Driving Tests

You're kidding right? When I was going for my license back in... 96-97ish, Welshpool was a baaaad idea! Go there at the wrong time of day and there were trucks galore around, just waiting to make it impossible to merge or get in the correct lane...

My second test - at Willagee, just after it had opened - was a walk in the park by comparison.

nah i aint kidding. at welshpool they made me drive in the east cannington residential district. arent many trucks on welshpool road as before.

willagee the people reminded me of the basic grump. not in the mood, licking their lips to fail you.

3 weeks until my test

need to work on

- Merging less aggressively around couriers and 4wd's
- getting the indicating right during the slow manoeuvres
- not changing from 3rd to 4th when going around corners
- remembering to release the clutch when slowing down

minor things but i have time on my side, very happy with just about everything else.

3 weeks until my test

need to work on

- Merging less aggressively around couriers and 4wd's
- getting the indicating right during the slow manoeuvres
- not changing from 3rd to 4th when going around corners
- remembering to release the clutch when slowing down

minor things but i have time on my side, very happy with just about everything else.
lol releasing the clutch when slowing down is part of slowing down really....engine braking helps heaps.

Also it's easier if you get an idea of who is around you all the time rather then just looking around when you need to turn. 90% of the time i know i'm perfectly clear because i know n my head where cars are...i also checkanyway.

Passed first time at City West. I got a cool instructor, but I thought I drove really well. Think I only lost one mark for the whole thing. Got off my P's in February (just turned 20), and have never had any sort of fine.

Driving tests are pretty easy. You know you can do it, so it's all just about finding the middle ground between being too laid-back and being too up-tight.

lol releasing the clutch when slowing down is part of slowing down really....engine braking helps heaps.

Also it's easier if you get an idea of who is around you all the time rather then just looking around when you need to turn. 90% of the time i know i'm perfectly clear because i know n my head where cars are...i also checkanyway.

I know exactly where the cars are, I just need to be less aggressive

lesson in the morning so i will try to get everything down and smooth

Got mine the first day I could - I'm born Dec 22 and the licensing centre was shut - got in on the 28th which was the first available and passed first time. It was the old East Freo Licensing centre (great area that). Few years ago now- must have been '94.

Only had 3 lessons with an instructor - had been driving with Dad for several years (my old man is an old rally driver)

well i did all a few lessons and after a bit of practice, i was a pretty good manual driver ( considering my only practice time was with the instructor because i had no other manual to practice on).
Got to my nest and my nerves got the best of me. My clutch leg was going crazy and i couldnt get it up without stalling. It ####ing sucked so much. I was gutted because i knew that i was a good driver but my stupid nerves got the better of me.

Went back a few months later and i still had the nerves but they werent as crazy, mind you i had guzzled those drops that are supposed to calm your nerves hahah. I passed and completed my log book in record time hahha ;) Its amazing what a few long trips to dunsborough and back can do for your hours haha.

Had 5 lessons ('02), went out with my dad for a bit of driving experience outside of those lessons. My father got sick and eventually died of a brain tumor later that year so didn't do any driving. Went back in january ('03) and had a lesson the morning of my test. Aced it, on full licence for a year and a half. Joy! :)

it's one thing or another with me

Did really well in everything apart from 'left something behind'

Really stuffed it up, was in a very hilly area so I was trying to get into a position to have better visability of both directions, then a bus came along and I went to far and had to abort. Tried it 3 times on another hilly street and was better but i seriously have to work on it. I am ok with the other manoeuvres though.

had way too much cafine (late night) and was seriously wired so i will rethink my diet before my next lesson.

Got my phase two test for the 25th of september. Such a long wait for it here in bloody WA:(

had my last lesson today

Went for a drive from Subiaco to Fremantle and back

all most perfect too (would have lost 3 points for minor errors) pissing down with rain on the way back (railway pde) and all of the line markings dissapeared so I drifted a little (crossed the middle of the road (not middle into on coming traffic middle of the road, just our side) twice - 2 points off)

Started to use the gutter as my guide so that helped, will know what to expect if it is raining during my test.

