DraftMe's Big Board & Mock Draft 2016

The stronger inside players in this draft are Will Brodie, Sam Powell-Pepper and Joe Atley.

As for the better kicks in this year's draft, the guys that stand out to me by foot are Sam Petrevski-Seton, Jordan Gallucci, Jy Simpkin, Andrew McGrath and Oliver Florent.

Myles Poholke is one who could fit into both categories.

Don't rate Scheers inside game too highly?

Do you guys reckon Nick Dodge will be drafted? I think he's a chance to be picked up in the rookie draft as a top-ager. Looked good in the first two TAC Cup games.

Don't rate Scheers inside game too highly?
Sorry I do, I just deliberately left out any academy eligible players as I was responding to an Essendon supporter interested in players they could draft.

Scheer & Bowes leading the way in contested possessions so far in these Div 2 Champs at 15 per game which is elite. Kobe Mutch looking strong on the inside as well.

Would you say Kobe Mutch plays a similar game to Lachie Neale? Mutch is taller but both are ball-magnets.

Do you guys reckon Nick Dodge will be drafted? I think he's a chance to be picked up in the rookie draft as a top-ager. Looked good in the first two TAC Cup games.
I think he's still a small chance. Overall, I liked what I saw last year. Very versatile player and a good athlete but unfortunately his disposal efficiency has dropped from 70% in his TAC Cup games to below 50% in the champs which is a bit of a worry. Probably needs to make the Allies squad and put in some standout performances there.
Would you say Kobe Mutch plays a similar game to Lachie Neale? Mutch is taller but both are ball-magnets.
I know the question wasn't directed at me, but Mutch reminds me a lot of Jackson Macrae (maybe with a bit more of an attacking mindset).
I agree with the Jackson Macrae comparison, definitely some similarities in the way they play. His Kick:Handball ratio probably resembles Macrae's more than Neale's too. Mutch isn't quite as athletic as those two either.
Just for comparison: 20m sprint
Macrae = 2.95s
Neale = 3.00s
Mutch = 3.06s

Sorry I do, I just deliberately left out any academy eligible players as I was responding to an Essendon supporter interested in players they could draft.

Scheer & Bowes leading the way in contested possessions so far in these Div 2 Champs at 15 per game which is elite. Kobe Mutch looking strong on the inside as well.
So where does Scheer sit in your list above ?
Is it likely that an Essendon, Carlton, Richmond,,West Coast - those needing inside mids -would bid earlier on him than some expect ?

So where does Scheer sit in your list above ?
Is it likely that an Essendon, Carlton, Richmond,,West Coast - those needing inside mids -would bid earlier on him than some expect ?
I doubt any bid for him would come in the top 10 for him at this stage. And in terms of contested ball winning ability, behind Brodie & Bowes. Maybe on par with Powell-Pepper and just ahead of Mutch & Atley.

Official stats from todays div 2 match againt Tasmania which I watched ;
Scheer 4 kicks (3 effective) 25 handballs (22 effective ) 9 clearances (5 centre clearances) 7 tackles 17 contested possessions.
Bowes 13 kicks (6 effective) 7 handballs (6 effective) 5 clearances (1 Centre Clearance) 2 tackles 13 contested possessions. 4 goals 3 .
Pretty clear to me who the contested inside midfielder is... thats no detriment to Jack Bowes who is a great talent.
Scheer plays in the mould of Josh Kennedy (Syd) Matt Priddis and the like - purely a contested possession getter in the mids with ability to kick goals up forward.
Rank him as you see fit - but if he takes current form into Allies matches he'll wind up inside the top 10 - too many clubs need this type of player...

Official stats from todays div 2 match againt Tasmania which I watched ;
Scheer 4 kicks (3 effective) 25 handballs (22 effective ) 9 clearances (5 centre clearances) 7 tackles 17 contested possessions.
Bowes 13 kicks (6 effective) 7 handballs (6 effective) 5 clearances (1 Centre Clearance) 2 tackles 13 contested possessions. 4 goals 3 .
Pretty clear to me who the contested inside midfielder is... thats no detriment to Jack Bowes who is a great talent.
Scheer plays in the mould of Josh Kennedy (Syd) Matt Priddis and the like - purely a contested possession getter in the mids with ability to kick goals up forward.
Rank him as you see fit - but if he takes current form into Allies matches he'll wind up inside the top 10 - too many clubs need this type of player...
Thanks for sharing the stats.
Don't love that kick:handball ratio though. Too many games like that shows he can win the ball but isn't powerful enough to burst out of congestion and kick it himself.

Fair call - but if you choose the right option instantly - a handball in congestion is always better than an attempted kick to release a player into space...
Also forgot to mention - Scheer had 6 goal assists....!!!

