crownie

All depends on how much you drink but does anyone have any rules or theories they use for when its safe to get behind the wheel again after a big night out?

some people i know tend to wait 8 hours after their final drink.

There are a lot of variables there. Whats a big night, how many drinks ? Body size ? Tolerance to alcohol ?

If your having a really big night and you treasure your licence, generally i'd throw the keys away for pretty much most of that following day too.

My rule is one standard per hour (with food) then about a three hour wait before I drive. Having said that I tend not to have more than three standards at a sitting.

Any time I have my kids with me, my rule is .00

Safe or legal? They are rarely the same thing.

Just get one of those personal breathalysers and get it calibrated every few months. They are not exact but give you a good idea.

Worst I've blown was at around 8am, after I passed out at around 7pm the night before, still blew .027 at a ball. Luckily it was a walk up bretho.

Blew .09 one morning after the Jerilderie Ball, at about 9am, after drinking from 10.30am til about 1am. Bloke who was with me did the same, and had a beer in line for the bretho, blew .04. So he drove home.

Massive variation is massive.

The other day i was travveling down a road i didnt know, and some guy behind me was flashing his highbeams, i kept driving but then i done a u turn, came back that way and there was an undercover cop with a speed gun (im pretty sure).
Does anybody know if i will get a fine or He wouldve chased me?
Thanks.

Couple of times when I've gone out the Hindmarsh for the soccer it's been a beer at the pub with food and maybe a beer during the game if I can be arsed lining up. No more.

At the drink driving course they recommended that you wait an hour for every standard drink you have.

Say the average beer is 1.5 standard drinks and you have 10 of them. That would be 15 hours you should wait after your last drink before you get in the car. That's pretty much the rule of thumb to be safe if you have an interlock.

Of course this isn't always going to an accurate measurement for everybody because there are too many variables like body weight and the speed you drank the drinks etc.

At the drink driving course they recommended that you wait an hour for every standard drink you have.

Say the average beer is 1.5 standard drinks and you have 10 of them. That would be 15 hours you should wait after your last drink before you get in the car. That's pretty much the rule of thumb to be safe if you have an interlock.

Of course this isn't always going to an accurate measurement for everybody because there are too many variables like body weight and the speed you drank the drinks etc.
Are the interlocks set for 0 or .05? And what happens if you blow over? Does can you just wait and the blow again until you get under?

Ive done it several hundred times, but not any more. Caught once.

Tips: travel at the rear of a pack of 5-6 cars so they get pulled in and you get waived through. DO NOT chuck a uie when you see the lights. Run the gauntlet. Have been waved through more times than tested over the years. The one time i got caught was because i had a dipped headlight so make sure all your lights work.

Are the interlocks set for 0 or .05? And what happens if you blow over? Does can you just wait and the blow again until you get under?

They are set for 0 which can cause problems. Brushing your teeth right before you jump in the car for example can set it off.

If you blow over the car doesn't start and it takes a recording that you tried to start the car while over the limit but if you wait it out it will eventually start. If you get enough blood alcohol readings on your report when you need to reappear at court they can either make you use the interlock longer or prevent you from getting a licence ever again.

It's so not worth drink driving. Not only for the harm you can cause others but the process to get your licence back is lengthy and very expensive.

Ive done it several hundred times, but not any more. Caught once.

Tips: travel at the rear of a pack of 5-6 cars so they get pulled in and you get waived through. DO NOT chuck a uie when you see the lights. Run the gauntlet. Have been waved through more times than tested over the years. The one time i got caught was because i had a dipped headlight so make sure all your lights work.
Hope you kill yourself before you kill somebody else.

Its like anything though, its the few idiots that ruined it for everyone. Not everyone is dangerous when drink driving.

I was never afraid of causing an accident, im too good of a driver, i just dont want to risk my career anymore.

They are set for 0 which can cause problems. Brushing your teeth right before you jump in the car for example can set it off.

