we could've had Ziebell and Ward in our midfield playing with Lids & Cotch and all learning from Cousins...yep...so glad we dodged those bullets...:eek:

The kids taken aren't the concern, it's the fact we only took 6 with only 1 18 year old last year. McMahon for pick 19 and not trading Schulz for 28 was just unbelievably stupid. We could have really cleaned up in 2007: Cotchin, Rance, Selwood/Ward/Pears/Collier, Greenwood/Whitecross/D.Simpson, Morton, Putt.

im more concerned about the early picks, first two rounds. its with these picks that we need to pick up really quality players with good skills. past the third round your not going to get players with the best foot skills.
Our 1st and 2nd round draft picks from the last few drafts

Vickery - looks a lively type who could hold down a Ruck/KPF spot for the next decade. Needs to build up strength, but has excellent agility.
Post - Another KPP who has an extremely good set of hands. Will debut sooner than later.

Overall - Time will tell, but I think we have snagged two decade players.

Cotchin - Absolute gem. Wonderful poise under pressure and elite foot skills.
Rance - Rebounding defender that probably needs to bulk up if he is seeking a KP role. Decent foot skills, big motor and wonderful courage.

Overall - Probably our best draft in the past 10 years. Although we missed out on Ward which would have iced the cake we have picked up two high class players.

Reidwolt - High potential, but so far in his short career hasn't delivered consistently. Can take a contested mark, but needs to work on his work rate and kicking if he is to take the next step.
Edwards - Flashy flanker/midfielder who could provide us with the skills that we need. Was running into career best form in the middle of last year when Milburn crunched him. Needs to get more of the ball if he is to survive at AFL level.

Overall - This players are going to take the next step in their development to ensure their place in the side. Both do have serious upside if they are to perform consistently

Oakley-Nicholls - An athletic player who is exactly that, an athlete. Doesn't have the skills and should consider himslef lucky to have played AFL football at all.
Hughes - Disappointing to see such a waste of talent. Has decent footskills, quick, strong and has a good set of hands, but hasn't been able to transfer this on ot the AFL stage apart from that one match against PA.

Overall - The draft of disappointment. A shocking selection at no. 8 to get JON and Hughes hasn't lived up to his pre-draft potential.

Deledio - Has Brownlow written all over him. Lightning quick, excellent skills and good hands. No worries about this pick up.
Tambling - Highly maligned by all supporters, but i think we are just starting to see the best come out of him. Apart from the odd clanger has decent skills, extremely quick and is great in tight situations. I think in a few years we might look back on this decision and consider not so bad after all...
Meyer - Had the skills, the speed and a lack of commitment. Could have added real depth to our midfield, but didn't have the drive of other players.
Pattison - A questionable pick at 16. Not tall enough to be a ruckman, not strong enough to be a forward. Where does he sit?
Polo - Another player who i believe has just started to hit his straps. like Tambling does the odd clanger, but apart from that has decent skills. Not going to be much more than serviceable.

Overall -This is the draft that could have set us up for the next 10 years, but some questionable decision making left us without players like Van berlo and Franklin.

Gilmour - A hack.

Overall - The trade of Nathan Brown caused us to miss out on a first round draft pick, but the draft was very thin anyway.

Schultz - Will always be too good for the VFL, but not good enough for the AFL. Needs to improve his workrate and kicking quickly if he is to stay on the list

Overall - Not great. Missed out on some great talent by trading away our 1st round pick for Kane Johnson.

Players Richmond need to look at:

T.McKenzie
Sherlock
K.Hartigan
A.Kennedy
Morabito
Colyer
Matera
Gysberts
T.Hill
K.Lucas
J.Free
A.Hooper
J.Trengove
J.Fitzpatrick
K.Stevens
Griffiths (SA)
Moore (VM)
MORE TO BE ADDED LATER...

Our 1st and 2nd round draft picks from the last few drafts

Vickery - looks a lively type who could hold down a Ruck/KPF spot for the next decade. Needs to build up strength, but has excellent agility.
Post - Another KPP who has an extremely good set of hands. Will debut sooner than later.

Overall - Time will tell, but I think we have snagged two decade players.

Cotchin - Absolute gem. Wonderful poise under pressure and elite foot skills.
Rance - Rebounding defender that probably needs to bulk up if he is seeking a KP role. Decent foot skills, big motor and wonderful courage.

