Toast Drew Petrie Appreciation Thread

• Thread starter Thread starter Scotland

Well gotta say I endorsed trading Petrie in from the first rumour , seen Petrie kick 7 against the Bulldogs in 2007 ...kicking four in the first from contested marks . Anyway its a long season just hope he keeps going , its more his leadership both Petrie and Mitchell have it .

Just gives consistent, predictable effort, exactly what our team needs. Turning into a great acquisition on and off field.

I didn't dump on his recruitment like everyone else here because we NEEDED big man stocks with no NicNat and Lycett and Simmo was prepared to throw his old mate a bone. I only expected him to play here and there and just fill a hole until Lycett came back, but I didn't foresee how vital of an acquisition he'd be in the team, my respect for the old fella grows by the week

Wasn't pleased with his recruitment, but he's won me over. Super competitive on the field and given our current circumstances with injury, we're really lucky we picked him up. Heard him on the radio last week and seems like a down to earth, likeable bloke. Didn't give the robotic answers to questions.
i had the exact same initial opinion. he's proved me wrong.

I actually feel bad he's getting paid on a rookie contract. To move over here to offer what he's offering, the heart, the effort, the leadership and to top it off the performance. If it's possible to give the man a xmas bonus we better. Hope we find a way to keep him as a coach, stand up bloke and footballing brain.

I've always assumed we would be paying him above a standard rookie list contract as it'd be surprising if he moved his family across the country for a sub $100k salary

If he's on a standard rookie contract my respect for him increases ten fold

I was also one of those who was dead against his recruitment. He just looked absolutely shot and I thought he would offer absolutely nothing.

Boy was I wrong.

What a warrior. Never gives anything less than his absolute best at every contest. So many players at the club can learn so much from him. Seems like a ripper bloke as well.

If I'm honest, he's rapidly become one of my favourite players. I absolutely love the big fella and I wish he had played for us his entire career instead of North!

Like many here - I put my hand up and say that I got it wrong and well done to the list manager for getting this one right. From what I had seen, he looked cooked and I was probably still disappointed we did not get Darcy Cameron the previous summer even though we invited him down for training.

I actually started warming to Drew over the summer as his leadership at training was outstanding. He was talking to the young guys and was encouraging them and teaching them where to be and how to attack the spoils from marks and running passed for a hand pass.

Has surprised everyone and been very good all year. Lycett is tearing up the WAFL though, will be interesting next week on selection night.

Drew should probably get best clubman this year.

There's no way I would bring Lycett in he needs to learn to really fight for a position I've seen him do it before gets a game then becomes complacent , for me I'd stick with Petrie and Vardy as long as I could

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app

Was a big fan when he was at North, but had serious doubts about getting him across. Like many, got that one horribly wrong.

Would be happy for the club to give him another year if he wants.

I sincerely love this bloke being at our club. I didn't really have too strong an opinion either way when I heard we picked him up, but man has he busted his gut for us since he's been here. His off field attitude is fantastic but his onfield efforts have been incredible.
He chases harder, works harder, and goes harder at the contest than 99% of our blokes. He shows our younger players how you should go about playing AFL, and I think that's something a lot of our senior players lack. He's a great mark, a reliable kick for goal (unlike some), and he always gives us a contest in the air. I'm stoked he's with us to be honest.

Who would've thought one of the recruits of the off season would be a 34 year old rookie, picked as a back up ruck despite being a forward.

Darling could learn a few things and should be the one dropped if lycett comes back

Fair suck of the sav - Darling was the best KP player on the ground yesterday

And against geelong a fortnight earlier

Yes he flips and flops at times - but his form is strong of late

Fair suck of the sav - Darling was the best KP player on the ground yesterday

And against geelong a fortnight earlier

Yes he flips and flops at times - but his form is strong of late
Darling has had a season of opportunities. Petrie has delivered in every game. Petrie is tougher, and puts in 100% effort. So it's a pretty easy decision

I've always assumed we would be paying him above a standard rookie list contract as it'd be surprising if he moved his family across the country for a sub $100k salary

If he's on a standard rookie contract my respect for him increases ten fold

Can you do that? IIRC it doesn't really matter salary cap wise any more what list you're on.

Darling could learn a few things and should be the one dropped if lycett comes back

Well that's not gonna happen JD has been goin OK a lot of people give him heaps and yes he has his moments but he ain't the only one and another 3.2 yesterday Lycett needs to wait till there's an injury the way Petrie and Vardy are going Lycett has a habit of playing well for east Perth then taking the foot of the pedal once he's in the top 22

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app