Draw Ruffles Crows Feathers

• Thread starter Thread starter jo172

this can work both ways, it exposes our young players to the footy giants of geelong and hawthorn, and the youngsters generally understand what is required of them to take the next leap forward. On the other we could fail. Miserably. I'm gonna take a punt and say we will make the eight. Plus things are looking kinda up because saint kilda isn't really that special and Geelong's era of dominence is coming to a close, so all I can say is bring on 2009!

All the negative dooms dayers maybe right next year – with that draw we may fall into the bottom 4.

Does the Gold Coast enter the draft next November or November 2010?

All the negative dooms dayers maybe right next year – with that draw we may fall into the bottom 4.

Does the Gold Coast enter the draft next November or November 2010?

Off the D & T board

1. 2009 NAB AFL Draft:

GC17 to have the capacity to sign 12 x 17 year-olds born in the January – April window (Jan-April 1992).

2. 2010 NAB AFL Draft:

GC17 to have Pick One in Each Round.
GC 17 to have Picks 2, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11, 13, 15 in Round One.

It also mentions in the paper today that we:

- Will play seven games in Melbourne, including 3 at the MCG, 3 and the Dome and 1 in Geelong.

Then they have a Trigg quote in which he mentions he stresses its only a draft draw.

But seven games in Melbourne is great, except for the one in Geelong... that could be tough!

Oh and just realised that Port get Easter in Adelaide again! That's got to be 3 years in a row.

Saturday arvo is the best time for footy. .
Why? Cause its always been that way. Because you say so?

The modern game has changed and the reality is most fanst don't like Saturday afternoon football.

I thought most Vic clubs wanted Saturday arvo games so why we have to have them is beyond me.

http://www.news.com.au/adelaidenow/story/0,22606,24490035-5006301,00.html

Typical AFL BS!:thumbsd:

How long is it going to be till they work out that Saturday afternoon crowds in Adelaide do not occur!

Yeah I know, they are games designed unfortunately for Foxtel. Give Adelaide a crappy game on a saturday afternoon and to fill foxtel's saturday afternoon timeslot.

Unfortunately most of the "blockbusters" that they promote on Saturday nights usually involve victorian games played at the Dome or MCG.

One other issue that someone brought up as well is that we are supposed to alternate round 1 at home with Port, if this is correct it is the second year in a row we play away in round 1.

Does seem a tough draw, but this time last year the 2008 draw looked tough too.

As for timeslot, I am one of those people that plans my weekend around the Crows games (where possible). But can understand if you have kids playing sport or play yourself Saturday arvo is a nonsense timeslot.

Round 1 against Collingwood at the G good for a roadtrip....

So no footy should be played on Saturday arvo which is the traditional time for footy? If people want to play ammo footy/sport then bad luck, they miss out on a few games.. there are plenty which don't fall in this time slot.

Saturday arvo is the best time for footy. Sunday arvo is by far the worst for the reasons Dogga stated. It's good to have a relaxing beer after the game, you can get on it hard to celebrate a win or to forget a loss.

Saturday afternoon was the best timeslot about 20 years ago. The best timeslots now are Friday and Saturday nights and the crowds reflect this. The 12pm games on Sundays are the worst, but Saturday afternoon isnt too far behind it. Saturday afternoon games seem to pull the worst crowds though because of work committments.

We always get stuck with crappy timeslots because we draw crowds. I remember one year (05 I think) where Port just about had all Saturday night home games for the whole year, I would love the Crows to get a dream run like that, but the AFL knows they will get around 40k irrespective of the timeslot so we get screwed around accordingly.

Yeah Geelong isn't actually in Melbourne :p but that promises to be an extremely tough match.
Easily my favourite ground to go too. Aside from the fact I've never seen us win there, it's just a ripping local atmosphere and you're 1 against 1000 sitting in the outer.

Saturday afternoon was the best timeslot about 20 years ago. The best timeslots now are Friday and Saturday nights and the crowds reflect this. The 12pm games on Sundays are the worst, but Saturday afternoon isnt too far behind it. Saturday afternoon games seem to pull the worst crowds though because of work committments.

We always get stuck with crappy timeslots because we draw crowds. I remember one year (05 I think) where Port just about had all Saturday night home games for the whole year, I would love the Crows to get a dream run like that, but the AFL knows they will get around 40k irrespective of the timeslot so we get screwed around accordingly.
I'm trying to get everyone's angle here. Are people saying there should be no Saturday afternoon games in the AFL? Or just that Adelaide shouldn't get Saturday afternoon games? Three doesn't sound like that many anyway and I'd like to see what the breakdown is club by club.

