Arsenal FC
Anyone having trouble getting their license or want to share their driving test history in Victoria (Learners/Hazards/Practical tests)?

Well, I passed mine first go today. :)

I was very nervous but went perfectly up until the low speed manoeuvre. Had to do the three point turn (that shit below) in a very tight street and ****ed up badly.

3ptturn.jpg

Didn't look both ways before taking off/reversing and didn't reverse all the way so there was still no space to complete the turn. So rather than risking hitting the kerb and failing automatically, I backed up again and it became a ****ing five point turn. The registration office was only a minute away thankfully but I was so annoyed that I forgot to check mirrors and cut corners briefly in that minute.

I have no idea how I still managed to pass (90%+).

I got mine about 11 years ago in Echuca. Did one lap of the town (which is small) and then back to Vicroads. No parking, no u-turns, no nothing.

Thanks, mate.

If you can, stuff Broady and do your next test at Watsonia.

Traffic on the side streets is virtually dead so all you have to worry about is controlling speed (downhill) and not mounting the roundabouts (they are very tight). Although, it'd help if you become familiar with the area as there are some stop signs hidden behind trees and 'One way/no entry' streets.

Thanks, mate.

Traffic on the side streets is virtually dead so all you have to worry about is controlling speed (downhill) and not mounting the roundabouts (they are very tight). Although, it'd help if you become familiar with the area as there are some stop signs hidden behind trees and 'One way/no entry' streets.

Unless they have them early, i won't change the date

The driving tests are way too easy, which obviously reflects the poor standard of driving of so many on the roads.

No worries grandpa.

I got 100% on my driving test when I was 18, and I reckon I would fail it now.

The driving tests are way too easy, which obviously reflects the poor standard of driving of so many on the roads.

Apparently it is much stricter now than 10-15 years ago. My instructor claims that 80-85%+ of all drivers would fail if they were tested now.

Anyone having trouble getting their license or want to share their driving test history in Victoria (Learners/Hazards/Practical tests)?

Well, I passed mine first go today. :)

I was very nervous but went perfectly up until the low speed manoeuvre. Had to do the three point turn (that shit below) in a very tight street and ****ed up badly.

3ptturn.jpg

Didn't look both ways before taking off/reversing and didn't reverse all the way so there was still no space to complete the turn. So rather than risking hitting the kerb and failing automatically, I backed up again and it became a ****ing five point turn. The registration office was only a minute away thankfully but I was so annoyed that I forgot to check mirrors and cut corners briefly in that minute.

I have no idea how I still managed to pass (90%+).

Congratulations Benno, Top stuff

Got my licence 10 years ago, went for my learners 4 times:eek:
I remember the day i got my licence, it was pouring rain, and i was absolutely sh1tting myself. back then you needed i think 85% pass rate, I got 97% lost points for not looking in the rear view mirror enough, a sharp turn, and leaving the wipers on. But I got it first go.

Your on the money, got me P's last year and all I had to do was 1 bit of parallel parking and a 3 point turn.

it went for 10 minutes and i was back at vicroads. Doing it at Hoppers Crossing at 10:30 am helped me heaps but.

Your on the money, got me P's last year and all I had to do was 1 bit of parallel parking and a 3 point turn.

it went for 10 minutes and i was back at vicroads. Doing it at Hoppers Crossing at 10:30 am helped me heaps but.
I must have done 10 hours of practice before going for my test. Just had to go around the block of an area I was very familiar with and do a 3 point turn (how anyone can fail doing a 3 point turn is beyond me) and that was it. Apparently I had made 3 small errors (can't even remember what they were) but still passed.

I mean come on...

I got mine about 9 years ago. I failed twice whilst learning in a manual. The first time i failed because i was too cautious and the second time i failed because i went over a kerb while doing a reverse park. I was about 200 metres down the road from my house at the time. I was livid.
I passed in an automatic no problems and the instructor was heaps better. He took me driving around Niddrie and around that area a week before my test. It gave me alot of confidence.

The written part was a breeze, 100% first time.

Thanks, mate.

I use those side streets when I think I've had one too many jars at the dome or the G after North has played. LoL probably not over the .05 (in fact I'm sure I wouldn't be) but I get nervous after I've had 2 or 3 and have to drive home.

I passed my driving test first go when I was 18, since then (8 years later) I've never driven or owned a car and they still send me my licence renewal every 3yrs or so (which I duly pay for).

So I have a full licence but probably couldn't drive for squat. Also, my original licence was for auto, but now it says I can drive manual???? yeah, I'd like to see that.

Thanks, mate.

Did mine at broady 3 weeks ago. My slow manouver was an Angle Park.
Passed 98%.

I passed my driving test first go when I was 18, since then (8 years later) I've never driven or owned a car and they still send me my licence renewal every 3yrs or so (which I duly pay for).

So I have a full licence but probably couldn't drive for squat. Also, my original licence was for auto, but now it says I can drive manual???? yeah, I'd like to see that.

Once you get your full license you are "allowed" to drive auto or manual.