New addition to the 1st post is the top 10 players leading the coach's votes in the TAC Cup. I'm sure this will interest some people. I'll try to keep this updated each round for the remainder of the season. A small update to the big board too. :thumbsupemoji:

Don't you think every team needs that type of specialist though? The contested beast with good vision/hand balling ability who's able to release an explosive combo mid. Priddis/shuey Kennedy/Hannebery even Selwood/Dangerfield do that to a lesser extent.
He'd be perfect for a team like Richmond to work with Martin...Patrick Cripps is exactly that, and has a similar kick:handball ratio, we're just missing the combo mid which I think is what we took Cunningham for in last years draft and why we've been heavily linked to Prestia.

Don't you think every team needs that type of specialist though? The contested beast with good vision/hand balling ability who's able to release an explosive combo mid. Priddis/shuey Kennedy/Hannebery even Selwood/Dangerfield do that to a lesser extent.
He'd be perfect for a team like Richmond to work with Martin...Patrick Cripps is exactly that, and has a similar kick:handball ratio, we're just missing the combo mid which I think is what we took Cunningham for in last years draft and why we've been heavily linked to Prestia.
Yeah don't get me wrong, I rate all volume contested ball winning mids very highly. I just think one's with a higher kick:handball ratio are more valuable.

Tom Mictchell 11 Kicks 30 Handballs
Josh Kennedy 9 Kicks 26 Handballs
...... and Swans flog undefeated North.
Cant agree with your staement above - every team needs at least one strong handballing specialist mid.

Romensky is doing well in coaches votes. Would you mind telling me what type of player he is, his strengths and weaknesses etc.
Romensky (189cm/88kg) plays either as a strong and tall inside mid or as 2nd tall defender. As a mid he wins a lot of contested ball, stands up in tackles and gets big tackle numbers himself (so far averaging 21.6 disposals & 5.7 tackles). As a defender he reads the ball well, uses his strength and takes a lot of intercept marks. He was named in the Jets best again today vs Calder.
As for weaknesses, his disposals (while efficient) could be more damaging and he doesn't break lines with his pace.
Impressed in the early Vic Metro trial game and played in their last hit out on Wednesday night so stay tuned for the Vic Metro squad to be announced very soon!

Some Top 50 updates done. Here are some of my predictions and also what I am looking forward to/hoping to see/questions I want answered in the Div 1 Champs.
  • Josh Battle to prove his doubters wrong and cement his status as a top 10 talent. (Has a bit of Paddy McCartin about him)
  • Will Todd Marshall show Essendon and Fremantle that he's worth their 1st pick?
  • We'll get a better idea of just how good Andrew McGrath can really be.
  • Who is the best ruckman in the draft?
  • If Mitch McCarthy gets to play forward, will rise up draft boards.
  • Jets 190cm running defender Wilson Berry and 200cm ruck/forward Brock McGregor to rise up draft boards.
  • Can Daniel Charlesworth take a step up? Shows a lot of promise but needs to deliver at this level.
  • Excited to get a 1st look at Hamish Brayshaw and Tim English.

Some Top 50 updates done. Here are some of my predictions and also what I am looking forward to/hoping to see/questions I want answered in the Div 1 Champs.
  • Josh Battle to prove his doubters wrong and cement his status as a top 10 talent. (Has a bit of Paddy McCartin about him)
  • Will Todd Marshall show Essendon and Fremantle that he's worth their 1st pick?
  • We'll get a better idea of just how good Andrew McGrath can really be.
  • Who is the best ruckman in the draft?
  • If Mitch McCarthy gets to play forward, will rise up draft boards.
  • Jets 190cm running defender Wilson Berry and 200cm ruck/forward Brock McGregor to rise up draft boards.
  • Can Daniel Charlesworth take a step up? Shows a lot of promise but needs to deliver at this level.
  • Excited to get a 1st look at Hamish Brayshaw and Tim English.
I think everyone will. If he slips outside the top 10-15 then I'll be gobsmacked.

Going to see a lot of handy players taken later this year
Yeah I agree. Probably lacks a lot truly elite prospects but should still be a deep draft.

Interested in this kid. Perfect size and a lot of upside still
Yeah absolutely. Excites me at times but can go quiet and doesn't always have the impact on games that he has the ability to. Glad he made the Allies squad and has the chance to shine on the big stage.

Best player votes updated in the 1st post. Romensky moves to outright leader. Rebels' overage player James Gow joins the top 10 after a best on ground performance against Gippsland. He wasn't a part of the Rebels squad last year, focusing on school but still managed to take out Koroit's senior B&F during a premiership year. If you would like to know where any TAC Cup player stands in relation to these standings let me know.

Hi mate...where can I find the Coaches votes? Is there a site that I can access ?

Hi, no there is no site that updates the votes. I have kept them updated for myself, taking them from the 6,5,4,3,2,1 voting reported in the results each week.