Overall - Probably our best draft in the past 10 years. Although we missed out on Ward which would have iced the cake we have picked up two high class players.

Reidwolt - High potential, but so far in his short career hasn't delivered consistently. Can take a contested mark, but needs to work on his work rate and kicking if he is to take the next step.
Edwards - Flashy flanker/midfielder who could provide us with the skills that we need. Was running into career best form in the middle of last year when Milburn crunched him. Needs to get more of the ball if he is to survive at AFL level.

Overall - This players are going to take the next step in their development to ensure their place in the side. Both do have serious upside if they are to perform consistently

Oakley-Nicholls - An athletic player who is exactly that, an athlete. Doesn't have the skills and should consider himslef lucky to have played AFL football at all.
Hughes - Disappointing to see such a waste of talent. Has decent footskills, quick, strong and has a good set of hands, but hasn't been able to transfer this on ot the AFL stage apart from that one match against PA.

Overall - The draft of disappointment. A shocking selection at no. 8 to get JON and Hughes hasn't lived up to his pre-draft potential.

Deledio - Has Brownlow written all over him. Lightning quick, excellent skills and good hands. No worries about this pick up.
Tambling - Highly maligned by all supporters, but i think we are just starting to see the best come out of him. Apart from the odd clanger has decent skills, extremely quick and is great in tight situations. I think in a few years we might look back on this decision and consider not so bad after all...
Meyer - Had the skills, the speed and a lack of commitment. Could have added real depth to our midfield, but didn't have the drive of other players.
Pattison - A questionable pick at 16. Not tall enough to be a ruckman, not strong enough to be a forward. Where does he sit?
Polo - Another player who i believe has just started to hit his straps. like Tambling does the odd clanger, but apart from that has decent skills. Not going to be much more than serviceable.

Overall -This is the draft that could have set us up for the next 10 years, but some questionable decision making left us without players like Van berlo and Franklin.

Gilmour - A hack.

Overall - The trade of Nathan Brown caused us to miss out on a first round draft pick, but the draft was very thin anyway.

Schultz - Will always be too good for the VFL, but not good enough for the AFL. Needs to improve his workrate and kicking quickly if he is to stay on the list

Overall - Not great. Missed out on some great talent by trading away our 1st round pick for Kane Johnson.
good summary. schulz on his last chance, might perform better under the new coach.

someone i am worried about when the new coach comes in is edwards. we might just let him go for not working hard enough and not getting the results. hopefully he clicks and his form from the pre season comes ack.

after season 2005 and season 2007 we should have culled alot more players then we did, instead of yo-yoing from bottom 2, to 9th for 4 straight years. we never took a big enough step of going backwards to go fowards, and we still havent. hopefully this season is it. even if older players deserve to be on the list, its time to move them on. its not about being nice, its about getting this club back on track.

if we cleared out the dead wood after finishing last in 2007, we would have had a poor year, picked up 2 of the top 3 picks and been back on track. i dont see us cutting richo or cousins, but if brown, bowden, simmonds and johnson arent moved on then our club has bigger problems then we all think.

players who i respect for effort and have been great servants like tuck and cogs need to be moved on, players who we know wont make it but reluctantly hold out hope for like hughes and JON need to be moved on.

this draft might be "shallow" but if we draft the right type of players, there is no reason we cant get 1 star, 2 good players and 3 or 4 players that are project players or solid contributors.

Players Richmond need to look at:

T.McKenzie
Sherlock
K.Hartigan
A.Kennedy
Morabito
Colyer
Matera
Gysberts
T.Hill
K.Lucas
J.Free
A.Hooper
J.Trengove
J.Fitzpatrick
MORE TO BE ADDED LATER...

God i hope we get this kid, he is the next Adam Goodes and should be around our pick 3-5:D

we should also look to trade players with current value:
Jackson
Raines
Tuck
White

Could get us a couple more 2nd round picks :thumbsu:

God i hope we get this kid, he is the next Adam Goodes and should be around our pick 3-5:D

we should also look to trade players with current value:
Jackson
Raines
Tuck
White

Could get us a couple more 2nd round picks :thumbsu:
Completely agree with you. We have got too many of these types of players who probably just do enough each week to maintain their spot in the side. We need to trade at least a couple of them in order to recieve picks while they are still worth something.

Drafting Suggestions