Drinking

Only whilst travelling.

Asian countries in particular, you will never be alone for long. Someone will want to practice their English on you.

Yep same. Not a big one for going out alone in Melbourne. I'll go to the pub for a drink after work, or for a counter meal and a beer and sometimes i'll go to gigs by myself if i can't drag a mate along. but not hitting bars/clubs on the weekend and getting shitfaced, thats a little out there for me.

On the flipside I love travelling alone, I am heading off the Sunday night after the GF for an Asian tour (Malaysia, Thailand, Laos, Cambodia, Vietnam, Korea, Japan) until Christmas and i am not fazed about that, will happily walk out of the hotel room and into a bar overseas and not feel weird about it.

People have other things to do these days rather than smash piss.

I can remember the days from 17-21.

You're just waiting to have those 2 huge parties for you and every one of your mates.

Once the youngest dude has had his 21st you realise that it's all over.

Those that keep going on and on are alcoholics.

People have other things to do these days rather than smash piss.

I can remember the days from 17-21.

You're just waiting to have those 2 huge parties for you and every one of your mates.

Once the youngest dude has had his 21st you realise that it's all over.

Those that keep going on and on are alcoholics.

I'm curious to know what you mean by that? What things?

I love to "smash piss" as you refer to it, yet I still work full-time, study CPA, go to the footy, play & coach cricket, do fun-runs etc. Not sure why you see it is a mutually exclusive event.

I mean my friends and I have put our binge drinking days behind us.

We can't just polish off a carton of vodka cruisers on a Tuesday night like we did back in the day.

If you still want to get hammered on the weekend in your 30s and 40s that's your choice.

I mean my friends and I have put our binge drinking days behind us.

We can't just polish off a carton of vodka cruisers on a Tuesday night like we did back in the day.

If you still want to get hammered on the weekend in your 30s and 40s that's your choice.

I still don't know what you mean by better things to do.. I'm in my mid-20's & consider going out with friends & socialising on the weekend quite normal around the other activities in my fairly busy life. I understand that's not for everyone, and you might enjoy just getting home on Friday and quietly watch the footy, but I don't think what I do makes me an alcoholic because I didn't put the cue in the rack at 22.

And for the record, I don't think I've ever smashed a carton off Vodka Cruisers on a Tuesday night (or any other night), sounds horrible. Toss the Boss at Cheers was a much better night back in my uni days.

I still don't know what you mean by better things to do.. I'm in my mid-20's & consider going out with friends & socialising on the weekend quite normal around the other activities in my fairly busy life. I understand that's not for everyone, and you might enjoy just getting home on Friday and quietly watch the footy, but I don't think what I do makes me an alcoholic because I didn't put the cue in the rack at 22.

And for the record, I don't think I've ever smashed a carton off Vodka Cruisers on a Tuesday night (or any other night), sounds horrible. Toss the Boss at Cheers was a much better night back in my uni days.

Swinburne alumnus?

Monash. It is funny how absurd going out to a place like that on a Tuesday night becomes the moment you start working full-time, not that I don't mind the occasional mid-week trip to the pub of course. I've spoken to my brothers and sister about how they go there now, and it doesn't feel like 6 years ago, it feels like a lifetime. Apparently Toss the Boss got banned years ago, who knew?

Has anyone here ever gone out alone?

Yep, gone clubbing twice before alone. Great experience, the 2nd time was alot better than the first. Met heeps of people that night, got smashed, had drinks bought for me, probably one of the better nights I've had this year. I couldn't do it very often but is worth experiencing now again.

Me too, ese.

It is funny how absurd going out to a place like that on a Tuesday night becomes the moment you start working full-time, not that I don't mind the occasional mid-week trip to the pub of course. I've spoken to my brothers and sister about how they go there now, and it doesn't feel like 6 years ago, it feels like a lifetime. Apparently Toss the Boss got banned years ago, who knew?

Yeah I know what you mean. 2007 (first year undergrad) feels like a lifetime ago to me too.

But I couldn't give it away.

So I stayed and did a new degree.

I envy people like you who have moved on and are happy. I really do.

I'm curious to know what you mean by that? What things?

I love to "smash piss" as you refer to it, yet I still work full-time, study CPA, go to the footy, play & coach cricket, do fun-runs etc. Not sure why you see it is a mutually exclusive event.
I thought the whole point of doing the CPA is so that you can smash piss instead of studying.

Sadly not. It's a pesky, twice a year, 4-5 week intrusion into your social life. However it generally coincides well with the need for a few quiet weekends.

i don't drink at all. during uni i was asked countless times why i don't drink. one guy even had a bet with me that i'd be a drinker by 3rd year. that didn't happen and he didn't pay up. that was years ago now. still don't drink and never will.

Couldn't go out to clubs and stuff completely by myself at all, but have been out heaps of times where I have lost my mates in a club and then just started smashing beers with a few other random blokes until I find my mates again. Generally isn't over a long period of time but I wouldn't say no to necking a few pots.

I can honestly say I never really got into it much in my teens and twenties, not to say their weren't some messy nights, but I had way better times without the piss than with it
Hated hangovers with a passion and although my mates seemed to rebound really well the next day, I was always crap for days afterwards
Now in my late 30's and with kids etc I'm tired enough without hitting the juice !!
Besides, Sunday being the only day of the week where everyone is together, to have a hangover wouldn't be good !!
Never a real fan of beer anyway

Wow, pretty much my life experience, too, except swap the "teens and twenties" for "twenties and thirties".