Other thing was turning right at onto Gugen St in claremont from Bay View and I was about to leave when this dozy cow left her indicator on for at least 100m

It looked like she would turn into the woolworths carpark (about 50 before the intersection) so I started to exit (no other cars in either direction) but she never did, If I had pulled out I would have had to stop in the middle of the road or I would have been t-boned by her, either that or the instructor/testor would have had to intervene and it would have been an instant fail.

So my front wheel was over the give way sign, which would have been another point off.

Test on Wednesday, I feel that I'm ready & my instructor does too.

What happened mate?

Alot of it come down to the driving instructor you have. I passed 2nd time but I rekon I drove better the first time and made alot less mistakes except I had a c*ckhead driver the first time and a really nice on the second. It's great having your licence, so much freedom.

I drove like it was my first time in a car, really nervous & not giving the impression that i had been having very regular lessons for about 4 months now.

It was in Joondalup, a little surprised at how different the roads are compared to Subi. Drove up there from subi along WC highway I think & that went really well but as soon as I started my test I went to pieces.

This is embarrassing but I will list the minor errors/notes from my assessment sheet and hopefully others can learn from my mistakes.

at this point I am shitting bricks because I almost pulled out in front of a car at the very start of the test.

- Jerky Take offs - I have been smooth as silk for the last 3 months
- No left Signal - Went off after changing lanes & I didn't turn it back on to go around the corner
- Misses gaps holds up traffic - it was a big ****ing road, all clear and then a pair of motor bikes (learners) come around the corner & I chicken out and wait for the next gap
- Veers late into slip lane - The slip lane was the same colour as the bike path & didnt realise it was a slip path until about half way down, I was preparing to turn from the lane I was already in.

Then the first manoeuvre started - Find an Address

So we park on one of the steepest hills I have ever seen & she tells me that the house she wants me to find is around the corner & to the right. I have the option of going up the hill and finding a place to turn around or backing backwards into the driveway I had parked in front of.

Smart thing to do would be to go up the hill and around the corner so I am away from the hill crest and the intersection but no, I back in and turn around to the driveway that is 10m from the corner to start the manoeuvre.

- Stalls twice - backing into the driveway (also on a decent angle)
- Poor Choice of Corner - Obviously
- Stalls + Stays unsafe position - trying to regain my composure after stalling twice
- no signal left turn - don't remember that

Obviously stuffed that up so we head back to the centre.

- Cuts corners - bad mood by then
- Jerky takeoffs
- Very poor clutch control - leg was starting to shake out of rage :p
- Stops unessasarily to give way to no traffic - gave way to a car that was entering a car park that didn't bother to signal :rolleyes: - stuffed that good and proper but I didn't know what the hell was going on by that point.

So there you have it, how not to take a driving test.

My instructor has been great & I have been driving very well with him, I think the problem with driving with him and nobody else is that he gives me a lot of feed back & pointers during the lesson so when I go for the test I wasn't sure if I was making the correct decision.

Will be driving with my Dad from now on whether he likes it or not, he is a terrible passenger at the best of times & will be awesome now that he is giving up smoking.

my tips

- get there on time, I was about 5 minutes late & didn't have time to compose myself before the test. Just walk in as I had my name called and walked straight back out to the car.

- do practice tests, with the clip board and marking sheet and all of that. Would also be good to do it with people you have never been in a car with (family friends ect)

Will be booking my next test tomorrow for City West or Willagee (I hear its much better than joondy) which ever is faster.

Thankyou :(

Oh that's terrible LTAM, but don't worry you'll be stronger for the experience.