I've personally always consider Sunday time slots to be the worst anyway. I'm not sure how it is in SA, but that seems to clash with a lot more junior sport for those parents with kiddies over here.

Oh and just realised that Port get Easter in Adelaide again! That's got to be 3 years in a row.

From my perspective, Port Adelaide can play at home very weekend for the next 10 years. It’s as great weakened to get away for a road trip to Melbourne.

The best time for a game is obviously Friday night and IMO the worse time in 12:30 Sunday games. FFS if they insist on having 3 Sunday games have 2 of them start at 1:30 (2pm EST) and then the twilight game at 4:30 (5pm EST).

- Will play seven games in Melbourne, including 3 at the MCG, 3 and the Dome and 1 in Geelong.

Then they have a Trigg quote in which he mentions he stresses its only a draft draw.

But seven games in Melbourne is great, except for the one in Geelong... that could be tough!

Bet the membership price will go up yet again, I didnt bother with AFC membership this year as it cost me less to buy tickets on the day, the AFC called me and asked why I didnt purchase a membership i said it is too expensive, she admited their membership figures in Victoria were way down on 2008 and said that was the main reason they were told that people didnt renew. BTW it was $120 for six games this year in Melbourne, so if you missed a game (I missed two) it wasnt worth it. I thought the whole idea of memberships was to make it benefical and cheaper:confused: After the farce with GF tickets this year and there allocation to the competing teams members, I dont know if club membership is worth it at all, I mean I know I will get a GF ticket just with CSG membership.

Why? Cause its always been that way. Because you say so?

The modern game has changed and the reality is most fanst don't like Saturday afternoon football.

I thought most Vic clubs wanted Saturday arvo games so why we have to have them is beyond me.

If you don't like Saturday arvo footy you aren't a real fan. It has always been the best time for footy, I know you might be a shopping fan but you can do that during the week matey.

I dont mind Saturday arvo games, allows you to still go out that night. And if you win your already buzzing

Sunday 1230 is the worst, but still managable. Wake up and off you go.

Sunday Twillight for me is the worst, have to wait all weekend.

I am probably on my own in saying not a fan of Friday night games. Mainly because I like to drive to football, for me its quicker than Footy Express. I work in city and live in outer north suburbs so hate having to drive into work, train is quicker and cheaper. One Friday night game last year I caught the bus from town and had a mate take us home. The bus ride in was tedious. Even with a few beers under my belt it dragged on. Didnt help with having the slowest bus driver in SA at the helm. Usually I leave work early and go get my car.

Three MCG games is good, that's the most we've had for a while! :)

Is the draft itself out to look at? Hopefully this year they do away with that bullshit about being able to play a team twice before you've played every team once.

Personally the time of the game doesn't bother me at all. Actually, I'm more likely to be free on Saturday afternoon than any other time football can be played.

But the problem with Saturday afternoon is that we're never going to fill AAMi stadium with obsessed fans. Even the Collingwood final saw under 40,000 people coming. Those are your passionate Crows (and Collingwood, I guess) supporters, and they'll come regardless of whether it's a Friday night game or at 4AM Monday morning. The rest of the crowd is made up of people who will come if it's convenient and that's why Saturday afternoon games are disappointing.

Of course, as VC says, 3 games isn't a lot for a single club. I guess that would mean we'll probably get 5-6 games on Saturday afternoon for the year (taking home and away matches into account) which isn't bad considering 1/4 of the matches are playing on Saturday afternoon and thats up around 1/4 of our draw.

Or maybe you have something else on, ie you play sport yourself on a Saturday. How does this not make you a real fan?

I perosnally want to see a full stadium every game and having games on Saturday afternoon will prevent this.

I prefer to look at realities rather than some old fashioned view about footy which is well past its used by date.

Shopping? LOL.

The draw like that will be good for us, It will show us who is going to stand up against the big teams, show the kids how good your going to have to be to take the flag.

I also like saturday afternoon games because you dont have to work with a hangover the next day :thumbsu:.

Travel wise for the crows, it seems a very good draw.
10 interstate games (normal), if 7 of those are in Melbourne and 1 at GC, then that only leaves 2. I would of thought playing Hawthorn twice would mean a trip to Tassie. So leaves only 1 game to either WA, Gabba or Sydney.