If you blow over the car doesn't start and it takes a recording that you tried to start the car while over the limit but if you wait it out it will eventually start. If you get enough blood alcohol readings on your report when you need to reappear at court they can either make you use the interlock longer or prevent you from getting a licence ever again.

It's so not worth drink driving. Not only for the harm you can cause others but the process to get your licence back is lengthy and very expensive.
Fair enough, thanks for the insight.

'Too good of a driver' when drunk to have an accident. Heard it all before.

You'll be suicidal when you kill someone who knows better.

If you actually read my posts you ignorant twat you would see i said i dont do it anymore.

But keep up the moralistic crusade if it makes you feel good.

I can relate to what Vealesy is saying. I used to drive like a saint with a few drinks in the guts. I'd be much more aware of what I was doing and I'd follow the road rules impeccably in fear of being pulled over/crashing and hurting someone.

There are drink drivers that try to hoon around and be idiots though.

If you actually read my posts you ignorant twat you would see i said i dont do it anymore.

But keep up the moralistic crusade if it makes you feel good.
Still happy to give tips out and encourage the behavior. You don't do it anymore because you don't want it to ruin your career? Never mind lives.

Nothing about knowing someone is drink driving and happy to admit it makes me feel good. Why would I go on a crusade hidden behind a BF avatar?

People need to realize nothing about the behavior is right or safe.

Not quite drink/driving, but otherwise in the same category; riding my bike stoned -

I nearly got hit by a bus over the weekend and it scared the shit out of me how easily it nearly happened... I am still not sure if it was because I was stoned or the circumstances leading up to it.. but I am sure it certainly didn't help at all that I was stoned...

I have driven high plenty of times in my life (not very often anymore, haven't had a car for over 4 years) and equally as often on my bike...

I have no idea whether that close call will change my habits, I am being honest with myself - I feel like it nearly could have happened anyway - but maybe I am in denial....

Never drunk/drove as far as I am aware - The only times I ever got breath-oed I blew 0.00 -

Still don't get how people are comfortable driving home from the pub or whatever. Socially irresponsible.

EDIT:
Not quite drink/driving, but otherwise in the same category; riding my bike stoned -

I nearly got hit by a bus over the weekend and it scared the shit out of me how easily it nearly happened... I am still not sure if it was because I was stoned or the circumstances leading up to it.. but I am sure it certainly didn't help at all that I was stoned...

I have driven high plenty of times in my life (not very often anymore, haven't had a car for over 4 years) and equally as often on my bike...
One of my friends is cool with driving stoned. I mean, I don't drive at all, so I wouldn't know what it's like... but surely it'd influence your driving? This mate reckons he's fine, and he barely drives any different. Still pretty ****ing stupid, in my opinion.

Still happy to give tips out and encourage the behavior. You don't do it anymore because you don't want it to ruin your career? Never mind lives.

Nothing about knowing someone is drink driving and happy to admit it makes me feel good. Why would I go on a crusade hidden behind a BF avatar?

People need to realize nothing about the behavior is right or safe.

Yeh but they are going to do it anyway. Better to give advice on how to keep money out of the law society than to spout a moralistic view and hope it has some kind of impact on the reader.

A tradesman showed me a way to get a job done once. He said, "this is illegal and if you ever get caught doing it, i didnt show you. But you are going to do it anyway so i might aswell show you how to do it right so you dont kill or wreck anything"

I have better tips on DD.

Dont do it when everyone else is. I preferred weeknights. Weekend nights are a big no no. Peak hour is fine, in fact on a friday arvo im guessing the majority on the roads have had a couple or have one between their legs. If you can, sleep in your car, if you wake up at 3am you are fine, though still over the limit. Be paranoid. Always. If you get caught, cop it sweet and be nice to mr plod. They may even drive your car home for you. Also, dont do it with anyone else in the car. Its not fair to their family if something happens.

Still don't get how people are comfortable driving home from the pub or whatever. Socially irresponsible.

If you do it often enough you realise its quite easy, and a rush, the adrenaline alone helps sober you up a fair bit.

Its like anything though, you have to do it the right way.