Nerves is a terrible infliction - I lost all sense of direction in Morley, when I was doing mine, and I've lived right around the corner for nearly 3 years :eek:

Ey man yehh my leg was shaking first time but i managed to control it.. before i parked on the wrong side of the road for some reason ahahah.
Oh well test it coming up soon and have been driving with mum for months without her really helping me at all... besides going nuts and telling me to slow down (when im going 65 in a 70 zone haha)
second time, as i said before, sped up when changing lanes getting ready to turn, didn't slow down so ****ed that up after doing pretty much perfect for my whole test.
Joondalup is a pretty good area to do it in i reckon, not to busy (when i did it) and mostly straight roads with a few bends, not alot of sharp corners ect.. Can't really remember much bout my test i dunno why =]
I found my test pretty easy.. should of passed if it wasnt for that 10 second lapse of concentration haha.

This time im driving in my car for the test which i have been practising in my car rather than the company car which is helllll different.
If your a good driver all you gotta do is concentrate and not speed haha

I drove like it was my first time in a car, really nervous & not giving the impression that i had been having very regular lessons for about 4 months now.

It was in Joondalup, a little surprised at how different the roads are compared to Subi. Drove up there from subi along WC highway I think & that went really well but as soon as I started my test I went to pieces.

This is embarrassing but I will list the minor errors/notes from my assessment sheet and hopefully others can learn from my mistakes.

at this point I am shitting bricks because I almost pulled out in front of a car at the very start of the test.

- Jerky Take offs - I have been smooth as silk for the last 3 months
- No left Signal - Went off after changing lanes & I didn't turn it back on to go around the corner
- Misses gaps holds up traffic - it was a big ****ing road, all clear and then a pair of motor bikes (learners) come around the corner & I chicken out and wait for the next gap
- Veers late into slip lane - The slip lane was the same colour as the bike path & didnt realise it was a slip path until about half way down, I was preparing to turn from the lane I was already in.

Then the first manoeuvre started - Find an Address

So we park on one of the steepest hills I have ever seen & she tells me that the house she wants me to find is around the corner & to the right. I have the option of going up the hill and finding a place to turn around or backing backwards into the driveway I had parked in front of.

Smart thing to do would be to go up the hill and around the corner so I am away from the hill crest and the intersection but no, I back in and turn around to the driveway that is 10m from the corner to start the manoeuvre.

- Stalls twice - backing into the driveway (also on a decent angle)
- Poor Choice of Corner - Obviously
- Stalls + Stays unsafe position - trying to regain my composure after stalling twice
- no signal left turn - don't remember that

Obviously stuffed that up so we head back to the centre.

- Cuts corners - bad mood by then
- Jerky takeoffs
- Very poor clutch control - leg was starting to shake out of rage :p
- Stops unessasarily to give way to no traffic - gave way to a car that was entering a car park that didn't bother to signal :rolleyes: - stuffed that good and proper but I didn't know what the hell was going on by that point.

So there you have it, how not to take a driving test.

My instructor has been great & I have been driving very well with him, I think the problem with driving with him and nobody else is that he gives me a lot of feed back & pointers during the lesson so when I go for the test I wasn't sure if I was making the correct decision.

Will be driving with my Dad from now on whether he likes it or not, he is a terrible passenger at the best of times & will be awesome now that he is giving up smoking.

my tips

- get there on time, I was about 5 minutes late & didn't have time to compose myself before the test. Just walk in as I had my name called and walked straight back out to the car.

- do practice tests, with the clip board and marking sheet and all of that. Would also be good to do it with people you have never been in a car with (family friends ect)

Will be booking my next test tomorrow for City West or Willagee (I hear its much better than joondy) which ever is faster.

Thankyou :(

Bad luck mate. It sounds like you can drive fine, its just the nerves got the better of you on the day. These tests basically don't test you driving skills, they test how well you can control you nerves which is a bit stupid IMO. Anyway now your better for the experience, the 2nd test should be alot easier. When's your next test?

A girl I know ran over a cat on her 3rd attempt.

One of my mates failed when he rolled back just as he took off. Automatic fail, he didnt even move forwad a metre. lol.

Driving Tests