Drinking

Reading through this thread, it's not hard to see why The BigFooty Guide to getting the woman of Your Desire is up to part 7.

My situation is I'm probably going as hard as ever on the weekend. I'm 26 and have just got through a rough couple of months where my girlfriend broke up with me unexpectedly as well as losing my job in the Hastie Group collapse. I feel like this is the prime of my life now, picked up a far better paying job, live in a great spot, feel pretty comfortable with who I am and am very much enjoying being single. During the week I don't really drink at all, just in between studying CPA, running and sport there just isn't the time or the inclination, but I do pretty much count down to the weekend from about 11am on Monday morning.

I described my life as perpetually drunk on the weekends to my house mate a couple of weeks ago and he felt that it was a pretty accurate description. I don't think my body realises what it is to be normal any more, it feels like it is constantly trying to catch up.

I wouldn't change it for anything, like duffman I am 26, have been studying, had a break up and have changed jobs. I work pretty hard during the week, I make sure I have a good time on the weekend, meet new people and don't plan on having any regrets when I am older.

Every Sunday I think I will have quiet one next weekend, yet by the time 5pm Friday comes round I am ready for some beers

I described my life as perpetually drunk on the weekends to my house mate a couple of weeks ago and he felt that it was a pretty accurate description. I don't think my body realises what it is to be normal any more, it feels like it is constantly trying to catch up.

I wouldn't change it for anything, like duffman I am 26, have been studying, had a break up and have changed jobs. I work pretty hard during the week, I make sure I have a good time on the weekend, meet new people and don't plan on having any regrets when I am older.

Every Sunday I think I will have quiet one next weekend, yet by the time 5pm Friday comes round I am ready for some beers

Have to agree with the above. About 3 months ago my car once again encountered engine problems, & to fix them again would have cost more than the car was worth so I decided to retire it after 9 glorious years (haven't got around to scrapping it yet). At that point I decided not to replace it and just buy a bike. To get to work I just ride the tram, so the only time I would drive is the weekend, and as with the above I am perpetually drunk & unable to drive. Best decision I made, save an absolute fortune on an asset that has a mountain of running costs, and does nothing but depreciate at an insane rate. And living inner-city, everything I need is walking distance, or easier by PT than by driving and parking.

There's nothing quite like that feeling of excitement as Friday 5pm approaches. Footy, frothbags, chasing & answering to no-one but yourself.. nothing beats it.

I reckon I'd get pissed 3 nights a week, have had my Saturday night end up as a Sunday arvo sesh for 6 weeks in a row now. Won't be happening this weekend however.

I can honestly say I never really got into it much in my teens and twenties, not to say their weren't some messy nights, but I had way better times without the piss than with it
Hated hangovers with a passion and although my mates seemed to rebound really well the next day, I was always crap for days afterwards
Now in my late 30's and with kids etc I'm tired enough without hitting the juice !!
Besides, Sunday being the only day of the week where everyone is together, to have a hangover wouldn't be good !!
Never a real fan of beer anyway

I drink every weekend without fail. Easily over 15 beers every Saturday afternoon/night. Only get hangovers when I have spirits mixed in with the beers which has occurred more over the last few months.
I enjoy it though, when I'm not at uni I am at work so my only day off is Sunday so nothing better to do than have beers with the boys on the Saturday, which usually ends up going onto the Sunday.

Was a pretty heavy drinker from 17-18 years old usually with 2+ binges a week (up to and including blackout drunk) but with no drinking on the other days. In those days it was spirits mixed with coke, shots and cheap beer. Working in nightclubs and bars only made this worse as i'd find myself drinking with work friends early in the week on the hospo days off then with my 9-5 friends after my shifts or on a weekend day off.

Now i've gone the other way where i have cut most of the binges out but have a drink most days, so when i close the doors of a night i'll have a pint or two with the staff or if i do a day shift will stop at my local for a couple on the way home. On my days off, particularly when the weather is better i'll normally head out for lunch and have a couple then run errands.

Still have the odd occasion (once a fortnight maybe) where i'll settle in for a session but thats normally on pints of beer or cider with some mates, normally revolving around watching sport these days rather than a bottle of spirits with a couple of litres of soft drink with the sole intention of getting ****ed up.

It wasn't a choice that i made to do it i guess it's just "growing up" I'm 26 now, finished uni, got a lot of the travel partying out of my system (still do travel, about to head off for a few months october 1st) and have a mortgage, career etc.

I will never question anybodies choices and lifestyle but for me nothing good ever comes out of binge drinking. I'm almost 21 and have already found that the cost of drinking outweighs the benefits. For me there's nothing worse than writing off a whole day because you're too hungover to get off the couch.

Heavy juicer from 17 to about 21 (got kicked outta the army due to drinking related issues).

I earnt money to drink it.

Relatively heavy, social drinker until approximately 10 years ago.

These days get pissed about monthly

There are other drugs that're less gnarly than the white-knuckle ride of booze

Jeez, the young people of today seem mostly pretty dull and soft after reading this thread.

I'm 45 and still love to smash a few on the weekends, especially Friday night or if i go to the footy. I also have a few glasses of vino every night after work.

I get hangovers if I really go hard on a late one and have say over a dozen pots and some spirits, but nothing a good hearty breakfast and some water etc doesn't fix. The more you drink the more you get conditioned to it and the faster you get over it. A large part of it is mental as well. If you lay on the couch of course you will feel sick. You need to get up, eat and do some stuff and you will come good.

I know you youngsters are probably thinking I'm some fat slob with a blotchy red face but that's not the case. I do keep very fit and watch what i eat so I guess that helps. Most people think I look 35. All my family and most of my friends are good drinkers too.

p.s. I did have a quieter patch when my kids were babies and very young, but they are 15 and 11 now.

Jeez, the young people of today seem mostly pretty dull and soft after reading this thread.

I'm 45 and still love to smash a few on the weekends, especially Friday night or if i go to the footy. I also have a few glasses of vino every night after work.

I get hangovers if I really go hard on a late one and have say over a dozen pots and some spirits, but nothing a good hearty breakfast and some water etc doesn't fix. The more you drink the more you get conditioned to it and the faster you get over it. A large part of it is mental as well. If you lay on the couch of course you will feel sick. You need to get up, eat and do some stuff and you will come good.

I know you youngsters are probably thinking I'm some fat slob with a blotchy red face but that's not the case. I do keep very fit and watch what i eat so I guess that helps. Most people think I look 35. All my family and most of my friends are good drinkers too.

p.s. I did have a quieter patch when my kids were babies and very young, but they are 15 and 11 now.

That's just it, I live pretty healthily during the week, try to go for a couple of runs, and eat reasonably healthy food, but I need some beers (and more) to relax on the weekend.

Hangovers never stop me doing what I need to do, I will be tired but just push through and have an early sunday night.

Make sure you are half cut when you get there that way you are only topping up.

Correct. And I guess this comes back to being mid-20's, living close to the G and finally having some disposable cash.. There's even cheap ways of going about it - $3 pots at bar 9t4, $2 pots at Public House, then a few at the footy to keep the fires burning, then it's off to the dirty Swan, obviously.

How many days until the weekend again?

I've given up trying to give up.

Only thing stopping me from world domination is the demon drink... but I still drink it. Often.

If it weren't for the health factor I'd probably drink almost every day. My vanity is my only saving grace, really.

The only reason I'm not drinking right now, for instance, is because I'm going to the gym later.

Almost never drink just one or two. Would rather stay sober. Almost every drink turns into many, many drinks.

Lots of good memories. Lots of bad memories. Lots of no memories.

I envy people whove spent years getting pissed and then cut right back later in life. I hope to be one of them, some day.

I feel sorry for people who've never really experienced the binge drinking habit, and truly pity people who've never gotten genuinely drunk.

The only reason I'm not drinking right now, for instance, is because I'm going to the gym later.

Almost never drink just one or two. Would rather stay sober. Almost every drink turns into many, many drinks.
Yeah, I'm the same. It's either don't drink at all, or drink 8 -12 beers.

How can people drink at the footy? It'd cost $50 to get a little hazy at Subi.

I drink most games, but don’t get pissed. Unless I’ve been drinking a fair bit beforehand, which happens if it’s a big game with a big group of people.

Usually 1 drink a quarter. Sometimes 2 if we’re having a crack. Night games are shit, only watery mid-strength beer (swear they just take the heavy beer and mix it 50/50 with water), or the horrific pre-mixed spirits – can’t drink more than a couple without being completely bloated.

only watery mid-strength beer (swear they just take the heavy beer and mix it 50/50 with water), or the horrific pre-mixed spirits – can’t drink more than a couple without being completely bloated.
Get on MCC, worth the wait just for the actual beer:thumbsu:

Yeah, I'm the same. It's either don't drink at all, or drink 8 -12 beers.

I thoroughly enjoy "taking the edge off" after a stressful day at work with a couple of drinks. I don't drink very much anymore so I only need two drinks to feel relaxed and happy.

I began to drink socially on weekends at age 14. My tolerance gradually increased and by 16 I was drinking large amounts in one sitting.

I'm now in my late 20s. For similar reasons Bunk Moreland has expressed in the opening post of this thread, I haven't consumed any for almost two years.

According to Caesar:

It may not be PC to say so, and it may not be right, but nobody trusts a teetotaller. If you don't drink then you're starting at a disadvantage.

Unbelievable; I know

Is that really enough? Especially since they lowered the alcohol percentage.

Go through other drinks on the weekend.

A carton gets me through Monday - Friday.

Love how similar all these experiences are to my own. Makes myself feel better rather than hearing the same old "it's a waste of money" or "it's so unhealthy for you to binge drink".

My grandfather used to make his own wine, drink everyday and lived well into his 70's. Yeah he may have died of liver disease haha, but I'd take take living into my 70's any day of the week. Who knows what might happen? May aswell enjoy it!

That's why I every time I go out I make sure I enjoy myself. And me enjoying myself means me getting plastered. Nothing better in this world than getting with drunk with your mates.

I'm lucky I'm at uni and have a great time table. I do work on the weekends, but being just a casual job, I have no real responsibilities and can more or less rock up drunk still.

This weather at the moment only makes me want to get hammered even more!